Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Like a guy thread

• 23-10-2007 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

So out of a long term relationship about 3 months, and I'm not considered bad looking, I get on with people quite easily etc. The only thing is I have never ever made any kind of move on a guy, or hinted even that I like anyone. So I really like a certain guy and I'm just wondering how do you hint, give the impression that you like someone etc. I'm not one for asking guys out and I know the guy in question regards me highly etc, but how do you just give that hint that you want something more? Any tips appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Giggle at his jokes, engage in loads of unnecessary touching, twirl you hair, tilt you head when he speaks to you etc. etc.

Or you could just ask him out for a drink! *SHOCK, HORROR* Did I just say that? :eek:

Most guys are thick when it comes to reading body language. He should get the idea if you ask to meet him somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Guys (and I'll include myself) can be a bit slow on the body-language uptake. But why not just ask if he'd like to do something? Doesn't have to be anything serious; perhaps just a coffee between friends and see how it goes from there if you feel it might work out.

I know I'd be flattered to be asked out by a girl.

Good luck in whatever you decide to do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Yeah, fs I'm completely hopeless at spotting these things. Just go out and say it. Why would you wait for him to ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭wireless101

Ok, first and foremost: DO NOT ASK HIM OUT!

As a guy, I would be kinda freaked out if a girl asked me out, and believe me, the majority feel the same.

Guys really should make the move so all you can do is encourage him, and let him know that you like him. The key here is flirting. Be playful with him, flutter your eyelids, twirl your hair, whatever it takes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Blackpitts

As a guy, I would be kinda freaked out if a girl asked me out, and believe me, the majority feel the same.

Guys really should make the move so all you can do is encourage him, and let him know that you like him. The key here is flirting. Be playful with him, flutter your eyelids, twirl your hair, whatever it takes!

are u serious?
    are the most of the guys really freaked out from a girl asking out???
    tell me why pls...

hey OP, trust me,I'm a boy, your guy would be delighted if you ask him out, go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

not at all

guys will be clueless to these things

ask him out, sure whats the harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

not really i would love if a girl asked me out. :) tbh its prob the only way i would figure out they liked me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

Puts me in the minority then. OP, ask him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭syberspud

guys will be clueless to these things

That's not true - most people know when you're flirting with them. It's the most natural way to let someone know you're interested (4 billion years of evolution can't be wrong) Plus if it is reciprocated, it gives you confidence and it's so much easier to ask them out. It's also a lotta fun! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

I completely disagree.

I am always flattered when a girl asks me out/approaches me. (I'm heading towards crotchety auld fella status now so it happens less than it used to :() I can't think of one of my male friends who would be/has been 'freaked out' by a girl asking him out.

It's the 21st Century - you have every entitlement to ask him out if you want.

The flirtatious route might work - if he's looking for the signals - or it might not. More than likely, if you ask him out, you will know where you stand much more quickly.

Yea as others have said, guys are stupid when it comes to seeign signals, you almost ahve to wear a t-shirt with his name on it saying I LIKE YOU!

In order to leave him in no doubt try this! Get him alone for a drink and sit close to him, lots of physical contact, touch his arm etc, laugh at anything he says even if its not funny, give him subtle compliments, get the conversation down that route by saying something like "at least ur a good lookin guy u dont ahve to worry about getting girls, I never seem to attract guys" then he can jump in with the classic "what r ya talkin about, r ya mad, lads would trip over themselves for you" etc etc, if he likes u and he cant get u when u use this route, then i dunno, i dont think theres that many dumb dumbs out there tho, you'll be grand!

lol, everybody completely disagrees with me on this one, but I stand by it! Don't ask him out! You will be seen as being too forward, which is an unpleasant characteristic in the fairer sex! Guys like to pursue, rather than be pursued.

But hey, im outnumbered here, so, if you like, take the advice of the masses, and even if you do go on the date, I believe he will lose interest soon afterwards.

That's my opinion anyway but, hey if you prove me wrong, fair play, I'll only be delighted!

^^^^^^^

I never said she should ask him out, i said she should show signs that she's interested and if needed make it painfully obvious if he's a bit slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey, thanks for all the replies!

Yeah I have to admit there is no way I would ever ask a guy out, not really because its not a girls place or whatever but just because I'd be too terrified! We're also friends and move in the same circle so it would be a bit odd if I asked to do something without the rest of them.
    Maybe telling a friend of his is the way to go, I'm not sure! As I said we're probably in the "friend zone" at this stage as I have had a boyfriend as long as I have known him.
    Thanks again for the replies though! I know it's your typical thread but what seems obvious to most people really isn't to me! I've literally never made the first move on anyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

singlegirl wrote: »
    Hey, thanks for all the replies!

Yeah I have to admit there is no way I would ever ask a guy out, not really because its not a girls place or whatever but just because I'd be too terrified!
    Well then, I'm afraid you are never going to get what you want.

Maybe telling a friend of his is the way to go,
    Yes, if you're fourteen and going to the local teeny bopper disco.

Are you?
    As I said we're probably in the "friend zone" at this stage as I have had a boyfriend as long as I have known him.

This is a fact, listen carefully.

Sexy ladies are never, I repeat NEVER, in a guys 'friendzone'.
    Thanks again for the replies though! I know it's your typical thread but what seems obvious to most people really isn't to me! I've literally never made the first move on anyone!

First time for everything, yadda yadda yadda.

Look, either you want this guy or not.

Ask him out before someone else does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

DesF wrote: »

Sexy ladies are never, I repeat NEVER, in a guys 'friendzone'.

I agree.
    Don't ever put that thought in yer head!:)

Just go for it I think.
    I'd be so happy if a sexy girl asked me out, like it's majorly ego-boosting and who'd turn it down?

Go for it!

If he highly regards you as you say, why not make the first move?

maybe she's not a sexy lady!!

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Changing dreams

I'm suprised noone cracked the obvious joke!

' Pm me and i'll be willing to help you ' hahahahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

go for the simple way out,

ask him to over for a dvd one night, then just cuddle up to him on the couch!

always a winner!

and as the lads said before, lots of touching, ie touching his arm when talking to him, give him a little girly push and giggle when he says something funny. always look into his eyes.

but definitly the cuddling on the couch watching a dvd is always a winner, well for me anyway!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I'm suprised noone cracked the obvious joke!

' Pm me and i'll be willing to help you ' hahahahahah

That would be because most people posting in this forum have read the Charter Rules and know that comments like the above will get you banned from this forum.
    Obviously you have not read the Charter, I suggest you do - consider this a warning.