Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chaos Fighting Championships. The final Card

• 30-11-2007 10:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭

Here is the format for the Night. Hope to see you there and enjoy the show.

Pro middleweight
    Aldric Cassata (Gracie Barra France) VS Papy Abedy (Hilti)

Pro featherweight
    Micky devlin (Donegal Jiu-Jitsu) Vs Micky Young (UFR GYM)

Pro middleweight
    Shaun O Donnell(Donegal Jiu-Jitsu) Vs Liam Shannon (UFR GYM)

Pro B welterweight
    Jason Muldoon (UFR GYM) Vs Dominic McConnell (Strabane Judo Club)

Semi Pro middleweight (@82kg compromise)
    Neno Platisa (Kokoro) Vs Peter O loughlin (KYOUJIN)

Semi Pro middleweight
    Stephen Nolan (KYOUJIN) Vs Will Burdock (Kokoro)

Semi Pro feathweight
    Chris Mc Kendrick (Long Tower) Vs Leo Burdock (Kokoro)

Semi Pro middleweight
    Thomas Quinn (Sudden Impact) Vs Micky Gallagher (Donegal Jiu-Jitsu)

Amateur Heavy
    Eugene Mcrossan (Donegal Jiu-Jitsu) Vs Junior Charles (Kokoro)

Dominic McConnell boasts an amateur boxing record of 45-6
    Chris McKendrick is an international Judo player who is stepping into the MMA ring for the first time
    Eugene McCrossan is a champion in Jikishin Jiu-Jitsu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Best of luck with the show Jason, such a pity it clashes with the League, but as we discussed offline it couldn't be avoided. Nice to see some new names getting into the ring, the Kokoro boys and Donegal Jitz clubs getting out there!
    INteresting to see Neno Platisa in the ring, met him at Tribal Warfare and it will be great to se if he lives up to the hype.
    We have already talked about Micky vs Michael we have already discussed on here and I am gutted to be missing.

Best of luck to everyone on the card, I'm sure it will be an awesome first show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Jason Mc

Best of luck with the show Jason, such a pity it clashes with the League, but as we discussed offline it couldn't be avoided. Nice to see some new names getting into the ring, the Kokoro boys and Donegal Jitz clubs getting out there!
    INteresting to see Neno Platisa in the ring, met him at Tribal Warfare and it will be great to se if he lives up to the hype.
    We have already talked about Micky vs Michael we have already discussed on here and I am gutted to be missing.

Best of luck to everyone on the card, I'm sure it will be an awesome first show.

Yes Mark thanks for the props. Hope all goes well at show and next time we can talk dates beforehand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Yeah good luck to the Kokoro guys! Keep us informed about the results, unfortunately couldn't make it to either the mmaleague or chaos tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Good luck with the event!

JOB.

Quick rundown of results

Junior Charlie beat Eugene Mc Crossan by decision
    Thomas Quinn beat Michael Gallagher - kimura
    Leo Burdock beat Chris McKendrick - rd 1 Standing Guillotine
    Will Burdock beat Stpehn Nolan - rd 1 Guillotine
    Neno Platisa beat Peter O'Loughlin - rd 1 keylock
    Jason Muldoon beat Dominic McConnell - rd 1 head arm choke
    Liam Shannon Beat Shaun O'Donnell - rd 1 gnp
    Micky Young beat Micky Devlin - rd2 armbar
    Papy Abedy beat Aldric Cassata - rd2 gnp

It was a great nights entertainment and John and myself thank all those that took part and came along. The event was a packed house and the crowd thoroughly enjoyed the action.

Fight of the night had to be Micky Young vs Micky Devlin. Young Micky Devlin stepped up to the plate and gave the much more experienced man a hard fought win.

Both guys gave the crowd something to get the blood pumping. Whilst Devlin took a loss everyone agreed that he has a very bright future in the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Pimp Daddy King

Really enjoyed the event on Saturday night. A great line up of fights and fighters. Junior Charlie was an incredible opponent and super strong, I congratulate him on his win and wish him the very best of luck for the future.
    I did'nt like the way the professional fighters where fobbed off with a poultry 100quid though. That was just insulting in my view. We(the fighters) all got a big speech in the changing room about going out there and behaving like sportsmen and putting on a good show for the crowd so they would want to return and we(the fighters) done just that. I did'nt see 1 bad fight that night but for the people running the event to sell tickets at 20quid and charge 25 at the door and then turn round and hand a PRO fighter 100pounds is just WRONG. I was fighting as an amature so I received nothing and was'nt expecting anything but I was shocked at the stingyness of what the pro's recieved. Without the fighters there would'nt have been any event and so they should be treated better. SHAME.

100 pund for your first fight isn't that bad to be honest. Its not like events run for nothing you know, once you add on the costs of things like advertising insurance hall rental doctors djs helpers ring rental first aid and equipment rental it does all start to add up, I doubt it was through stinginess you were paid ~140 euro though, I am sure Jason will be along in a while to counter your arguments from a more informed stand point.

100-200 is pretty normal for your first fight. I've seen this across multiple smaller organisations. When you put in your fights and become more well known, your pay will go up for sure. You have to understand than MMA is still in it's infancy in Ireland at the moment - so it will still be a niche sport for another few years.

Jason himself has stated that it was a packed house and a great night and I am aware of the costs of running such an event but I do feel that the point I am trying to make is being lost. The Fighters ARE the event, not the ring girl or dj or anyone else. All those other people are only there BECAUSE of the fighters and wether it is their first fight or 100th is irrelevant. Myself and Micheal Devlin where asked to fight in Southend earlier this year and when I asked Chris Richardson how much it paid he told me 250pound for the fight and 5pound from every ticket he sold, averaging around 450pound per fight. 100quid is laughable but then it is the principle of the gesture. How much was paid to the dude who played the cd's?? or the ring girl?? or bouncers?? They only had a nights work because of the fighters.. No one else

Jason himself has stated that it was a packed house and a great night and I am aware of the costs of running such an event but I do feel that the point I am trying to make is being lost. The Fighters ARE the event, not the ring girl or dj or anyone else.

I agree 100%
    All those other people are only there BECAUSE of the fighters and wether it is their first fight or 100th is irrelevant.
    Not sure this makes sense however, are you saying you should get the same wages as someone who has had 10 or twenty fights? Someone who may hold titles form various shows? Someone in the UFC?
    There has to be a sliding scale for fighter wages, otherwise nobody could ever run a show. Like almost every other job I can think of, you are paid more the more experience you have, this is not only fair, but necessary, it gives incentive to fighters to go out and get that experience.
    Myself and Micheal Devlin where asked to fight in Southend earlier this year and when I asked Chris Richardson how much it paid he told me 250pound for the fight and 5pound from every ticket he sold, averaging around 450pound per fight.

Without any further information I only assume it is a bigger show with a much larger takings, probably competing with other promotions for fighters and can afford to throw some money at fighters, nothing wrong with that. It does beg the question why you didn't just say to Jason that you would only fight for x amount of money ahead of time instead of coming on here and giving out. Or indeed why you didn't fight in THAT show instead!
    100quid is laughable but then it is the principle of the gesture. How much was paid to the dude who played the cd's?? or the ring girl?? or bouncers?? They only had a nights work because of the fighters.. No one else
    Agreed again, no fighters = no show = no work for bouncers and dj AT THE SHOW, but most bouncers would be have a regular door job they are giving up to work that Saturday night at the event, so its costing them money, similarly for the DJ, I take your point the fighters should be paid more, but they might not have the same opportunity cost as the bouncers and dj do, so could be paid less to make the same money. Security is a requirement for Fire Regulations down south I presume its a similar vein up north, so no bouncers = no show in the same way no fighters would.

All in all I can tell you are well annoyed, but I really think talking to Jason ahead of time would have been the way to go about it not mud slinging on here after the fact. I also think things are not as black ands white as you are painting them.

Correct me if I'm wrong -

The fighters were told how much they would be paid before they fought.
    They accepted the amount offered.
    They fought.
    They received the amount they were promised.

?

Ultimately if the lads didn't want to fight for 150 euro they shouldn't have fought but we all know the money doesn't matter a god damn, especially for a first time fighter. 150 euro or 350 euro, really doesn't make much difference, in my perhaps, affluent opinion. It's really only a token gesture. Might get you a wii rather than a ds if you were able to track one down over the Christmas but it certianly isn't a case of putting food on the table.

I'd speculate that Chaos fighting weren't 100% sure how successful the event would be, rationally thinking. They probably couldn't guarantee all pro-fighters 400e in case they only sold out 1/3 of the seats.

How much fighters are paid is a bit secretive on the mma circuit, I'm sure the people who need to know do know but it's not the most transparent system in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Why would it be transparent? Why should you or I discuss what we get paid to do any job?

That said, for a first ever pro fight, €140 sounds good. Pro is really just a rule set in any case and I don't think we should get carried away with the pro aspect because it implies that fighting is their living, whereas it really just refers to the fact that money changes hands.

Anyway, not that it bleedin matters in my case at this stage I'm probably going to have to pay the promoter to get my next fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Totally agree with Mark on this one.

Roper wrote: »
    Why would it be transparent? Why should you or I discuss what we get paid to do any job?

Didn't say it should be, I said it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Well you said secretive, which usually impies some sort of secrecy! I think people are just discreet and rightly so.

Also Pimp Daddy King,
    To be fair, not a lot of promotions would have given Michael Devlin an opportunity to showcase himself as the second billing on any card with his first pro fight, so I would say he was well dealt with in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭MichaelDevlin

Im just glad I had the opportunity to get in and fight. I dont care about money its not what motivates me to train. I would have fought that night for free. The only thing im thinking about is getting back in the ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mccaffertyt

I recently had my first pro fight and although the money was a nice bonus i don't think money should motivate anyone in the sport,it should be a love of the sport,and as already said everyone is told beforehand how much they get paid,which is generally an amount for fighting and a bonus for winning.In my opinion money ruins martial arts. I don't see what this guys complaint is about he fought amatuer so obviously the pay wouldn't have affected him anyways,maybe i'm wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

I like money

Why do people assume that I am annoyed or throwing dirt or giving out?? I'm not ranting I simply made an honest and totally unbiased statement that for someone to receive 100pound for a PRO fight is madness. I did fight as an amature and said that I expected nothing, just that I was shocked at how little some of the fighters recieved. No one in our club knew anything about our opponents never mind money and it didnt matter either but to say 100quid is ok or the norm is wrong. Anyway, arguing online is like a broken pencil,,, pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I go in and pay my €20 like everyone else - are some of you guys getting partial refunds of your entry fee? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭weemate

To add my 2cents to the argument,firstly as already stated,£100/€140 is pretty much standard for a firsttime fighter.The more fights you have the further up the card you go and then teh more you can ask the promoter for.Also,for the first show from this promoter,form any promoter for that matter,it is a big financial risk.They have 'x' amount of fights where everyone has to get paid,plus running costs.If they dont make that on the gate then they have to shell out of their own pockets.There was a case in England last month where ticket sales were not that good and the promoter just called the show off 30 minutes before the doors opened and no-one got paid...or fought for that matter!
    Truthfully as an amature fighter,who by your own admission was not getting paid anyway,I do not feel you have the right to come on the forum and slate the promoter for something that really is none of your business.Micheal Devlin who fought in my opinion the fight of the night,has been on saying he didnt care about the cash [ by the way Micheal pm me if you get a chance re.another fight in January ].

It's not unheard of for fighters to not even get payed at all. I've seen countless event promoters screw over fighters - at least they payed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭bilbo79

Look the money was crappy for your mate, but he chose to fight for that amount, if he does well im sure the promoters will offer more in the future..

Why do people assume that I am annoyed or throwing dirt or giving out??
    Cause you were.
    I'm not ranting I simply made an honest and totally unbiased statement that for someone to receive 100pound for a PRO fight is madness.
    LOL
    Anyway, arguing online is like a broken pencil,,, pointless.

Particularly when you start losing after an unprovoked mud slinging, right?

Pimp Daddy

Firstly I would like to thank you for the warm thanks you have given me and John for taking the step of putting on the first event of its kind in the area. And also for giving you the chance to take part.

I'm sure you sat down and worked out the costs of putting on an event - like flying people in from 2 different countries, putting them up for 2 night, hiring a hall, a PA system, screens, a camera man, putting on staff, refs, judges, hiring a ring, and MC etc... etc.....

You might be very surprised to note that every single person there got paid more than myself and John. Even though we were the ones who took the risk and actually put on a show which everyone enjoyed.

I'm sure now you will be given multiple invites to fight in other events and I wish you all the best.

Oh yes and every single person knew up front what they were receiving and had agreed to it. (In fact some did not even want to take the money)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭weemate

which fighter were you on the night?

Its sad that a person cant make a comment or express his personal view without being attacked or accused of being out of joint. I admit to having very little experience in the fight game but I am still entitled to MY opinion and in MY opinion I would'nt put on my socks for 100quid never mind fight. Sorry if I have offended anyones sensibilities, that was NOT my intention. I HONESTLY thought 100squid was an insignificant figure. Anyone who actually KNOWS me knows I am a fair dude but if my opinion happens to offend you, then I AM SORRY, but I dont like having to explain myself over and over. I dont begrudge Jason or his mate a wage, they deserve it NO DOUBT AT ALL. My point has been lost and I could'nt be bothered going over it again. I think some people must be a wee bit punch drunk or just thick as **** and need to start knitting or flower arranging. AS for my wonderful chance to compete!! I helped fill the card when NOT ENOUGH PRO FIGHTERS COULD BE FOUND and by taking on a different weight class never mind the 25 or 30 people who came to support me. This is pointless. I wont be back on so you can have the forum to yourselves. Sorry for any hassle, that was not my intention.

Its sad that a person cant make a comment or express his personal view without being attacked or accused of being out of joint.
    THIS is what YOU did to Jason dude, turnabout is fair play. Maybe you are new to message boards, it certainly sounds like it, but you can't expect to make an attack on someone and NOT have someone ATTACKING back.

I admit to having very little experience in the fight game but I am still entitled to MY opinion and in MY opinion I would'nt put on my socks for 100quid never mind fight.

You admit you have little experience in the fight game, but did you ever think to ask anyone who has experience, and there are plenty of us on here, what they thought was a fair wage for fighting? You could have avoided this whole argument.

Sorry if I have offended anyones sensibilities, that was NOT my intention. I HONESTLY thought 100squid was an insignificant figure. Anyone who actually KNOWS me knows I am a fair dude but if my opinion happens to offend you, then I AM SORRY, but I dont like having to explain myself over and over. I dont begrudge Jason or his mate a wage, they deserve it NO DOUBT AT ALL.

I for one believe you when I say this. You got angry at the "ill treatment" of your stable mates, you railed at the injustice and used this forum to air your opinion. Unfortunately your opinion was not educated and the form your initial post took was inflammatory, which led us here.
    My point has been lost and I could'nt be bothered going over it again.
    Your point has been made a good three or four times at this stage, it has hardly been lost. The problem is your point was invalid and you tried to make it stick by repeating yourself ad nauseum. Next time try logical arguments based on solid facts, you will do much better.
    I think some people must be a wee bit punch drunk or just thick as **** and need to start knitting or flower arranging.
    Nice work dude, you just invalidate your apology in the lines prior to this.
    AS for my wonderful chance to compete!! I helped fill the card when NOT ENOUGH PRO FIGHTERS COULD BE FOUND and by taking on a different weight class never mind the 25 or 30 people who came to support me.
    I have spoken with Jason as to my opinions on why he couldn't fill the card easily, in private and with no arguing or groundless points, I am sure all of those would be lost on you so I won't offer them here. Kudos for getting in the ring, though I am pretty sure you have made it nigh on impossible for you to get your next fight with this posting.
    This is pointless. I wont be back on so you can have the forum to yourselves. Sorry for any hassle, that was not my intention.
    Here's hoping :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Drunkmonkey79

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mhIJOVD8hwY

See any similarities with the cop and pimp daddy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Gooligar

I thought that Anthony Rodgers was to fight on this card, does anyone know why he didn't fight? Or if he is still training in Donegal? :)