Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

skangers VS Lady on the Luas

• 02-12-2007 2:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭

I was on the Luas tonight at about 11pm , red line .

There was a rather large Muslim lady, in a section of four seats by herself, until these 2 got on, a fella and a girl in their 20's with a child. both parents were really drunk.
    anyhow the guy had his feet up on the seat beside the lady and she asked him nicely to take his feet off the seat, he said whats it got to do with you, and they're not near you. She said your feet are dirty and take them off the seat. thus ensued a massive argument with threats by the skanger girl to hit the lady but didn't because she said you'd think I was racist, then said I have my daughter so I couldn't hit you anyway. The lady said your child would be better in a coffin without ye as parents, and then a massive verbal argument broke out..
    highly entertaining, when the couple got off with the child, the driver came out and asked the lady was she OK and what happened, the lady told the driver and he said you should have knocked and told me. thing is he was watching it all i could see him in his mirror.

just my tale of the luas today..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

The Luas has started running until 3am now, so that should make Luas journeys even more interesting/ drunken/ frightening/ brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

Fun...

Lovely representatives of Dublin society. Out drunk at 11pm with a kid??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭patrickc

WexCan wrote: »
    Fun...

Lovely representatives of Dublin society. Out drunk at 11pm with a kid??

yeh thought that myself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Ah I miss the Luas, you always leave it with a great story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭SubjectSean

Where was our intrepid reporter at the time of all the harrassment? He could have joined in IMHO. I could be wrong but now he just sounds like the guy who sat there while it happened. Seats are not for feet etc.

you mean me, i wasn't getting involved, i value my life too much thanks very much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

patrickc wrote: »
    yeh thought that myself..

was thinking the same thing my self, how old was the kid, great example to be setting to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

The lady said your child would be better in a coffin without ye as parents,

Sounds like the lady was quite the antagonist herself tbh. Who the hell tells someone their kid would be better off in a coffin? Don't get me wrong, the skangers are hardly charming, but the above is a really god damn scummy thing to say as well, not to mention stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Where was our intrepid reporter at the time of all the harrassment? He could have joined in IMHO. I could be wrong but now he just sounds like the guy who sat there while it happened. Seats are not for feet etc.

So you are the guy who sticks his nose into everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

both were in the wrong

saying a child is better off dead is an absolutely horrible, crude, scummy thing to do

I put my feet up on the bus, but in fairness I take them down if people sit near them, out of manners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭source

i never put my feet up on seats on public transport, the amount of p1ss,sh1t and vomit you unknowingly walk through on a regular day in a city is disgusting,i would do the same as the lady did, more so for my own well being than for "enforcing a private company's rules"

How many of you would put your shoes up on a chair in your own home????? very few i'd say, but everyone thinks it's okay on public transport for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Where was our intrepid reporter at the time of all the harrassment? He could have joined in IMHO.
    Damn right he should have !!!
    I reckon three of them could have taken that fat muslim woman no problem.*

*May not be true if she was exceptionally big, or had a handbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Enough of the anti Muslim comments.
    Thanks.

(If you have just stumbled into this thread, the offending posts have been deleted)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

irish-stew wrote: »
    was thinking the same thing my self, how old was the kid, great example to be setting to them

I always find it amusing that one needs a licence to have a dog but......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Terry wrote: »
    Enough of the anti Muslim comments.
    Thanks.

(If you have just stumbled into this thread, the offending posts have been deleted)

Why did you delete MY post when I reported that jerk who made the racist comments?

Sounds like the lady was quite the antagonist herself tbh. Who the hell tells someone their kid would be better off in a coffin? Don't get me wrong, the skangers are hardly charming, but the above is a really god damn scummy thing to say as well, not to mention stupid.

yes it was rather nasty of her to say such things.
    Mossy Monk wrote: »

no , the luas isn't exactly big, when your sitting in front of the arguement.
    Hagar wrote: »
    Damn right he should have !!!
    I reckon three of them could have taken that fat muslim woman no problem.*

*May not be true if she was exceptionally big, or had a handbag.

she had a rather large handbag with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

eth0_ wrote: »
    Why did you delete MY post when I reported that jerk who made the racist comments?
    Because you quoted the post and because you engaged in personal abuse in that post.

As you have once again used personal abuse, I'm going to ban you.

yeh there often is security on the luas now at night, was surprised there was none on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Not the nicest or smartest thing to say. She probably had a point though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

She sounds a reasonable woman. I too wish the two scangers and their child were in coffins right now.

a bit OTT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Thats ridiculous! The woman has no right to complain about someone resting their feet up on the seat...ugh, moody people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,566 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

well, i'd rather not have somebodies smelly trainers sitting beside me on public transport. All the guy had to do was put them on the floor like everybody else, but instead decides make a scene and argue

also bugs me when people in the cinema stick their feet up on the seat in front of them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

foinse wrote: »

How many of you would put your shoes up on a chair in your own home????? very few i'd say, but everyone thinks it's okay on public transport for some reason.

Erm, i do it all the time.

Definitely not everything but I'd hardly be slagging the bus driver for not getting involved if I hadn't had the balls for it. I don't think you could call anybody who'd got involved in this incident nosy. It was pretty in your face by the sounds of it. One time I nearly got shot by crack dealers for getting involved but you still have to get involved though. All it takes is for good men to do nothing and all of that. The skangers get away with what they get away with because of cowards who don't "stick their nose in"

As for the people slagging the woman for defending herself as best she could - shame on you bigots. What she said about the skanger child was perfectly true and we all know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Definitely not everything but I'd hardly be slagging the bus driver for not getting involved if I hadn't had the balls for it. I don't think you could call anybody who'd got involved in this incident nosy. It was pretty in your face by the sounds of it. One time I nearly got shot by crack dealers for getting involved but you still have to get involved though. All it takes is for good men to do nothing and all of that. The skangers get away with what they get away with because of cowards who don't "stick their nose in"

As for the people slagging the woman for defending herself as best she could - shame on you bigots. What she said about the skanger child was perfectly true and we all know it.

Surely one cannot accuse people of bigotry, whilst at the same time condoning bigotry towards the people referred to as "skangers"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

everyone is a schwarzenegger-a-like on t'interweb

no , the luas isn't exactly big, when your sitting in front of the arguement.

Do point out where I said it was.

The skangers get away with what they get away with because of cowards who don't "stick their nose in"

How can you call anyone a coward when you weren't there to witness the event? You have no idea of the circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Bravo to the woman for confronting the two drunken knackers. I doubt many of us here would have had the balls to say it. I don't agree with the coffin bit though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

WindSock wrote: »
    Bravo to the woman for confronting the two drunken knackers. I doubt many of us here would have had the balls to say it. I don't agree with the coffin bit though.

Bravo?? Are you serious? I would have told her to relax and put her own feet up...

The skangers get away with what they get away with because of cowards who don't "stick their nose in"

How can you call anyone a coward when you weren't there to witness the event? You have no idea of the circumstances.

subjectsean what would you have done different.

Do point out where I said it was.

my point being on the luas, it's not exactly easy to miss things happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Agreed - although fair play to her for having the guts to confront drunken skangers. Putting your feet on someone else's seat on public transport is extremely ignorant. I was on the bus to Cork one day and the girl behind me had her foot on the window ledge thing and it was poking into my arm. Rude bitch.
    I always find it amusing that one needs a licence to have a dog but......
    And a TV!

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Bravo?? Are you serious?

Yes, I am serious. For her to stand up to these drunken, obnoxious and possibly intimidating eejits deserves a bit of respect. It doesn't matter what it is for, it's the fact that she wasn't too cowardly to let something that obviously irked her go, when most would have just looked away, silently seething, then go home and bitch about it later, in AH perhaps.

Also, this story has given me an idea :D
    I think I will buy a hijab and go around telling people off for doing annoying things, and they will be to afraid to threaten me with violence, for fear of being deemed a racist :cool:

Yes, I am serious. For her to stand up to these drunken, obnoxious and possibly intimidating eejits deserves a bit of respect. It doesn't matter what it is for, it's the fact that she wasn't too cowardly to let something that obviously irked her go, when most would have just looked away, silently seething, then go home and bitch about it later, in AH perhaps.

Also, this story has given me an idea :D
    I think I will buy a hijab and go around telling people off for doing annoying things, and they will be to afraid to threaten me with violence, for fear of being deemed a racist :cool:

I couldn't be bothered for one getting involved, to be verbally abused, or physically assaulted perhaps. I was just finished work and all I wanted was a quiet journey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Don't you have a race of your own?! If you're a white European, I actually think it would be much more effective to accuse another white European of racism... bewilder them into silence:D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Well done to the muslim lady. The driver was obviously a coward seen as he saw the whole thing and couldn't be bothered to lift his finger, hit the PA button and give out to the scumbags.

InFront wrote: »
    Don't you have a race of your own?! If you're a white European, I actually think it would be much more effective to accuse another white European of racism... bewilder them into silence:D

Yes, but I wouldn't be pretending I am from another country, or that I am Muslim, they would be making that assumption themselves. I'd merely just be wearing a scarf ;)

subjectsean what would you have done different.

I would have not let the woman think she was on her own, other than that I can't say, I wasn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Fair play to the woman.. More people need to stand up to scumbags. Scumbags on public transport seem to get away with so much. Ive been involved in a few shouting matches with them over the years when travelling on the bus cos they were smoking or slagging people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

This kind of agression happens in other countries too, have a look at this on the Barcalona Metro from a couple of weeks back, the bloke was caught and got off lightly as he supposedly had mental problems, let me ask you a question if you were the person sitting at the bottom of the picture would u have tried to stop him??? The victim in question was from South America

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

For what it's worth, in many Muslin cultures (particularly in the Middle East), it is considered extraordinarily rude to show another person the sole of your shoe; if done deliberately, it is grossly insulting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

Terry wrote: »
    Because you quoted the post and because you engaged in personal abuse in that post.

As you have once again used personal abuse, I'm going to ban you.

INTERNET POWER!!!!

This kind of agression happens in other countries too, have a look at this on the Barcalona Metro from a couple of weeks back, the bloke was caught and got off lightly as he supposedly had mental problems, let me ask you a question if you were the person sitting at the bottom of the picture would u have tried to stop him??? The victim in question was from South America

Thats scary. The guy on the right seems completly oblivious to it though. He probably can't even see it happening.

Edit: Actually I just looked at it again, he saw him at first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Thats scary. The guy on the right seems completly oblivious to it though. He probably can't even see it happening.

Edit: Actually I just looked at it again, he saw him at first.

Well actually about a week before this incident, on another metro a male passanger tried to stop a couple rowing when the boyfriend started beating the girlfriend and for his effort got stabbed and died, so probably the passenger who doesn't help is scared as well for his own safety. don't blame him tbh, although I would have probably rang the cops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well its not up to the operator to be a babysitter for those on board. He was just doing his job by keeping an eye on the incident. The most he could really do anyway was make a testimony later if it came to it: he cant be a bouncer so he has to be a camera. And he also has to look after his own safety don't forget.

EDIT: yea its bad to see that happen. Its bad to know you can do something about it, too. But again, its too easy to get into these situations trying to be the hero only to find yourself in a very bad situation which rarely helps either of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

a bit OTT

Dya know what? You're right. I retract that statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I really, really, REALLY hate skangers. Coming from an area that's rampant with the miserable ***** I really can't feel sorry for them! Good on her for having the guts to say it to them Yeah it was harsh, I agree, but they bloody deserve it. My granny was started on by a scumbag and his big FAT ugly wife/gf coz she tried to get off the luas and of course couldn't due to the size of the skanger *****!! As she pushed past he called her a "stupid ******* slapper"...... That's my grandmother they were talkin about!! WTF??? So of course I lost the head with them (was 17, they were prob in their 30's) and told him that somebody that size shouldn't be standing in the ****** doorway anyway! Didn't go down too well but they shut up pretty quick as other passengers started agreeing with me.

Anyway she was damn right. Fair play, sad thing is it's people like her and the rest of us here that'll end up in the coffin coz of the scummy ********.

HATE THEM! :mad: