Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Final Lineup For Armageddon Ixmuay Thai Show.

• 14-11-2007 8:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭

HERE IS HOPEFULLY THE FINAL LINE UP AT PRESENT IS AS FOLLOWS: not in fight order

ROB DOYLE (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v JUKKA KYYNARAINEN (Chitlada Gym, Finland)
    63.5kg 'A' class 5x3 mins Full Thai Rules.

JONATHON BRACKEN (Warriors Gym, Bray) v MIKKO KOPONEN (Chitlada Gym, Finland)
    70kg'B' class 5x2 mins.

STEVEN MELEADY (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v NUNO ALEXANDRE FLAMINO (T.N.S. Gym, Portugal)
    59kg 'B' class 5x2 mins.

DARRAN LO (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v VILLE LYTTINEN(Chitlada Gym, Finland)
    71kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

JASON LO (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v ANDREW GREY (Cork Thai)
    62kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

RAY LAKES (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v MICHAEL KELLIHER (Cork Thai)
    62kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

KEVIN DOUGLAS (Chupasart, Rathcoole) v DAEGAN VICKERS (Warriors Gym, Bray)
    75kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

KEITH DAWSON (Chupasart, Rathcoole) v BARRY HICKEY (Siam Warriors, Cork)
    64kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

DECLAN BRODERICK (Chupasart, Rathcoole) v AARON O CALLAGHAN (Siam Warriors, Cork)
    59kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

GHENCIA ILIE (Dumskis Thai, Dublin) v KIERAN KELLY (Cork Thai)
    64kg 'C' class 3x2mins.

10 fights in all so should be a good one. Will be packed out as usual. Good luck to all the fighters.
    Regards,
    Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Havo

Good luck lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Good line up. Lookin' forward to the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Oh man....I can't wait. Love these nights out. Nice job on the lineup Paul.

64kg 'C' class 3x2mins.

Just noticed this. Where is Dumskis Thai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

from SBG northside you'd see him in bstone training the odd time as well..

paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Dear Sirs,

I am an idiot. When is this on again?

Thanks!

yes u are an idiot... of that there is no doubt at all

its on 2moro night... real men ... real fightin roper... well in fact theres only 3 real men on the show :)

wanna bet on that Paddy... ;)

what odds will you give me for the triple... all 3 of my lads win jon....

I am a new gym and the lads are pretty new to thai.... you give me good odds and I lay a bet :)

as ever nice to see a bit of betting on the old thai fightin... makes it a bit more authentic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 joeythelips

Would i be correct in saying your 3 lads have had 2 fights each,and 2 wins each?

paddyc wrote: »
    what odds will you give me for the triple... all 3 of my lads win jon....

You and your feckin' odds. Press on with them will ye? :p

joey something like that :)

if they dont win i packing up and moving:)

they trained like men possessed for it and ive been gettign up at 8am every sunday to trainin them... so it better all be worth it :)

fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

If Daegan Vickers is who I think he is, his opponent is in for a tough fight. He used to train kickboxing out in the mastertemples I think. A fair few years ago now though

Tonight. \o/

Can't wait.

You heading along Roper? I'd say you might have left it late for tickets, but might be worth chancing your arm. Jon, if you see me, say hello. I wont have the baby with me as an identifier this time mind you. ;) Paddy...I'll be looking for you for some (non-odds based) betting. I'll be there early anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Can't make it to this lads. Plastering my gaf FFS and ran over. Was going to chance my arm but never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Was at this tonight, first time at a Muay Thai fight. Was really impressed with it amazing stuff, my mates cousin was fighting (and won) thats why I went. Hope the two K.O."ed" lads are ok:eek:

Hope the two K.O."ed" lads are ok:eek:

Indeed. Holy sh*t. I was really worried about Paddy's lad (Kevin). Was very glad to see him walk out of the ring unaided tbh.

Great night out. Nice to see Paul splashed out on some ring girls. ;)

Congratulations to everyone who had the balls to step into the ring. I'll post what I remember from the fights tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Khannie wrote: »
    splashed out on some ring girls. ;)

Damn Right:D

Only thing I can't stand is the smell of "Deep Heat" in the place:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭j.griff

mate that would be thai oil not deep heat;)

Congrats to my buddy Ray, nice clean victory for him.

meh, I hate ring girls, they entertain the neanderthals of the crowd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Another huge success for Bridgestone...great turn out from Cork and internationals....

Very exciting bouts indeed....

RedRaven wrote:
    Another huge success for Bridgestone

4 wins from 5 fights by my count. Nice going indeed.
    Jon wrote: »
    Congrats to my buddy Ray, nice clean victory for him.

Yeah, good fight and a good win for Ray. I saw a lad with a great t-shirt on at the end of the night "hands up rayser". :D
    Jon wrote: »
    meh, I hate ring girls, they entertain the neanderthals of the crowd!

Ah, true enough, but the fighters seemed to like getting their picture beside them, and red raven was loving his prime seat beside them and well....they looked nice.

On the fights themselves....
    ROB DOYLE (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v JUKKA KYYNARAINEN (Chitlada Gym, Finland)
    63.5kg 'A' class 5x3 mins Full Thai Rules.

Rob looked comfortable from the start. He had injured the Finnish lad and got a standing count with what I thought was a knee to the ribs, but I thought his coach said was an elbow, so I'll have to see the vid for confirmation, or maybe someone else can clear it up?....anyway....after the standing count, you could see Rob was focusing on Jukka's ribs to try to capitalise, but somehow Jukka ended up out of the ring and on the ground. :eek: That was the end of that.
    JONATHON BRACKEN (Warriors Gym, Bray) v MIKKO KOPONEN (Chitlada Gym, Finland)
    70kg'B' class 5x2 mins.

Was shaping up to be a good fight (I expected Jonathan to run away with it tbh). Jonathan had to retire because of a shin injury. He was very very sportsmanlike but clearly (and understandably) pissed off.
    STEVEN MELEADY (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v NUNO ALEXANDRE FLAMINO (T.N.S. Gym, Portugal)
    59kg 'B' class 5x2 mins.

Solid win for Steven. I thought we were gonna get a blood stoppage at one point. Very natural fighter. Good fight to watch. Plenty of action.
    DARRAN LO (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v VILLE LYTTINEN(Chitlada Gym, Finland)
    71kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

Can't remember the finer details tbh. Good win for Darran though.
    JASON LO (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v ANDREW GREY (Cork Thai)
    62kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

This was an odd one. Jason totally dominated the first round. Had the other lad on his arse about 4 or 5 times. He had to retire in the last round though. I think it was a shin injury.
    RAY LAKES (Bridgestone Gym, Dublin) v MICHAEL KELLIHER (Cork Thai)
    62kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

Good solid fight. Was delighted to see Ray win. Michael landed some good punches, but Ray had the upper hand in the clinch (in particular) and with hand / leg combinations.
    75kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

Was fairly even until Daegan landed a knockout kick to the head. He was very clearly out before he hit the ground. This really bothered me tbh. At one point I shouted up at Darran Dowdall (ref) to ask if Kevin was alright and he couldn't say for sure. :eek: I was really glad to see Kevin walk out of the ring.
    64kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

DECLAN BRODERICK (Chupasart, Rathcoole) v AARON O CALLAGHAN (Siam Warriors, Cork)
    59kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

Honestly can't remember the finer details here. There was one retirement from broken nose (despite a solidly won first round) iirc, but just can't remember for sure.
    64kg 'C' class 3x2mins.

Kieran won this one. I had it scored as a draw myself, but it was close from the off.

Overall...as usual....an absolutely cracking night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭mickoo

64kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

Keith Dawson came out to touch gloves and got kicked an almighty kick in the leg when he was not expecting it followed by a barrage of punches that badly swelled up his eye, he then let his own hands go and dominated from then till the end of the round, when he went back to the corner he was obviously struggling to see properly after the early punches he was slyly hit with and pulled out of the fight,.
    This was bad sportmanship if ever i saw it, i'm not involved with any club but am a fan of combat sports and was horrified at this, bad form.

I saw that his eye was swollen as he stepped down from the ring alright (that's the lad I thought had a broken nose). As I said, I thought Paddys lad solidly won the round. Didn't notice anything sly myself tbh (I'm sure I would have remembered it), but that could very well just be lack of observation on my part.

One thing I will say though: At C class, fighters are still building experience and can be very eager to get going and are sure to be much more edgey than experienced fighters, so it may not have been intentional. More "oops....ah sure we've started now...." kinda thing. I'm a benefit of the doubt man myself.

The more measured pace as you move up the classes from novice to A class is obvious (IMO). It amazes me how huge chunks of the training seemingly go out the window at novice level and the fists start flying (I'll be interested to see how I fare on this front) because of the nerves / lack of experience. Also, it wasn't the only display of bad form from a fighter (or the crowd for that matter) on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

The touching of the glove and then launching in is calculated, Ive seen it many times, once the gloves are touched your opponent is fair game, its something I dont like but it accepted in the sport, it can sometimes backfire as it usually pisses of the other guy, Keith on this occasion was unlucky to be caught early resulting in his eye swelling so much he couldnt see..this to me shows good ring intellegence as he knew he was at a disadvantage in the fight from there on in and there was no point in continuing-a smart boxer, no doubt the fight was building to be a good one as both were very hungry, not taking from the winner his striking caused damage and thats the name of the game.

Well done to both guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Gustradamus

75kg 'C' class 3x2 mins.

While the (majority of the) crowd were thrilled with the outcome of this one, I was disgusted - disgusted by the way the crowd reacted, but more so by the way in which Daegan Vickers reacted.

Nobody can deny him of the fact that his KO was spectacular. However, IMO the lack of remorse he showed for his opponent denies him of a lot of respect he would have gained if hadn't acted so ungraciously.

Having had a couple of Thai fights I know what it's like getting into that ring. It's not easy, especially for your first few fights, which I suspect was the case for these guys. What makes it a little easier is to have a crowd who get behind you, and show respect and concern if you're unfortunate enough to be on the receiving end of a devastating KO. Instead, Kevin Douglas was subjected to jeering from the crowd (spurred on by Vickers) while he lay on the canvas trying to regain consciousness. It's incidences like this that bring our sport into disrepute.

Well done to the ref, medics, and cornermen who did a great job at controlling the situation. The crowd or winner certainly didn't help.

All drama aside, it was a great night of fighting as always! So well done to Bridgestone for putting on yet another fantastic show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 TinaTerna

Just wanted to say well done to Ray, Darren, Rob and Stephen. hard luck to J - your fitness let you down matey.

Thanks to PK for a great night of fights and just wanted to say that the 2 girls in the Bridgestone Corner were fantastic:D. And it was nice to see ladies in the ring with their kit on for a change :) I did hear a rumour that in the next Armageddon fight night one of your lady fighters has agreed to fight on the condition that two fake-tan, fig leaf covered ring men accompany her out into the ring. Fair play to you - finally a boxing sport is coming into the 21st century. I may have misherad of course but I'm sure it was for real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 joeythelips

i hear the ring girls were great