Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lowden Dreadnought Query

• 02-12-2007 2:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭

I have always been a keen admirer of the original dreadnought series Lowden guitars and have been on the look out for a second hand model for some time. I have a contact in London who's guitar shop has just received a second hand Lowden D-32 (dreadnought). He is offering the guitar to me for £1800. The guitar is in perfect condition and has been fitted with a pickup.

I believe it is extremely difficult to come across these guitars anymore. Would anyone know whether this represents good value for money?

Cheers,
    D.S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

If I was looking for a dreadnought I'd either look at a good Martin or Guild. I have a McIlroy A25 and Lakewood M32-CP. The lakewood is a beautiful guitar. £1800 is a lot of money. Maybe something like this:

http://www.acousticcentre.com/used_guitars3.html

or if you could stretch it you could get a truly sweet collings dread:

http://www.acousticcentre.com/collings2.html

I like Lowden/McIlroy guitars but I've always seen them as more of a different kind of sound/style than what your good dreadnought represents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

I have spent a lot of time playing Martins and actually already have one of their lower end models - DXME. However, I have gone off Martin as I feel they are bad value. Other manufacturers can provide the same quality for less. Not too keen on Guild's either but am a big fan of Mcilroy. Not too familiar with Collings as a make but will take a look - thanks for that.

On the Lowden front. I gave the guy a ring and got him down to £1400 with Hiscox case. Over in London tomorrow with work so will take a look. I have played the D-32 before and I am a huge fan. Not just entirely sure if £1400 is a fair price in relation to the other makes on the market. Will have the opportunity tomorrow to try out the other models in the store at the price range also.

Any other opinions on acoustic guitars in the £1400-£1800 price range (€2000 - €2500)?

Does it have to be a dreadnought?

No, not necessarily. I have just played this model before and it is probably the best guitar I have played. I am not too keen on cut-aways, but apart from that am open to trying all types/makes.

If you can get the guy to drop £400 from the price of lowden then see if you can get £400 off the price of a collings d2h and get one of those. That would be a really good deal. Collings make amazing guitars. If not then £1400 doesnt seem that bad at all for a good lowden if you like it. If you like lowdens though I'd recommend trying out some McIlroys. Dermot introduced his Dreadnought series this year. I played one and it was very nice. Still glad I went with the A25. In my hands right now and the more I play it the better it sounds :D

a25ly5.jpg
    a25bkv4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Hi D.S.

Would you consider looking at an Avalon?

Their what Lowden have become I think.

Got the chance to play one recently....amazing!

http://www.avalonguitars.com/

I was in Canada over the Summer and picked up a Morgan guitar. I had never heard of them before but the sound blew me away. I think Alanis Morrissete, Sarah McLaughlin and Nickleback are all using Morgans.

http://www.morganguitars.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

Avalon were the range of lower end / factory Lowdens that eventually split off and became a seperate company. George Lowden is still hand-making guitars.

Tbh, Lowdens are fairly damn fine. If you like what you're hearing, then you probably won't find any better, short of having one made especially for you.

Martins, Taylor, Gibson, or Takomine, you're paying for the name with the quality of the guitar.

Avalon actually make some very nice high-end guitars as well (something like the Gold or Premier series I think its called). You just got to make sure you get an irish one. But again I wouldn't rate them to a Lowden/McIlroy

Well I just thought I would update you all on the situation. Got a chance to play the dreadnought this morning and while it was nice, it wasn't in fantastic shape and it didn't give me the 'buy me now' buzz.., however, by chance I did come across elsewhere a 1998 Lowden 032 in perfect nick..., it's an absolute gem of a guitar., I got the chance to compare it with a Mcilroy, two Avalons and then several guitars by Martin/Guild/Gibson that were over the 5k mark and I have to say, it was better than them all hands down for the style of music I play..,

So i purchased it! Very very happy. Got it in a seperate shop to where I was being offered the Lowden Dreadnought and after some haggling they matched the £1400 that the first shop dreadnought price (it was at £1750).., It's a guitar for life - don't ever envisage selling it.

GS - have played the A25 before and found it to be a beautful model also..,

Cheers lads.

Congratulations. I bought my Lakewood over in London and bought it a seat on the plane on the way home. It worked out cheaper to fly over and pick it up and buy it its own seat on the plane rather than getting it shipped over and risking any damage. The A25 is a great finger picking guitar because of the Cedar top. For any kind of strumming though I either use my Lakewood or for a little more volume I'll use my Yamaha dread. Stick up a pic of the lowden if you get a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

D.S. wrote: »
    So i purchased it! Very very happy. Got it in a seperate shop to where I was being offered the Lowden Dreadnought and after some haggling they matched the £1400 that the first shop dreadnought price (it was at £1750).., It's a guitar for life - don't ever envisage selling it.

Nice one! Don't forget the pics. ;)
    GStormcrow wrote: »
    Avalon actually make some very nice high-end guitars as well (something like the Gold or Premier series I think its called). You just got to make sure you get an irish one. But again I wouldn't rate them to a Lowden/McIlroy

Yeah, they launched the higher end ones after the split from Lowden, I presume. Or shortly before.

Cheers lads! Getting it home will be the next challenge. Have booked it a flight back with me in 3 weeks. Am working over here in London at the minute. Will stick up a few picks when I can to give ye a look. Not a scratch/mark on it. Looks like its hardly been played or just well cared for.

Sounds like a really good deal then. Lowdens don't come cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 celticguitars

Avalon were the range of lower end / factory Lowdens that eventually split off and became a seperate company. George Lowden is still hand-making guitars.

Tbh, Lowdens are fairly damn fine. If you like what you're hearing, then you probably won't find any better, short of having one made especially for you.

Martins, Taylor, Gibson, or Takomine, you're paying for the name with the quality of the guitar.

Sorry to contradict you but that's not the story at all.When George Lowden ran into financial difficulties a group of investors, including Lowden management and luthiers bought the company and called it the Lowden Guitar Company. At that time George only had about four different models and the new company wanted to improve some of his designs and expand the range of guitars being produced under the Lowden name. George objected to this so a new company Avalon was formed to give the Lowden luthiers a little more freedom to experiment with new designs. George then decided that he wanted to make guitars himself again and went to court and won the right to make them under the Lowden brandname, and that’s when the company split. I’m the proud owner of both Avalon and Lowden guitars and I find the quality from both workshops to be excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

That's the story as I heard it too. Both excellent (if expensive) guitars. But this thread is 5 years old :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

D.S. wrote: »

I have always been a keen admirer of the original dreadnought series Lowden guitars and have been on the look out for a second hand model for some time. I have a contact in London who's guitar shop has just received a second hand Lowden D-32 (dreadnought). He is offering the guitar to me for £1800. The guitar is in perfect condition and has been fitted with a pickup.

I believe it is extremely difficult to come across these guitars anymore. Would anyone know whether this represents good value for money?

Cheers,
    D.S.
    I have two Lowdens. A George Lowden Concert (classical), and a much loved, much abused O10c.

The only Lowden guitar I ever tried and didn't like was a dreadnought. I tried several dreads I did like, but the only Lowden I didn't like was one of those. I've had at least a quick play of over a hundred at this stage and, although I am absolutely a Lowdenista (honestly couldn't use anything else at this point), if I was told my next guitar absolutely had to be a dread, I'm not sure I'd be thinking Lowden. I just don't think its what he/they do best. I know I sound like I'm contradicting myself, but if its a Lowden you want, its more then likely the 'O' or 'S' sound you're thinking of. Keep an eye out. Good deals do pop up from time to time. Close enough to what you quoted there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

il gatto wrote: »
    But this thread is 5 years old :D
    Bugger. Just spotted that. Wine induced browsing...

Wonder if he bought it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

endacl wrote: »
    Bugger. Just spotted that. Wine induced browsing...

Wonder if he bought it?

Sounds like he really wanted it and had the cash. How could he not? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

il gatto wrote: »
    But this thread is 5 years old :D

You can start a new one if you'd like.