Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silat: Human weapon preview clip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

Hi Liam,

Interesting to see the Wing Chun element of Silat. While some of the moves were recognisable to me I never heard it officially recognised before. Do you have an opinion on it?

I was also surprised to hear that Escrima lent its weapons to Silat. I would have assumed it was the other way around.

Regards,

Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭silat liam

Hi Michael

I think when they mention that Malaysia was the home birth of silat may get a few Indonesian rattle, for what I understand, silat was the art of the Malay people, who lived in Malaysia, Indonesia and Philippines etc.... These very people mixed with other races culture and influences, mostly Chinese, Indian, thai and Japanese along with the Dutch, English and Portugese, and silat develop through the blending of these cultures in different ways. I think styles like Kuntao Silat have alot of similarities to wing chun from what I've seen. Many styles of Silat that are develop in Southern Philippines, have alot in common with Eskrima as many Malay settle there. I have found the same with my training many of the weapons cross over ie stick, knife, sword , kris etc.. and many of the training methods are the same.

There are many many style of silat at least 800 in Indonesia, so you can, at times see techniques that are common in some styles and others nothing in common, on depending on the teacher and style. Over all, I think the Malaysian styles are little bit more structure in their training methods, while the Indonesian are more passionate with their training methods..

Hopefully the programme will raise the profile of silat as its becoming more popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Very interesting clip.... I don't know much about Silat to be honest, looking forward to see the full program.

Cheers,

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭3KINGS

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh that aint Silat,Silek what ever you want to call it..............no way,no way "shocking".........Oh I've got a sore head now and it aint form eating to much ice cream...........lost for words................J

Hi Jason

In all honesty, what are you talking about. Its very easy to see, that what these guys are practising is a version of Silat. It may not be your style or mines, but it is a variation of silat. I received the link from teachers in Malaysia, and spoke to different people in the silat world and there all happy to see Silat getting promoted. Its a start ! There a long way yet to go. What other programmes are on tv at the moment promoting silat, not many if any. So to come on and straight away, and just slam it, and not explain why you feel this is not silat, isn't a positive step. I put the clip on the boards so people can get a taste of what silat is about, not to score points. For me I love the art more than just wanting people to join my style. Hell, even my style not even from Malaysia, but still thought it was nice to see something positive been done.

Jason, If watching this causes a headache to you, stop watching, its thats simple. With silat such a minority art in this part of the world, its good to get some good positive media coverage, at the end of the day, it will help people make the first step maybe of wanting to learn, hopefully, than people can go and find a silat teacher of a style and method they want to learn. They are many paths in Silat, as a student of silat you know this.

Kind regards

Liam

3KINGS wrote: »
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh that aint Silat,Silek what ever you want to call it..............no way,no way "shocking".........Oh I've got a sore head now and it aint form eating to much ice cream...........lost for words................J

So much for "constructive criticism" - these are the types of posts I'm talking about. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Scramble

Jason, are there any clips on-line that you think are a better example of what good silat is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

it was the worst episode of Human Weapon ever. A complet farce and a joke. Their sparring was completely compliant. Normally Human Weapon puts on some good shows and I liked alot of the traditional MA episodes, but Silat is borderline worthless IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭The FitnessDock

dlofnep wrote: »
    Their sparring was completely compliant.

Surely it wasn't sparring, but rather a simple demonstration of the techniques, right?

It would exactly be the same if a BJJ blackbelt was demonstrating a technique like a kimura. It would involve a totally compliant partner, who would do exactly what the blackbelt wanted in order to show how the technique is performed, including all the subtle nuances involved (e.g. hip movement, arm position, how best to grab the wrist etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭dubdamo

I think this series is starting tonight lads.History channel, 9 pm featuring Muay Thai.

dlofnep wrote: »
    it was the worst episode of Human Weapon ever. A complet farce and a joke. Their sparring was completely compliant. Normally Human Weapon puts on some good shows and I liked alot of the traditional MA episodes, but Silat is borderline worthless IMO.

Hi John

Have you seen the episode? It hasn't been air in Europe yet, from what Ive been told? Also thats not sparring by the way, its only a demo of techniques as Paul from the fitness dock mention. Have you train in Silat John? I don't think you have, because you couldnt see that the clip is only demo /playing. Sparring in Cimande is full contant against not just one uncompliant opponent but at times up to 3 - 5. Thats elbows, knees, kicks, locks, groundfighting if it goes there, and then there blade and stick training. Anyone who trains in Silat style that is combat effective knows they to have to spar at full contact.

John, Silat is not all about a 3 minute round, its about ending the fight quick and getting out of there. Its about a form of training that is a way of life. I could come on here and say,what I feel and say, what you do is a loads of bullocks, but you enjoy doing it, and that your choice and fair play to you. At the end of the day it doesnt matter what I think, if you found a way to make yourself effective, great ! I found another way, its has never let me or any of my students down, so I'm happy with that. Plus it real fun and exciting to do and has brought me great enjoyment. Hopefully that will continued.

John Feel free to come along any time you want.

Regards

dubdamo wrote: »
    I think this series is starting tonight lads.History channel, 9 pm featuring Muay Thai.

Sweet... Can't wait to see that.

silat liam wrote: »
    Hi John

Have you seen the episode? It hasn't been air in Europe yet, from what Ive been told? Also thats not sparring by the way, its only a demo of techniques as Paul from the fitness dock mention. Have you train in Silat John? I don't think you have, because you couldnt see that the clip is only demo /playing. Sparring in Cimande is full contant against not just one uncompliant opponent but at times up to 3 - 5. Thats elbows, knees, kicks, locks, groundfighting if it goes there, and then there blade and stick training. Anyone who trains in Silat style that is combat effective knows they to have to spar at full contact.

John, Silat is not all about a 3 minute round, its about ending the fight quick and getting out of there. Its about a form of training that is a way of life. I could come on here and say,what I feel and say, what you do is a loads of bullocks, but you enjoy doing it, and that your choice and fair play to you. At the end of the day it doesnt matter what I think, if you found a way to make yourself effective, great ! I found another way, its has never let me or any of my students down, so I'm happy with that. Plus it real fun and exciting to do and has brought me great enjoyment. Hopefully that will continued.

John Feel free to come along any time you want.

Regards

Yes I saw the episode when it first aired and I posted about it on a common MMA message board where the host Jason Chambers himself replied claiming he had no control over the production of the show and whats selected. I have access to all the streams from the US. I have it on my PC if you want a copy.

The entire episode was a complete letdown for the art of Silat. The techniques looked poor.. infact embarassing to watch at some points.

But Liam - if you have videos of your club sparring - I'd love to see them, but that video did nothing for me.

Hi John

Thanks for the offer, I havnt seen the show yet, I thinks it's been air in a few weeks time. so I record it then. I've just gone by the clip they are showing, and hoping it was going to be a good show?

I don't know what the "norm" is in Silat and your way of training Liam, but I was let down by the show. Like I said - I'd love to see a video of how you guys train, but for me - the show did nothing for Silat.

I found this video of Silat sparring on youtube ... I think it's actually from a seminar run by your organisation, Liam.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfgW82ZI3ao

Would this be indicative of the kind of sparring you're talking about?

Scramble wrote: »
    I found this video of Silat sparring on youtube ... I think it's actually from a seminar run by your organisation

One thing though... It says at the start of that clip that it's "full contact sparring", However it looks like light/semi contact to me. Very similar to the stuff I did in Kick boxing many years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

looks retarded to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

looks retarded to me

now thats the type of quality post that makes this board the pride of the irish martial arts community :rolleyes:

pma-ire wrote: »
    now thats the type of quality post that makes this board the pride of the irish martial arts community :rolleyes:

Maybe NC should put up a few of his own clips... I'd love to see him in action.

Scramble wrote: »
    I found this video of Silat sparring on youtube ... I think it's actually from a seminar run by your organisation, Liam.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfgW82ZI3ao

Would this be indicative of the kind of sparring you're talking about?

Hi Scramble

I didnt put that clip on you tube, it was one of my students, I personally wouldn't have call it "full contact silat sparring " to us, what shown here is a form of silat playing that we do, buts its still only a game and mostly semi light contact. The point of this game is really silat training against another silat player, and a form of training the movements. and for students to progress to the next level, which is to deal, with what we more likely to face in a violent encounter. This was a bit of light relief at the end of a two day seminar. After xmas we going to get some good clips made and put up onto youtube and other sites

To nothingcompares I'm not really going to reply to your statement, as it childlike and stupid.

Baggio... wrote: »

Hi Baggio

The only thing NC ever really puts up is loads of photos of himself standing beside "fighters" trying to share in the limelight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

Hi Baggio

The only thing NC ever really puts up is loads of photos of himself standing beside "fighters" trying to share in the limelight.

lol:D

Pity.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

While NC's comment maybe have been a little tactless and harsh I think saying things like:
    Baggio wrote:
    Goading
    silatliam wrote:
    Mocking

hardly place you both in any position to comment on childishness/maturity.

I would say that knowing NC personally for many years through full contact sports he consistently impressed me with his guts and willingness to dive in head first to learn about martial arts through functional training methods and competition. I first met the guy when I reffed his division at the National Submission Championships and with little sub wrestling experience (and some beautiful judu) he did very well.

Actually I believe the man has one of his boxing matches on youtube and plenty of his amateur MMA and sub wrestling there too.

Just FYI since you're so insistent on seeing him in action.

As for the posted youtube clip: it looks anti-functional, inefficient, lacking in power and defensively week. But that's just my opinion.

Colum

Hey Colum,

I'm not having a go at you here.

You could say i was goading him alright. But I see quite a few of his posts as "Goading" also.

But to be fair - calling guys retards is not really right (I'd see that as mocking). If he'd have said something like, "Well, I don't like it for XYZ reason" that would have been fair enough.

At least some of the other MMA lads might say something a bit more productive.
    Saying people look like retards, what the point in that? other than to put fuel on a fire. Thats the way I see it anyhoo'.

columok wrote: »
    As for the posted youtube clip: it looks anti-functional, inefficient, lacking in power and defensively week. But that's just my opinion.Colum

Fair enough... as least you've said something that can be analyzed - more than just "they look like retards"
    I would say that knowing NC personally for many years through full contact sports he consistently impressed me with his guts and willingness to dive in head first to learn about martial arts through functional training methods and competition.

That's cool.... He may be a very sound geezer. But as I don't know him personally, I can only gauge him on his posts. He was banned from here at one point right? So he's obviously pissed a few people off.

All I'm saying is that it would be cool to hear something a bit more constructive from the guy.

Rob.

Hi Colum

Thank you, for your post and views Yes maybe I shouldn't have post that remark, but to be honest to turn around and call a group of people "retards" who are doing a hobby / martial art, went alittle bit far and I'm sure insulting to the people on the clip. I don't care what I call, but the people on the clip, are good, honest people who enjoy martial arts

I not going to get involved in an endless exchange as its pointless. I had some spare time today to dedicate to this thread. I'm just going to finish on one point, one of thoes guys on that clip recently went along to an mma club to see what it was all about and when asked to "roll" tap out three oponents. that evening. This surprize him alot as he never did this type of submissive sparring before and couldn't understand how easy it was to tap the opponents out. But then again he was train in anti-functional, inefficient, lacking in power and defensively weak system. He was most please with the outcome.

We have an open door policy and you can join our classes at any time no problem, as we welcome all. If anybody else wants information on silat you or more than welcome to PM or email me. I would like to thank everyone who contribute to it and thank them for their views.

NC is a gutsy competitor and a very nice guy. That guy gives 100% in every single one of his matches. He's just being honest in his assessment.. If honesty is too much, just ignore the posts.

I not going to get involved in an endless exchange as its pointless.

I'm the same... No point, it will just go on an an on...

The clip is of two guys performing a very stylised ritual. If the purpose of the dance is to fight their opponent, it looks extremely ineffective. Nobody would instinctively fight like that, they'd have to train really hard to persuade themselves that that method of fighting is any way useful. You take someone at a low level grappling/wrestling or boxing ability (like me) and ask them to fight, they'll look scrappy and unskilled but they'll still show the signs of someone fighting effectively.

I wasn't knocking silat or silat liam individually. But anybody, ANYBODY, with an ounce of sense can see that that form of fighting is nonsense. Absolute nonsense. Perhaps the training method, ideology or principles was once sound in the very beginning, but evidently it's morphed into something ridiculous.

Fundamentally, somebody fighting like that against somebody from any combat sport would lose, unless the fight was fought as part of a dance off.

Baggio, you should know better than to try and endorse something like that. It's completely unrealistic and silly. I think retarded is a succinct, but highly politically incorrect way of surmising my above post.

I've a couple of clips on youtube but there isn't any real point putting them here because it's like comparing apples and tennis balls.

This is a clip of me at the 2006 BJJ open competing in the absolute blue belt division. I was a blue belt in judo at the time and felt that competing in the white belt BJJ division would have been sandbagging. In this clip I'm attempting to take Clive's back and submit him but I'm having tonnes of trouble because he's better than me.

This is me competing in a submission wrestling competition about 2 years ago. I'm the fellow in the yellow. In this clip I'm successful in performing a "seoi-nage" or shoulder judo throw. As my opponent falls to the ground I maintain top control and prevent him from escaping. Simultaneously I am able to work a hadake-jime or "rear naked choke" to earn the submission. I'm sure the majority of the people on this forum from a combat sport background have seen this clip before and also confirm that that is a fairly typical depiction of a submission wrestling competition (although the throw is less common).

This final clip is another edited video from a submission wrestling competition. This video shows the importance of good technique over attributes. I am able to escape numerous submission attempts by using a combination of speed, strength and timing developed through experience. However, (the clip does not show this) I still end up in a bad situation and am beaten by the technically superior competitor.

These clips demonstrate one of the key concepts of combat sports, sparring against a non-compliant opponent. Although some of my techniques are stylised (I regularly return to my base martial art of Judo in different martial tournaments) they are effective against resisting opponents. These differ to the clip I mention earlier because the two opponents although sparring, are still partially compliant. Furthermore, their behaviour is stereotypical and stylised and they do not perform effectively. To use a weak analogy, they are playing rock-paper-scissors and consistently throwing rocks at each other because they've been conditioned to do so, rather than challenging each other with different combinations of the remaining possibilities.

pma-ire wrote: »

Listen, It's not important for me to be friends with people so I can get them to come to the seminars I organise. Paul, how effective do you think that martial art is? You can define the parameters of that question as you please. Furthermore, I'm curious to how effective you think your bunkai are? To me they look like a guy trying to stick a square peg in a round hole to rob another posters' analogy. Are they just a hobby to you? Or do you actually think people can learn and practice them and, some point in the foggy future be able to use them to defend themselves against somebody with intentions of hurting them?

I can't find any youtube videos of you right now, are there any left? I thought I saw some . Here's some colleagues of yours. Do you think it's worthwhile practicing kata for long periods, and then performing drills like this, and then doing some sparring? I would think you'd be better off doing more effective drills then sparring and removing kata completely. I'm not sure if you have ulterior reasons for trying preserve karate/tkd patterns/kata.

Not sure what this thing about "putting photos up trying to share in the limelightW thing is about. I have picture of me with BJ Penn at ROT from some years back, never posted that here. I was at a seminar with Chris Brennan more recently, if silat liam you even know who Chris Brennan is, and there was a picture of about 30 people in which I'm in. I'm surprised that Baggio takes the time to :) at that comment actually because I don't think Robert has ever been much for introducing himself to people off this board or turning up at events etc. Always thought he was a lot more comfortable doing his private lessons and watching his RBSD dvds.

This probably looks like I'm getting all offended and acting really childish but ultimately it comes down to "he without sin may cast the first stone". If I ever put a video up on the internet for the video to see of me doing something you consider stupid, please call me up on it. Any advice people want to give me based on those videos are also welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭The FitnessDock

Nothingcompares - nice clips :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Every single time a TMA vs MMA oriented argument sparks up, NothingCompares is on the front line. Take a chill pill we all know how great MMA is but pointing out the perceived crappiness of other arts gets really annoying after a while and very repetitive, why do you feel the need to say things are retarded etc...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Baggio wrote:
    But to be fair - calling guys retards is not really right (I'd see that as mocking). If he'd have said something like, "Well, I don't like it for XYZ reason" that would have been fair enough.
    I really don't disagree with you and I'm not trying to claim that what NC says was nice or sound or anything else. Merely that calling him an "internet warrior" or someone who hangs around fighters is crap. The guy takes his contact sports seriously and maybe that's why he's so intolerant.

Also I wouldn't disagree with what he says more with how he says it.
    Liam wrote:
    'm just going to finish on one point, one of thoes guys on that clip recently went along to an mma club to see what it was all about and when asked to "roll" tap out three oponents. that evening.
    What club did he go to Liam?

thanks,

Colum

Hi Colum,

Last post on this, honest. :o
    The guy takes his contact sports seriously and maybe that's why he's so intolerant.

From the clips I saw he's definitely putting 110% into what he's doing, and fair play to him (or any one for that matter) who puts their clips up for all to see.
    Also I wouldn't disagree with what he says more with how he says it.

That's my point too. I may not use Silat or agree with all it's principles. But I respect the guys who put their "all" in to it (or any Martial Art).

If NC is raising the "Street fighting issue" that's one thing. He might have said it a bit better though (instead of calling people retards). From my perspective, if you can use your style, whatever that may be, under pressure (ie full contact) then you know you've got something of use (whatever style you are using).

Thanks,

R.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Hmmmm......

while i understand the point of this thread seems to be telling everyone else how **** they are and all the rest of it i'd like to open by telling NC that opening throw in the first clip was lovely! I'm glad when i make the Sub Champs i'll be 100kilos+ and i don't mind saying that at all!

Secondly, i have done a very small ammount of training with Liam in the past and while i enjoyed the training itselfs certain aspects of the art simply did not appeal to or interest me, so i don't train it anymore. Having some actual experience in it, and not falling in love with it i still enjoyed the expereince of trying something new. I don't see the need to call his art retarded simply because i do not like it.....surely it's fine to question but not to insult?

Finally, with regard to anyone tapping people out or dominating in a live sparring situation on their first day of any art......i think sometimes people get more caught up in the attributes of there art than the attributes of the people involved?

For example, we have a medium sized group of people who train together in my gym. Some of them have lots of experience, some of them under world class trainers who I imagine some folk here would love to work with. Anyway, without going into too much detail one of the guys lived and training in California for about 3 years and was training with some very well known UFC fighters. Another one of the guys has done a bit of Judo and some MT.

The first time these two ever rolled together the first chap just could not pass the seconds chaps guard. The second was just fast, strong and had a natural ability to read your movement and intentions.

Does this mean that casual Judo is better than full time world class MMA? Nope, it just means that second guy has a natural gift for interpreting biomechanics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Boru.

I found the clip Liam linked to quite interesting actually. I enjoyed the ritualistic display of the art and the cultural aspects of promoting a living history. In fact I noticed a small element of story telling, much in the same vein as the Shaolin Monk displays - interesting and fascinating to watch and a great display of accomplished and practiced movement.

I also enjoyed the locking techniques and the fluid movement being displayed. And I think it's necessary to remember that - what is shown on the clip is clearly demonstration pieces, set displays and pre-arranged sparring sequences. No different to Shotokan's 1 step and 5 step sparring. I also have to mention I loved the punch to the throat. ;)

I'll certainly keep an eye out for the show, and I look forward to any more clips Liam puts up.

Now, what I don't understand is the aggression and mockery that seems to infuse these threads - no one was asking for a comparison of this traditional art to say MMA, or RBSD. It's neither of those things so what use can such comparisons be? Its like arguing over which is better a banana, a melon or and apple. There all fruit, and just because you can eat the skin of an apple doesn't mean it's better or worse then a banana, it meas there is an opportunity to enjoy something different and still get benefit.

Nothing, the comment you made wasn't helpful - again I have no problem with you expressing a view point, but the manner in which you did it was rude and unhelpful. There was nothing there that added to the discussion, no valid point of reasoning, or logical argument. Just a rude comment that only insulted a style that you personally disagree with.

That doesn't excuse the comments that were then subsequently made about you - that was unnecessary, rude and didn't help either. And as result the thread is no longer about the Silat clip Liam posted or discussing the benefits and merits of Silat as a system or style, something that would have been beneficial and interesting, but instead has become about Nothing justifying himself something he shouldn't have to do, and something that doesn't help an argument or discussion on Sialt either way.

All I have gotten from this thread - is an interesting look at Silat, that has fast become another pointless battle ground and argument over comparing apples and banana's - it has no merit.

I suggest we drop that topic and get back to what we were talking about - Silat. If you have a question or query, or an argument for or against then ask it, not just insult the poster and his style. We can ask a lot of interesting questions and learn a little more about Silat and the context in which it is based.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I thought Nothingcompares comment was inexcusable, let me just get that out of the way.

I do think Silat looks a bit ridiculous, and I would also like to now whose club the guy went to and tapped people and who they were (ie. beginners, advanced?) as its a fairly big claim. A bit like me coming on here and saying I went to Bridgestone and KOed 4 guys on my first night, I'd be asked who and where and how.

But then again, I'm sure some people look at the high jump method being trained without a bar and say, that looks stupid. But then when they see it with the bar it would make sense. To continue that analogy, too many martial arts never introduce "the bar" to their training and just assume they can get over when the time comes. Now I like to think that MMA in the last 10 years has raised "the bar" and got people questioning what height they could jump. Wow, what an analogy, I'm going to use it the next time I'm propping up "the bar".

In conclusion, nobody wants to shoot the horse that laid the golden egg, don't throw out the cat who got the cream and never look a gift baby in the mouth. Enough bullying from me though...

If it wasn't too late I'd change the word retarded to ridiculous. It's just over the years the words seem to become synonymous for me in a lot of ways, just like calling someone a c**t is like calling someone obnoxious. I apologise for offending anyone by using inappropriate language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Boru. wrote: »
    which is better a banana, a melon or and apple.

Apple. No question.
    Boru wrote:
    Nothing, the comment you made wasn't helpful - again I have no problem with you expressing a view point, but the manner in which you did it was rude and unhelpful. There was nothing there that added to the discussion, no valid point of reasoning, or logical argument. Just a rude comment that only insulted a style that you personally disagree with.

NC tends to tell it like he sees it.

It's clear that the style of sparring shown is (as you said yourself) ritualistic. If it is an indication of what full sparring is like, well, I don't think it's gonna be highly effective as a means of self defence. Of course, this is not just a board for self defence, but Liam has called Silat "combat effective". There is no way that the clip of students dancing is combat effective or anything like it.
    Boru wrote:
    That doesn't excuse the comments that were then subsequently made about you

I actually think they were a lot worse, as they were directed at the individual rather than the post.
    Boru wrote:
    I suggest we drop that topic and get back to what we were talking about - Silat. If you have a question or query, or an argument for or against then ask it, not just insult the poster and his style. We can ask a lot of interesting questions and learn a little more about Silat and the context in which it is based.

Sounds good to me. :)

I'd still like to see a clip of what 'real' Silat looks like, out of curiosity. Surely someone somewhere has put a clip of them doing this type of training online, not choreographed stuff or light-contact stuff?

Everything I've come across so far is either continuous light or semi contact sparring with lots of hand movements thrown in, or else it is very choreographed, lots of fine joint locks and takedowns using compliant partners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

A bit like me coming on here and saying I went to Bridgestone and KOed 4 guys on my first night,

believe...impossible is nothing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

A bit like me coming on here and saying I went to Bridgestone and KOed 4 guys on my first night,

believe...impossible is nothing

lol paddy:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

If Roper had of said Chupasart Paddy would be telling a different story!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

LOL! :D Paddy, I can't top that for once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭3KINGS

Well what can I say but my sore head is back......Silat is a fairly modern name given to arts of self defence and war.A lot of these arts have a strong Vedic past,so the arts of Siam,Indonesia and Phillie can look alike but only if you find the right teacher.Its true to say that you are far more likely to see better Thai arts these days,than you are Indonesian but haven said that the Muay Thai that most people think is true Muay Thai isnt.Its a very watered down version of what the arts of Siam have to offer.The dancen of these Verdic arts is always taught first,the Whai khru should be the first thing you master in Muay Thai.....not a sharp shin or knee.Its very hard to get the dancen right these days,as the real teachers are all passsen away.

Next year,after the great success of Khru Stan & Khru Rics visit to Galway,along with myself............we will do a posture and dance seminar form both ole Siam and Indonesia and show just like Ali did you gota floot like a butterfly to sting like a bee.I think any one who was at Khru Stans course would agree that he danced with his Muay Thai and I dance with my Silat/Satria arts when we fight.I have an open Silat/Satria school in Belfast now.............so please come along,respects J

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ross-a-palooza

hi i know this thread is kinda dead by now but just wanted to post sayin that i saw an episode of human weapon last week and in my opinion its absolute balls!!!
    its pure american crap trying to show "secret techniques and ancient moves" that the two guys are "deeply honoured" to be learning! only saw the 1 episode but who are the two guys...i know the big one's a ex american-footballer or somethin? last week was all about Okinawan Karate and the guys were to fight a black belt at the end of the episode after training in diff styles of karate...needless to say it was a load of rubbish!
    i trained in thai for few years and then through a friend started training Walisongo.
    Silat Liam i was just wondering how you can think the clip you posted could possibly entice anyone to want to start Silat???? :confused:
    it horrendous...realy is...it looks like bad Karate mixed with some crazy type of "American Ninja" Moves (what a movie by the way!! :D) people will just look at it and go wow there goes those lunatic silat dudes thinking they can fight again!!!
    seriously tho it just adds to the already poor opinion the majority of the martial arts world has of silat, will be interesting to see the episode but goin on what iv seen already im not expecting much! there are almost no clips of proper Silat/Indonesian Fighting out there, just the usual crap! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭celt2005

seriously tho it just adds to the already poor opinion the majority of the martial arts world has of silat :eek:

Only negative comments I have heard about Silat is on this forum, if you don,t like it / have never tried it , don,t bother yourselves about it.