Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stop shaking your bucket says Guard

• 30-11-2007 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭

I was out doing a bit of charity collecting the other day...it was a work thing we all volunteered for.

We were given buckets and sent out

On O'connnel street,first time i'd ever done something like that so i started shaking my bucket, making the coins rattle, people were putting cash in

Next thing this Guard comes up...tells me to stop shaking the bucket

"Charity is passive" he says, "By shaking your bucket, you're harassing people"

He was deadly serious...

I have never heard of anything like that in my life...was he taking the p**s?

Was i in the wrong? does that mean the sightsavers and concern people with clipboards are guilty of harassment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

I can kinda see his point
    And it does annoy me the way some of them clipboard people chase after me
    I also accelerate my walking rate when I am passing them. And I do sponsor a child in Africa before you think Im a tight ****.

Good on ya for collecting for charity though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Tell him piss off, he had a hangover probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

God forbid he ever bump into a gang of chuggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Belfafter

Stupid as it is he is probably technically right.
    I have done it a few times for a couple of charities in Belfast and we were told we not to be hassling people including "shaking the box" at them.
    There is some byelaw on it but commonsense when you are collecting means you invariably shake shake shake when you have the right type of happy person close by who looks ok - you dont shake at the stern faced people trying to avoid a "charity collision" while head down walking the last 3 inches of pavement :)

Feck them all - keep up the good work :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

You know what, I kind of see his point, for me Grafton Street/Wicklow street should be renamed Charity Street, a day does not seem to go by and you have some charity collector hassle you :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

You know I see the garda's point there. Everyday you go out there are xyz charities in your face competing for your cash. They all look at you as if you are a tight sod if you walk past. I am a student and regardless of the chuggers annoying the hell outta me with their inane idle banter, trying to lure you in, have enough on my plate trying to scrape enough together for a proper dinner without being made feel guilty about not supporting the local hospice or something.. I think charity is something that should be voluntary. When I have money though, I will be more charitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

He is correct though. Charity is passive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I find I'd be more inclined to give money to someone who wasn't shaking their bucket shouting at me to donate anyhow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Belfafter wrote: »
    I have done it a few times for a couple of charities in Belfast and we were told we not to be hassling people including "shaking the box" at them.
    There is some byelaw on it but commonsense when you are collecting means you invariably shake shake shake when you have the right type of happy person close by who looks ok - you dont shake at the stern faced people trying to avoid a "charity collision" while head down walking the last 3 inches of pavement :)

Feck them all - keep up the good work :p
    You misspelt your user name when you were signing up, didn't you?

OP, you came to the wrong place if you were looking for sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

cazzy wrote: »
    I can kinda see his point
    I also accelerate my walking rate when I am passing them. And I do sponsor a child in Africa before you think Im a tight ****.

Good on ya for collecting for charity though.

sponsor at home first....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Belfafter

mis-spelt only in a not living there anymore/after sorta sense.
    After belfast in a post belfast cyber existence mode if that makes any sense.
    Good luck to all who give up there time for others:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The cop was dead right and now that you've brought that to my attention I'm going to smack the charity bucket out of the hands of anyone I see fit and do a citizens arrest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Belfafter wrote: »

QFT

I've done charity collecting in Belfast and we told not to shake the buckets by the PSNI

The garda was dead right OP, every single day there is a different charity collecting for something and shaking the buckets is damn annoying.
    It's not going to get you any extra money, it just pisses people off.
    Hell, we gave €815 million in taxpayers money in foreign aid last year so how much more money do you want for your charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

God forbid he ever Please let him bump into a gang of chuggers.

fixed that for ya..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You were hard done by OP, god knows whenever i pass someone in the street who shakes a bucket at me i feel compelled to give them all my money. I think you should take this issue up with the Garda Commissioner Gordon person. Rage against the machine man, fight the MAN!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

God forbid he ever bump into a gang of 'Roma' chuggers.

It's rightly fixed now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Garda was right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

The gardai, sorting out the city's problems one charity worker at a time. OP be ashamed that you broke an important law. No shaking buckets. It goes back to ancient times when the English used to shake buckets of our taxes to taunt us poor Irish*

*may not be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

cool. next time I encounter a bucket-shaker I'll dial 999 on my mobile and demand swift justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Gekko wrote: »
    cool. next time I encounter a bucket-shaker I'll dial 999 on my mobile and demand swift justice.

Or you could make a citizen's arrest and pin the chugger to the floor until back-up arrives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Just tell him you've got parkinsons disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I hate the ones that shake their buckets, some people have headaches and don't want to hear that crap

I give to the nice, quiet charity collectors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

cazzy wrote: »

The street collectors laws are being changed so that the same rules apply as for people collecting money on the street, at the mo these chuggers aren't regulated at all because no money is changing hands, but this amendment will mean they will have to: contact the local super to obtain a permit to "ply their trade" and there will also be restrictions on the amount of them in one place.

this will mean no more passing 8 or 10 of them on the same street. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I wonder could Bono be charged with anything?Perhaps agressive begging- 2000 counts,incitement to idiocy- 200 counts,mouthing off at concerts-1000 counts.Let the sentences run consecutively and we'd never have the cnunt see the light of day again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

In my bucket-waving days, we were told when we collected our buckets that we *must not* shake them or jangle them or call out "help the homeless" or anything like this - that this was illegal, and only standing with the bucket was allowed.

As for Bono and Bobbo, I have an uncharitable wish that they'd go back to songwriting.

luckat wrote: »

As for Bono and Bobbo, I have an uncharitable wish that they'd go back to songwriting.

No,i wish they'd die.We dont need any more lyrics like " a mole living in a hole" or "the telex machine is kept so clean".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

should have told him you were busking. the guards apparently can't touch anyone who says they're busking... works for all the beggars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I agree with the garda on this. What pisses me off most is there is usualy more than 1 person collecting for the same charity, you contribute to 1 and the next one hassles next. Then when you are comming back down the same street you get hassled again. Feck sake it's like haloween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

they annoy me, like most people said i wouldnt mind giving them money if them didnt run half way down the street after you!!

one guy who was collecting, money once stop me and was asking me to buy a badge for something and then out of nowhere asked me where i got my tights from and what colour they were!!! WTF this was a man asking me this i said eh pennys, and he goes dead serious " you see im a cross dresser and i havent seen tights that colour before there lovely" ,, the following week walking past him he shouted out " hiya i got them tights they fit really comfy to thanks for the advise" mmmm strange:rolleyes:

emo!! wrote: »
    they annoy me, like most people said i wouldnt mind giving them money if them didnt run half way down the street after you!!

one guy who was collecting, money once stop me and was asking me to buy a badge for something and then out of nowhere asked me where i got my tights from and what colour they were!!! WTF this was a man asking me this i said eh pennys, and he goes dead serious " you see im a cross dresser and i havent seen tights that colour before there lovely" ,, the following week walking past him he shouted out " hiya i got them tights they fit really comfy to thanks for the advise" mmmm strange:rolleyes:

I think he was at the last boards beers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

emo!! wrote: »

That made me LOL. Great post :).

We don't get too many charity bucket shakers in the country, it's usually the local school that does a collection outside the supermarkets once a year and everyone gives them a few bob no problem. Now & then we get the people that sell the scratch cards for charities but I don't buy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Degsy wrote: »
    I think he was at the last boards beers:D

was he wearing the tights was he!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Shaking a bucket today, dealing smack to 12 year olds tomorrow... I can see his point. It's a slippery slope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He is right, down with this sort of thing, it's fúcking annoying.