Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Housemates

• 29-11-2007 4:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭

Just wondering do many people house share and if so what infuriates you the most about people you've lived with?

for me its dirty dishes left in the sitting room and hair clogging the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

The housemate that takes 1 cup, bowl, fork, spoon, plate etc and leaves them in their cupboard.
    WTF is up with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I have the near perfect flatmate.

A friend I have known since I was 4 (that's 24 years). He works as a chef, so I hardly ever see the guy now. By the time he gets home, I'm in bed, and by the time he gets up, I'm already in work.

So, it's like we have the apartment to ourselves all the time.

We are both clean, and share the chores. If something needs doing, it's done. We don't mind if the other eats any food in the press "if it's in the press, it's for both of us". If there is something that we'd particularly like the other not to eat/drink, we can just say, and it's never a problem. If the dishwasher is full, whoever gets there first will empty it etc etc

He works most Saturdays, so I can just laze around til the evening time, not bothering anyone.

It's great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭SlinkyToo

You are a lucky guy, I bet you cant wait for civil ceremonies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

My housemate is my husband we are living together 9 years and he still ****es in the toilet and leaves the toilet bowl dirty, Drives me mad!!

I still ring him, pull him up on it everytime he does it but I might as well be talking to the wall!!!!

INFURIATING!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

SlinkyToo wrote: »
    You are a lucky guy, I bet you cant wait for civil ceremonies ;)

He also doesn't mind when I bring ladies back...as long as I share them with him. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i live with 7 people 4 girls and 3 other guys

the irrationality of women is wat gets me the most.

for example we have a small freezer between 8 people but the girls still insist on putting everything into it in the boxes it comes in even if its wrapped in plastic due to the fact they dont want the "meat juice" dripping on it........

firstly its the freezer there is no "juice"

secondly the meat is all in the bottom drawer juice wont ever drip up unless gravity takes a day off

and finally its all vacum packed meat

ARRRRGGGGHHHHH it kills me when i dont have room for something and im staring at their boxes

also when you tell the girls to clean up they say"but we clean up after ourselves" what they actually mean is "we washed and dried our dishes, we didnt wipe the counter put stuff in the bin clean the pots that the lads cooked their food with or put out the bins"

uggh its been a particularly bad week too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

My housemate rarely leaves her room, but from the state she leaves the kitchen in, you'd swear she lived in there. The worst thing is that the draining board is always filthy after she puts her 'clean' dishes there. She doesn't own a teatowel so I decided to put all mine in my room to see her response....yup, half clean dishes piled up on the draining board. She also doesn't own any cleaning products, or even a j-cloth, which is probably why she has neglected to clean up after herself EVER! (Well, she has done it twice in 3 months. I just leave her mess and mention it when we run out of clean utensils and plates.) Oh, and when the bin is full she'll still put her half full carton on top and leave it, so when I go to empty it I get covered in milk. Speaking of bin bags, she was too cheap to go halves on them with me. Fair enough, I don't mind, they're cheap anyway. Once though, I was heading home for the weekend (4 days actually), and I forgot to put in a new bag. When I got back I put it in. Within 10 minutes the bin was full. She has just piled all her rubbish and uneaten food in her room and waited til I got back.

I'm beyond caring at this stage. I barely see her because she is always in her room, and when I do it's only because she wants something from me. It's nice really, I get full use of the tv, and I'm happy in the knowledge that she is a slob and I am better than her!! ;)

At least I have my own bathroom....and I have no desire to see hers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I live with a guy I know through my brother he kicked the door in, in his last place of residance so I moved into a place with him we get on great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭windsurfer99ie

Once, when I was washing the kitchen floor I said "careful that's still wet", to which she replied "that's Ok" and walked straight across in her outdoor shoes ... not bothering to clean her muddy footprints on exit.

Or the others (male and female) who regularly left unwashed dishes up in the sink - so you can't do your own washing up without doing theirs as well.

But I especially miss the sexpot who used to strut around in her bikini and heels at 9 in the morning, or sleep with her boyfriend with the bedroom door open - somehow I never complained about her allegy to housework !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

kodute wrote: »
    The housemate that takes 1 cup, bowl, fork, spoon, plate etc and leaves them in their cupboard.
    WTF is up with that?

Does it mean you don't wash your dishes after you use them by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Met the best housemate ever last week... ME!

Lived with several people over the years, and finally have the opportunity to live on my own for a while. And revelling in it.. Coming home in the evening, kicking off the shoes, telly on. Clean as you go, and then big tidy on the weekends.

Happy days. I recommend it to EVERYONE who can afford it.

Once, when I was washing the kitchen floor I said "careful that's still wet", to which she replied "that's Ok" and walked straight across in her outdoor shoes ... not bothering to clean her muddy footprints on exit.

I used to think, fine, I wont clean the floor so if she's just gonna dirty in in 3.2 seconds.....unfortunately I can't live in filth as long as she can, so I always end up doing it.
    Or the others (male and female) who regularly left unwashed dishes up in the sink - so you can't do your own washing up without doing theirs as well.

Simple: Pile them all up next to the sink. The pile will get bigger and bigger and eventually they'll have to wash them. It'll probably mean you'll run out of dishes, but that's ok. Just do what I thought I'd never do.....take one of everything and hide it! It had to be done when I ended up eating a chicken breast and mash with a spatula from a Pyrex dish! I did clean up after my housemate once, when she left the dishes there for 3 weeks, but I'll never do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

kodute wrote: »
    WTF is up with that?

maybe a housemate who's sick of housemates who use all the cutlery and don't wash it?

I used to think, fine, I wont clean the floor so if she's just gonna dirty in in 3.2 seconds.....unfortunately I can't live in filth as long as she can, so I always end up doing it.

I always end up losing this game too I cant stand to sit around in dirt so when ever I ahve time to spare I end up cleaning up because I cant bare to sit around in a dirty mess :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I live with 3 other girls and its actually pretty good. We all share the cleaning but if there's one thing that annoys me, its smoking. All 3 smoke and I dont. They fill the house with anti tobacco candles but that doesnt stop the clothes drying in the next room from stinking of it, or me for that matter.

Rob_l wrote: »
    I always end up losing this game too I cant stand to sit around in dirt so when ever I have time to spare I end up cleaning up because I cant bare to sit around in a dirty mess :(

It's so frustrating, isn't it? Because they get away with it then! Actually, the kitchen is a state at the moment, so as soon as my housemate comes back into reality (from her online Harry Potter role play game) I'm going to mention the fact that she is a disgusting slob, and then remind her that it was her turn to do the 'big clean up' (which takes 5 minutes) two week ago. (I'll do it nicely!)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

we were just talking about this in work today

the dirty dishes in the sitting room

Leaving the Iron and Iron Board up in the sitting (i left it up once to see how long it would be there for, after 7 days, i couldnt stand it anymore)

not replacing the toilet roll when its finished, instead leaving the cardboard bit on the holder and putting the new roll on the side of the bath

leaving lights on all over the house (she doesnt pay the lecky bill)

putting dirty cutlery in the sink instead of the dishwasher, which is right beside the sink

It's so frustrating, isn't it? Because they get away with it then! Actually, the kitchen is a state at the moment, so as soon as my housemate comes back into reality (from her online Harry Potter role play game) I'm going to mention the fact that she is a disgusting slob, and then remind her that it was her turn to do the 'big clean up' (which takes 5 minutes) two week ago. (I'll do it nicely!)

They do get away with it the feckers, I give out but it still gets left becasue eventually I will give in and clean it some saturday when im off work and am unable to relax because of the dirt:(

I blame it on mammy for bringing me up in a clean home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

Thankfully the only person I share a house with now is my husband, but over the years I have shared houses with strange people. One house I lived in, I was the only girl, and got sick of cleaning the downstairs loo of drunken miss-aimed drips so left the fellas to their own devices and used the upstairs one myself instead. After a month of this, I took a look in the downstairs loo to see if anyone had taken the initiative, and discovered - I kid you not - a pisspuddle that was so big I could have swam laps in it, which was encroaching out into the utility room. Uuuuurgh.Was all authentic pub-bog style too, fagbutts floating in it, clumps of hair, mashed up toilet paper, etcetera. Loooovely.

The best one I ever heard though was when friends of mine eventually chucked out their resident oddball, and upon cleaning out his vacated room, found a saucepan hidden in a cupboard, full of hairy months-old puke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

My landlord is a messy fcuker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

There is a book out now, i think published just this week called "Notes left for flatmates" or something to this effect. Basically this journalist was collecting notes written by one flatmate to another and put them in all together. Just had a flick through it, some of it was pretty funny stuff like:

"The dishes which were in the sink for the last week are now in your bed"

or

" I lick my cheese before i put in in the fridge"

and

"I really really really needed this ham. GO SHOPPING!!!!!!"

As for myself i live with the strangers for nearly ten years now, moved out of the parents hous when i was 17, so i have some good stories over the years. Was robed by the flatmate, had to physically kick another one out of the house, lost some friends but also made much more, once even got punched in the face, by the fella i was trying to defend. But most of it was good i have to say.

Now a live with my girlfriend and her workmate, they are both lovely girls, we are on similar level of messines, and generally all try to contribute. And that works, we get along great, ddn;t have one fght in 2 years living together..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

PeakOutput wrote: »
    ARRRRGGGGHHHHH it kills me when i dont have room for something and im staring at their boxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I was living in a 2 bed apt about 10 years ago, and a Russian neighbour from the apt next door asked if he could sign on from my address. I agreed, he moved a few shirts, and bits and pieces to the wardrobe in the spare room, left a toothbrush and razor in the bathroom, took his key, and never disturbed me, except once a week, to give me my cut of his social welfare payment. :D

Best housemate I've ever had ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sheepshagger

Worst flatmate I had was just nefore I bought my own gaff.

She used to put her washing in the machine, then fock off for the day (or the weekend). . meaning someone had to pull it out when they wanted to use the machine:confused:. .worst bit though was when she used to leave blood stained Panty Shields in her knickers (when she put them in the wash!). . I used to find them when I took her washing out :eek:. . I kid you not. . the girl was over 30!

Personally after house sharing for 12 years I think guys are a lot cleaner than girls.

Now renting the spare room of the gaff to a mate - no problems whatsoever. . . after sharing for so long dont think I could be arsed sharing with anyone I didnt know ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

irishbird wrote:
    not replacing the toilet roll when its finished, instead leaving the cardboard bit on the holder and putting the new roll on the side of the bath
    I did this earlier. it was because i was so drunk i coulnd;t see straignt though. sorry.

i rent a room off a 55year old accountant/golf enthusiast and she's the best housemate i;ve ever had. laid back about everything, and we watch The Clinic together every Sunday night and go 'ah jaysus would you look at that', and apart from that we don't see each other very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

my flatmate is great.

she cooks, cleans, shops and never complains.

thats cos she's YORE MA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

ojewriej wrote: »
    There is a book out now, i think published just this week called "Notes left for flatmates" or something to this effect. Basically this journalist was collecting notes written by one flatmate to another and put them in all together. Just had a flick through it, some of it was pretty funny stuff like:

"The dishes which were in the sink for the last week are now in your bed"

or

" I lick my cheese before i put in in the fridge"

i think the book is called "i lick my cheese"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

That's right.

It's actually good christmas present for people you don;t now what to get, or kris kindle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I've no particular problems with my housemates, though I'm glad the girl whose room adjoins mine is single at the moment. When she had a boyfriend, they'd be going at it in her room and I could hear more than I wanted to through the walls. I'd feel like shouting at them to get on with it and finish the job so I could go to sleep :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Ive been very lucky with my house. Share with 3 others, one girl who I rarely ever see, I dont know how she eats cos she never cooks anything. The other guy is on the net most of the time in his room so dont see much of him either and I get to sleep with the other girl every now and again, happy days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Piss.

My first lodger used to sleep walk.
    One night he walked into my room and went to take a leak on the digibox.
    Luckily enough for him, I was awake at the time and threw the remote at him and woke him up.

My current lodger tends not to flush the toilet after taking a leak and also has really bad aim.

Both are alcoholics and stoners.

The only reason I give/ gave them a room is because I know them. I'd never take in a stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ive only lived with 2 roomies and 1 at a time.

The first one annoyed me by never bothering to toss his old/rotting food. It turns out it was due to plain ignorance though: Eejit bought a 12 pack of chicken, ate 6, a week later, its begining to rot so instead of binning it I decide to leave it, cos it was his after all... and then he cooks it up for him and 5 other people. Im so glad I pulled out of that cooking rotation by then. then we had a silent cold war about cleaning the kitchen which i let perpetuate for a couple weeks until i got in the humour to clean it, so i assume I did it... sorry about that souske :)

My next roommate - has not annoyed me yet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I've been pretty lucky with housemates over the years, until last year I was usually the uptight, tight-lipped one who did the washing and remembered to put out the bins because nobody else would, but even at that they made up for it in other ways. I made the mistake of moving in with someone I knew I shouldn't live with, even though we were friends at the time. Needless to say they moved out after 3 months, taking some of my stuff with them, and we don't speak. If you're not sure, don't do it.

Last year I lived in a great apartment with 5 other people - 6 en-suite rooms, everyone shared cutlery etc. but we all had loads of food storage. The main things that pissed me off were that one of the guys used to leave his dirty dishes in his press, and the smell occasionally was disgusting, and one of the guys used to use my utensils while we were both cooking at the same time. I can't stand sweet and sour sauces from a jar, but he ate some every day, and he'd always stir his food with whatever I'd been stirring mine with, then put it back beside my pot. Yuck. Other than that, we were all pretty neat, not hygiene freaks, but everything was clean and tidy 99% of the time. The day we all moved out though, I was left with five binbags of **** to get rid of because they'd all moved out by the time I got home from work - I was not best pleased!

The worst people I've lived with were a girl in her first year in college and an engineer who moved his girlfriend (who he'd met all of 8 times) in the day before my finals. Both of them moved out oweing me money too.

I'm of the opinion that anything of mine is fair game if it's in the fridge or whatever, as long as it gets replaced and I haven't stated that I want it for a specific reason. That doesn't extend to whiskey, after living with the alco who topped my bottles of Jameson up with water "so I wouldn't notice".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

The bitch leaves f**king notes around the place telling us what to do, I don't even read them anymore. She blames everyone else when something breaks. She freaks out if someone borrows a beer or a slice of her cheese or something. She thinks she's the hottest chick on the planet. She borrows sh*t from my room whenever she feels like it. There's a strict DO NOT EVER ENTER MY ROOM rule for her, but sometimes I come home and she's whizzing away on my laptop in my room, and says "Oh I hope you don't mind sweetie". She showed me the room before I moved in with a double bed in it and said I could use it but then sold it last week because she "needed the money". Now I'm sleeping on a filthy mattress. The audacity and sheer ignorance of some people really frightens me sometimes. WTF GOES ON IN HER HEAD????Thankfully I don't see the self-centred cow very often so my nerves aren't as shot as they could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    The bitch leaves f**king notes around the place telling us what to do, I don't even read them anymore. She blames everyone else when something breaks. She freaks out if someone borrows a beer or a slice of her cheese or something. She thinks she's the hottest chick on the planet. She borrows sh*t from my room whenever she feels like it. There's a strict DO NOT EVER ENTER MY ROOM rule for her, but sometimes I come home and she's whizzing away on my laptop in my room, and says "Oh I hope you don't mind sweetie". She showed me the room before I moved in with a double bed in it and said I could use it but then sold it last week because she "needed the money". Now I'm sleeping on a filthy mattress. The audacity and sheer ignorance of some people really frightens me sometimes. WTF GOES ON IN HER HEAD????Thankfully I don't see the self-centred cow very often so my nerves aren't as shot as they could be.
    http://www.g2kweb.it/_extra/blog/full_1113135789_homer_9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

when i was at college i lived with a fairly nice girl in my class, i got on great with her. but she had the doggiest friends ever, they would only come up on weekends when i wasn't there. One sunday morning i got a telephone call to say there had been an accident the night before and the front door was blown off the hinges. I just said i'd be up in a few hours and hung up. When i got up there, the door was just hanging on, and the plastic number from the door was at least 20ft across the road.
    Her prick friends had put a full can of hairspray in the fire and it exploded, all the doors from the living room, 3 of them, had blown open with enough force to push the door handle through the wall. she tried to tell me that they just left the can on the mantel piece and it just heated up enough to explode.
    needless to say they were never back again, and we didn't get our security deposit back either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭universe777

for a good read have a look at this, a friend started it up, gaining some fans already, its about their seriously stupid flatmate!!
    http://myflatmateisseriouslystupid.blogspot.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I shared an apartment in London with a Canadian girl, who I got on great with. One day, a new flatmate walked in and we nearly fell to the floor. He was a doctor from Japan, he was tall and absolutely gorgeous! As he was new to London, we fell over ourselves to introduce him to the shops, restaurants, pubs and cinema - and we had a competition between ourselves to see who'd be the first to pull. Despite all our efforts, we never succeeded and a few weeks later another flatmate arrived - his girlfriend!
    It was painful to see them together, thankfully they left after a few weks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sashiee

Sam Vimes wrote: »

definatley getting this for our housemate Kris Kindle....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Being stabbed in my sleep was the big sign for me that it was time to get my own place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

OOOOOLLLLLLDDDDDD