Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol breath test device

• 09-12-2007 3:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭

has anyoneused theses , such as the DRIVE SAFE one.Its €125 .What do yous think,
    cathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

a waste of 125 euros that could be spent drinking. tbh

what's the point in them tbh, if i'm driving i won't touch alcohol, there's just too much to lose and nothing to gain except that if i buy one of these i get raped in the pocket for a little device that tells me what i already know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=breath&source=15&SD=Y
    heres a cheaper option ^^^^

it says its only for fun though... not for testing if youre fit to drive :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

NO I would never ever Drink and Drive but once or twice I wasnt 100% sure I was ok the morning after.I normally leave at least 10 hours after having a glass of wine efore I would dive.so if I had a drink at say 10 O clock at night , I just want to make sure 100% that I am ok in the morning for my drive at 8.30.
    I would rahter pay for something that works and not just for fun.

Thanks,
    cathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

€125? lol

Got one from HK last week for $6, tested it after a few bottles the other night and it flashed red for me after a couple. It's never going to give an accurate reading, but ballpark is fine with me and at that price I can afford to stick it on a keyring and not worry about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

daveirl wrote: »
    well if i'm going to drive the next day i won't drink myself senseless, if i'm driving the next morning at say 9, i'll stop drinking at 12. i'd also cut back on my drinks alcoholic content ie. have some beers with a pint inbetween each beer instead of spirits etc.

i'm fairly good at deciding whether i'm fit enough to drive i don't need to spend copcious amounts of money on a device that is for "fun purposes only". i also think a lot of the irish public will use these as a "well this electronic thing said i was ok to drive" yet could go out and smash into someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

seen Tescos selling disposable ones the other day. not sure of the price as tehy weren't marked but i'd rather buy them then pay €125 for 1

ok, so I ll keep looking.I did have a look on ebay.
    thanks,
    cathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I'm one of those that bought the saferdrive one. It does work a treat and seems to be accurate.
    I had previously bought a couple of testers from HK, they worked grand first couple of times but had ahem quality issues with display fading(not battery issue) and condesnation problems.
    Following on from this, i decided to get a professional breathalyser and it has worked a treat since! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

are the days of having to give a blood or urine gone ? To me this was more accurate than a breath sample. If I was stopped, and told I was over the limit I would insist on a blood or urine test. One pint smells the same as 4 or 5. How do these things work ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

MarinoMark wrote: »
    are the days of having to give a blood or urine gone ? To me this was more accurate than a breath sample. If I was stopped, and told I was over the limit I would insist on a blood or urine test. One pint smells the same as 4 or 5. How do these things work ??

They dont just smell your breath. You blow into a device and it measures the amount of alcohol in your breath and give s a figure back so it can tell if you've just had one or if you have had 4 or 5. If you re over the limit they bring you to the garda station for a blood or urine test and lock you up apparently believe it or not. Saw it on crime line. - off you go to a garda cell.

I got stopped and it came back as zero and even though I wasnt drinking I was still a bit nervous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

I saw digital testers in Dixons Blanch. Couldnt see a price on them though.
    If I bought one it would be just for the craic to see what level we are all at in the pub.
    Personally I dont agree with driving after alcohol at all even if under the legal limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

This is th eone I'm thinking of getting,

http://www.medicaltestcentre.ie/Drug_and_Alcohol_Tests/Alcohol_Testing/Alcologic_Personal_Breathalyser.html

Anyone any experience with them?.

My concern's are being tested the morning after the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

My issue with this would be if they give the same reading as a Garda tester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

cathy01 wrote: »
    has anyoneused theses , such as the DRIVE SAFE one.Its €125 .What do yous think,
    cathy

A friend has this one. I've tried it and it certainly detects alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I think you should wait 1 hour for each drink to break down, so take when you started drinking and your first drink as the start point, and count forward. Average is 10-12 hours after you finish drinking. Binge drinking nation that we are.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

I think you should wait 1 hour for each drink to break down, so take when you started drinking and your first drink as the start point, and count forward. Average is 10-12 hours after you finish drinking. Binge drinking nation that we are.....

Isn't it easier to just buy a decent breathalyzer like the alcosense? I can imagine it would be more accurate than your little calculations. Some of us have money like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

The problem with these things is how accurate are they, and will they always be accurate for the lenght of time you have it.
    It may give a false negative reading but, as you trust it, drive to work only to be stopped by the garda and charged for DUI. I dont think the judge will feel sorry for you or blame the device.

Also, dont buy one on ebay, different countries have difference drink driving limits, so its not necessarily set to the Irish limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

They don't have scales like "pass or fail" , they give the microgram amount of alcohol detected in your breath - think in Ireland it's 35µg ftr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

They don't have scales like "pass or fail"

As i said, dont buy the crappy ones on ebay. They have green light for ok and red for fail, they dont have a display of your actual reading. So my point being dont buy the ones on ebay.

Are those DRIVE SAFE ones guaranteed to be 100% accurate. Would they compensate you if you got a negative reading of it, but failed on the garda one?

Edit; just read they website, they are only a guide. 'the reading is only a guide and must not be relied on, so i wouldn't buy one.
    Use your own common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I don't see the point in driving to the pub for 1-2 drinks, if you are doing that then just drink lucozade os some ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Senna wrote: »
    As i said, dont buy the crappy ones on ebay. They have green light for ok and red for fail, they dont have a display of your actual reading. So my point being dont buy the ones on ebay.

Are those DRIVE SAFE ones guaranteed to be 100% accurate. Would they compensate you if you got a negative reading of it, but failed on the garda one?

Edit; just read they website, they are only a guide. 'the reading is only a guide and must not be relied on, so i wouldn't buy one.
    Use your own common sense.

Agree with the ebay thing, the quality of some of them is doubtful which i had mentioned earlier in my post as i had got a cheapo one from HK.

If companys did offer 100% guaranteed, there would be lawsuits left right and centre.
    I usually use it for the morning after and i do feel its accurate as i have my device for a good while now and tested it numerous times with what look like an accurate reflection of my state after drinking!:)

Also I do use it for curiosity reasons like today. Had 3 drinks(pints) in pub, tested a few times over a 6 hr period and watched the reading go slowly down from nearly twice the limit initially(20min after last drink consumed) to zero about 6hrs later.

And yes, i did use the bus to get to the pub and from it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I bought the alcologic one a few weeks back, €90 or something. Works great, usually reflects how I feel in the head.

I was too ill to feel up to using it yesterday, which says enough in itself. By the time I did use it, the alcohol was gone but the wailing depression and tiredness wasn't :D

Ijust bought on fromthat site http://www.medicaltestcentre.ie
    thanks for that.
    I will use it also for my darling son age 15 who NEVER EVER EVER drinks, someone spills it on his shirt and thats why I can smell it???
    God love him, now.
    cathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

seamus wrote: »
    I bought the alcologic one a few weeks back, €90 or something. Works great, usually reflects how I feel in the head.

I was too ill to feel up to using it yesterday, which says enough in itself. By the time I did use it, the alcohol was gone but the wailing depression and tiredness wasn't :D

Thats the one I'm thinking about getting, glad you have one.

How easy is it to read?.

As I said earlier, I'm interested in testing myself the morning after the night before.

I know at least once lately I drove the next day when I really shouldn't have, but like everyone else, I took the chance. I think if I had something telling me for sure that I'm over the limit I'd have rang in and made an excuse why I'm going to be late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Mairt wrote: »
    How easy is it to read?.
    Ah it's simple. You blow into it and it gives you back your estimated blood-alcohol content. The limit of 0.08% is pre-programmed into it, so if you're over this it beeps and flashes (apparently - haven't gotten that yet).
    I know at least once lately I drove the next day when I really shouldn't have, but like everyone else, I took the chance. I think if I had something telling me for sure that I'm over the limit I'd have rang in and made an excuse why I'm going to be late.
    This is the thing. I'm pretty sure most of us have driven at some point when we felt up to driving and relatively clear-headed but with that nagging doubt in your mind as to whether or not your were actually OK. At least with this, you can be fairly sure. If you do get a reading that's under the limit, but still up there you may also think twice about hopping in the car.

What actually scares me is the amount people can consume and still drive legally. I think the highest reading I got on it was 0.06 but for the purposes of driving, I was useless. I knew there was no way I could drive in my condition but gave the breathalyser a go anyway. 0.08% has to be like driving with a hangover and 2 hours sleep, you'd be that impaired.