Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brother sells drugs

• 26-11-2007 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Ok going unreged for this........

On friday night I asked my brother for a loan of his car which he gave me no problem but on my journey I heard this phone ringing from within the glove compartment.As I opened the glove compartment I just missed the call but I couldnt believe my eyes he also had 200 tablets packaged, now I had a good idea what these where but its only when I confonted him that my worst fears where confirmed they were ecstasy! I lost the plot....my family and I are anti drugs......not vigilantes or anything but just always viewed drugs as bad and drug dealers as scum of the earth and now my brother has started selling ecstasy!

But the trouble is he didnt seem to bothered......he was like "whats the big deal" its only ecstasy......he is a big fan of dance music and dance festivals and says he seen the window of opportunity there...every second person was asking him for some so he said he decided to make some money......so after arguing about the pros(him) and the cons(me) he started of by saying im a hypocrite because I have dabbled with ecstasy and coke and probably will proceed to do so....and this caught me slightly of guard......he continued by saying that he was only doing it until christmas as he is stuck for cash as he is an apprentice and that he sees no harm in doing what he is doing as he says"Im not pushing drugs to underage kids or drug addicts....im not killing anybody im just helping people enjoy their nights out a little better than normal and enjoy the love buzz".....he really is a nice kid very well respected by everyone and does a lot around the community with local teams and clubs and does a lot for neighbours....he is not a scumbag just a nice respectable kid.

But this has got me thinking Is he right? Hes not really going around causing trouble he is just helping people enjoy themselves and have a good night....and trust me i know Ecstasy helps u have a good nite and fall in love with nearly everyone you meet(slight exaggeration) but it dosent create half as much trouble as coke does or maybe even drink!?

Plus he is making a few bob and getting himself out of financial difficulity......although I could never tell him this because I dont want to think what he is doing is right.....plus he could ruin my familys name....a good name built by respect for people and being honest hardworking people.....I need advice on what I should do......If my mam and dad found out he would probably be put out of the house and they would be distraught but they made it very clear on lots of occasions that they would not tollerate any drugs what so ever.What can I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭wazzoraybelle

He is scum. Ecstasy is a big moneymaker for organised crime, next time there's a shooting in Dublin know that that's the business your brothers in.

Regardless of the morals, If he is caught (or you, You were driving round with the yokes) his prospects as a tradesman to work in the states or pretty much anywhere would be nil.

Its a big risk for a young fella with a future to take.

I'm not anti-drug and I like a toke but make sure its ethically sourced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭ian.f

Don't mean to sound cynical but how can you make sure it's ethically sourced unless you grow it yourself/ know the grower?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

whatwilido wrote: »
    Ok going unreged for this........

On friday night I asked my brother for a loan of his car which he gave me no problem but on my journey I heard this phone ringing from within the glove compartment.As I opened the glove compartment I just missed the call but I couldnt believe my eyes he also had 200 tablets packaged, now I had a good idea what these where but its only when I confonted him that my worst fears where confirmed they were ecstasy! I lost the plot....my family and I are anti drugs......not vigilantes or anything but just always viewed drugs as bad and drug dealers as scum of the earth and now my brother has started selling ecstasy!

But the trouble is he didnt seem to bothered......he was like "whats the big deal" its only ecstasy......he is a big fan of dance music and dance festivals and says he seen the window of opportunity there...every second person was asking him for some so he said he decided to make some money......so after arguing about the pros(him) and the cons(me) he started of by saying im a hypocrite because I have dabbled with ecstasy and coke and probably will proceed to do so....and this caught me slightly of guard......he continued by saying that he was only doing it until christmas as he is stuck for cash as he is an apprentice and that he sees no harm in doing what he is doing as he says"Im not pushing drugs to underage kids or drug addicts....im not killing anybody im just helping people enjoy their nights out a little better than normal and enjoy the love buzz".....he really is a nice kid very well respected by everyone and does a lot around the community with local teams and clubs and does a lot for neighbours....he is not a scumbag just a nice respectable kid.

But this has got me thinking Is he right? Hes not really going around causing trouble he is just helping people enjoy themselves and have a good night....and trust me i know Ecstasy helps u have a good nite and fall in love with nearly everyone you meet(slight exaggeration) but it dosent create half as much trouble as coke does or maybe even drink!?

Plus he is making a few bob and getting himself out of financial difficulity......although I could never tell him this because I dont want to think what he is doing is right.....plus he could ruin my familys name....a good name built by respect for people and being honest hardworking people.....I need advice on what I should do......If my mam and dad found out he would probably be put out of the house and they would be distraught but they made it very clear on lots of occasions that they would not tollerate any drugs what so ever.What can I do?
    No, he's wrong, and he's an idiot.

But to be completely honest, you have no right to judge seeing as you dabble in that sort of thing yourself. He wouldn't be doing it if the likes of you weren't buying.

I have no real advice for you other than to do your best to get him to stop and to tell your parents. What he's doing is wrong and something needs to be done about it. If he out and out refuses to stop then there's only one thing to do and that's to notify the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Tough one. To be honest your brother is behaving like a scumbag at the moment. If it was a friend I'd say ditch them and inform the guards, but I know thats a hell of a lot harder when we're talking about family.

Certainly not something to be condoned, and tbh telling you that you condone it because you've dabbled before is nonsense - plenty of people, rightly or wrongly have tried this stuff before, but the fact is they're not the one making money out of the misery that drugs cause. And they do cause misery, even ecstacy, which your brother seems to think is a 'nice' drug, unlike the other 'bad' ones - quite a rationalisation he's come to there!

You need to talk to your brother again seriously. You probably also need to talk to your parents. He may be only a small time dealer at the moment, but I'll guarantee he's mixing with some very unpleasant people who aren't simply going to let him walk away after Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

He is scum. Ecstasy is a big moneymaker for organised crime, next time there's a shooting in Dublin know that that's the business your brothers in.

Regardless of the morals, If he is caught (or you, You were driving round with the yokes) his prospects as a tradesman to work in the states or pretty much anywhere would be nil.

ROFL. Over reaction of the century. Ethicaly sourced my arse. If someone was passing a joint around at a party would you ask them to prove to you where it came from? The OP's brother is not scum he has just made a bad decision. The reality your brother needs to know is the risk he is taking with his own life and other peoples. That is all you can do for him. He is big enough to make his own mistakes and live with the consequences of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

No, he's wrong, and he's an idiot.

But to be completely honest, you have no right to judge seeing as you dabble in that sort of thing yourself. He wouldn't be doing it if the likes of you weren't buying.

I have no real advice for you other than to do your best to get him to stop and to tell your parents. What he's doing is wrong and something needs to be done about it. If he out and out refuses to stop then there's only one thing to do and that's to notify the guards.

I mostly agree with Magic Marker! Not much you can do to stop him. But my advice, don't go driving his car again in the near future, as you would be prosecuted, probably with posession with intent to supply or something....it would be your word against your brothers in court.

Not many people get away with dealing for long without some (usually most unlikely person/associate) snitching to the gardai. You'd be amazed how they find things out...let your brother know how STUPID you think he's being.

I have a friend whose boyfriend is doing the exact same thing, an apprentice and selling a certain amount of coke every weekend for the extra cash. He reckons its as safe as houses becasue he has 3 buyers and won't expand and he's "only doing it until Christmas" My feelings are though, there's no way he'll give up that extra grand or so he has (easy money) every week, danger or no danger. It's so easy to get into and so hard to get out of. It's such a hard thing to get somebody to give up and usually they won't until they're caught or something bad happens. :( I don't know about telling your parents as they are from a different generation and that could cause them stress and worry they really don't need (I know if he's caught, or shot they'll find out but is there REALLY a need for her to tell them now? Maybe it's the only way.....how do you feel about that yourself OP? Would you tell them?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Phil01

You should try and stop this before it gets going.... sure you might say its only ecstasy that money is fueling crime, plus he might only be doing ecstasy now, but in a few months or years he might start thinking he could make real money in selling coke, so stop it before it gets out of control.

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    ROFL. Over reaction of the century. Ethicaly sourced my arse. If someone was passing a joint around at a party would you ask them to prove to you where it came from? The OP's brother is not scum he has just made a bad decision. The reality your brother needs to know is the risk he is taking with his own life and other peoples. That is all you can do for him. He is big enough to make his own mistakes and live with the consequences of them.

Believe me I take the joint with no questions asked but I have grown my own and I know growers. I'm not a big smoker but like it on occasion it's not too difficult to source it if you don't want to support organised crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Believe me I take the joint with no questions asked but I have grown my own and I know growers. I'm not a big smoker but like it on occasion it's not too difficult to source it if you don't want to support organised crime

Do you source your oil or has it affected Iraqi children? And to be honest I couldn't give a f*ck if some dealer gets knocked off by another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

This isnt about our fellow posters opinions on drugs as a political card - its about helping the poster discover what he can choose to do.

Im thinking if you know where he operates, why not tip off one of the club security discretely - hed never know it was you (and hence no blood fued) and hed get the attention needed. Better that before something bad happens to him - my stepmams brother got killed doing drug runs when he was in his mid 20s if I recall - never did meet the guy, having been shot and all.

one perspective anyway. dont do anything rash and consider the consequences thoroughly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

if your brother gets caught, and he will eventually, he will ruin his
    life short term with a prison sentence.

let the cat out of the bag, tell your parents. he will hate you short term.
    but he needs a reality check. he should be put out of the house.
    he is putting you all at risk by having illegal drugs around you in two ways

- you are now aiding and abetting by not reporting this as a crime
    - if some guy wants to steal his stash its your house and your ma
    they break into to rob.

worse still he could run up a drug debt and get the sh&te kicked out
    of him or shot.

there is nothing good going to come out of this situation.

try and stop it before he gets a sentence, as coming back into the main stream after a sentence is really really hard.

sometimes i wonder why people are so stupidly brave, they never think
    the tabloid headlines are coming to their door.

someone starts small time, they make some cash, they get a client list.

then they run up a credit line, get greedy, and either get sucked further in, get caught, or get shot.

the lucky few get away with it, if daddy can hire a good enough lawyer
    or if uncle joe is a cop, or if they go and live long term abroad after getting done.

and if hes getting a reputation, and is keeping it in his glove compartment
    done he will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

i bet hes selling coke as well. just as op was saying - at least hes not.

the telling the bouncer idea = guaranteed getting caught by the cops
    in this day and age, no one wants a dealer around if they get known
    you eventually get into licensing issues.

give him a chance to get clean by telling your parents and
    sitting him down and talking to him.

thats what id do anyway

really its up to you. tough love my friend!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

estar is right!

My friend's brother got caught by under-cover-gardai selling TWO ecstasy tablets (they acted as normal clubbers and asked him where they could get some so he went to the guy he knew would have some in the club and got them for the two gardai) He got a few months in prison for it!!!

He wasn't even a dealer and certainly wasn't making any money out of it - he was only being a stupid friendly fkr to these two strange dubs who obviously looked like they wanted to join in the party atmosphere in the place :(

He was NOT cut out for prison and not a skanger or anything like that and his mother was so heart-broken about him being in prison that she died of a heart-attack. now I know I can't blame this solely on what happened to her son but I have NEVER (not even after a death) seen somebody so so heartbroken over something, she was crying every single day when I came to the house, and I mean, balling her eyes out.

Can you imagine YOUR brother in prison? Or worse, lying in a hospital bed after being beating to within an inch of his life, brain damaged or shot? What woudl that do to your family?

Nothing good can come of it and only you, with what info you have, can do something about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Just keep going at him about the threat of jail... Possession with intent to supply = would ruin his life. Jail time, nobody will employ him, he'll not be able to travel to some countries. It would pretty much mean he's stuck in that life and he'll get drawn further into it.

Forget about all the anti-drug/moral stuff -- fact is, if he gets caught, he is f*cked in so many ways and your family would be destroyed.

Offer to loan him money if he needs it (if you can), but I would try to convince him to stop this immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

If we put all the moral crap aside for a minute.

What he's doing is illegal. Using drugs is illegal, but how many drug users end up in prison simply for doing drugs.

Selling drugs is a lot more illegal and drug sellers almost always end up in prison with permanent criminal records if they are caught. It's a very, very big gamble to take to earn an extra few quid before Christmas.

Does he trust absolutely everyone he's ever sold to never to rat him out to save their own skin if they get caught with something he has sold them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

if he's short of cash, he's probably buying them on credit and paying for them when he sells them.

you better pray to god he manages to shift them all, or someone will be round your house looking for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

as somebody who has been down that line before and BEEN caught. luckily for me i didnt get a jail sentence (i did get a criminal record) and i was caught with a qtr of what your brother had.

getting caught with that amount of drugs in car will not only get himself arrested, they will also take his car off him.

then they will let him go from the garda station and bout 10months later when they have to book of evidence ready they will arrive at your door at bout 7am and arrest him again to bring him to court.

i didnt tell my parents at the time or snitch on anyone. made up a plausible story of where i got them from.

my parents found out a good few months later and didnt hit the roof but supported me as over those months i stopped taking drugs and my attitude and demeanour at home had improved dramatically. before all this they were cool with me getting high and seen smoking pot same as having a few pints (they never knew i was doing other drugs / turned a blind eye).....

did the whole drugs counselling etc etc and "got away" with a 28day suspended sentence. was hoping for probation act.

in court the judge said she could treat each pill as attempted murder....

FOR ALL THOSE PEOPLE SAYING YOU SHOULD TELL YOUR FOLKS / GET HIM CAUGHT

that would be the worst possible thing for you to do. PERIOD. not only will your brother hate you - you will be single handedly ruining his life - you will lose the respect of family and your friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I was gonna go unreg and reply to this but ive nothing to hide anymore, what age are you OP? And what age is your brother?

I used to sell drugs (mainly pills, hash, coke) years ago, and Im sure I justified myself with some silly reasoning that I wasnt harming anyone but at the end of the day, everyone got hurt, sometimes I still cant look at my mam without thinking of it and im sure she has well forgotten about it at this stage!

It caused such a rift in my family at the time (my mam and stepdad nearly broke up over it, completely my fault) I still dont think I got over it, basically he kicked the living **** outta me over it, (deservedly, I was a little bollox) and this was the whole reason that she broke up with my Dad all those years ago, as he physically abused the whole family, so she tried kicking him out (I ended up getting them back together, another story!)

Things in my house didnt get "back to normal" for about a year after that but it was one of the worst yrs of my life, my mother gave me hell, took my door off my room, barred mates from the house, no priveleges etc etc but I deserved every bit of it, but its made me a better person for it today....

Now we are closer than ever, the whole family, but I tell u one thing OP, its one of many things if I could turn back the clock I wouldnt do it again but ya live and learn, I dont think I actually copped onto life til I was about 20, and im 27 now and still missin some meanings of life :)

I was lucky my mam didnt shop me to any of my 3 garda uncles, as I was 19 at the time, well able to know the difference between right and wrong, and of course I chose wrong, but selling yokes and coke isnt the brightest thing to be doing its just the hurt that it causes for everyone around, be it if your brother is caught and banged up for a while or even just caught out by your parents...

I guarantee you there is no reasoning with him at the stage he is at, "ill do it til xmas etc" and theres no way he will learn a lesson until he is caught, but I dont think ratting him out to your parents is gonna do much good either, jsut try have a chat yourself without arguing over it and explain your feelings, dont expect any drastic change in him just yet, it may take time....

Sorry for the long post, hope it gives ya an idea of how much crap in the family it can cause....

Best of luck

tbh wrote: »
    if he's short of cash, he's probably buying them on credit and paying for them when he sells them.

you better pray to god he manages to shift them all, or someone will be round your house looking for money.

I think thats the shared sentiment of the day.

OP if he gets his stock on credit (which he probably does) what happens when he DOES get caught? A prison sentence and a debt collection to follow - which can very easily come in the form of getting killed. And they wont have any problem visitng that sin upon your family.

You need to get him out of that life. I could turn a blind eye to a brother using a drug [weed] (and I have, living on another continent :() but thats different than the possibility of him getting into grave danger.

He needs to get out. And clean. And debt-free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

more than likely op he will sell them till xmas and stop

more than likely even if he dosnt stop he will not get caught and he will live his life with most people being none the wiser.

what he is doing isnt right but your being a hypocrite as you are the type of person who is keeping him in business

DO NOT TELL THE GARDAI

DO NOT TELL THE BOUNCERS

IF you decide to tell your parents i think its only fair (and he will probably do it anyway when confronted) that you tell them whaty ou have taken too. i think your parents are the ONLY people who can deal with this and have an eventual good outcome

i dont really agree that he is a scumbag but he is on the road to being one if he gets a taste for the easy money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭milkerman

If he stays in this business one or more of the following will happen-
    1. He will get caught, possibly do time & have a criminal record for life.
    2. He will be unable to sell his stock & get into cash flow difficulties with his suppliers resulting in a good hiding or worse.
    3. He will become known in the community as a dealer and your family will be all tarred with the same brush.
    4. If you live in a Local Authority house and your brother is caught & convicted, this qualifies as antisocial behaviour under the Housing Acts and results in eviction (varies from county to county) for the family.
    5. He will be a success in the drugs business, money will cloud reasoning & conscience and he will have become a professional scumbag.

Tell this idiot to cop-on. He is playing a serious game that causes problems for his whole family and society in general. Clean up your own act - I wont debate the virtues of ecstasy vs alcohol, ecstasy is illegal full stop.
    If he doesnt stop, tell your parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Are you for real? I must have missed all those ads about where to go for ethically sound pills, which guarantee no links to crime. Next you'll be saying make sure your snorting fair trade.

silvine wrote: »
    Are you for real? I must have missed all those ads about where to go for ethically sound pills, which guarantee no links to crime. Next you'll be saying make sure your snorting fair trade.

Apologies for taking this thread off topic, dunno why people can't get they're head round this,but I don't take pills or snort anything. I've grown my own (weed) in the past and know people that grow. It's that simple.

Op, sorry for my initial reaction but you've got to get your brother to get it together.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Show him this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭NextSteps

milkerman wrote: »
    If he stays in this business one or more of the following will happen-
    1. He will get caught, possibly do time & have a criminal record for life.
    2. He will be unable to sell his stock & get into cash flow difficulties with his suppliers resulting in a good hiding or worse.
    3. He will become known in the community as a dealer and your family will be all tarred with the same brush.
    4. If you live in a Local Authority house and your brother is caught & convicted, this qualifies as antisocial behaviour under the Housing Acts and results in eviction (varies from county to county) for the family.
    5. He will be a success in the drugs business, money will cloud reasoning & conscience and he will have become a professional scumbag.

Tell this idiot to cop-on. He is playing a serious game that causes problems for his whole family and society in general. Clean up your own act - I wont debate the virtues of ecstasy vs alcohol, ecstasy is illegal full stop.
    If he doesn't stop, tell your parents.

This is the most sensible advice here. Not to mention the fact that any of the above would break your parents' hearts.

PeakOutput wrote: »
    more than likely op he will sell them till xmas and stop

more than likely even if he dosnt stop he will not get caught and he will live his life with most people being none the wiser.

what he is doing isnt right but your being a hypocrite as you are the type of person who is keeping him in business

Solving financial difficulties by dealing in narcotics isnt seasonal, nor is it a once off: what are you basing that on!? Whats to say he doesnt take up his dealing again next year (even if it is seasonal which I completely disagree with)?

Yeah, I've known people that sold pills and ****e. And all of them have broken The Rule at some time or another, and they sample the product: ****s them right up - that kid will never be the same again (my example).

Maybe he'll never get caught but that doesnt make it a good idea. And if he doesnt get caught by the Law what says he doesnt get in trouble with his Friends and Associates? What says the family doesnt have these people harassing them?

Some say the OP has no right but I'll add my moral conjecture: Using carries a lot less risk AND legal penalty than Distribution. A Lot Less. Also, this is Commercial Dealing: he doesnt know who hes dealing with on a nightly basis. This isnt like buying a bag of Pot and splitting it up among your friends to pay for your share* - you incur a very heightened level of risk once you go Public and as you go higher up the chain. What says he doesnt start pushing cocaine in two years time? Heroine? It always starts small, then you start doing it for profit, and then after that you just keep promoting to the next thing up. From what I heard from the OP thats the case? Yeah.

*Been there, done that, and quit altogether now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Perhaps give him an ultimatum - tell him you'll keep quiet until Christmas but if you ever find out that he's doing it after that you'll go straight to your parents

Donm't go to the cops. Just in case he is in some sort of debt he'd have to stop altogether to keep the cops off his back & that could mean not being able keep decko off his back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

I was in a similar situation a few years back with my younger brother. I knew he was supplying people with drugs but I didn't know to what extent and I ignored it for a long time. You know I didn't wanna interfere with my brothers life... I wouldn't be too happy if he went to my parents telling them everything I got up to.

Anyway one day I found a shopping bag about one third of the way full of pills and I thought "f**k that". I gave it to my parents and let them deal with it. Of course he told them that he was just holding them for a friend and that it was a once off thing. As far as I know he stopped after that. I'm sure he wasn't too happy with me at the time but I feel I did what was best for him. Getting caught was just what he needed to cop himself on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

whatwilido wrote: »
    so after arguing about the pros(him) and the cons(me) he started of by saying im a hypocrite because I have dabbled with ecstasy and coke and probably will proceed to do so

End of argument really. Leave him alone, you are a hypocrite and you have to have bought them from someone too.
    he really is a nice kid very well respected by everyone and does a lot around the community with local teams and clubs and does a lot for neighbours....he is not a scumbag just a nice respectable kid.

Well, it may shock many people, but not all drug dealers are gun weilding, burberry wearing, flea infested scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

WTF? I'm not anti-drugs myself but you start off by saying that this guy is scum and that he is contributing to organised crime. Then you say you toke yourself. This also means that when you buy your smoke you are also contributing to organised crime. Does that make you scum as well? Oh sorry, I've just noticed that your toke is ethically sourced. You're an angel. Regardless of the morals, if you are caught your prospects of going to work in the states or pretty much anywhere else would be nil.

Overheal wrote: »
    Solving financial difficulties by dealing in narcotics isnt seasonal, nor is it a once off: what are you basing that on!?

because he said he would its not a difficult concept
    Yeah, I've known people that sold pills and ****e. And all of them have broken The Rule at some time or another, and they sample the product: ****s them right up - that kid will never be the same again (my example).

i dont know what you mean by "rule" but anyone i know who deals/used to deal definitely takes a few for themselve if thats not the entire reason they are doing it in the first place
    Maybe he'll never get caught but that doesnt make it a good idea. And if he doesnt get caught by the Law what says he doesnt get in trouble with his Friends and Associates? What says the family doesnt have these people harassing them?

exactly. it is my experience that it is unlikely he will get caught by the gardai. I did not say that means he should carry on regardless i just said that the op should get the parents to deal with it and not the gardai or bouncers(especially bouncers of all people lol)
    Some say the OP has no right but I'll add my moral conjecture: Using carries a lot less risk AND legal penalty than Distribution. A Lot Less. Also, this is Commercial Dealing: he doesnt know who hes dealing with on a nightly basis. This isnt like buying a bag of Pot and splitting it up among your friends to pay for your share* - you incur a very heightened level of risk once you go Public and as you go higher up the chain. What says he doesnt start pushing cocaine in two years time? Heroine? It always starts small, then you start doing it for profit, and then after that you just keep promoting to the next thing up. From what I heard from the OP thats the case? Yeah.

i think the op is being hypocritical but not necessarily wrong. as long as the op is willing to take her cummupins to get him to stop dealing then they should tell the parents everything. if they are not willing to then it obviously dosnt bother them as much as they say it does

because he said he would its not a difficult concept

and if Jimmy tells you he'll never masturbate again you'd beleive him too?

i dont know what you mean by "rule" but anyone i know who deals/used to deal definitely takes a few for themselve if thats not the entire reason they are doing it in the first place

youve never seen Blow? Or was it Blow... anyway the rule is not to sample - keeps it professional. Heroine dealers almost never sample.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

i think the op is being hypocritical but not necessarily wrong. as long as the op is willing to take her cummupins to get him to stop dealing then they should tell the parents everything. if they are not willing to then it obviously dosnt bother them as much as they say it does

Honestly, I personally think its better to be a hypocrite and have a brother who isn't in jail/ dead/ in hospital after his suppliers knock the c*** out of him. End of the day most people can live with a little hypocrisy in their lives, not so sure how people would feel living with losing a brother because they didn't intervene in some way when they could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭binhead

Hey OP, Firstly you should ignore all the posters calling you a hypocrite as their moral highground serves no purpose in helping you or your problem.

I'm not anti drugs and I like dance music.

Lots of people sell pills at dance festivals and clubs, When the DS want to catch someone they usually do. As someone already said, the main problem here Is that He IS gonna get caught, Not cos he's a scumbag as they've already mentioned (I have no doubt that he isn't) But cos he doesn't sound savvy enough to not get caught. Lending anyone his car with 200 pills and his phone in the glove compartment is not very smart.

You need to talk to him again, spell out the dangers for him, He doesn't sound too concerned about the usual "drugs R'bad mmmkay" arguements so don't use them, Make it real simple, How easy it is for him to get caught and what that'll do to your family.

Good luck.

Overheal wrote: »

its the op's brother, flesh and blood. i know if mine is lieing to me anyway maybe everybody is not so lucky.

sure try and make me sound like a tool all you want iv probably had more ****(considering iv never done anything stronger than a drag from a spliff) from drugs than you have had hot dinners, watch blow as many times as you want its still a film man seriously cop the **** on

edit; and tritium i agree completely that is what i was getting at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

To be honest it would worry me that your brother would be that careless/stupid as to leave 200 yokes and a phone in a car he has just lent to someone. He is either dealing on a grand scale and this is just a drop in the ocean with regard to the volumes he is dealing with or he is just doing it on a small scale and obviously hasn't an ounce of saviness about him. He WILL get caught. I wouldn't advise telling your folks, it will break their hearts and its not fair to put him in that position. Thing is, your brother won't stop after Christmas. Everyone is skint in January and he'll be used to the money by then, it will provide a very good source of income to him if he decides to graduate into dealing coke or whatever. THEN he will get himself involved with the big boys and its just not a route he wants to go down. All you can do is talk to him and tell him how concerned you are. Sure if he wants to go and party at the weekends or whatever and take whatever the hell he likes fine. But its a different story (if like the kids in Waterford scanario last weekend) if someone dies as a result of something he has sold. Then he better practice eating with a plastic spoon and get used to sharing cell space. Its hard to see a loved one making such a huge mistake, all you can do is try and talk some sense into him.