Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls ex...

• 12-11-2007 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Ok a bit of a strange one for me this one.

I have recently started seeing a Eastern European girl, we are both getting on really really well. We have alot in common and so far things between us have been great. I really like her and she said she feels the same.

However the one problem is, her ex boyfriend seems to be a bit of a nut and she had only broke it off literally a few days before I had met her for the first time. She broke it off because he had cheated on her with her friend. I found out this after she had kept asking me if I was going out with anyone, because obviously her trust in guys wasn't the best at the time. I told her to trust me, but that I wasn't going to be some rebound guy that she could use against her ex. She reassured me that it definately wasn't the case, that she really liked me.

We kissed and all was great, I walked her home and she text me later on saying that her ex was scaring her and that she was afraid of him. I said not to worry, that she was over the hard part of breaking it off and things would get easier from here on. So all was ok we got on like a house on fire after that.

We met up again last Saturday night, we met in the nightclub and had a great time. Then when I went with her to meet her friends, who I had already met on previous occasions and I get on fine with them too. They told me however that her ex was out and he said that he was going to "kick the sh1t out of me". It didn't really bother me because I was in the club and was safe enough.

Now though, it has got me wondering... I don't know this guy, I don't know what he's like, I never met or saw him, I don't know what he is capable of and I am just wondering what is going to happen. I am a big guy and can take care of myself, but not knowing and looking over my shoulder is making me wonder what will happen.

I really REALLY like this girl but what am I putting myself in for if this does happen maybe only she will know but I am looking for your opinion on what to do and where to go from here. Maybe someone has been in the same situation before and they could guide me? Any feedback would be great.

Many thanks,

The Big Guy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

your a big guy that can take care of yourself-dont take any craap from the ex, if he messes you about (take care of yourself) you sound happy with her so dont let this eejit get in the way, he should not have cheated, serves him right.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ask her and her friends. They know this guy, we don't.
    I assume this guy is just talking ****e but does he have a history of drunken random violence? If not you're safe.

He doesn't know know who you are and also he cause the split earlier. That should count for something.

What would you do if it was an Irish guy? Do whatever that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

IF he is easten european aswell then tread carefully ,I dont think i need to tell anyone what some of thee lads are like , they cant handle their drink , and are aggressive bastards.

Dont think he wont try to have a go at you if he meets you while out , make sure ya have a good few friends about at all times , as more than likely he will have a lot of his friends about too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Erm.... do you not just sound like The Revenge Guy here? Dont set yourself up to be her tool. Im not saying outright its all bad news but just keep a thread open about it: 'Does she like you or does she use you?'

But I hope it works out for you. Alternatively, Taekwando is brilliant :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

If he was out when you met her friends the last time how come he didn't kick the **** out of you then? He is probably all talk. As for you being the rebound guy, well you could be but if you treat her well and take it slow with her im sure she will see you are a far better catch that her last boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Listen. He doesnt know you either. He is all talk I am willing to bet.
    He doesnt know what you are capable of and hence wont risk humiliating himself in front of said girl.
    He is angry at the breakup, but not at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭warrenaldo

i was in a very similar situation. where the guy was supposedly threatening to kick the **** out of me.

but it all seemed to blow over after a couple of weeks and never heard from him again.

and i never got the **** kicked out of me. think the guy was just trying to scare me off.

it was a bit worrying at the time tho. i would go to pick her up half expecting to be jumped from behind.