Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Severance

• 05-11-2007 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭

I thought this movie was terribly unfunny. What parts did you find good i cant think of any. Well our tastes might just be different cause i love shaun of the dead (Even thought they spelt Sean wrong:rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 897 ✭✭✭oxygen_old

I thought this movie was terribly unfunny. What parts did you find good i cant think of any. Well our tastes might just be different cause i love shaun of the dead (Even thought they spelt Sean wrong:rolleyes:)

Yea, I think its down to personal taste. Like the last poster I would give this 10/10 as well. Say in Shaun of the Dead, for example, when they throw the records at the Zombies, I thought that was silly, and not something you would do in a life or death situation. However in severance, all the actions the characters make are absoloutly life or death, each of them is paniking about surviving. I think this makes it a really dark brilliant comedy. And keep in mind I wasnt expecting it to be at all funny.

As for the funny parts:

Spoilers below.
    When they find the actual lodge, and their boss is dancing with two strippers, while they have been fighting for thier lives

"You "found" a pie?"

"I cooked it for the full hour"
    "You dont cook every pie for an hour"

The HSM launcher scene. The faces on them is priceless after the rocket blows up a plane full of innocent civilians.

When the guys head smiles, cause he was proven right about being able to see after decapitation.

Danny Dayer being brought around from a consusion by the scene of two strippers with no clothes on trying to climb out of a hole.

Last line of the film Foursome?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 the_porn_baby

I thought this was a really good film. It's dark humour in this one compared to the outright comedy in Shaun of the Dead.
    I thought the bear trap bit was so horrendous it was funny (this was really gory). The rocket launcher scene was hillarious and the landmine scenario was pretty cool.

I don't usually like Danny Dyer but thought he played his part in this one really well.

Good ending too. Definitely worth a watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I really enjoyed the film myself, but it was nowhere near as good as Shaun Of The Dead though.

Also, watch the fecking spoilers! Not everyone has seen the film.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Thought it was a bit rubbish myself. Not that funny at all or scary. However the bit with the
    missle launcher
    had me in absolute stitches with the laughter.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Sat down to watch this one evening but that Danny Dyer spanner made me turn it off after about 20 minutes - just couldn't listen to him spewing his 'laddish' humour at every opportunity.
    The
    rocket launcher
    scene sounds amusing though. Must check that one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Richard: There are no bears in Hungary. Unless we've crossed the border into Romania, in which case there ARE bears. If we're in Serbia, then... I don't know.
    Harris: That's really interesting, Richard. Tell me something: are bears required to stop at borders? Is there some sort of, I don't know, passport control for bears?

Billy: Dating's complicated in England.
    Steve: British birds ain't complicated. Buy 'em a Bacardi Breezer and they'll ride you like Seabiscuit.

Steve: You've got about as much chance of getting **** out of a rocking horse!

****in legend! Movie is very funny in places in an odd way. Liked the story and the cast were quite good. The death scenes were quite elaborate too which is always a plus :)

This film was billed as being "Scarier than the Descent and funnier than Shaun of the Dead". It was neither. I really didn't think there was much there. It was better than your average slasher movie, but it just didn't live up to its own hype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭My name is Todd

This film was billed as being "Scarier than the Descent and funnier than Shaun of the Dead". It was neither. I really didn't think there was much there. It was better than your average slasher movie, but it just didn't live up to its own hype.

It's quite ridiculous to compare it to either of these films - it's somewhere between both of them I'd say. The marketing team were obviously trying to cash-in on the success of those two British films by comparing it to them.

I hadn't heard anything about it before watching so I was pleasantly surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭ro1798

Danny Dyer is a Tw@t. Thread closed ;-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

pretty good movie, kept me entertained the whole way through.. and my attention span is typical of the mtv generation.
    when the bear walked across the road at the beginning, I knew I was in for a good movie.. ****ing brilliant. It was a movie of loads of great little moments, the overall story was a bit silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

This movie pissed me off something fierce.
    I had seen on an ad that it was ' the funniest british comedy horror since SOTD'....****ing bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

I thought it was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

This movie pissed me off something fierce.
    I had seen on an ad that it was ' the funniest british comedy horror since SOTD'....****ing bull****.

But on top of that I found the whole thing terribly unfunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Creature wrote: »
    I thought it was great.

What made it good for you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

It's an entertaining piece of trash. I enjoyed the foot scene and of course Laura Harris is always worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

The humour was great:
    Danny Dyer's character being rescued to a pair of semi-naked women with submachine guns, the rocket going straight up into the sky and taking out a passenger plane etc
    Also I liked the horror aspect and I thought the death scenes were well executed (pardon the pun).

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Thought it was a pretty bad film, found it somewhat funny in parts but in my book it gets 0.5 out of 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I thought this film was pretty good and also had a good roffle at the
    rocket taking out the passenger plane
    . This was one of the only films I've ever been able to sit and watch Danny Dyer "act" for 90 odd minutes. He's an awful spa.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I must admit I really enjoyed this film but a part of that is not having been over-exposed to Danny Dyer (ie at the time of watching it I'd seen him in at best 2 other films). I think that his presence in it has a Marmite effect for people - either they can tolerate him and enjoy the humour implicit in his character (eg
    the bit early on when he's stoned and starts seeing other versions of himself around the place
    ) or they can't, at which point the whole film starts to crumble.

I thought it mixed horror and humour quite well myself, in that there are a couple of very grim jokes in it (
    the look of satisfaction on the face of the guy who gets beheaded at having been proven right re: whether you'd still be conscious for a few seconds after being beheaded
    ) but for the most part there's a real sense of tension around the horror segments and the cast do a credible job of demonstrating that tension and fear. Case in point, when the
    beartrap scene
    kicked in, there was an immediate shift in atmosphere from light-hearted tomfoolery to fear and barely-restrained panic.

Hell, I'd say that the development of the characters through the humour actually made me enjoy this more than the likes of Hostel, because the characters were, while still stereotypes to a certain degree, certainly more fleshed out than their counterparts in Hostel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I forgot to mention one more thing I liked about this film.. the ugly chick with the glasses? as soon as she takes the glasses off, she's gorgeous.
    <3 cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

got a good chuckle out of it the launcher scene was priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

I thought this film was pretty poor to be honest. It started off decent enough with potential to be good, but descended into yet another 'there's something out there killing us and we don't know what it is' film.

The only funny bit I can remember was the close up of your mans face after he had his head cut - funny because he had been talking about how your brain is still alive enough to feel pain, but not express it for minutes after your head comes off.
    The were the most inept highly trained, supposedly dangerous soldiers of all time.
    I think i'll avoid Danny Dyer films in future - he seems to be the king of the new 'Cheeky Chapie' Genre of films. It's just like one big long Smirnoff Ice ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I really enjoyed it cos it didn't take itself too seriously - bit of craic like.

Great line -> "Keep digging, we can still see you"

Mordeth wrote: »
    I forgot to mention one more thing I liked about this film.. the ugly chick with the glasses? as soon as she takes the glasses off, she's gorgeous.
    <3 cinema.

One of the only good parts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

I really like this film. I though it had a great blend of comedy and horror. It stood out from other horror films for me as
    the charcters actually didn't wait around to get murdered, they made provisions to get the hell out of there once they suspected something mightn't be right. Which was a nice change. Usually it takes a body count of 5 before someone twigs that something's wrong. Hilarious bits include: the rocket launcher, the pie, the bear, the spider....

If you wanna make a comparison, I watched Slither last night and it's better than that. Although Slither is not without it's charms.

I really like this film. I though it had a great blend of comedy and horror. It stood out from other horror films for me as
    the charcters actually didn't wait around to get murdered, they made provisions to get the hell out of there once they suspected something mightn't be right. Which was a nice change. Usually it takes a body count of 5 before someone twigs that something's wrong. Hilarious bits include: the rocket launcher, the pie, the bear, the spider....

If you wanna make a comparison, I watched Slither last night and it's better than that. Although Slither is not without it's charms.

Slither and Severance we could have something there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Really disliked this movie.
    Could be to do with my irrational hatred for all things Danny Dyer.
    He plays the same charector in EVERY movie hes in.
    He really pi$$es in my flower bed.

nedtheshed wrote: »
    He really pi$$es in my flower bed.

Well put