Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Simon Charity event ( lets all support it )

• 01-11-2007 5:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭

Players should make every effort to come and support this. The tournament deserve the support of Irish players which it didn't really get last year. This year with the game being on at the end of the a festival and a lot of the foreigners will be gone home it is up to us the Irish players to make this a success.

Every club in the country should have at least one car load of players heading to this on Saturday. Players shouldn't be looking at structures ect ect for this one its a unique one off high profile event. So lets get up there and show our support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

what is it exactly? first i am hearing off it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

I was up at the E.P.T with Nicky yesterday and discussed this with him that numbers could be down for this . I Really hope that they get a huge turnout . Mad Marty has 30+ from england coming for this . So it should be fun with a huge prizeool

I alraedy said to nicky i cant make it but will be putting the €100 reg in anyhow .

Get up and support this super event

Really think it should run at the Irish Open .I magine the numbers there

Monte carlo ticket is a super addition also

Neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

agreed, very worthy

please post details for all those unsure about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭HighFinance

Here's the last press release that went out. Unfortunately John Higgins cancelled due to scheduling problems but there's already a lot of support and the more we can get behind it the better. The structure of the event has been posted on the tournaments page but hey, it's not really about the structure is it ;)

The plan is to make this tournament the largest charity event in Europe and the aim is to collect a million euro over the coming years. Tom, Mike, the Jackpot, John Duthie, PPP, Laddies, Littlewoods, 888, partyPoker and PokerStars have all been really supportive so hopefully the players get behind it too. If nothing else there's sure to be some hilarious play and plenty of craic!

Simon Poker Charity Tournament Set to Reach €100,000 at EPT Dublin

PartyPoker Donates Irish Poker Championship Seat and More Sports Stars Confirm

Simon Poker Day, taking place at the PokerStars.com European Poker Tour Dublin in aid of the homeless, is on target to reach the €100,000 mark next Saturday, Nov. 3 at the RDS, Dublin as the poker community continues to pledge support for the €330 charity event.

PartyPoker this week donated a seat to the €2,000 Irish Poker Championship being held in Galway in the west of Ireland form Jan. 3 to 6, 2008 while reigning World Snooker Champion John Higgins and Littlewoods-sponsored former Premiership and international footballer Tony Cascarino are also signed-up to play in the event. They join already-confirmed former snooker world champions Steve Davis and Dublin native Ken Doherty.

Padraig Parkinson, one of the organisers of the event, said, “It’s fantastic that PartyPoker have joined the…erm… party with their Irish Poker Championship seat donation and along with John Duthie’s generous EPT Monte Carlo seat giveaway we have a real headache now: how do we maximize the value of the donations? I’m confident the players in Dublin won’t let us down as we aim for our target of €100,000.”

The European poker community has been quick to weigh in and support the annual event with PokerStars, Paddy Power Poker, 888, Ladbrokes, Green Joker Poker, Merrion Casino Club, and Card Player Magazine, all pitching in with satellites into the event, donations, or organizational help.
    Of the €300 (+€30) buy-in, €100 goes directly to Simon Dublin with the remaining €200 going into the prize pool.

Last year over 200 players along with corporate and private donators raised just under €50,000 for homeless charity Simon Dublin and the event proved one of the most popular on the circuit attracting players such as Donnacha O’Dea, Jesse May, Scott Gray, Julian Gardner, ‘Mad’ Marty Wilson, Dave Colclough, Kevin O’Connell, Nick Leeson, Matthew Stevens, and Stephen Hendry. The event was won by former World Champion Noel Furlong who will defend his title.

‘Mad’ Marty Wilson, who is bringing over 30 players from his home town in England, will be hosting his madcap games ‘Win with Wilson’ and ‘Play your Cards Right’ as well as the charity auction during breaks in play.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Can't wait for it. The last one had a fantastic atmosphere with all the top named players in Britain and Ireland letting their hair down and having a laugh. It was like a home game :)

My head will be a mess after the GJP night out with Padraig on friday so expect me to take the "charity" side of things fairly seriously and donate my chips to needy causes... :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I alraedy said to nicky i cant make it but will be putting the €100 reg in anyhow .

Neill

Fair play to you Neil for the throwing the cash towards the charity anyway, although stuck for cash types like me could certainly do with the charity donation part of their entry. If every boardie (or even a few boardies) gave me a euro I could make an appearance. But alas, I plan to stick to a strick BR plan now, and 300 is pushing it,

all the same, hope the event gets as many runners as the ME, (possible)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Where is it located in the RDS ? Do they take cash at the door ? Will Padraig Parkinson be TD ?

It's in the Industry Hall - the entrance is on Anglesea Road, through the gates et voila.

You can just register when you get there.

Padraig's not the TD - the Jackpot are running the event but he'll be there, no doubt subtly orchestrating events with help from the rest of the guys involved.

Hope this helps.

b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Luke was supposed to be TD but was sacked by Padraig a couple of days ago(tounge in cheek before anyone has a go, Jackpot wanted to run it) Im playing anyway. Think Luke will be making an appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

For any of you that cannot make it down but would like to contribute you can use your Green Joker Account to make a donation to the Simon Poker Day fund. Please PM or email me for details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

What time does this kick off at tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

brianmc wrote: »
    What time does this kick off at tomorrow?

Evil cackle. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

ollyk1 wrote: »
    Evil cackle. :p

Thanks!

grumble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

cya tomorrow so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

bops wrote: »
    cya tomorrow so

if your going you can bring that 50 bananas you owe me from the Irish open?!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Contributions have started to come in via GJP. Keep them coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

What time is this really going to start? The Utd game is at 12.45 will they let me in an hour or so late. Wanted to play but 2pm?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I doubt there would be a problem coming in late, particularly if they know ahead of time you are coming.

I'm going out on the p*ss with Padraig and the GJP crew/qualifiers tonight I doubt I'll be in any fit state for a 2pm kick off. Might take it handy tonight and for once not get plastered...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

This event is tomorrow? technically FT'd this last year woo!!! well.... came 10th but they kindly put me down as FT in the results!!! they're hoping for a 300 field?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I'm in work till 4 tomorrow. Grumble.

I'm in work tonight til 9 and tomorrow til 9. I'll be in at 7 in the morn but i reckon i'll disappear at 11 and make my way into the RDS. Hopefully catch the match around there before heading over to play this.

Eoin, if you're planning on watchin the match around the RDS somewhere give me a shout.

As far as the beers tonight go, i cant get out of work tonight til 9. I could make it into town for 10ish...Where is this going down Mike/Tom?? Is there a secret handshake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

DeVore wrote: »
    I'm going out on the p*ss with Padraig and the GJP crew/qualifiers tonight I doubt I'll be in any fit state for a 2pm kick off. Might take it handy tonight and for once not get plastered...

That seals it. Just the one, eh ? That's usually a recipe for a 5 a.m. finish. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

Sick I can't go to this it was the one Tourney I really wanted to play for the rest of this year, I've been stuck on a 3 day job in the Middle East for three weeks now. I had flights organised to get me back in time for it and then some other crap happened so I have to stay till Monday :(

Enjoy, its guaranteed to be great craic, its for a great cause and hopefully a boardsie will take it down.

"I've been stuck on a 3 day job in the Middle East for three weeks now"

a "job" ... in the Middle East eh? ... Remind me not to call your bets from now on.

DeV.

I'd just like to thank Mike and Brian for the putting on a great night for the online qualifiers. They also put their hands in their pockets for the majority of the night for 90% of people in the pub. WP lads.

Great craic. Plenty of pro's mingling til way after closing. Padraig, Julian Gardner, Kevin O Connell, Don Fagan, Scott Gray, Marty Smith, Rory Liffey, Jessy May to name but a few. Plenty of boardsies around aswel with Joe the Show, Gholi. BCB, MrPT, Hali etc....

Unfortunately i have to make an appearance in work at 7 in the morn so couldnt follow the troops to Coppers or Flannerys. Be in Paddy Cullens for the match tomorrow so if anyones around the RDS, drop in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Gonna be a great match, i think Hargreaves could do with going through the back of Fabregas early doors let him know he's there, otherwise Cesc is gonna run the show!!

I cant actually make this tourny tomorrow..... is there anyone going to this i could send a few quid on stars to make a donation for me to support it?

a "job" ... in the Middle East eh? ... Remind me not to call your bets from now on.

DeV.

Would that it were that exciting :)
    Still I've had two free weekends in Jordan getting paid and doing the tourist stuff, which I would highly recommend to anyone. Its a great place.
    I'll go off and console myself on missing this event with a nice soak in the dead sea when it cools down enough during what will be another amazing sunset.

Just so everyone knows, BigCityBanker made THE WORST play I've ever seen in all my days. Shocking. I think everyone should be aware of this donkey so they know what to expect when they play with him.

That is all... :p

DeV.

DeV.

No its not - you could be done for defamation, sordid details to back up this outrageous claim please ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Just so everyone knows, BigCityBanker made THE WORST play I've ever seen in all my days. Shocking. I think everyone should be aware of this donkey so they know what to expect when they play with him.

DeV.

he moved to my table - explained his brillant retardo sandwich play with you are reggie (i think?) to the table and then 4-bet with Q8....lolz

had fun, busted out in 30somethingth - tony cascarino is a luckbox

what's this about yerwan with all the chips not winning the ME?? - i couldn't have even fuked that lead up!! - he stack was over her head (although she's 4'2")

poker is v silly

This event was the most p1ss poor standard of poker i have ever played. I've never been so disappointed to be knocked out of a tournament in my life, because with 19 left, there was literally 2 or 3 players that had a chance of winning. I really really thought i was going to take it down for 10k 1st prize.

162 runners and we lost 100 inside 4 hours

Starting table was handy enough. Mick McCluskey to my left, a couple of English guys at the table, Julian Gardner's missus and an English pro. One guy was down to the last 7 of the 1k event and was doing a Lloyd by playing both tournaments.

Doubled up quite early on when i was holding AQh on a KhJh1010 board and got paid off by AK when an Ace hit the river. I then managed to double up again with KK v JJ against the table donk. BB folded QQ PF and the flop came AQ10..

Got moved to a new table with about 15k when blinds were 100/200 and just won so many pots it was funny. At one stage, when blinds were 200/400 i raised 5 consecutive hands to 1100 and took each one down PF.

Ken Doherty was 2nd CL at the table and i made a bad play with 99 against his QQ and doubled him up to 35k. I got my stack from 10k after that hand, back up to 40k over the next while, before been moved table again.

Down to the last 20 and blinds are 400/800. I get AA about 3 hands in after being moved moved. I raise to 2300. Get called in 2 spots. Flop is a harmless 10 6 4r. I lead for 5800. Called in 1 spot.Turn is an 8 putting 2 spades on board. I bet about 14k and he he pushes for 17k or so. I call and he shows 76s. The river is a 5 and he scoops a monster pot.

Couple of hands later i get AK in the BB. Christy Smith makes it 3k from UTG, button goes allin for 4k and i push for 16k. Christy has 14.5k total and he calls. I say "you must be ahead Christy" and he turns over KQd..wtf

Flop is Q high with 2 diamonds and Christy turns a flush. So Christys sitting there stacking up 35k next to Mr 76 donkey and his 60k stack and i'm on 1600. Rory Liffey then finished me off next hand....donkaments!

Good luck to The Al Lad and Derek from the SE who were still there when i left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

sounds like ths std is pretty ****e ul tony

I echo those sentiments Tony, i was still on tilt later on.

sounds like ths std is pretty ****e ul tony
    I echo those sentiments Tony, i was still on tilt later on.

Yeah i saw some lovely hands.... 1 of my favourites was a guy limps UTG for 100,,buttom makes it 300 and UTG calls.

flop is Jx8c5c

UTG bets 400, button makes it 900, UTG calls

turn is 10x

UTG checks, button bets 1500, UTG calls

river is 9x

UTG checks, button pushes. UTG instacalls his last 850 with KcJc, button has 99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

DeV.

MODS really take alot of risks these days

israel30606_wideweb__470x319,0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Flushdraw wrote: »
    This event was the most p1ss poor standard of poker i have ever played. I've never been so disappointed to be knocked out of a tournament in my life, because with 19 left, there was literally 2 or 3 players that had a chance of winning. I really really thought i was going to take it down for 10k 1st prize.

162 runners and we lost 100 inside 4 hours

Starting table was handy enough. Mick McCluskey to my left, a couple of English guys at the table, Julian Gardner's missus and an English pro. One guy was down to the last 7 of the 1k event and was doing a Lloyd by playing both tournaments.

Doubled up quite early on when i was holding AQh on a KhJh1010 board and got paid off by AK when an Ace hit the river. I then managed to double up again with KK v JJ against the table donk. BB folded QQ PF and the flop came AQ10..

Got moved to a new table with about 15k when blinds were 100/200 and just won so many pots it was funny. At one stage, when blinds were 200/400 i raised 5 consecutive hands to 1100 and took each one down PF.

Ken Doherty was 2nd CL at the table and i made a bad play with 99 against his QQ and doubled him up to 35k. I got my stack from 10k after that hand, back up to 40k over the next while, before been moved table again.

Down to the last 20 and blinds are 400/800. I get AA about 3 hands in after being moved moved. I raise to 2300. Get called in 2 spots. Flop is a harmless 10 6 4r. I lead for 5800. Called in 1 spot.Turn is an 8 putting 2 spades on board. I bet about 14k and he he pushes for 17k or so. I call and he shows 76s. The river is a 5 and he scoops a monster pot.

Couple of hands later i get AK in the BB. Christy Smith makes it 3k from UTG, button goes allin for 4k and i push for 16k. Christy has 14.5k total and he calls. I say "you must be ahead Christy" and he turns over KQd..wtf

Flop is Q high with 2 diamonds and Christy turns a flush. So Christys sitting there stacking up 35k next to Mr 76 donkey and his 60k stack and i'm on 1600. Rory Liffey then finished me off next hand....donkaments!

Good luck to The Al Lad and Derek from the SE who were still there when i left

Vul Tony, they were two terrible beats especially the Aces, but you coming ove the top of Rory Liffey with K 3o after his min raise was comical

I finished 13th in this for €450, pushed my last 12k (blinds 1k-2k) with 99 v AK flop came K high and that was it

happy with the way I played especially after being down to 550 chips in the 3rd level, flopped 2 pair against a scandie who check raised me, I reraised and he shipped I folded my 2 pair and he showed me a bigger 2 pair ... sick

a few nice double up's with pocket 9's and 7 deuce off in the big blind that flopped a set got me right back in it

had the pleasure to meet and play with a lot of good players Ken Doherty, Rory Liffey, Scott Gray,

Bops, Flushdraw & Pat Storan were also on my table for a while

Funniest monent of the day... a frenchie comes to my table late in the first level and busts in the second hand he plays with A 10 v JJ on a 994 6 board...then we look around and he's on the same table as Ken Doherty and Rory Liffey...mad fooker went back up and re-registered:rolleyes: floor was called and french boy was removed

Well done to all involved for orgsanising this event and making sure the day ran smoothly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Pat Storan from Waterford won it ( three way chop Pat, Simon Noah, player X ) pat took the title as he had a good chip lead.

Two great Quotes when the post event interviews were being done.

Padriag pissed and with his hand wrapped around Pat

" this is exactly what this tournament needs, last year we had a WSOP main event winner win it and now some fcuker from down the country wins ir"

Jessy May

" finally after all that Waterford has done for Irish poker, Poker has given something back for Waterford"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

nicnicnic wrote: »
    Pat Storan from Waterford won it ( three way chop Pat, Simon Noah, player X ) pat took the title as he had a good chip lead.

Two great Quotes when the post event interviews were being done.

Padriag pissed and with his hand wrapped around Pat

" this is exactly what this tournament needs, last year we had a WSOP main event winner win it and now some fcuker from down the country wins ir"

Jessy May

" finally after all that Waterford has done for Irish poker, Poker has given something back for Waterford"

Fair play to Pat, he was sitting to me left when we were at final 2 tables, sound fella, glad he won it WP

Pat Storan "He caaaled me wit an three and a three" Hoeiw can he call with that"
    lol

Congrats to Pat, he was on my table for a lot of the day and was very quiet and determined.

I'm glad 160+ people turned out for it, didnt really care about the standard (though it did seem bad hahaha).

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

expect me to donate my chips to needy causes... :)

DeV.

I'm sure Noel was very grateful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I'm sure Noel was very grateful.

and I in turn donated them to Steve Davis. Id like to think of it as a mark of appreciation towards him for making the trip over.

Jaysus, if we knew he was coming over we could have organised to let him win in return for taking those fcuking ads off the air :rolleyes:

FYI - Simon Poker Day Set To Break €50,000 for Homeless

The second annual Simon Poker Day, held as part of the PokerStars.com European Poker Tour, Dublin, attracted 162 players to Industries Hall, RDS, Dublin, on Saturday Nov. 3 and is on track to break last year’s €50,000 in donations for Dublin Simon’s homeless projects.

The interim accounts show the following donations to date:

Tournament - €16,200
    Jackpot Club - €1,620
    Players Donations - €13,280
    ‘Mad’ Marty Wilson’s auctions - €2,656
    Green Joker Poker - €600
    Fortune Rooms - €1,660 and £2,120
    Paddy Power Poker - €3,000

This brings the total collected so far to €39,016 with an additional £2,120 as well as several significant donations still to bear fruit including the EPT Monte Carlo and Irish Poker Championship seats and several corporate and individual pledges.

Players wishing to enquire about the pre-registered seats should contact Padraig Parkinson.

All incidental expenses in the running of Simon Poker Day were picked up by the players and organizers and no deductions have been made from the donations. Many of the tournament organizers, The Jackpot Club, donated their wages for the day.

The event attracted players from across Ireland and the UK as well as a few hardy Europeans.

The atmosphere was convivial, bordering on the giddy with one overly enthusiastic Italian buying-in a second time after busting before being spotted and disqualified and one well-known local accidentally purchasing an over-priced snooker cue in the auction.

Last year’s winner and former World Series of Poker main event winner Noel Furlong was knocked out early while snooker legend Ken Doherty and former Irish international footballer Tony Cascarino both cashed.

Also making the money were Northern Irishman Hugh Gribben who travelled from the UK to play in what was his first live tournament, former Irish Open winner Christy Smith, Mikael Younan from Sweden, Andrea Balla from Italy, Jeff Duvall, Rory Liffey, Simon Noab, and Michael Codkin.

The winner was Waterford man Pat Storan who won €10,690.

The organizers of the event would like to thank everyone who gave of their time and money to support Simon Poker Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

steve davis walks up to the main door of coppers . . . walks straight in past the other bouncers and people waiting . . . says hello to the manager and in the door. one of the main bouncers turns around to the head bouncer who i was chatting with and says : " who does he think he is walking up like that, no CUE or anything!"

congrats on all money raised!

Congrats to Eamonn and Padraig and well done lads on organising this, was great fun altogether!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Would love to have played this, especially as I'm running reasonably well atm (well for me anyway). Just couldn't get there. Absolutely delighted for Pat though. Nice guys do win sometimes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Pots&Pans

Hi All
    I would like to thank everyone who was involved with SPD2 on Saturday it was a great day and we had brilliant craic. To: Charles Harbourne and all at the Jackpot who ran the tournament for us. To: Mike, Brian, and Tom in Green Joker Poker who have supported us from day one. To: the 162 Runners and all those who donated. Up to yesterday we had 42K in the bank. We will definitely go well into the 50’s for this event, and therefore have reached over 100K for Dublin Simon to date. Congratulations to our winner Pat Storan from Waterford.

Thanks a million
    Cheers Eamonn.

Congrats Eamonn and all involved. Glad you reached your target