Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV shows that scared the sh*ite out of you!

• 14-11-2007 12:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭

I struggled to think of movies that scared me when I was a pre-teen kid on that other thread.

However, TV shows - no probs:
    Sapphire and Steel, V, Twin Peaks, The Witches and the Grinnygog, The Nargun and the Stars, The Day of the Triffids, The Incredible Hulk, a TV series adaptation of Beauty and the Beast. The beast was flippin' terrifying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Hmmmm.. 'American Gothic' was very creepy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

But were you an ickle kid when that was on? Another one from the eighties - a not well-remembered drama called Otherworld about a scary dystopian dictatorship. Lasted one season. Scared me good though.

Ah... I see from your date of birth you were about 11 or 12 when American Gothic was on. Bah, this thread is only for people who remember the 80s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Dudess wrote: »
    But were you an ickle kid when that was on?
    I was about 12 - 13.. but you've obviously never seen 'American Gothic' - really creepy but fantastic!

Also one or two episodes of 'The X-Files' creeped me out - one being 'Tooms'

EDIT: Last comment's a bit "age-ist".. shocking behaviour for an elderly person like yourself! And you wonder why there's more of ye being thrown into homes! ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

V, Dianna both terrified me and turned me on at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

V

The incredible hulk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ghostwatch broadcast on BBC on October 31st 1992; it was scaryish because everyone thought it was for real

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghostwatch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Some episodes of Star Trek, the old one with The Shat at the helm. Some of the "special effect" non-human-like baddies had me scared.

And the Daleks.

EX-TERM-IN-ATE :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Heres 2 oldies for you... first is Under The Mountain - lots of disgusting makeup, prosthetics and slimy scenery....

... and secondly, Into The Labyrinth... Ron Moody scared the bejesus out of me as a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

Salems Lot mini series did it for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

DesF wrote: »
    And the Daleks.

EX-TERM-IN-ATE :eek:

SAme here... scared the living poop out of me!!
    We had an old nilfisk vacuum in our house. I couldn't sleep if it was stored in my bedroom, coz it looked like one!:eek:
    So many nightmares about them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

The Incredible Hulk - when he used to start changing into the hulk, I used to run and hide, bloody hell it was scared, I didnt like his eyes! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

Chocky and Chockys Childern. Music spoooked me more than anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

As a kid the intro to Doctor Who and a particular tom baker one with mummies springs to mind

the black & white dracula movies

and as a 14 year old seeing the evil dead

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Armchair thriller
    Tales of the unexpected
    Day of the triffids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

999 used to scare me pretty bad, I remember once they did a reconstruction of a bloke getting a snooker cue through the neck, that was pretty nasty. They always had stuff like that on but I still watched it.

stovelid wrote: »
    Armchair thriller
    The one with the nun :eek:

The noise the triffids made was enough to send me running out of the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

silverharp wrote: »
    As a kid the intro to Doctor Who and a particular tom baker one with mummies springs to mind

ah the pyramids of mars, classic episode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

American Gothic used to terrify me on Sunday nights in te 1990's (used to view from behind a custion). The sheriff was really menancing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

Jesus Christ Ghostwatch had me in bits! I remember it well because I had a 10 day old baby. That scene in V where the woman gave birth to the child and it opened it's mouth and there was a lizard's tongue!!!! Everyone I talk to about V remembers that!
    The Daleks still scare me and Salem's Lot scared the living daylights out of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Chico the rainmaker/The boy with two heads...watch the clip on youtube of the opening credits..scares the bejeebus outta me....watch it and be afraid..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Supergran used to scare the sh1t out of me.. The opening credits in particular for some reason, she was just so old and decrepit, and she'd wave that stick around :o (this was when I was about 4/5 btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Mr E wrote: »
    Heres 2 oldies for you... first is Under The Mountain - lots of disgusting makeup

... and secondly, Into The Labyrinth... Ron Moody scared the bejesus out of me as a kid.

Wow theres a blast from the past.
    Under the Mountain I would love to see again.
    The monsters and the old bad guy creeped me out.
    I used to think they smelled of cabbage.

As a kid I used to have a re-occuring nightmare where there was an
    evil dracula like man in black that was trying to find/follow me,
    used to end up in a dark black void and yer man had diamonds for eyes.
    After looking at the trailer/opening of Into the Labyrinth Ron Moody
    looks exactly like the dude in my nightmare.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Davedubh

Armchair theatre.Very spooky opening sequence with the shadow on the armchair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Moro23

Christ the scariest thing I ever saw on the tv was a series on BBC I think it was called Children of the stones, that was some freaky **** For a kid to be watching . Here are the opening credits http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8tui_jUfWw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Under the mountain! Feck, I havent thought of that in years. Always ominous.

And that cartoon, Ulysses (with all the crew on the space ship floating around like corpses and a dude with a beard annoying the gods) always had a strangely sinister tone to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

The Day of the Triffids!!!! Aaarghh!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Moro23

there was a programme called Quatermas That gave me the creeps also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

hamsterboy wrote: »
    Chocky and Chockys Childern. Music spoooked me more than anything
    Yeah, I remember that. The end of the third episode where Chocky appeared for the first time was freaky....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 gunnerglory

The Green man cartoon that was always on RTE, around the early 80's, I rememeber sitting on the couch thinking this is what its like out in the real world, this is what grown ups think about and this is what I have to look forward too, it scared the absolute crap out of me:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Dr. Who - those daleks, i still cant watch it

There was a programme on Anything Goes on a saturday morning about these three kids who were hiding from someone on a island, i cant remember the name of it but it was set in Ireland, it used to freak the hell out of me - even thinking about it now :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Tales of the Unexpected. But I can't remember why. All I can remember is that I once watched an episode that freaked the **** out of me, it had something to do with a rollercoaster, I can't remember anything else about it.

The theme tune used to upset me for years afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

HR Pufnstuff :eek:

used to freak the shít outta me - the witch and her castle especially IIRC

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5849888983910080481&q=HR+Pufnstuff&total=153&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

King of the Castle..i vaguely remember this as being really creepy,anybody got more info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

seamus wrote: »
    Tales of the Unexpected. But I can't remember why. All I can remember is that I once watched an episode that freaked the **** out of me, it had something to do with a rollercoaster, I can't remember anything else about it.

The theme tune used to upset me for years afterwards.

It was my ringtone for a while - good job I was never standing beside you in the pub when I got a call. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Crimeline!

the sketches scared the bejaysis outta me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

daleks scared the bejesuz out of me until my sister pointed out we lived on the top floor of a block of flats and daleks cant go up stairs

tales of the unexpected, the title music alone scared me.
    The Witches and the Grinnygog

jesus i remember that, i'd love to see that again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I always found Wizbit very creepy for some reason. Wooly the rabbit looked like a nutcase serial killer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wizbit

http://www.worldofkitsch.com/celebrity/images/daniels_paul002.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

Foxie from wanderley wagon made me cry with fear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

V terrified me.

Also Tales of the unexpected and one episode of Alfred Hitchcock presents :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

There was a show on the Den, most probably in the early 90s about some sort of Toys who were actual evil aliens or something. My memories are very vague, does anyone know what show this might have been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 jambr

Lizzykins wrote: »
    Jesus Christ Ghostwatch had me in bits! I remember it well because I had a 10 day old baby. That scene in V where the woman gave birth to the child and it opened it's mouth and there was a lizard's tongue!!!! Everyone I talk to about V remembers that!
    The Daleks still scare me and Salem's Lot scared the living daylights out of me!

I saw that one also(V)..... about a week before my daughter was born... That was the end of any little sleep I could get in the last stages of pregnancy... So scary... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

The raggy dolls"look whos in the reject bin" or return of the antelope. Pajo was a bit overbearing too, anyone remember him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

Dudess wrote: »
    Sapphire and Steel

Definitely. I remember one show in particular when Sapphire's eyes were, for some reason, completely black. A creepy nursery rhyme was also involved together with the ghost of some child. I remember being totally freaked. It was actually quite a complex show as far as I can remember?

The dude in the photos with the missing face... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

the Simpsons Halloween specials
    the opening credits used to give me nightmares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

Not a TV show but there was an ad for Tia Maria from around 88-91 that had a woman in face paint and gloomy music that made me run out of the room crying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Watched a bit of Chucky when I was small. Had nightmares for weeks afterwards.
    Also, crimeline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭deemy

the twilight zone freeked me out as did V. nightmare on elm st scared beejesus out of me. I remember watching them wit my father. couldn't have been anymore than 10 or 12. wat a dad. oh and Dallas. all that big hair and shoulder pads enough to give any1 nightmares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Anyone remember The Black Nun from the 1970s? Gripping stuff. :eek: I used to watch it with my big sister and of course, pretend that it didn't scare me at all! :o:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Anyone remember The Black Nun from the 1970s? Gripping stuff. :eek: I used to watch it with my big sister and of course, pretend that it didn't scare me at all! :o:)

The Black Nun