Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesco 30% Back Offer

• 14-11-2007 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭

On all TV's from Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

Sweet! 30% off + 10% off with brother's staff card = merry christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭leex

Do they have any decent TV's there? On the lookout for a 37-42" one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I know they're selling a decent 42" Philips HD TV for €999..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corkandproud

37PFL5322, 37 inch philips, €1199.

€995 in powercity and did, but the 30% back brings the Tesco offer to €839

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Are they selling any basic TV/DVD combos ? Around the €100 mark at all ?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

37PFL5322, 37 inch philips, €1199.

€995 in powercity and did, but the 30% back brings the Tesco offer to €839

i aint no mathetician but i make that 768 and change.

not much of a speller either !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭getoffthepot

horgan_p wrote: »
    i aint no mathetician but i make that 768 and change.

not much of a speller either !!

You're right about the mathematician bit - 1199 discounted by 30% is 839 which is approx 15% less than Powercity price

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

that'll teach me to post at 2 in the morning!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

No Tesco close to my gaff in Dublin but am willing to hop in the car to pick up a much needed LCD - any suggestions on what Tesco stores would have the best selection of tvs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭floydmoon1

the 30% back is on console and mp3 players and loads more audio/visual equipent.does anyone know how much ps3 with 40 gb hd is going for in tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Don't forget, this is 30% BACK not 30% off. You will get it back in vouchers in a few months with your next clubcard statement. and YES these can be used to buy anything in Tesco. Even if its another 30% offer you use them on :D

@macinalli where do you live? Your best bet is the large Tesco stores such as Clearwater (finglas) and Clarehall. Big one in Maynooth too. Also in Stilorgan, Tesco has its own little shop near the grocery shop that sells household items... unless thats a dunnes shop... im not sure which actually :D

floydmoon1 wrote: »
    the 30% back is on console and mp3 players and loads more audio/visual equipent.does anyone know how much ps3 with 40 gb hd is going for in tesco.

399, my brother got one the last time they ran the offer.. was that not a fortnight ago?? They're great!

Quackles wrote: »
    399, my brother got one the last time they ran the offer.. was that not a fortnight ago?? They're great!
    also remember that this is the same price as most other shops except they are in bundles and include a game or two. You will save money with the 30% back but factor in the cost of games etc.
    For instance I think Virgins 40gb bundle is €445? And you get two games? Im not sure as i just got the 60gb last week with 2 games and 2 bluray movies for €500

mostly interested in ps3 as a blu-ray player.they seem to be doing 30% weekends for the last month or so while before they used be doing 50% back.got 145 euro back couple of days ago from buying a psp and few cds in there 50% back wekend.does anyone know if they will be ding 50% back on stuff in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

I'd say the days of the 50% off are gone. The last few have been 30% off.
    Does this one include consoles or is it just tv's?

yeah includes consoles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭IrishPhoenix

Are you sure it includes consoles? Where did you see it advertised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

ciaranfo wrote: »
    Are they selling any basic TV/DVD combos ? Around the €100 mark at all ?

Yes they are but for the life of me I can't remember the brand, Goodmans maybe €99.99, 14 inch screen

Philips 42" plasma in Galway for 999euro before reduction. Resolution not great for PC connection so didn't bother with it. The same LCD model was 1499 or something before reduction.

Went to buy an xbox console bundle for a friend during the last 30% offer.. They were sold out of the 369 euro Gears of War bundle, and only had a 449 euro halo bundle.. I don't think so :) I don't care how good the game is, it's cheaper to buy the sodding thing on it's own :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corkandproud

Got my TV, delighted!

Are you sure it includes consoles? Where did you see it advertised?

definitaly was in tesco today and it gives a list and says consoles.and went to console section and under the ps3 it showed the same advertisment.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Got my TV, delighted!
    I thought the offer was to start Friday?

floydmoon1 - thanks!

u thinking of getting a console irishphoenix.might get a ps3 myself

Yeah. Wavering between splurging for a PS3 now (I'm a lowly student) or waiting until next summer, when I will actually have a job and money. Then there's the great debate between 40GB and 60GB with the PS2 compatability. :mad: I don't know which way to jump!

The PS3 is a great machine though, especially now that it's throwing in the HD upscaling and Divx support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Canonfan

Ipod stuff also included, fair play Tesco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 ballybrone

Hi anybody know do Tesco have any 42 " TV's on sale and what brand they are .What is price before 30% back Vouchers .I am in Galway city but have not seen any bigger that 32" TV in the Headford Road store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Akula

I've seen them in there before. 42" Philips for around 1000 (before discount).

Anybody seen how much xbox360's are going for in there?

Headford Rd last night had 42" plasma for 999 and LCD for a few hundred more before the 30% deduction. Nearly bought the plasma but resolution was poor for PC connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 apriloneill

They have a package with a Goodman's 27" LCD, stand and home cinema system for €599 so €420 with the 30% off. Does anyone know what this TV is like? Don't have the model number to look it up unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

ballybrone wrote: »
    Hi anybody know do Tesco have any 42 " TV's on sale and what brand they are .What is price before 30% back Vouchers .I am in Galway city but have not seen any bigger that 32" TV in the Headford Road store

They have a philips 42 plasma, model number 42pfp5332 / 10 (cant be 100% on the model number, but afair thats right). 999euro before discount, so 700euro or a branded plasma. Maybe not the best specs in the world, but it is a lovely tv, and a fantastic offer.

Be warned tho, i had alot of trouble getting it into the car. Had to take it out of the box in the end, strap it well in, and drive very slowly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Went into Tesco Tallaght this morning and got a PSP for 179 euro. I paid with a 50 euro voucher I got from the last 25% off offer when I bought a laptop and 129 euro cash. Todays purchase gets 30% back in Tesco clubcard vouchers. They also gave me a receipt for 10 euro off next time I spend 50 euro. I spend more than that every big shopping run!

I have stopped trying to work out what the PSP has REALLY cost me, but hey, its a fecking bargain alright !!!!

Yeah. Wavering between splurging for a PS3 now (I'm a lowly student) or waiting until next summer, when I will actually have a job and money. Then there's the great debate between 40GB and 60GB with the PS2 compatability. :mad: I don't know which way to jump!

The PS3 is a great machine though, especially now that it's throwing in the HD upscaling and Divx support.

what price is the 60gb model.think ill settle with the 40gb model as dont have any ps2 games to play on it and if i need more storage in the future i can replace the hd in the ps3 with a laptop one.it seems easy enuff to do.

60GB is about €500. Don't know if Tesco have it though. No PS3s in sight in Cork.

just bought a 40gb ps3 in killarney tesco.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

I assume they don't have Wii's in stock anywhere?
    I know of 8 people looking for them for Xmas :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭fullirish

The 42 inch Philips TV sounds a good price but why would it not be good for the PC - is it the response time or the input connections for cables ?

cheers

I believe it has no vga port, no dvi port. It does have svideo which is rubbish for a PC. I suppose you can use a DVI to HDMI converter.
    However the resolution is only 1024 x 768

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

How long does this run for??

finishes sunday night at 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭sue97

Rang Clare Hall looking for DS for a friend. They have nothing in stock for the lst two weeks and got no stock for this promotion.

Got the impression I wasn't the only person to ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Canonfan

Anybody bought ipod from TESCO? Seems to be a good deal.