Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do i pay??

• 23-11-2007 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

hey! taking a girl to the cinema tonight, first date sorta thing going on, i'v only known her a week, question is, do i stump up the hard earned cash for her ticket?? (hard scabbed cash) i know im sounding real scabby but im broke as hell, 20 euro to my name!! hope to jaysus she doesn't want popcorn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

you buy the tickets, she buys the popcorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

Make her pay for everything, that's what I would do anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

OMG this thread is back! AGAIN! :eek:

Right, you pay...! But she should always offer, I assume she will otherwise after tonight... dump the little princess. :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

If you asked her out - you pay.

If she asked you out - she pays.

If you agreed it together casually, you each pay for your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    OMG this thread is back! AGAIN! :eek:

Right, you pay...! But she should always offer, I assume she will otherwise after tonight... dump the little princess. :D

sorry i don't use this forum much!! thanks for the advice anyway!

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

You pay. It'll balance out another time. Chances are shell want to go halves anyway, but allow her to offer, dont ask.

But for gods sake borrow a tenner so your not left short, and having to ask her for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

+1 to what KtK says. Make sure you don't end up having to ask her for money. Borrow it off your mother if no-one else will lend it to you. No mother on the planet would like the thought of her son being caught short on a date. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

Beg, steal or borrow. Do what you have to do but DO pay. DO NOT allow her to pay. By all means acknowledge her request to offer cash but do not accept.

No second chance for first impression and all that lark.

BTW she should offer to pay her way, again dont accept but take note if she doesnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

I think you should pay! I like the whole idea of the guy pays on the first date but after that splitsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Wisesmurf wrote: »
    Beg, steal or borrow. Do what you have to do but DO pay. DO NOT allow her to pay. By all means acknowledge her request to offer cash but do not accept.

No second chance for first impression and all that lark.

BTW she should offer to pay her way, again dont accept but take note if she doesnt

My sentiments aswell!!

All the best OP..have fun!:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

*Angel* wrote: »
    I think you should pay! I like the whole idea of the guy pays on the first date but after that splitsy.
    Do you offer?

Obviously i would say pay as well. It's the ''gentlemanly'' thing to do. However i have A LOT of respect for a woman who insists on paying her way. It's an independance thing.

My gf just would NOT let me pay for her on our first date. I wasn't about to argue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

I hope you paid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

I am all for equality and always pay my way but in saying that I think there is something very mean about a man who asks a girl out on a date and takes money from her.... I dont mean he has to buy her drink all night but he should at least (finances allowing) pay for her cinema ticket and a bottle of coke.....

i was in the exact same position. i paid...didnt see much of the movie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

dinner or movies,i pay this time ,u pay next time:D is dating her for sure next time already,i like this technique.

tips:if you are on a blind date and turn out you dont like the girl...do the other way around...but no next time;)

cheers guys!it all went well! i payed but she wasnt happy and slipped the money in my pocket before the night was out! i tried to give it back but she was having none of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

broke_boy wrote: »
    cheers guys!it all went well! i payed but she wasnt happy and slipped the money in my pocket before the night was out! i tried to give it back but she was having none of it!

Score! She sounds like a nice girl. Hope there's a second date in the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Sure she wasn't going for anything else in your pocket? :p
    Thats good, glad it went well! A bit late but for anyone else I would agree with the others. Pay for her ticket and she should at least offer... if not get the popcorn. Even ask her at the start can you buy her her ticket, she will think its sweeeet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Next time you've only €20, don't think in terms of "Ooh I can afford a cheapo cinema date with this!" think "naggin and box of condoms".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

This can be good or bad, from a monetary point of view. When myself and my girlfriend started going out she'd do that sometimes when i insisted on paying. Stopped after I found a very soggy 20 in the back pocket of a pair of jeans - i just thought she was copping a feel :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

you pay. sh'ell buy the popcorn..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭wireless101

personally, as a guy, I would not pay. We would go halves. And if you do pay, make sure it's only for the first date, or she will end up a leech

(i know she paid, just giving advice to others)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

And if you do pay, make sure it's only for the first date, or she will end up a leech

This is so untrue..... If a guy asks a girl out on a date then I think he should pay to take her to the cinema etc.... He doesnt have to fund her every time they go out but he should, as a gesture, pay for the first date.

I remember once about two years ago this guy asked me to go to the cinema, we were there at the window getting tickets and obviously he realised he hadn't enough money. He was like 'hey, give me 5 euro, quick'. I wasn't impressed at all! I would have been totally grand if he'd said beforehand that he was a bit broke but he gave the impression it was his treat. That really put me off him and we only had a couple more dates (going halves). He just seemed really stingy. My current bf insisted on paying for everything the first few weeks, then after that we went halves or I paid.

Either pay for it or tell the girl beforehand that you're a bit broke and would she mind putting something towards it. Don't wait until you get there and realise you haven't enough money!

man, this man pays woman pays stuff always gets to me. first of all, i love chivalry, i think its important. theres something really great about a nice guy being genuinely nice and chivalrous, it only gets sleazy or offensive when its someone whos doing it from a misogynistic point of view or you're really not attracted to him. but ultimately i think its way way way 100 times worse to be the asshole guy who swans through the door first letting it swing back on the girl, (or who asks her to go to the cinema but makes a big deal about the ticket price). it always makes me think of alan partridge.

at the same time, i get really REALLY uncomfortable with male friends/acquaintances who try to pay for things like that for you. makes me think they want to sleep with me or something, and if the feeling isn't mutual the whole thing turns a bit sour.

so, imo, only pay for the girl if you're the kind of guy thats naturally chivalrous and comfortable with manners, can afford it enough to do it unbegrudgingly and you know that she fancies you.

for the OP, i know its after the event, but if i got asked out by a guy in this situation, i would prefer he mentioned being broke before hand so i could insist on paying my way. all it should take with a smart girl is a little comment BEFORE going to the cinema like "oh, i'm so broke!" and she should cop "oh, i'll make sure not to let him pay for me for anything"
    ALTHOUGH, if i was the OP in this situation, i wouldn't go to the stupid rip off cinema! i'd call her and tell her i was a bit broke and did she mind if we watched a dvd in my house instead. waaaay more fun.

TOP TIP:
    don't waste yours or anyone elses money buying pop corn in the cinema. if a guy i was with bought popcorn at the cinema i would be completely unimpressed. unless he was really really rich or older. then i could maybe understand it. theres something unattractive about a guy over 30 being stingey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

goin out with my gilrfriend now two and a half years. i always try and pay for stuff but she always wants to pay 2. so most of the time we judge it on who ever gets there first or says it first. crazy i know but suits us fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

girlgirl wrote: »
    TOP TIP:
    don't waste yours or anyone elses money buying pop corn in the cinema. if a guy i was with bought popcorn at the cinema i would be completely unimpressed. unless he was really really rich or older. then i could maybe understand it. theres something unattractive about a guy over 30 being stingey

I agreed mostly with what you're saying, until you came out with this little nugget of information! :rolleyes:

rb_ie wrote: »
    Next time you've only €20, don't think in terms of "Ooh I can afford a cheapo cinema date with this!" think "naggin and box of condoms".

Rosemantic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I'd always offer to pay, but if the lady insisted on paying for her ticket I'd say "Ok, but I'm getting the drinks or popcorn!"

That way you're both paying for something, so it's all good, if I got the tickets I wouldn't offer to get the snacks though, it's all well being mannerly and offering to pay for the tickets, but you don't want to be forking out for everything because some girls would take advantage of that big time. (Note, I'm not generalising, I know most wouldn't!)