Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Money money money???

• 27-10-2007 10:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

Trinity is awesome.

So how do you other trinity folk keep the funds going? I'm doing a full time course and would not be able to keep a job going too.

Btw, are the secret tunnels real??? Haha, even some more experienced trinity folk still don't know!!! :)

Maybe that's where all the women are hiding. There seems to be a lack of les femmes this year in the science faculty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Glad you like it here.

I had a job for my first year. After that I'm afraid I had to rely on les parents and whatever I could scrape together from summer jobs. Postgrad now so get paid thankfully.

Secret tunnels are real. I've been in the ones in New Square. The front square ones I've never experienced, but I'm fairly sure they exist.

You're serious, Science has a lack of girls? In my year it was pretty much 60:40 girls to boys. Okay so there were more lads in the physics/maths class, but not a whole lot more. It swings completely the opposite way in the biological sciences.

For a bit of information on jobs you could e-mail subscribe to sujobs@tcd.ie. E-mails get regularly sent out with some short term, part-time jobs. For example, the annual An Post Christmas employment job was sent out a few days ago (I still get the e-mails though I've a real job now!), and it pays very very well for a small bit of work at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

ApeXaviour wrote: »
    You're serious, Science has a lack of girls? In my year it was pretty much 60:40 girls to boys. Okay so there were more lads in the physics/maths class, but not a whole lot more. It swings completely the opposite way in the biological sciences.

4:1 in our class. Man we felt outnumbered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Joza

Well how do you get to the tunnel?? What are they for??

Cheers, maybe I'll check them jobs out:D

Ok, well there are enough women, but it's the ones that tickle my fancy that re low in numbers! Where's the best place for, ahem, meeting women in trinity?:)

PS I'm not a womanizer, I just like my women....like all college guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭prothalamium

I'm doing full-time study and work three days a week. It can be done.

Sometimes I even sleep...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I sacrificed sleep in exchange for an extra hours work and five more pints. I also dont eat solid food anymore, as I find liquid food (preferably in a blender) better suited for the man on the go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

To look at women? The pav.

To meet them? Societies, sports clubs (equestrian members for instance lean heavily toward the fairer sex). I know guys and girls who have met people through hockey and golf too.
    I just like my women....like all college guys!
    I dunno, I was out last night with a very fun bunch of college guys who have no interest in women.
    I'm doing full-time study and work three days a week. It can be done.

Sometimes I even sleep...
    Courses like science and engineering are often 30+ hours a week though, especially in the freshman years. Many arts courses (I'm not saying yours in particular) have a paltry sum by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭rjt

Hehe, I've tried to find these tunnels in the last few weeks but to no avail (I'm a fresher too). We found a door in the bottom of the museum building labeled "city foundry" that looked promising, but was locked.
    Glad you like it here.
    Secret tunnels are real. I've been in the ones in New Square. The front square ones I've never experienced, but I'm fairly sure they exist.

*gasp*
    Where's the entrance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭prothalamium

To look at women? The pav.

To meet them? Societies, sports clubs (equestrian members for instance lean heavily toward the fairer sex). I know guys and girls who have met people through hockey and golf too.

I dunno, I was out last night with a very fun bunch of college guys who have no interest in women.

Courses like science and engineering are often 30+ hours a week though, especially in the freshman years. Many arts courses (I'm not saying yours in particular) have a paltry sum by comparison.

Mine is 17 hours a week, not including film screenings (each lasting 2.5 hrs on average). I know a law student who has FOUR HOURS per week in all! Mother of god, and it was a law student who once told me that my film studies course was "a mickey-mouse degree". Errrrr yeh. Poor pharmacy students though, I lived with one in first year and saw her about... twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

rjt wrote: »
    Where's the entrance?
    We scorn you Freshmen and your simple ideas...

rjt wrote: »
    *gasp*
    Where's the entrance?

Woah, slow down there. Before you even think of attempting and excursion into the underworld you have to have the following:
    - short sword (a long one is too difficult to swing down there)
    - heavy armour or better (preferably Gorgon-proof)
    - shield (magical)
    - potions
    - phoenix down

and you better have read up on how to kill hydras, basilisks, fellows and Cerberus. Pray you don't fall upon a Provost, they are a match for even the most seasoned adventurer. Master all these things however and there are many spoils for your taking such as jewels, gold and plentiful, plentiful wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I found the Senior Master Non-Regent down the tunnels last night.

John wrote: »
    Pray you don't fall upon a Provost, they are a match for even the most seasoned adventurer. Master all these things however and there are many spoils for your taking such as jewels, gold and plentiful, plentiful wine.

Provosts are at least a level 8. However, with enough practice, you can overcome him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭paperclip

Wait, you may need these.
    *gives vials in leather pouches*

p.s us student pharmacists are vampires. We dwell within the basement of the panoz building and see light about twice a year...and it's not just because we're locked up in a small room with drugs surrounding us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭sd123

^^ FWIW, i'm in 1st yr med and im doing about 40 hrs a week, and working sat and sunday and even (gulp) tomorrow, Bank Holiday monday, Can be easily done. (food and sleep are optional at this stage though), Drink--- essential :D

All this going on is making me wish someone would code a game surrounding Tcd. I'd play it!

Provosts WOULD be level 8 and failing an exam = -2 life points. I could do the paintings for it! (ex NCAD student here)
    We need a comp sci student to program the games though. :D

paperclip wrote: »
    All this going on is making me wish someone would code a game surrounding Tcd. I'd play it!

I remember have a conversation with someone a good few years ago (at this stage) and him mentioning to me how Trinity, since ARAM was introduced, was like Theme Hospital with $ signs over everyone's head.

So just go play Theme Hospital :)

It could be like Monkey Island with a whole story built in! Someone kidnaps the junior dean and the lowly freshman guybrush threepwood has to navigate the buildings peopled by scary people according to various stereotypes in order to get her back from the evil guys. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Erm, given who the junior dean is, its more likely we'll have to rescue the guys from her then the other way around. Thats not to suggest shes promiscuous, merely thats she eats babies...

Maybe herself and the provost are the evil ones?
    We need a damsel in distress though....

The wine in the cellars can be our damsel in distress.

Find the chambers, get past the security guards, +5 points for getting Al Pacino's signature, -3 for missing a lab without a med cert, wrestle bartley to the ground, rescue wine, use the wine to bargain for a 1st in the degree examinations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Aren't law lecture hours so low because they need to do so much reading though? I have 12 hour weeks, I work in Dunnes Stephens Green Monday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday- 18 hour weeks. No problems at all, apart from needing to print stuff for Tuesday morning and the arts block print card thing jammed, aras an p one closed.. Would the Hamilton one be open tomorrow?

Back to game talk..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Re: work, I think it depends on the individual, both in terms of involvement in college and general work ethic. I know people who have 30+ hour weeks who then spend Saturday and Sunday working, and I know others who do Law or something similarly light and can't seem to find any time for a job. If you want/need extra money, you'll find the time to make it.

Re: game, I'm kinda seeing a Zelda-type thing, where you collect four random shiny trinkets from around the wine dungeons and place them in the four pillars of the Campanile, opening the secret passage to the main dungeon, where you defeat the evil Provostdorf with your magic sword. Stokesy can be Kuome.

Zelda ftw. OK computer science people, get programming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

Eh, so anyway 16.99 for 24 Stella Artois in O'Brien's (assuming you're in Halls) twas a quality crate

Would the Hamilton one be open tomorrow?

Back to game talk..

Say it once and say it loud - 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Is there a Trinity map for CS?

I'd love a CS map for Trinity, with an unlocked door to the campanile and the ability to up the stairs of House 3 to get up to the flagpoles.

Actually, the Front Square/Provost's Garden/Fellows' Square/Botany Bay area would be a perfect CS arena. Front Square would need to have full roof-compatibility and tunnels.

Oooh and you could go into the pharmacy school and make up potions in the pharmaceutics lab!
    I can see it all now....

Ibid wrote: »
    Is there a Trinity map for CS?

I'd love a CS map for Trinity, with an unlocked door to the campanile and the ability to up the stairs of House 3 to get up to the flagpoles.

Actually, the Front Square/Provost's Garden/Fellows' Square/Botany Bay area would be a perfect CS arena. Front Square would need to have full roof-compatibility and tunnels.

That's an incredibly good idea. I'm curious if this could be the base of it.

Of course, if someone can make it into a Natural Selection map I'd be even more impressed (and happy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

two points:

1)I think one of the lads in my course started making a map, didnt finish it.

2)the new version of virtual dublin may be navigatable through my final year project, if things go that way :D which could be cool :P

What's a natural selection map when it's at home?

If anyone wants digital graphics and/or concept paintings for this, I'm in. :) I can fire up the aul wacom....I'm thinking monkey island...

Here's the junior dean tied up in the chambers!
    crimescenepd3.jpg

paperclip wrote: »
    What's a natural selection map when it's at home?

http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Or (radical suggestion for an interweb forum, I know) we could eschew CS maps, get ourselves some paintball guns and goggles, lock Front Arch to keep the tourists out (or don't, depending on how much they've annoyed you this week) and just cut loose. I think a splash of colour would liven up the Campanile nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

1. Tourists - target practice (If it's tourist season why can't we shoot them etc)

2. Second Life Trinity is quite funky. I tend to sit on the Campanile.

3. Love the paintball idea, in my head it looks like the Sony Bravia ad...

I used to daydream about a TCD paintball match. Arts vs Science. I was thinking of ways to make the Hamilton building impregnable for hours on end (this was mostly during inorganic chemistry lectures in second year).