Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ever wish you never bothered ?

• 02-11-2007 3:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭

Went to me bed at 10.30 could not sleep,decided to go to Quinns in Drumcondra and had 3 pints and a 12 yr old jemeson whiskey.. On de way home, the guy walking ahead of me dropped, what I thought was a mobile, but he did not pick it up quick enough and I saw it was actually a glosch pistol.Rang de guards and told them what I saw.....

Worst move ever, They arrived at me gaff took me to mountjoy to make a statement, rang at 12.20 only home now at 3.20am. Never again will I report anything...have work today at 8...load of bollix...In future head down say nothing.. Wnkrs...M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I am NEVER drinking in Drumcondra! Screw that!

You did the right thing though man, the guy had a gun ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭intheknow

orestes wrote: »
    I am NEVER drinking in Drumcondra! Screw that!

You did the right thing though man, the guy had a gun ffs!

FFS back to u, I lost 3 hrs kip, i FELT LIKE i HAD THE GUN. Can you even begin to know where I am coming from. Sorry bud, but I am so annoyed at the mo !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭ian_m

Brilliant:D

You shoveled the pints in fairly lively...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I meant ffs about him having the gun, not you being p1ssed about the whole situation. You have every right to be annoyed man, and I would imagine 3 hours of Garda interrogation is enough to make anyone wanna kill someone, especially when you were trying to do the right thing and help them out.

Sorry if you thought I was being a smart-arse or something man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Not quite to the same degree, but when I was living in Kyoto, I found a woman's purse on the street. I brought it to the local police station, and I was literally there for hours filling out forms, showing ID, proof of address - the works!

Next time I'll just throw it in the door and run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Wish I never bothered clicking on this thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭ian_m

Wish I never bothered clicking on this thread...

Nothing like a bit of Irish positivity. Does that say moderator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

ian_m wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of Irish positivity. Does that say moderator?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I'd say the cops were intrigued by how you knew it was a Glock (presume this is what you meant), given that you only saw it from a distance in the dark! Odds are it was a BB gun.

Not your ornery onager

suppose we are all pissed off... generally... whats nice to put on toast, i would ate a nuns arse thru a convent wall.....ish !!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

FFS, Ian, now you've triggered him, it's a pistol whipping at dawn for you, man!

OP, more seriously, fair play to you ... I know police bureaucracy everywhere tends to be a pain to deal with, but think of it this way: if they pick him up, you could have indirectly saved a life or stopped someone being wounded, perhaps an employee in a post office or an innocent bystander on the street.

If you HAD said nothing, and you had heard on the news in a few days about someone being killed with a similar weapon, how would you feel?

suppose we are all pissed off... generally... whats nice to put on toast, i would ate a nuns arse thru a convent wall.....ish !!:D. This was it

http://www.glock.com/english/index_pistols.htm

FFS, Ian, now you've triggered him, it's a pistol whipping at dawn for you, man!

:D]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 deadprez

intheknow wrote: »
    suppose we are all pissed off... generally... whats nice to put on toast, i would ate a nuns arse thru a convent wall.....ish !!:D. This was it

http://www.glock.com/english/index_pistols.htm

hhmmmm,I must say dude,it's a tricky one to call. I have a perfect replica of a Glock 18c,fully automatic,metal top receiver and ABS lower receiver. It's pretty impossible to tell unless you know weaponry and the only thing that could indicate if this was real or not would have been if you yourself have dropped a real handgun several times to know what kind of sound it would make. Still fair play to you but it's things like that fool carrying it around that will get them banned agian for the rest of us. here's a link to a few of the guns I have at the moment: http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbum.jsp?MemberId=4681071791&PhotoNbr=1&PhotoAlbumId=5428554030

As you can see, all the markings are real and true to life, they don't even say replica anywhere! Again though,fair play mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

How did you know it was a Glock OP?

Maybe it had the name of the gun but if not, then I'd imagine most people wouldn't be able to tell a Glock from a Mauser from a Smith & Weeson.

Anyways fair play. If this happened on Halloween night then it could have been one of the many kids that were out that picked it up.

Although I have thought about shooting the kids with their fireworks :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,534 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

3 pints and a 12 yr old jemeson whiskey
    Yikes! I'd be in hospital!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

A glock is pretty obviouse. They look different to other hand guns. I would know one if I saw one and I have never fired a gun or anything in rl. I would also know an AK 47 if I saw one, or if it was really and AK 74.

Tv and video games have taught me a lot about military hardware lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Went to me bed at 10.30 could not sleep,decided to go to Quinns in Drumcondra and had 3 pints and a 12 yr old jemeson whiskey.. On de way home, the guy walking ahead of me dropped, what I thought was a mobile, but he did not pick it up quick enough and I saw it was actually a glosch pistol.Rang de guards and told them what I saw.....

Worst move ever, They arrived at me gaff took me to mountjoy to make a statement, rang at 12.20 only home now at 3.20am. Never again will I report anything...have work today at 8...load of bollix...In future head down say nothing.. Wnkrs...M.

What model Glock?.

And what model phone did you almost mistake a Glock pistol for?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

intheknow wrote:
    3 pints and a 12 yr old jemeson whiskey
    Yikes! I'd be in hospital!:eek:

Go on outta that! I'd have more on my cornflakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

I assume when the OP has caught up on his sleep, he'll stop being all girlie & realise he did indeed do the right thing.

If the guards had fecked him out of it after 5 minutes, he'd have a lot more to give out about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

Lookin at the times posted, OP, did you even sleep at all in the end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

Haha enjoy work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Mairt wrote: »
    What model Glock?.

And what model phone did you almost mistake a Glock pistol for?.
    Probably this one-
    http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/5925/glockphonejz1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭dior1catboy

Hill Billy wrote: »
    Go on outta that! I'd have more on my cornflakes.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

OP, more seriously, fair play to you ... I know police bureaucracy everywhere tends to be a pain to deal with, but think of it this way: if they pick him up, you could have indirectly saved a life or stopped someone being wounded, perhaps an employee in a post office or an innocent bystander on the street.

I agree, Tbh it was 3 hours sleep, You More then Likely saved somones Life. you should be proud! some kid could have found it going to school and Thought it was a toy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

hhmmmm,I must say dude,it's a tricky one to call. I have a perfect replica of a Glock 18c,fully automatic,metal top receiver and ABS lower receiver. It's pretty impossible to tell unless you know weaponry and the only thing that could indicate if this was real or not

deadprez why do you have/what do you do with these "replicas"?

IMO the should be banned because they can be used to intimidate people...dont get me wrong im not accusing anybody of anthing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I'd report it but I would do it from a coin-box and certainly not give them any of my personal details. They have the info on the incident they can do what they like with it then - take it serious or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Not Your Ornery Onager

Folks, some of you don't seem to realise that the bogey picked up the 'weapon' after he dropped it, just not quickly enough to prevent intheknow from scoping it.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 BOOBLESS

Jesus man.... there you are doing a good deed for the community and you get all that hassle for your troubles. What if you did not find the gun and some kid found it on the way to school or some drunk on the way home there could of been carnage altogether.

Hope the cops treated you okay man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

No good deed goes unpunished. What did they take 3 hours to do? Were they even nice at all, or did they make you feel guilty about nothing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

esel wrote: »
    Folks, some of you don't seem to realise that the bogey picked up the 'weapon' after he dropped it, just not quickly enough to prevent intheknow from scoping it.
    You may need to re-post this a few times :D
    BOOBLESS wrote: »
    What if you did not find the gun and some kid found it on the way to school or some drunk on the way home there could of been carnage altogether.

Lads, STOP..

How in the hell could you mistake a pistol for a mobil phone!. Apart from Rovi's example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

So em... what happed to the gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Lads, STOP..

How in the hell could you mistake a pistol for a mobil phone!. Apart from Rovi's example.

maybe he had been drinking?

in all honesty, you see something fall out of someones pocket, you're probably going to assume its either a wallet, or a phone. The sound of it hitting the ground, probably rules out it being a wallet, so you assume its a phone. It'd only be for the fact that the guy probably picked it up as a gun (ie, by the handle), that the OP saw it was a gun.

It was dark, late, and the OP had been drinking.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Lads, STOP..

You saying you don't believe the OP?

It's dark, guy ahead of you, something solid falls to the ground . . . . first thing you think is he's dropped his phone. Turns out to be a gun.

What's wrong with that scenario?

Not your ornery onager

Not Your Ornery Onager

azezil wrote: »
    So em... what happed to the gun?
    Ah Jebus, I give up! RTFOP! You even quoted it ffs. :eek:

Not your ornery onager

Lads, I've been handling weapons (including pistols) for the last 22 yrs, and mobile phones since at least the early 90's and there's not a snowballs chance in hell that any sane (sober) person would mistake one for the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

Pffft, what a bunch of rich kids with yer 12 year old Jamey and Glock's. In the meantime us lower classes have to make do with Dutch Gold and crowbar's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Lads, I've been handling weapons (including pistols) for the last 22 yrs, and mobile phones since at least the early 90's and there's not a snowballs chance in hell that any sane (sober) person would mistake one for the other.

That's a ridiculous statement. Like the other person said, someone drops something, you automatically make an assumption giving little thought to the exact detail of the object. However once you actually take a proper look at it, or hear it clatter on the ground, or see it lying on its side you realise what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Corega wrote: »
    Pffft, what a bunch of rich kids with yer 12 year old Jamey and Glock's. In the meantime us lower classes have to make do with Dutch Gold and crowbar's.

Appropriately your pauper mobile phones are so bulky & low-tech that they could easily be mistaken for a crowbar were they to clunk off the pavement.

humbert wrote: »
    That's a ridiculous statement. Like the other person said, someone drops something, you automatically make an assumption giving little thought to the exact detail of the object. However once you actually take a proper look at it, or hear it clatter on the ground, or see it lying on its side you realise what it is.

When you've handled a pistol even just once in your life, then come back and tell me I made a ridiculous statement :rolleyes:

These days most mobile phones could be hidden in the palm of your hand, they're that small. Even the pistol grib of a Glock, or mostly any other pistol will be AT LEAST twice to three times the size (never mind the weight) of a mobile phone.

But yea, lets just say for crack sake that the OP seen a Glock (or whatever way the OP spelled it) ... OP weldone, you saved a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

When you've handled a pistol even just once in your life, then come back and tell me I made a ridiculous statement :rolleyes:

These days most mobile phones could be hidden in the palm of your hand, they're that small. Even the pistol grib of a Glock, or mostly any other pistol will be AT LEAST twice to three times the size (never mind the weight) of a mobile phone.

But yea, lets just say for crack sake that the OP seen a Glock (or whatever way the OP spelled it) ... OP weldone, you saved a life.

What I get from the OP's post is that he thought it was a mobile phone from a distance when the guy dropped it. Beer+the general concept that people dont carry guns+tiredness = fair chance of mistaken identification. When he got closer, THEN he realised what the item in question was.

We cant ALL identify handguns down to their make and model just from the sound of them falling while under the influence of alcohol and tired. Can you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I have, and call me gifted if you wish but I would have been just as able to recognise it before having held it and I'm just as capable of making a spur of the moment assumption after.

Ah Jebus, I give up! RTFOP! You even quoted it ffs. :eek:
    LOL ... I think Az may have been winding you up, esel ... it wouldn't be TOTALLY out of character! :D

Not Your Ornery Onager

You made a ridiculous statement.
    But yea, lets just say for crack sake that the OP seen a Glock
    Your turn of phrase is childish, condescending and supercilious here.
    (or whatever way the OP spelled it)
    Not the point though, is it? And people in glass houses...
    ... OP weldone, you saved a life.
    You made a statement with no basis here. Read the original post again. What life?

Hope you are not in the Military Police. Or the Red House.

Not your ornery onager

Not Your Ornery Onager

LOL ... I think Az may have been winding you up, esel ... it wouldn't be TOTALLY out of character! :D
    Are you saying that has 'happed' before? Funnily enough, I did feel a strange tug on my leg just after I posted that!

Not your ornery onager

You made a ridiculous statement.

Your turn of phrase is childish, condescending and supercilious here.

Not the point though, is it? And people in glass houses...

You made a statement with no basis here. Read the original post again. What life?

Hope you are not in the Military Police. Or the Red House.

Oh waaaaay too much to answer there, ever wish you never bothered?.

Funnily enough, I did feel a strange tug on my leg just after I posted that!
    Oh, that would be even more in character! ;):D

Not Your Ornery Onager

Oh waaaaay too much to answer there, ever wish you never bothered?.
    Dismissed.

Not your ornery onager