Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Bookies?

• 15-11-2007 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭

For those of us partial to the odd flutter or two which Bookies do you usually use? Or does it matter at all? Personally I think a bookies is sort of like a local, you get to know the staff and the people that go in there. You can have great craic there.

My favourite Bookies would have to be Boyles in Eyre Square Galway. I could easily while away an afternoon there and have a great time. Watch a 6 nations match have some free sambo's, don't miss the racing when I need to got to the jacks cos there are tellies in there. Lovely comfy couches...

It'd lull ya into a false sense of security!

What Bookies? 37 votes

Paddy Powers
    0% 0 votes
    Boylesports
    56% 21 votes
    Ladbrokes
    21% 8 votes
    William Hills
    0% 0 votes
    Celtic's
    5% 2 votes
    Hacketts
    8% 3 votes
    Mulhollands (For us Galway folk)
    2% 1 vote
    Independent Bookies
    5% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭BrianTheMessiah

My local is Celtic, but I generally shop around, when I can. I find Ladbrokes rubbish in every aspect!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I don't bet in bookmakers offices that much, they depress me. Usually nothing but a shower of muppets inside who'd bet on two flies going up a wall if they could. I do most of my punting online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Mean't to add a Betfair/Online option to the poll :o

I'd agree with the point that most Ladbrokes are dumps. I haven't come across a decent one yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

My local is Celtic,

Yeah agreed, started using them in Raheny and it's grand there. Free €2 scorecasts everyday on any match :cool: and a free €1 lotto :D - and they pay the greater Sp to EPs and BPs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Where is the option for the one with the best odds?

There is no loyalty, it all about the BP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I am fond of Ladbrokes and william hills .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

Ladbrokes would be closest to my house but do most of my betting on-line (betfair) or on-course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭BangBeater

PP all the way... Cannot stand ladbrokes!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

anyone bar willie hill...i hate them since college in galway!!

paddy power shops are usually nice and the staff are usually fine.
    i voted mulholland tho coz thats where i like if im down that neck of the woods!

good specials too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭BangBeater

prendy wrote: »
    anyone bar willie hill...i hate them since college in galway!!

paddy power shops are usually nice and the staff are usually fine.
    i voted mulholland tho coz thats where i like if im down that neck of the woods!

good specials too!

that's the thing man... even though all bookies are a disaster, i have found most staff in PP very nice. On the other hand, Hackett's staff. Not nice at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭kmot90

cson wrote: »
    Mean't to add a Betfair/Online option to the poll :o

I'd agree with the point that most Ladbrokes are dumps. I haven't come across a decent one yet.

Ladbrokes ballsbridge is very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Hey i know this is way off the mark but since ye are talking about online betting.
    I recently set up a betfair account just to see what it was like because iv heard so much about it but never went onto it anyway as i dont have any credit cards I decided to put money in via a bank transfer. The bank told me it would take a couple of days but that was last friday and I still have no money in my account. It wasnt an enormous amount but Im wondering should I get in contact with betfair or am I being impatient!!!!!!! I would appreciate any feedback:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

I mainly bet online but I like VCBet on baggot street and the bookies at the bottom of the sporting emporium on South Anne street. In Galway Boyles and PP in eyre square.

At the moment tho my main concern would be going to one that'll actually show the racing rather than just commentary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 slowlyin2stride

At the moment tho my main concern would be going to one that'll actually show the racing rather than just commentary[/QUOTE]

Is that not the point of going to a bookie's to see the racing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Yeah but recently some bookies don't show all races, just have "Unofficial offtube" commentary from courses they don't have TV rights for, including for major races

I assume that it's the commentary you get for Newmarket/Ascot etc on ATR thats the offtube you're on about? Afaik in most bookies I know if you ask them they'll stick on RUK/BBC/C4. Any bookies worth its salt will have all the racing subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Betfair for the odds, and for the ability to sell a bet, or lay a horse. I use Paddy Power for multiples, or if I want a larger single bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

it's gotta be PP for specials etc. Boyle's a close 2nd. ladbrokes suck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

Wherever the best price available is!

Generally i would favour PP, the majority of their shops are nice and comfortable and the staff always seem to be very friendly. Like the general consensus here, im not a fan of ladbrokes but their shop in ballsbridge is very nice. I'm a fan on Chronicle as well, especially the one at the bottom om the Sporting Emporium. It a great advantage to be able to Lay things in your local high street bookie without having to do it online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

You work all week to earn your paypackets
    Then you go lose all your money at Hacketts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I'd be with the general consensus. Prefer PP and hate Ladbrokes.

PP shops are generally nicer
    Staff are usually friendly
    Easy to find the info you're looking for unlike Ladbrokes with their endless screens showing virtual racing
    And last not but not least there specials which saved me a ton yesterday when they refunded on Cheltenham fallers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

+1 for Paddy Powers. Boylesports aren't bad either.

Like many others here I'd have little time for Ladbrokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 snowydot

oddschecker.com and then whoever has the best odds avaliable. VC on Baggot street will match the price of most other large bookies, which I have to say is very handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

snowydot wrote: »
    oddschecker.com and then whoever has the best odds avaliable. VC on Baggot street will match the price of most other large bookies, which I have to say is very handy.

Oddschecker is a very useful site, never knew about the VC on baggot street, they always have very good prices, might be making a few more trips out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Racecaller

Appreciate any bookies that go 1/4 odds all handicaps and offer - take an early or board price and if sp bigger you get it. Will Hill starting to do it more in shops where there's more competition in the area. Byrnes on top of Leeson St in dublin, always thought was a decent independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭badbrian

I like Boylesports myself but they seem to be offering better terms online (getting the bigger of the morning/starting) price than they do in the shops which seems a tad unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Not a fan of PP, wish their website would stick to offering odds rather than setting up unfunny Blogs:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Where's my Bambury's option? It's all we've got where I live.

You'd wanna see Bamburys in Castletroy, such a kip I've never seen in my life. There are quite a few kips doing the rounds as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Hi, i was just wondering whats your favourite online bookies and do you have any good promotion codes to enter when your setting upan account? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭MarkOShea

Don't have any online accounts so generally the ones I can get to easily - Boyles or PP - depending on which is offering the better price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭keepitquiet

i use http://www.freebets.co.uk/ if i have time, sadly i have very few bookies left that i havent used:(