Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool- advice needed pronto

• 21-11-2007 6:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭

Headin for new years eve, time for some proper clubs rather than the dross back here in the dirty old town.

What I urgently need to know is, are most of the following areas within a cheap taxi ride or a short walk of the city centre main nightlife area

Travelodge, Old Haymarket Street
    Holiday Inn, Speke Avenue
    Holiday Inn, Lime Street

Thanks (all the above are down as about 2km from town, just want to check the accuracy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

Lime street is slap bang in the middle of the city centre
    Approx 2mins from the adelphi and 5min walk from mattheau street and concert sq

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

would avoid a hotel where ye need to get a taxi as there scarce enough on a ordinary saturday night, new years eve would be a nightmare i would think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yep, Lime Street is where you want to go. Right in the centre and next to the main train station if you're coming in that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Cheers lads. Particularly about the advice re NYE taxis, hadnt factored that in re getting back in the cold :rolleyes: What am I like.

So, time to get to the nightlife. As Adrian said Ive been told Matthew Street is the centre of it all. We will be arriving late on Dec 29th (given the flight times, prob be midnight minimum before we drop our bags in the hotel, the Ryanair deal was only 32 euro in total, comin back new years day, so beggars cant be choosers). Anyone reckon we will get into any nightclubs arrivin in at (all going well) maybe 12:30? Any recos on the 24 hour bars? Taxi man told us tere are alot of strip clubs around Matthew, and one girl loved his accent so much she gave him a free private session, so it mightnt be all bad :D )

If not, what clubs do you recommend re the 30th (Sunday) and 31st. Do you reckon all decent spots NYE will be pre booked ticket only affair? :( If so, any sites to direct me as to where I should book?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Stayed in holiday inn was on the quay cant remember the exact address but beatles museum there to grand hotel 5-10 minute walk to the pubs although it can be confusing i ended up in liverpools version of china town:D:confused:confused: oh ya strip clubs €5 a dance just ask a taxi driver although most of them assume your looking for another similar establishment!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

We stayed in the spectrum apartments on Duke Street. 2 mins walk from Liverpool One Shopping Centre. Top Class accomadation, only €20 per head per night. We stayed in a 3 bed apartment and to be honest you would fit another three in them if you werent fussy. Highly reccomended.
    Can be booked on stayliverpool.com or hotel.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

seeing as the OP was over 3 years ago I think they might have found somewhere mr/mrs shill