Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Port Tunnel Run??

• 08-11-2007 7:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭

It was doing this run last year that got me hooked on running. At the time I remember a few people suggesting that it'd be a good idea to make it an annual event. Anyone know if there's plans to do so? I'm sure it wouldn't be too difficult/inconvient to close the tunnel for half a Sunday once a year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I think it was a one off event prior to the opening of the tunnel. While it would be a popular event, it probably wouldn't be worth the hassle to close it, partly because fo the five axle ban in town, plus traffic problems etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

added to that I thought it was pants. It was novel to run through the tunnel once and I'm glad I did it but I would never do it again with so many other great events available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭DaveH

Definately not going to happen again im afraid.

Dublin Port Tunnel are not going to close the tunnel unfortunately...Eventhough I think it should become part of the Marathon route.

Just asking Road Runner why did you think it was pants?

I just didn't enjoy the run itself. The tunnel was stuffy and because of the numbers the start was chaotic. Had to stand around for ages in the cold also. I'm not criticising the organisers I just personally didn't enjoy it.

I got a lovely medal and t-shirt though when I finished so as a once off novelty race it was good to do it but I wouldn't do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Still waiting for the full results from last year... ;)

you'll never see them.

I know a couple of people who gave up their Sunday morning to try and help collate results but the volumes of people were too great at the finish. They had to abandon taking numbers from a safety point of view.

Personally it wasn't a big issue for me. There was a clock at the finish and anybody really interested in their time probably had a wrist watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I always forget to press the stop button on my wristwatch when I'm finished a race.

You should try get in the habit. I've found that race results aren't always accurate. I always glance at the clock beside the finish if possible also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Still waiting for the full results from last year... ;)

Don't know if this helps you, but top 300 are here
    http://www.clonliffeharriers.com/ch_news_item.shtml?cmsitemnumber=a_1169632885

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 kerrrory@gmail.

yes did port tunnel run last year. But i think one would be mad to do it again. in terms of logistics clean up job is too hard. as one of the faster runners i was lucky to get water at the filling stations but a lot of the less fitter athletes complained about there being no water when they came to the station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 runningbean

I think the heat in the tunnel was mad.It was a once off race but a great concept.Runners love to compare their times in races each year so a pity it won't be on again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 transr0ute

Ladies / gents

Looks like there is going to be a tunnel charity run at the Dublin Port Tunnel on the morning of Sunday the 12th August 2012... A charity has asked and the operators and the NRA have said yes... they just have to get the gardai and DCC on-board... The Charity mentioned was focus Ireland, if I hear any more I will let you know.

transr0ute wrote: »
    Ladies / gents

Looks like there is going to be a tunnel charity run at the Dublin Port Tunnel on the morning of Sunday the 12th August 2012... A charity has asked and the operators and the NRA have said yes... they just have to get the gardai and DCC on-board... The Charity mentioned was focus Ireland, if I hear any more I will let you know.

Just looking back on my replies regards the original race over 5 years ago :eek: I won't be rushing to do this one. As a race it really wasn't enjoyable, tunnel was very stuffy. I'd probably do it if I hadn't done the first one just for the experience though. Forget about posting a decent time though.

Just a heads up... I understand that the Operators and the NRA have agreed in principal to a 10km Charity Run through the Dublin Port Tunnel... Up one bore, down the other.

The Just have to get the Gardai and DCC to agree which hopefully wont be a problem.

The date being bounded around is Sunday the 12th August 2012 in the morning... possible 10am.

Hope it comes off would be an interesting one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Any links for this event?

Not yet.... they wont advertise it until DCC give approval

irish-stew wrote: »
    No not yet... they are waiting for approval form DCC before they advertise.

Interesting! I think I'll go jog this one, just to be in the middle of the crowd when everyone starts roaring in the middle of the tunnel, I remember being up the front in the last one, and the echos coming up were unreal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

(merged threads until there are more than rumours)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Ath36

If Twelfth August proves to be the correct date, it will clash with the televised sporting event of the year - The Olympic Mens Marathon.
    Hopefully that date is wrong as I have unfinished business with that tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

There is a survey linked on athletics ireland website about a potential 10K race in 2012 organised by focus ireland. Some later questions about running in the Dublin Port Tunnel so I suspect it might be about the race one on this thread.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=25478

Interesting survey, and great that Focus Ireland have gone to that much effort to make the survey, if they take pointers from the results of the survey and apply them to the race then I can see it being a very good race! Survey is long though ha, takes 5/10mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Nialler73

That'd be a blast from the past... The original was my 1st ever event and boy did I suck.... Still a great memory though, the noise going through the tunnel was something else and I'd have to go back for a decent run at it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 irishsmiler

transr0ute wrote: »
    irish-stew wrote: »
    No not yet... they are waiting for approval form DCC before they advertise.

I see that registrations have opened online for the Port Tunnel Run on the Focus Ireland website. Looks like its definitely going ahead. Going to get in early myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

Does anyone have a GPS trace of this route?? :D

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Just a word of caution about the focus Ireland registration page. It is not encrypted and your card details are being entered and transmitted insecurely. As much as I support the charity that's the equivalent of leaving the bank vault open and the keys to the front door under the flower pot at the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 irishsmiler

Just registered this morning, looks like that security problem is fixed. It looks totally secure now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

ocnoc wrote: »
    Does anyone have a GPS trace of this route?? :D

:pac::pac::pac:

Never mind that, when are we doing a recce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I did the first run through the tunnel back before it opened and I remember being told that it would never happen again for health and safety reasons. Somethin to do with the fumes lingering in the tunnel. So what's changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

fletch wrote: »
    So what's changed?

The country is screwed. If they can reduce the population by 1800 in one fell swoop by having them pass out from exhaust fumes in a tunnel it would be less of a hard sell than sacking a bunch of nurses.

Next there will be a government backed Cork to Galway swim with free entry for the unemployed, it's the troikas scheme to reduce costs for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Don't see why not, the tunnel closes often enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭plodder

fletch wrote: »
    I did the first run through the tunnel back before it opened and I remember being told that it would never happen again for health and safety reasons. Somethin to do with the fumes lingering in the tunnel. So what's changed?
    it's a fair question. They'd want to have an answer for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Entry includes free technical tshirt and gas mask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭plodder

apparently they run a race in the Lincoln tunnel in NYC. But they close it the night before and clean it out etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Lucyx

Can anyone please tell me this....was the heat in the port tunnel shocking when the last race was there? I imagine it would be a killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Lucyx wrote: »
    Can anyone please tell me this....was the heat in the port tunnel shocking when the last race was there? I imagine it would be a killer

Yes it was. We went from freezing (November, I think) weather outside to really warm heat. It was quite stifling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Seanie_H

Lucyx wrote: »

It wasn't great but it wouldn't/hasn't put me off registering again.

What is shocking is that both tunnels are uphill. Physically impossbile I know but once you run it, you'll know what I mean. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

I love the part in the Cork City Marathon where you run through the Jack Lynch Tunnel. Completely different perspective instead of driving through and a change is a good as a rest (or something!) I'd be interested in this just because of the novelty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Lucyx

geld wrote: »
    Yes it was. We went from freezing (November, I think) weather outside to really warm heat. It was quite stifling.
    Seanie_H wrote: »
    It wasn't great but it wouldn't/hasn't put me off registering again.

What is shocking is that both tunnels are uphill. Physically impossbile I know but once you run it, you'll know what I mean. :D

Thanks guys. I'd say it would be challenging alright but I'm kinda intrigued about this one. I'd need to be properly fit for it, like PROPERLY !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Just registered this morning, looks like that security problem is fixed. It looks totally secure now!

Sarcasm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Must resist SQL injection attack...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 seanie_m

this was my first ever race to take part in, back in 2006, was just 16 at the time and i remember thinking there was no way i'd ever be able to finish "the full 10km". did it in 52 minutes if i remember correctly, i'd be interested to do it now and see how far i've come since then! :)

ah jaysus just after seeing its on the day before my exam, not a hope of me running it now!