Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halloween ball - bouncers??

• 04-11-2007 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭

Heard from some friends in my class that there was some problems with the bouncers at the halloween ball and that the gardaí were called. I didnt go myself but did notice on friday that the usual dude wasnt there and there was actually a woman on the door.

I heard of 2 seperate incidents, one at the end of the night i think being the main one.

Anyone know what went on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

i dunno but the night before i was helping Drama set up for their Rocky Horror show and i walked out of the venue door closet to the bank machine. the long haired bouncer came up screaming, and i mean really really shouting at me, thaT wasn't allowed do that, it was the rules of the bar..When i tried to say to him that i wasn't in the bar he got worse and pushed me away form the door. This went on for a few minutes with him pushing me, and essentially laying his hands on me in someway or another. i wasn't even in the bar.

Yes i heard the same story of the Halloween ball not sure of what happened

Something needs to be done bout those bouncers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

i dunno but the night before i was helping Drama set up for their Rocky Horror show and i walked out of the venue door closet to the bank machine. the long haired bouncer came up screaming, and i mean really really shouting at me, thaT wasn't allowed do that, it was the rules of the bar..When i tried to say to him that i wasn't in the bar he got worse and pushed me away form the door. This went on for a few minutes with him pushing me, and essentially laying his hands on me in someway or another. i wasn't even in the bar.

Yes i heard the same story of the Halloween ball not sure of what happened

Something needs to be done bout those bouncers

thats disgraceful, i hope you reported this incident

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Hey, there were a few complaints made about incidents with bouncers on Tuesday night. Mainly them being excessively physical and in one case, worse. I'd advise anyone with complaints to bring them to the SU and in more extreme case to go straight to the gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

I think the guards at the ball were due to a certain person who was unable to stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

I think the guards at the ball were due to a certain person who was unable to stand

Quiet, nobody likes you.

I knew there was an ambulance called for that guy, didn't think the gards were involved though :o

Anyway, the bouncers were on a bit of a power trip that night. Heard of one particularly disturbing incident myself.. not sure if it was reported or not..

wat happened this nite seems absolutely terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭tnkrbell

There has always been trouble with the bouncers at SU events. I know last year that was always a recurrent problem at events

I'd just like to add that if you're making a complaint to tri-space, they may ask you for a statement regarding your version of events. You're better of either going to the gardai and giving them a statement or speaking to a solicitor, as tri-space aren't bound to any kind of confidentiality laws. The lads who went to the gardai last week were told not to give a statement to tri-space, so I'm just passing this on in case anyone else is thinking of taking action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Wilburt wrote: »
    I heard of 2 seperate incidents, one at the end of the night i think being the main one.

What happened at the end of the night in the Halloween ball? I only heard of one specific event and that was on the night previous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

All bouncers need a license from the PSA (Private Security Authority) to work a door.

If they don't have it, they shouldn't be there.

Next time there's an event make sure all them have their Cards displayed. If there's a problem, check their number and report them. No bouncer who already has a license wants to lose it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

sunnyjim wrote: »
    All bouncers need a license from the PSA (Private Security Authority) to work a door.

If they don't have it, they shouldn't be there.

Next time there's an event make sure all them have their Cards displayed. If there's a problem, check their number and report them. No bouncer who already has a license wants to lose it.

Does that apply to those working at a private/members only club? The bar's in The Hub are not public bars but private members only clubs. I would assume it would apply to all places, weather private or public.

Reading through the legislation you quickly come across the following:
    ‘‘door supervisor’’ means a person who for remuneration, as part of
    his or her duties, performs any of the following functions at, in or in
    the vicinity of any premises or any other place where a public or
    private event or function is taking place or is about to take place:
    1. controlling, supervising, regulating or restricting entry to the
      premises or place,
    2. controlling or monitoring the behaviour of persons therein,
    3. removing persons therefrom because of their behaviour;

Which would imply that all the bouncers AND the woman who works on the door checkin sign-in's should only be there if they hold a license from the PSA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Fiacmar

Hi all. I'm a mature student in DCU, and have been working in door security for around ten years.
    All bouncers in theory need to have a license issued by the PSA since April 2006, however the PSA hasn't yet issued the cards to any doorman that I know. Instead, qualified doorstaff have been issued with a letter stating that their application is being processed, these letters (called section 52 letters) should be on the doormans person at all times while working, and must be available to be presented to the Gardai or a PSA inspector upon demand. However most Gardai aren't aware of this, and I've never seen or heard of a PSA inspector turning up at a door in Dublin yet.

However, any premises employing a door security officer is liable if they are employing someone without a license, or if they are employing a company that doesn't have a company license the PSA. A doorman doesn't have to show the public his section 52 letter, but must give his name, the name of the manager of the premises that he is working for, and must give the name of the security company, if any, that he is working for.

If you feel that you know about a door supervisor working directly for a bar, without having applied for a license, or working for a security company that doesn't have a company license then you can report it at:
    www.psa.gov.ie
    However, from what I've seen in the past ten years, the only effective way to deal with some of the powertripping lunatics working on the door is with a civil or criminal case, backed up with independant witnesses and if possible cctv footage. Until the PSA grows some teeth anyway.

Also, if you feel that you have been discriminated against under any of the grounds mentioned in the Equal Status Act, take up a claim with the ODEI. Its easier and much cheaper than a civil case, and they really seem to hate doormen :o

Don't forget, there are some truly professional door staff out there, doing a very difficult job in trying circumstances, and believe me we hate the macho amateurs even more than ye do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Fiacmar

PS, all the above applies equally whether the premises in question is a public bar or a private club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Please, do continue ;)

Name and shame. Tis why we gather online to discuss these things!

Okay never mind, I just found out that it was Will. :D

Not sure if we're thinking of the same person but the guy that was taken off in the ambulance is not Will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

yeah i wasnt even at the thing, presume you guys arent talking about me though, must be some other will...

Heh, I thought he was talkin about you :P I dunno who his Will is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

I said who it was
    and my post was editted

/gives evils tro Gizmo

me neither, curioser and curioser i grow - not really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

I said who it was
    and my post was editted

/gives evils tro Gizmo

impeach gizmo!

i hope this was reported to the gardai

Wilburt wrote: »
    yeah i wasnt even at the thing, presume you guys arent talking about me though, must be some other will...

Definitely you. Big drunk guy with a body consisting of 50% metal causing lots of havoc. ;)

thats a lie and you know it :p