Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

XMAS Music, Nov 1st

• 30-10-2007 10:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭

So i work for a certain Supermarket chain and im already dreading November 1st as at 8:30AM they start Christmas songs, like come on one day after Halloween, sad really and the Customers complain too its not right ( we have Christmas trees and selection box's on sale since last week ) If it was my choice i wouldnt have anything related to Christmas in anyway whatsoever on sale until at least 3 weeks before Christmas..:mad:

So does anybody work for a company that dos these types of things WAY too early?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Its mad. Argos have a Christmas ad on the TV since last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Steyr wrote: »
    So i work for a certain Supermarket chain and im already dreading November 1st as at 8:30AM they start Christmas songs, like come on one day after Halloween, sad really and the Customers complain too its not right ( we have Christmas trees and selection box's on sale since last week ) If it was my choice i wouldnt have anything related to Christmas in anyway whatsoever on sale until at least 3 weeks before Christmas..:mad:

So does anybody work for a company that dos these types of things WAY too early?

YES. i hate christmas because of the hype, you think cos of the build up it's going to be great, but oh no it's actually just one stupid day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I work in a toy store and It was quite depressing when the xmas stock arrived in August (santa hats and such), but I was shocked last week when I saw Dunnes stores setting up their xmas section, actually I was pissed off..

OP: You work in dunnes, dont you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

I used to work in dunnes and I swear, Xmas was the worst experience due to the customers. So ****ing ignorant.

It would be like 10pm on the 23rd of Dec and I'm still packing stuff onto the shelf because it's so busy, and some old crusty bitch who probably hasn't had sex in 42 years is giving out stink to me because of the boxes in the way of her trolley of shyte. Happens every 5 minutes. You just want to wrap that trolley around her hole... but you don't. Instead you put on a lovely fake smile and apologise meekly.

All this is happening with the STUPID MUSIC coming out of the stereo ah jesus hahaha the memories are coming back, I'm feckin VEXED boys!

I'm goin off to rob grannys now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Asbad wrote: »
    I work in a toy store and It was quite depressing when the xmas stock arrived in August (santa hats and such), but I was shocked last week when I saw Dunnes stores setting up their xmas section, actually I was pissed off..

OP: You work in dunnes, dont you?

Unfortunately.... Best song though is "drivin home for christmas" by Chris Rea..:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Unfortunately.... Best song though is "drivin home for christmas" by Chris Rea..:p
    :mad:

No, it's not.

I hope he crashes some year and his family get no presents.

The best Xmas song is the Bowie/Bing Crosbie one, or else Paul McCartney's "Simply having a wonderful Xmas Time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

yep come tomarrow morning every starbucks across the world will wear red instead of black and the christmas themed drinks and music will begin.

*shudder*

thank god I dont work in retail anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I wish it could be Christmas everyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I kinda don't mind the music too much - once it's the good songs & not the crap ones.

(not xmas music but..) worked in Homebase yeaaars ago and we had the same frickin CD for the whole summer, one day someone brought in.. Robbie Williams or something & I was so happy at the change in music I was singing along.
    A customer even said "My you're cheerful"
    My response "First time in 3 months they've changed the CD in here - I'm ecstatic!!" :D

But yeh Christmas time working in a shop...tough going...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

DesF wrote: »
    I hope he crashes some year and his family get no presents.

I like the one that goes "It's gonna be lonelyyyyy this Christmas...."

My girlfriend used to work in an Irish souvenir shop and it was just a CD of jigs and reels on repeat all day, every day.
    I would listen to Christmas music all year round if that were the only alternative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

I definitely have to say that the worst I've ever seen was Clerys, (Yes they deserve to be named and shamed!) I was working for them up to August '06 and for my last week, yes that's right, the last week of AUGUST, I had to set up the Christmas shop. I was openly heckled by passers by and I don't blame them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

They've had selection boxes in Tesco in Dundrum for ages. I like Christmas but I refuse to acknowledge it until December. It's just annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

This year I will win Xmas!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Paul McCartney's "Simply having a wonderful Xmas Time"

Ugh no, I hate that song so much it makes me want to rip out my ears and feed them to some needy orphans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

the war on christmas begins.

lets all fly to jamaica.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭dior1catboy

boreds wrote: »
    Ugh no, I hate that song so much it makes me want to rip out my ears and feed them to some needy orphans.

I 1,000,000,000,000% agree!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I LOVE XMAS. I know its fashionable to hate it and to give out that all the xmas ads are on earlier this year etc but I just cant help but feel excited about it all. The first time I hear fairytale of New York on the radio is when I know its really coming.

BRING ON SANTA.

BRING ON BABY JESUS.

BRING ON XMAS DINNER.

BRING ON THE OFFICE XMAS NIGHT OUT.

BRING ON KRIS KNIDLE WITH MY FRIENDS

BRING XMAS EVE DRINKS IN THE LOCAL

BRING ON ST STEPHENS DAY AT THE RACES GETTING TROLLIED

BRING ON NOT BEING ABLE TO FIND A PRESENT FOR MY DAD AND SPENDING 6HOURS WANDERING AROUND TOWN WITH MY HEAD UP MY ARSE:D

Its all worth the hassle I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Do you think we could start a petition that shops can't start their Christmas run until November? It's acknowledged that they start earlier each year and this year seems to have been the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I work in a Dunnes. Not working Thurs, but on Friday I expect the Christmas music, ughhhh. The Christmas stock started coming in middle of September, just cards and present labels, but now there's everything and Christmas trees....it's really sickening. Think I'll go mad by the middle of November, can't stand Christmas songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭dior1catboy

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    BRING ON NOT BEING ABLE TO FIND A PRESENT FOR MY DAD AND SPENDING 6HOURS WANDERING AROUND TOWN WITH MY HEAD UP MY ARSE:D

Do we have the same Dad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    I LOVE XMAS. I know its fashionable to hate it and to give out that all the xmas ads are on earlier this year etc but I just cant help but feel excited about it all. The first time I hear fairytale of New York on the radio is when I know its really coming.

BRING ON SANTA.

BRING ON BABY JESUS.

BRING ON XMAS DINNER.

BRING ON THE OFFICE XMAS NIGHT OUT.

BRING ON KRIS KNIDLE WITH MY FRIENDS

BRING XMAS EVE DRINKS IN THE LOCAL

BRING ON ST STEPHENS DAY AT THE RACES GETTING TROLLIED

Completely agree with all of the above (except for this xmas business, tis Christmas I say!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

eo980 wrote: »
    Do you think we could start a petition that shops can't start their Christmas run until November? It's acknowledged that they start earlier each year and this year seems to have been the worst.
    So all shops should go Christmassy tomorrow?

I prefer December 16th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

Unfortunately.... Best song though is "Stop the cavalry" by Jonah Louie..:p

Fixed that for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

I love Christmas, I love the firts time I walk into a shop and hear the Christmas music playing in the background. I've already started hinting at work that I'll be putting up the decorations early this year!!!! Can't get enough of it!

I worked in tesco many moons ago, and used to love listening to the songs as I tipped away on the checkouts serving some really nice people (and most of them very much the opposite) The Christmas songs brought cheer into my world! :D:D And of course I finished every evening at about 11pm or 12pm (or whenever I wanted really) and had no responsibilities so would be heading straight to the pub afte work each evening to enjoy more of the festive atmosphere!!! Oh the pub on a december evening, a hot whiskey on front of me, the fire lit and the Pogues blaring out of the jukebox! Heaven!!!

Can't wait to hear the Christmas tunes all over again this year....

All together now:-

Snow is falling (Snow is falling)

All around us (All around us)

Children playing, Having fun!!!!!

TIS THE SEASON TO BE JOLLY.................

Oh...I don't want alot for Christmas, this is all I'm asking for......

Am I annoying ye all yet?!? ohhhh I just LOVE the Christmas atmosphere, shopping on the cold dark evenings with Christmas songs tinkling in the background and santas happy face beaming out at you from all the different decorations.

Roll on Christmas and all things Christmassy! :D I'm lucky enough to still be able to enjoy christmas without mourning the loss of a loved one. Alot of my friends have lost people very close to them (mothers/daughters/brothers etc) and so Christmas is never the same for them. I'm going to get as much as possible out of Christmas while I still have everyone I love around me and my daugter is still young enough to believe in the baby jesus and santa claus :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

You have to be a certain age to believe in the baby jesus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

You have to be a certain age to believe in the baby jesus?

Well.....I did! I grew out of beliving in lots of things!

Lets just leave it at that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

eo980 wrote: »

That'd be good. I love Christmas, but hate it when it all starts too early. Usually by the time Christmas rolls around, I'm sick of it, and thats not right.
    Maybe we should write out a template letter and all of us bombard the companies with emails who start it too early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

I regret to say i work in Tesco but the music has been playing since the last 2 weeks of September and the selection boxes where in stock since start of september(not on shelves till first week of october i think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

There's a year round Christmas shop in Port Jefferson, Long Island (and plenty of other places I'm sure). Was in it in July....weirdness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    I'm lucky enough to still be able to enjoy christmas without mourning the loss of a loved one. Alot of my friends have lost people very close to them (mothers/daughters/brothers etc) and so Christmas is never the same for them. I'm going to get as much as possible out of Christmas while I still have everyone I love around me and my daugter is still young enough to believe in the baby jesus and santa claus :D

That's a very, very good point and I'm lucky enough to be in the same boat.
    I don't subscribe to the consumerist scramble that makes up what chirstmas is apparently "about" in the modern age, I hate the money grabbing aspect of it, how it starts earlier every year, pressure on poor people to borrow/spend, etc etc etc, but the aspects of christmas I enjoy are having my family and friends around, the whole dinner thing, getting tipsy on baileys and just being nostalgic for christmases past.
    Somethings you just can't buy which is very comforting in this land of conspicuous consumption...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Christmas starts in september now. Its so very odd seeing halloween stuff next to Christmas stuff. Some things need to be planned ahead, however as I no longer work in a shop, I dont have to endure 2+ months of christmas songs and those singing animals people set off 50 times a day, usually doing a few together.

and those singing animals people set off 50 times a day, usually doing a few together.

yeah i do that tis great fun
    funny how that shop staff dont find it quite as funny as me

No, it fills them with rage. and the jokes...oh man, so glad I got out of public service. 90% of the time its fine, its the oher 10% thats awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

too right Chris made it all worthwhile! I too worked in Dunnes and it could be soul destroying at Xmas.... Stupid old piss-smelly baxtards who thought if it wasn't on the shelf you could "give Ben Dunne a call" and get it the next day. Workin with the public makes you realise that they're generally not that bright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

I so agree. Christmas is comeing in earlier each year and by the time December comes theres no fuzzy Christmas feelings left since you are hypnotised with the nusic since October!

The one song i wouldn't mind hearing in a shop November the first is Shakin Stevens - Merry Christmas everyone.

No, it fills them with rage. and the jokes...oh man, so glad I got out of public service. 90% of the time its fine, its the oher 10% thats awful

thats really too bad

for them:D

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    So all shops should go Christmassy tomorrow?

I prefer December 16th.

Well obviously not November 1st, say the last week of November.