Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Third of men own a hair straightener -Own up lads!

• 31-10-2007 9:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

According to http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1030/gadgets.html
    rte wrote:
    On the health and beauty front, hair straighteners are the gadgets of choice, two thirds of women have one and 36% of men aged between 25 and 44 own one.

Ok, who here among the blokes has one?

I accept baldies probably haven't one but then again, those wigs need tlc :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Oh ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

It's lies, I tell ya, all lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

If by hair straightener you mean comb...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

Great threads on here, I love them, they diversify so much from other boards, well done and I love that response AlmightyCushion lmao.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

gurramok wrote: »

I've seeing some shocking wigs of late now that you mention it :D

I dont own a hair straightener, but i did know someone a few years back who got GHD for x-mas :rolleyes:, he got slaughtered for weeks when we found out in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

Only dude I know with a hair straightener, is gay. Those stats are ridiculous imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Barlow07 wrote: »
    I've seeing some shocking wigs of late now that you mention it :D

I dont own a hair straightener, but i did know someone a few years back who got GHD for x-mas :rolleyes:, he got slaughtered for weeks when we found out in college.

Its those wimmin i tell ya, they are trying to lure us blokes to their lifestyle so they can take over the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Nope don't have one. Hair's too short to straighten! wouldn't do it anyway.
    know a load of guys who do straighten though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Statistical fluke imho.
    The fieldwork was carried out by iReach, using online surveys with a nationally representative sample of 324 people aged 15 and over.
    The only thing I'd take from that is that I wouldn't trust iReach to carry out any kind of research tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

My head is shaved;

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/

I'm the one with the shaved head of course :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I need my hair striaghtened

Now I know surely one of the lads must have a hair striaghtner for me.

I dont accept this survey its bullshiat

Okay, this got me interested so I ran the numbers:

For the Irish population of 4,234,925 (2006 census), using a Confidence Level of 95% (i.e. a figure you can be 95% sure of) and a Confidence Interval of 2.5 (e.g. a result of 12.5% would mean the real answer is between 10 and 15 percent) you'd need a sample size of roughly 1,536 people to make any statements on the data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

No chance , the rug is long gone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I don't remember 36% of the lads in primary school - e.g. a long time before they'd know what a hair straightener *is* - having curly hair to begin with. Dodgy survey.

I also don't know *any* man who owns a hair straightener anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Dregon

I don't own a hair straightener myself, I don't need one;)

But I do know a good 15 people who would own and use one regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Yes, men do use these things! Looks good if done well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Sleepy wrote: »
    Okay, this got me interested so I ran the numbers:

For the Irish population of 4,234,925 (2006 census), using a Confidence Level of 95% (i.e. a figure you can be 95% sure of) and a Confidence Interval of 2.5 (e.g. a result of 12.5% would mean the real answer is between 10 and 15 percent) you'd need a sample size of roughly 1,536 people to make any statements on the data.

Yes but let's not let pesky details like that get in the way of a good quirky story the wimminz can have a laugh at around the water cooler and the lads can have a guffaw about and maybe an old slagging match about, down the pub, eh?

I'm reminded of the metrosexual episode of south park...

Nyeh, lazy journalism gets on my nerves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Even as a bloke with long, flowing hair, this kinda thing would strike me as far too metrosexual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭boss^is^dead

Interesting survey! I will admit that I do use one! :p
    I had long wavey hair for about 6 years and then chopped it all off! Kinda wanted it neater but with a bit of length so I grew it out and straightened it!
    Metrosexual is one way of putting it,but neat and tidy is another!Personally I don't see any difference between using hair gel or wax,or like a few mates who bleach their hair all the time. It's simply another conscious effort to look a certain way.Hell even one or two of the chaps from Decapitated straighten their bonces,and to me it doesn't effect my masculinity anymore than a dude who styles his with gel or whatever!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

gurramok wrote: »
    According to http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1030/gadgets.html

Ok, who here among the blokes has one?

I think all that proves is that 36% of men lie in online surveys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I think all that proves is that 36% of men lie in online surveys.

Just look at post #23 :eek:..they are out there albeit lying low excuse the pun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

ffs, this is so wrong.:eek:

jesus lads! i'm kind of embarrassed for ye!Your actually getting worried by someone else's hair,does that tell you anything? rofl! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

I used to straighten the hair , when it was longish but never owned one.

ah well I don't own one either! I really don't see what the big deal is,most of all when it comes to someones hair!It's a bit weird to even devote any thought to someone else's crown in this regard but whatever makes ya happy

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

ah well I don't own one either! I really don't see what the big deal is,most of all when it comes to someones hair!It's a bit weird to even devote any thought to someone else's crown in this regard but whatever makes ya happy

It's no big deal, all you have to do is go to your doctor and ask him to prescribe you some testicles. That should clear this all up. :D

I think guys who straighten their hair just look a little too feminine. Long perfectly straight hair just doesn't suit guys in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Pythia wrote: »
    Yes, men do use these things! Looks good if done well.

Lies make Baby Jesus cry.:p

I don't believe such stats-there aren't enough men with enough hair who have enough hair that curls for that to be true.

Long perfectly straight hair just doesn't suit guys in my opinion.

rofl!!After commenting on manliness you've gone ahead and your saying what looks good on a dude! Am I missing something here? It's all getting a bit too ironic for me! In fact this whole thread is a bit gay to be fair! "if your a real man you should embrace your curly bob"! No I won't,mine looks better when it's straighter,so what? Who spends time doing a ****ing survey on this stuff? Who actually cares? No offense but dudes who spend time thinking about any other dudes hair but their own,need a hobby,and sittin around tuggin yer lad all day doesnt count!
    funny thread! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Although my hair is almost 20 inches long, the only straightener i own is my hairbrush ( and even then i'm getting a proper haircut v soon :) ) . Like all statistics, that was made up on the spot, there was no survey i bet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭daniel3982

I need them every now and then cos my hair is wild and curly otherwise, but I just nick my girlfriends rather then owning my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I've never read such unadulterated shíte in my life.

The only nugget of information that I can extract from that article is that if you need a survey done - stay well the fcuk away from the company that did that one coz they are quite obviously totally fcuking inept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

1/3? that must be utter nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

What's left of my hair is less than a millimeter in length. I have no use for a hair straightening device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

One third of RTE pollsters are muppets? Did anyone else get the feeling some overpaid gay guy decided to just make up the numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is a load of horse muck, you can't trust any cosmetic survey. First of all any man that even comes within pen shot of a cosmetic survey is more than likely gay, having a ****e in a girls bathroom or at the doctors and in two of those there won't be a pen in sight. 2nd of all if you ever look at the small print on those surveys there's usually only 60 people involved that have been brought out for the day by the people doing the survey.

It's a con by these companies to make men think that every other man is wearing make up and using moisturiser.

Soap, shaving gel and toothpaste are about as far as my cosmetics go. I can get by without shaving gel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

What a pile of cack. I've got shoulder length hair and would never dream of using one of those yokes. Same with any of my long haired mates. I accept that some guys use them, but one in 3? No way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

I dont suppose this survey what linked off hairdressers-monthly.com or the like? Its a ridiculus figure - bet I could get a 100% result for people that work-out by waiting outside a gym with a clipboard...

I really dislike long hair on men, I think straightening it might burn a little grease and take the spaniel ears look off it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 BOOBLESS

First post guys and great place. With regards this post, Any male who owns a hair straightener is simply Gay full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

BOOBLESS wrote: »
    First post guys and great place. With regards this post, Any male who owns a hair straightener is simply Gay full stop.
    Unless he uses it to torture people. Like say putting there hands in it. That's a manly use of a hair straightener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 deadprez

BOOBLESS wrote: »

I think to propose that because a man styles his hair a certain way means that he anally penetrates men is about as absurd as saying that if you drink WKD you must in fact be gay.I see dudes drinking that **** all the time,and in my opinion it's a girls drink no matter what you name it or how you advertise.Pull your head out of your ass ya spastic.David beckham was wearing a ****ing hairband for a few years,but thats not gay at all of course.....ffs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭yawnstretch

This is total horse****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Calm down fellas. Less of the stupid statements BOOBLESS and less abuse deadprez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

I own one :(

But that's because I was an emo for halloween last year, so my sister gave it to me and never bothered taking it back, I swear!

I haven't used it since my day as an emo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

ZorbaTehZ wrote: »
    Only dude I know with a hair straightener, is gay. Those stats are ridiculous imo.

same here and he bought it solely to straighten his fringe :eek:

Must say if I ever got caught using a straightener by my 2 brothers they'd beat the living sh!t out of me.