Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not quite the norm

• 18-11-2007 2:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever do anything off the wall to their pride and joys? I've started a new project (the details of which remain secret until it's complete) around my G36k. As much as I like the G36k (and I really, really like it) I also like having something utterly unique, and the G36 isn't renowned for additional parts. Bolt on parts only go so far, as such I have a new plan for mine.

Has anyone done anything a bit different or off the wall to theirs or is everyone totally happy with their stock rifles?

Here's part one of my little project, custom molded handgrip to fit perfectly in my hand (and only my hand!)

448722505a6137981895l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

not happy with my stock M4 by a long shot,but not much off the wall planned , but i have a plan for a project that should indivualise it ,as for your G36 not much off the wall mods out there for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

that grip looks very nice, what's it molded out of?

havent done any off the wall mods yet, unless stupidly high rof in my m249 (when it's finished) counts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

The G36 doesn't have many mods at all available so I'm gonna make some and use some existing ones in a slightly unusual fashion.

The handgrip is a "first draft" of one i'm gonna finalise soon. That one is made from thermoplastic nylon. I made it today and I realised I didn't have all my molding tools with me so I couldn't trim it or shape some of the parts I wanted to. I'll run a second mold on it tomorrow. It's comfy as hell though, fingers fit so nicely into it it's silly.

249 you just love that number dont ya kd ,ive got a 249 ,my guns bigger and faster than yours ,yeah ,yeah yeah,

say it im just jealous,249 im bleeeeeeeedin jealous :D:D:D
    bit of comedy at this hour of the morning is hard to find ,where,s spoon

*** smacks Gatling upside the head

249, the poor mans M60. *runs*

Edit: *runs faster*

I really want an M240b so I can mount it on a pintle and cut an air-guard hatch in the roof of my jeep! Problem is I can't find one. It may mean another modification job which could be fun.

where,s lethal ,:o:o that hurt ,
    whats do yous reckon on these sci-fi based mods like the alien gun from wolf armouries ,dont they do a kit for the AvP G36

I'm not keen on them. Again, they're production things. Sure they're different, but when are you gonna use a pulse rifle in your loadout. It'll look damn out of place beside an M14 or AK. And I can't see it sitting well with any camo I can think of. Plus, those kits are prohibitively expensive.

If, however, some nice, kind and wonderful company wanted to make an OICW kit so that I don't have to I will happily pay any money.

OICW aparrently one of the yank airsoft forums i haunt,said echo 1 were working on a prototype oicw.for release in 2008 .
    it reminds me of the fn2000 which is a p90 breed with a russian female body builder with a taste for steroids love child,
    i like the look of the oicw ,think of the weight its a bit of a beast

I was considering building an OICW increment 3 out of an XM8, a modified M203 and a whole load of sheet aluminium. Problem was I no longer have access to even half the sheetmetal working tools I used to have. And I'd never be able to build it without at least a bending press, bench drill and a cnc machine. I may yet get the dimensions of it and farm it out.
    The OICW program was scrapped to all intents and purposes due to them not being able to make one that was effective and still be within size and weight constraints. Basically, the yanks found a weapon they liked but at the same time finally found something that was too big.

The F2000 is a nice design but it's a bit chunky for my liking. I was considering getting one as part of my movie prop project but it's a bit pricey for me to be taking apart. Maybe I'll get one anyway and charge it to them as a research expenses. The P90 though is 5.7x28 chambered, the F2000 is 5.56x45 so physically it's have to be fatter.

id love to do a G11 aeg fairly easy job except how do u get it to load from the top rail in to the gun ,hmmm a reverse loading p90 reciever might do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

Gatling wrote: »
    id love to do a G11 aeg fairly easy job except how do u get it to load from the top rail in to the gun ,hmmm a reverse loading p90 reciever might do it
    if you what to make it, i'll tell you how to load it;)

The whole theory of caseless rounds was nice but it won't effectively happen for decades. It's far too difficult a system to control. Also if you watch the videos of the G11 in use, you'll notice that the recoil is immense. Sure you get 3 rounds off before you feel it, but when it does kick, you need to reacquire your target entirely. That whole ACR program was doomed from inception.
    The shape of the G11 is an easy build though and you could quite easily manufacture a hopper that could topload since you'd essentially have to rebuild the reciever entirely. The other option is you could build the entire thing around something that pistol grip loads like a MAC 10 or an MP7

NakedDex wrote: »
    The whole theory of caseless rounds was nice but it won't effectively happen for decades. It's far too difficult a system to control. Also if you watch the videos of the G11 in use, you'll notice that the recoil is immense. Sure you get 3 rounds off before you feel it, but when it does kick, you need to reacquire your target entirely. That whole ACR program was doomed from inception.
    The shape of the G11 is an easy build though and you could quite easily manufacture a hopper that could topload since you'd essentially have to rebuild the reciever entirely. The other option is you could build the entire thing around something that pistol grip loads like a MAC 10 or an MP7

the best gun ever made, just too dear, it had about 1/3 the recoil of any gun i shot.

was thinking along those lines ,the body is the easy part alright ,mac 10 cause it pretty much is the same shape would be easy to mock up a body that fits over the mac 10 ,then figure the internals

nonex wrote: »
    the best gun ever made, just too dear, it had about 1/3 the recoil of any gun i shot.

You fired it? I want to have a long and intense discussion with you about that rifle. It fascinates me no end (particularly the reciever/loading mech) and I feel bad that it never was made, but the videos I've seen of it (I've never even had the good fortune to see one, let alone hold one) of soldiers firing it, it seems as though once the recoil eventually does kick the muzzle rides wildly up by several inches. Now maybe I was looking at early videos or ones of untrained personell.
    Gatling wrote: »
    was thinking along those lines ,the body is the easy part alright ,mac 10 cause it pretty much is the same shape would be easy to mock up a body that fits over the mac 10 ,then figure the internals

Well if you picked a low profile sub you could rob the internals and mount them as you pleased, stick a mid size barrel on it (297mm would be about right) then work from there. You'd literally have to build everything inside out though.

you handled (nonex) handled a real live G11,
    you want the kriss super v .45 acp/.50 single handed smg with no recoil or muzzle rise ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I'm not a punchbag:eek:!!!:mad:

I was thinking of maybe the blade mac conversion:D

You fired it? I want to have a long and intense discussion with you about that rifle. It fascinates me no end (particularly the reciever/loading mech) and I feel bad that it never was made, but the videos I've seen of it (I've never even had the good fortune to see one, let alone hold one) of soldiers firing it, it seems as though once the recoil eventually does kick the muzzle rides wildly up by several inches. Now maybe I was looking at early videos or ones of untrained personell.

The entire mechanical part of the g 11, excluding the trigger, safety and fire selector mechanism is mounted in a floating manner within the sealed receiver. After mechanical ignition of the first cartridge and after the bullet has left the muzzle, the entire mounted part of the g 11 moves to the rear and compresses the mount spring.

When firing a 3-round burst, the hammer ignites the second and third cartridge as soon as they are in firing position upon completion of the cylinder rotation. During all three rotation or firing cycles, the mounted part of the g 11 moves to the rear at an increased velocity, though it transfers only minimal recoil to the shooter's shoulder. The g 11 remains steady in the aimed position; no conventional gun can achieve these same firing results.

During sustained fire, the hammer remains cocked after the first rotation or firing cycle until the rearward motion of the mounted part of the g 11 is completed and the mount spring has driven the mounted part into its forward initial position. Thus, the rate of fire is not determined by the rotation cycle of the bolt, but by the cycle of the mounted part of the g 11. Again, there is no notable recoiI on the shooter's shoulder. As mentioned above, the g 11 can be easily controlled in the aiming position to track moving targets, i.e. for the first time ever aimed sustained fire is possible.

Its a mad effective gun, that looks sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Has anyone done anything a bit different or off the wall to theirs or is everyone totally happy with their stock rifles?

I wasnt happy with the stock on my VSR 10, so hell......I started making my own (still not finished yet though, damn college!! :()

vsr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

That VSR looks a bit mad lol

WTF, thats "Unique".

holy crap! is that really yours? it's amazing, great work!

Thats some fantastic worksmanship. If it works as goos as it looks I'd be worried on the field!

hmmmm im beginning to wonder about this ,seen this online some where,here is something similar scrool to bottom of link

http://www.guns.connect.fi/rs/mounting.html

So what if he plagerised it.

its an awesome piece of workmanship,il wait to see it turn up at hrta to beleave it

Q: Is it for sale?

If not, would you make more?

The stock is very eh... phalic shaped...Probably why i don't like it lol

Oh ye of little faith :p, I started a thread, probably back last...emm...March or April in which I had a picture of the gun Gatling is referring to.

Some 'construction' pictures for those of you in doubth *cough....gatling* :p:D

1.jpg
    2.jpg
    3.jpg
    100_5707.jpg

A. Lethal, nope, not for sale, sorry and no, not a chance of me making another one, and I wouldnt even consider it until next summer even, I'm up to my eyeballs in college work.

Zero19, phallic? :eek:....wow, never thought that, but each to his own.

Beautiful work man, I'm envious of the craftsmanship and of your workshop! What wood is it, teal? You might want to give it a few extra coats of lacquer around the trigger mech to protect against the silicone oil

Lol yep, my GF came in and goes "Why's there a wiilly on that gun?!" then i was like, oh yeah so there is!

Seriously man ,awesome work ,a large slice of humale pie "waitress" please, have u ever thought of working on comission , have an idea M4 with wood furniture

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

great bit of craftsmanship there, id perfer it without the bi pod and the long thin bit at the bottom though, have to give it to ya on the work though.,.,

Im starting a little project of my own aswell, not gonna say what it is yet though coz i dont think there anything like it available at the mo but when i make it i bet someone has an ebay link to someone else that did it.,lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Zero19, phallic? :eek:....wow, never thought that, but each to his own.

It does kinda make you wonder what he's using a reference point, eh ? :)

Shiva wrote: »

Will ye feck off! :D Jesus, now thats all I think of when I look at it....the gun I mean! :p

Cheers for the comments guys, I'll get some pics up again once I have her finished, still have to soften it out a little and give it a few coats of oils to bring out the grain, sure she'll look smashin' ;)

I'm not really into the whole, milsim, skirmishing thing yet, just back garden shootin' for the moment, besides, I dont think I'd like to bring it 'out in the field', it might get scraped or marked! :eek::p

Dex, the wood is ash, Gatling I'd like to do commision pieces yes, I'd love it in fact but I just havent got the time anymore, cant even finish my own piece :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

Shiva wrote: »

Time till he whacks it in a vice and goes at it with a saw: 5, 4, 3, 2.........

The stock, guys. I'm talking about the stock ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Very nice work indeed :cool: