Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The driving test

• 19-11-2007 11:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭

I passed my driving test today despite having to slam on the brakes to avoid squashing a dog's head so i would like to take this opportunity to say:

those damn provisional drivers are a menace!!! they should all be banned from the road immediately and be given life in prison for driving unaccompanied. Make it so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

I passed last week. L drivers are scum.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭My name is Todd

I passed recently too - I've been thinking about ramming a couple of learners off the road and blaming it on them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Damn you traitors!! Congrats on passing ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Well done.

I thought you were going to say that they gave you a fail for slamming on the brakes for just a dog though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I agree with all of the above, considering that I've passed my test as of last Wednesday, having driven on an L plate for 5 years and failed the test twice before.

Death to all Learners :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

yes - death to all learner driverse - oh wait, no i am one of them!!

Death to all Driving Test Centres ..............i will be in a bloody zimmer frame before i get a test date :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I passed my driving test today despite having to slam on the brakes to avoid squashing a dog's head
    Good job you didn't freak out like that tool in the add and flip your car over into a crowd of school children. But I suppose you where under the speed limit given it was a test that kind of thing only happens once you go over 51kph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

ya passed yer test only today.... that means yer still driving on a provisional. way to insult yourself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I passed my driving test today despite having to slam on the brakes to avoid squashing a dog's head so i would like to take this opportunity to say:

those damn provisional drivers are a menace!!! they should all be banned from the road immediately and be given life in prison for driving unaccompanied. Make it so
    Get back to work Vimes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Congrats vimes! Your one of us now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

ya passed yer test only today.... that means yer still driving on a provisional. way to insult yourself :rolleyes:

Yep, the certificate of a passed test is not a full licence. Congrats by the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

kaimera wrote: »
    Get back to work Vimes!

took a day off for my test :p
    dame wrote: »
    Yep, the certificate of a passed test is not a full licence. Congrats by the way!

that's all a formality. i am and forever will be a qualified driver. evil laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Remember passing my test over 2yrs ago now..such a great feeling, not amind to a relief!!!
    Well done OP!!

P.S: Grrrrrr to 'L' drivers indeed!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Passed mine on the first try years back and yes L drivers are the source of all of lifes problems :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Congrats!

I passed mine this time last year on my third attempt and i have no shame in saying it was honestly the happiest day of my life! A few weeks after I passed I rented a car in Austria and got to drive on the other side of the road, my bf was terrified on all the little mountain roads but I was just so thrilled to be driving in another country because I HAD PASSED MY DRIVING TEST!!

Boo to L drivers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

congrats c vimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

that's all a formality. i am and forever will be a qualified driver.

The Cert of Competency is only valid for a limited time (one or two years - can't remember which). I used to work in Motor Tax and the number of muppets who came in with expired Certs of Comp was scary. Imagine having to resit the test because you didn't bother getting your Full Driving Licence in time?

The thought of that makes my blood run cold.

Also, don't do what I did when I passed my test. in a fit of ecstatic giddyness I cut up my provisional licence and threw the pieces away while doing a merry jig, forgetting that you need your provisional to get your full licence. I knew this but for some reason just didn't think about it. I was reminded after queuing in Nutgrove for 45 minutes. The guy that served me was píssing himself laughing at me! I had to go to the guards (who also pissed themselves laughing at me!) and tell them what I'd one so they could sign a form saying I'd "accidently destroyed" my licence. Not one of my finer moments!

Take it from me Commander Vimes... DON'T cut up your provisional!

its two years and i won't be one of those idiots
    watna wrote: »
    Take it from me Commander Vimes... DON'T cut up your provisional!

i won't be one of those idiots either :D
    j/k;)

i won't be one of those idiots either :D
    j/k;)

Nice to know my embarassment has helped others! Although I'm sure I'm the only person stupid enough to do this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭dubambman

It really is great when you pass your test like i did last week and you can finally get up on your high horse like every other selfish, self righteous **** on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I passed last week, first time.

My boss failed today, first time

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Did mine today. Won't find out for a week or two if I passed but no dogs' heads were squished during the course of the exam.

why not? i was given a certificate of competency that i had to sign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

^^Ya you sign it and bring it with your when you leave so you can hand it in to get your full licence.
    You sure you did your driving test pickarooney?!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

I am a full licence holder and im not always (just sometimes) mean to the L drivers cause we were all there once, yiz are so mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

why not? i was given a certificate of competency that i had to sign

Cause he lives in France so maybe its different there
    Do they make you sweat for a week or two ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Learning To Drive/Motors forum would have been the obvious place to put this. Hmmmph fecking pink licence-ers thinking they can do what they want...:p

cazzy wrote: »
    Cause he lives in France so maybe its different there
    Do they make you sweat for a week or two ?

ah that explains it :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yeah, apparently too many instructors were being beaten up by enraged test-failers so now they leg it to a safe distance and fail you by post. Load of bollocks, but sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭King John V

passed today first attempt...delighted:D