Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Event Staff at concerts

• 02-12-2007 1:35pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭

I would like to say a big public thank you to all people who work at concerts, from security, to paramedic's, catering, st. john's ambulance etc.

These people work extemely hard to make sure everyone has a safe, good night and all they get in return is abuse. so i am just saying Thank You

Oh and if the girl who was going to report me friday night for not letting her use the staff toilets, is here, pm me, love, and i will give all my details

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Well, no, they get paid in return too.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Well, no, they get paid in return too.

they might get paid but the level of abuse they have to put up with is horrendous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

So?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

So?
    MagicMarker, stop trolling.

Mr.S wrote: »
    security are pricks at concerts...ever show i've been to here they have been anoying and rude.

they are only pricks, if you act like a prick in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

You do get the odd prick though. Most of them are grand, like at Justice last night in the Phoenix Park - probably the soundest bunch of event staff at a big gig I've been at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Some event staff are lovely and friendly and some are complete tossers, as with everything in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What is this thread about?

Event staff work at events, they get paid.

Their job is to look after and manage the punters going in and out.

Their required competency would be an ability to avoid antagonizing people?

There are assholes on both sides.... whats the deal here???

because last night was nightmare, thats why i am thanking them. and last monday night was a nightmare and all people do is slag them off the whole time. do you think it is part of their job to be piss.ed on, vomited on, stab, punched?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

irishbird wrote: »
    because last night was nightmare, thats why i am thanking them. and last monday night was a nightmare and all people do is slag them off the whole time. do you think it is part of their job to be piss.ed on, vomited on, stab, punched?

Are you one of them?

yeah, they are a great bunch it was such a shame about the punters there but you cant talk about that particular gig cos is <snip>

Nope it was Aiken Promotions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

If they dont like it, quit. Simple as that. There's a huge amount of people who have to deal with the excact same, where are all their thank you threads?

Jello wrote: »
    Nope it was Aiken Promotions.

LOL you are right :o

right then what in gods name was wrong with you people at the justice gig last night ..............wild animals would have been better behaved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

but i dont know why you are thanking them on a forum :confused:

She has a story, and wants someone to ask her what it is.

Women :rolleyes:

right then what in gods name was wrong with you people at the justice gig last night ..............wild animals would have been better behaved

What was wrong with us? :confused: I guess we were all just... drunk? I didn't see much wrong with people's behaviour, just everyone having a good time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Right go on so, tell us what happened...

She has a story, and wants someone to ask her what it is.

Women :rolleyes:

no story, i work at most concerts in dublin and the larger ones around the country and what goes on is so, so scary............i dont remember concerts being like that when i was younger. i have a lot of friends working in security at these events and most of them have been put in hospital at one time or another

Daddio wrote: »
    Right go on so, tell us what happened...
    I'd love to know myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Maybe it's my Sunday hangover, but can someone please clarify that the
    OP started a thread singing praise to all those unfortunates who get paid
    to work at concerts only to later post that she works at concerts and thus
    started a thread to praise herself and co-workers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

no story, i work at most concerts in dublin and the larger ones around the country and what goes on is so, so scary............i dont remember concerts being like that when i was younger. i have a lot of friends working in security at these events and most of them have been put in hospital at one time or another
    Well what's your worst horror story? Never had any trouble with event staff tbh, I can imagine them having a hard time though, depending on what gig it is.
    Maybe it's my Sunday hangover, but can someone please clarify that the
    OP started a thread singing praise to all those unfortunates who get paid
    to work at concerts only to later post that she works at concerts and thus
    started a thread to praise herself an co-workers....

Yep you're not still drunk, you've got it right. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

You do get the odd prick though. Most of them are grand, like at Justice last night in the Phoenix Park - probably the soundest bunch of event staff at a big gig I've been at.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!! :D

Were u at justeeeeeece??? :D:D:D

yeah, they are a great bunch it was such a shame about the punters there but you cant talk about that particular gig cos is MCD

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!! Were u there too??? :D

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!! :D

Were u at justeeeeeece??? :D:D:D
    Well yes obviously.

Amazing eh??? :D

Yep.

Yep.

U seem very hung over otherwise just arrogant. lol!

The amount of girls that lost their shoe last nite was hilarious!! Aaaaaw what-a-nite!

U seem very hung over

True.

Anyway, I'm sure we'll be told to take this to PM if it continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Heh, she's right. I did security at a couple of concerts a few years back and got a lot of abuse.

Mind you, I usually had the abuser in a headlock on the way to the gates when it happened. :D

Any mention of that certain promoter or any of their concerts will result in an immediate ban. That includes innuendo or someone replying to this and saying "In your endo".

Any mention of a particular gig coupled with complaints about staff there or complaints about how it was run in general will result in an immediate ban.

In your endo.

Can't say he wasn't warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

If your in a position of authority and deal with the general public in large numbers your bound to get hassle and abuse. Some people just dont respect authority of any kind and feel they can do whatever they want. Thus behaving like depraved animals.

I was at a gig recently. Fire alarm goes off cue the fire brigade and police come and shut the place down. People where going crazy, mostly because no explanation was given. The promoters and organisers were at the gig also and kept their mouth shut. The fcuking emergency exits were bolted shut, candles were lit all over the place and people were allowed to smoke inside. Of course we only found this out a week later. Didnt stop the abuse directed towards the guards/firemen (except for the women who just threw themselves at them.. it was unreal. i think im going into the wrong profession). "i wish i had a condom so i could piss in it and **** it at them"- i mean wtf!. The organisers should of been lynched and refunds given. 33euro down the toliet for 1hours entertainment.

Security gards, police, fire brigade, bouncers etc deal with the lowest of the low and its incredibly difficult not to let them get to you. Its going to put you in a bad mood, ruin your night. your going to be a prick to everyone that day. We've all been through it in work except we dont deal with the public on mass. You'd have to have a specific personality to not let it affect you. I couldnt work any of the above jobs due to the hassle/abuse/stress. There are some immoral, disgusting, despicable, evil pricks out there who just dont know how (or care) to behave and these people deal with them all the time. No thanks.

Surprised to hear there was trouble at the justice gig. Liberal mellow electro types just looking to have a stomping time. Cant understand that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

I'm locking this because:
    a) I don't need to be liked.
    b) Discussion of Voldemort has already happened and will happen again.
    c) I don't want another Voldemort. Sequels suck.
    d) What was the original point? To thank yourself? Give me a break.

Discuss gigs in gigs & events.