Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scary Shít

• 12-12-2007 9:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭

So, went to bed in my room in student accommodation in Amsterdam on Monday night, never lock my door just close it cause i'm on the 3rd floor and there's 4 doors to get through from the street before you even get to my tiny hall with my door and another guys. Anyway, i wake up and my door is open, light shining in from the hall, see someone moving around the desk about 4 feet away from me, then running out of the room, hop out of bed, mind and heart racing and leg it out the door after this shadow of a character, chase it down the hall shouting to wake people up and just see it going out the door at the bottom of the hall to the where the stairs are, i run down to that door and can hear them pelting it down the steps and coins flying everywhere but there was no way i was going in there cause i could've been trapped in there with them (no key with me obviously). one of the Dutch RAs came out straight away and told me not to even think of chasing them. Went back to my room and my mp3 player, a watch and a pair of pants that were literally a few inches from the bed were taken. I always have parties and there were a few bottles and stuff lying around, if this scumbag wanted to, they obviously could've done literally anything to me while i was asleep. very disturbing experience. Anyone else ever wake up to something like that and how the fúck do you get your head around it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Looking your door for the future win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Was wondering how long it would take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Yeah seriously, lock the door. Would you lock the door if you were in the jacks taking a dump? Surely you'd be more defenseless asleep in bed, yet the door is unlocked.

Sorry to hear about it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Lock your door in future. Another lesson learned the hard way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Mirror wrote: »
    Looking your door for the future win.
    Absolument. i'll never ever ever make that mistake again. nearly lost my laptop too, the cables were unplugged for the internet, tv and power supply when i check, he mustn't have noticed the mouse, speaker and IR receiver cables at the side, i think when he tried to move that it's what woke me up, either that or he tripped over my clogs, and they clunked together. could've been soo much worse though, fell pretty (relatively) lucky.

wyndham wrote: »
    Was wondering how long it would take.
    keeping a boards-side vigil were you? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

He know's there's a snazzy laptop there now!.. He'll be back !!!

:> Evil grin

He'll get a Chianti bottle across the face if he does come back:mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I woke up last night and heard, then saw, a mouse in my room. I've been awake since. It scared the shít out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

griffdaddy wrote: »
    either that or he tripped over my clogs

Ouch, clogs ftl.

Glad you're ok, but indeed tis a lesson learned the hard way. My family's house was broken in to when I was about 7, we lived in Fairview so no huge shock. But I was quite shook because I was sleeping in a downstairs bedroom at the time, right next to the sitting room the guy was stealing our shít out of!

And then there was the time the post office was held up by a guy with a syringe (yep, Fairview again...), I was standing right outside the door to the building as he pulled up on a yellow bicycle, and he dismounted and walked past me as he entered the building, giving me the kind of heartwarming smile that encourages a smile in response as he passed. Five seconds later I turn around to discover the hat he was wearing was rolled out in to a balaclava and he was threatening my mum. I ran. In my defense, I was 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

he was threatening my mum. I ran. In my defense, I was 8.
    LOL, You coward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Well OP that may have been traumatic but there's nothing worse than seeing a spider climbing your wall the day after you threw out a previous spider. FVcks with your head because then you're thinking "is that a massive offspring of the other spider... did it lay loadsa eggs, am I gonna die?" then ye remember that fact that on average a spider will crawl into your ear while your asleep 8 times in your life! Then ye have to sleep with your hand over one ear and the other pressed against the pillow!

Scary **** indeed op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭seanabc

Well OP that may have been traumatic but there's nothing worse than seeing a spider climbing your wall the day after you threw out a previous spider. FVcks with your head because then you're thinking "is that a massive offspring of the other spider... did it lay loadsa eggs, am I gonna die?" then ye remember that fact that on average a spider will crawl into your ear while your asleep 8 times in your life! Then ye have to sleep with your hand over one ear and the other pressed against the pillow!

Scary **** indeed op

I couldn't agree more. Also, screaming the roof down because you think there's a spider in the bed doesn't help if you're trying to impress a girl. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

chicken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Oh what a big man you are! Now gimme a pack of gum and I'll show you how to chew it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

Faith wrote: »
    I woke up last night and heard, then saw, a mouse in my room. I've been awake since. It scared the shít out of me.

Not a nice experience :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

Anyone else ever wake up to something like that and how the fúck do you get your head around it?

I had a pretty similar experience when I was about 16. I woke up hearing a strange scraping noise in the room, turned on the light, and saw a guy kneeling on the carpet not two feet from me. Scared the crap out of me, but luckily the guy legged it instantly.

It had a bit of an impact on me at the time alright but isn't really an issue anymore. Suppose I just got over it. Although I did also start doing martial arts around that time and used to keep a canister of pepper spray near the bed, that helped :)

wasabi wrote: »
    I had a pretty similar experience when I was about 16. I woke up hearing a strange scraping noise in the room, turned on the light, and saw a guy kneeling on the carpet not two feet from me. Scared the crap out of me, but luckily the guy legged it instantly.
    whoah, what was he doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Oh what a big man you are! Now gimme a pack of gum and I'll show you how to chew it.

:D What a great film.

Not a nice experience for the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Spiders, mice. Bad, but sit sown children and I'll tell ye a tale...

Twas a warm Summer's afternoon, I was in me room watchin the telly, when out of the gap between skirting board and floor comes a fat wingless fly. I stomp it good. Resume my tv watching, grand.

Then another comes. and another. Till there's a few hundred of them. A few hundred wingless bluebottles streaming from my wall. I'm thinking hmmm. this is surreal enough that I feel a sense of detachment. Then the f*uckers start flying. Seriously the flyers come out. They're everywhere.

Had to form a perimeter of fly paper to catch the wingless, and seal the room after filling it with 2 cans of fly spray. Did the job. They died, but the cleanup was bloody awful.

Took a month before I could sleep without worrying about flies coming out of the walls.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

At least you could kill flies with a spray though! Mice are a lot harder to do :(. Ugh, I can still picture its tail wiggling around happily on my desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

wasabi wrote: »

Jesus, that'd scare the sh!t out of me.

We're getting loads of work done in our house at the moment so it'd be really easy for anyone to break in and I'm having a really bed time sleeping coz I have visions of someone getting in while we're in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

wasabi, I pity the guy who'd try that now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Richie860504

You think that's scary, i was sitting in my sitting room one day, watchin tv and I looked around the room as you do when your bored and there was this fella just starin at me with a sick and twisted smile on his face. So I ran over and gave him a lovely box. My hand had my blood all over it. Then I realized I was looking at the poxy mirror!!! Scary stuff though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

whoah, what was he doing?

Feck only knows, prefer not to think about it really :rolleyes:
    Sleepy wrote:
    wasabi, I pity the guy who'd try that now!

Hehe. Yeah, me too.
    Malteaser! wrote: »
    Jesus, that'd scare the sh!t out of me.

Oh it did me too. I woke my mother up afterwards, and she claimed she could actually hear my heart pounding away while standing a couple of feet away from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

He pulled up on a yellow bicycle, and he dismounted and walked past me as he entered the building, giving me the kind of heartwarming smile that encourages a smile in response as he passed. Five seconds later I turn around to discover the hat he was wearing was rolled out in to a balaclava and he was threatening my mum.
    very intermission-esque, mirror. OP, you have my sympathies.