Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could've been a whole lot worse

• 23-10-2007 8:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭

As a direct result of two idiotic forces combining their powers in front of me, got smashed up the back on the N7 yesterday.

In the boot of the car:

Custom made Hotwire 5 string
    Lakland 55-02
    1977 Fender Jazz (a real 30 year old one)

Luckily, the car behind was a wee Corsa, so only the car got damaged and the basses were unscathed. The boot is a bit bent but the bumper dispersed most of the force and is completely foooked as a result. Could've been really nasty though, fair play to Nissan for making the best hard-case ever.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

*swoon*, that was a close one! Hope you've no whiplash or any such ailment .... other than shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Not even shock. I was watching in the rear view, waiting for the impact. I was well braced by the time it happened. The young one who crashed into me was fairly shaken up though. She even thanked me at the end for not losing the rag and giving out to her. Meh, once I had checked the contents of the boot, there was no reason to go nuts. No-one was hurt, thankfully, and the basses are ok, so the car can be repaired.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I must admit, my jaw dropped when I got the text yesterday. I thought it was going to be a joke at first :eek: Got any pics of the damage? Just for curiosity's sake

Yeah, I'll take some later, gotta do it in case it goes to the insurers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Damn you're lucky that your basses are ok! :eek:

....and you of course :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Good to hear you are OK.
    FYI and on a serious note, someone drove into the back of my wife's car while she was stopped at a red light a few years ago. Many months later she started getting headaches and back pain. Eventually she was fixed up following lots of physiotherapy and massage. The root cause was whiplash-type injury caused during the accident.
    If I was you I would go to a physiotherapist today or tomorrow and have yourself fully checked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Jesus Doc! :eek:

Glad to hear nothing's messed up. That would've been one serious disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

Glad to hear that you (and your guitars :D ) are ok. As Johnny Storm said, I would get checked out for whiplash as it can sometimes take a while before you notice anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Glad the basses and bassmaster are ok.

Totally agree with JS though; my dad got rear-ended (...shut up) a few years ago and he got himself checked out by the doctor, just in case. No idea if any injury was found, but he was driving a swedish juggernaut (aka a volvo) at the time, so he was guaranteed to be ok anyway. These injuries do have a delayed reaction though

Cheers gents. I had a quick chat with the nurse in work today. All looks ok. I was ready for the impact, sitting firmly in the seat, should be grand.

This is the damage, the bumper took most of it, though the boot lid and boot itself are bent out of shape a bit

rear_side_sm.JPG

That side of the boot has been pushed in by a few inches, the boot floor doesn't fit. Gonna get an estimate of how much the repair will be this evening then deliver the bad news to yer wan.
    boot_damage_sm.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

From the looks of those pics, you were luck to get out alive :eek:

Ah no, seriously, thank your stars it wasnt worse, a big artic running into the back of you or something. I had someone run into the front of me near enniskerry a couple of years ago, completely wrote off both cars, and broke a load of sh1t expensive (non musical) equipment in the boot..

Car crashes are f*ckin nasty tbh, good to hear you and the basses are alright.

Jesus, she's not gonna like how much that's gonna cost. You know how much it cost me for a wing and a bumper :eek: Nasty thing to happen but at least no one was hurt and all the basses are ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Repaired Doc!!! Replaced you mean. You have the right to have your car returned to you in the same condition it was in prior to the accident. That means a replacement boot lid, rear side panel and bumper, plus the shock absorbing springs etc. I'd say there is in excess of €2.5k damage there.

Funny thing is, I only bought the car in August and one of the things I had them do before I paid the €€€ was respray the bleedin bumper. It was mint, man, ****ing mint :p

Sounds about right. If the boot floor doesn't fit, that could mean serious damage. Just make sure you get a nice hire car :D

...and I was only starting to bond with the Almera, despite its ****ty stereo :p

I've got a nice Mirage for sale. Slight bang on the front wing... :D

I've heard your stereo... no thanks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Rustar

Ack! Yes, it could have been a lot worse!

Bass parts and body parts strewn all over the road....
    Doc crawling past his legs to rescue the bass parts....

It could've been so, Rustar, I'm counting on that 77 to flesh out the oul pension :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

Doc,..sorry for your pain my man, just glad you weren't hurt and no musical damage done....hope the car gets fixed up

ciao' amigo....Baggio.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Doctor J wrote: »
    Cheers gents. I had a quick chat with the nurse in work today. All looks ok. I was ready for the impact, sitting firmly in the seat, should be grand.

This is the damage, the bumper took most of it, though the boot lid and boot itself are bent out of shape a bit

rear_side_sm.JPG

That side of the boot has been pushed in by a few inches, the boot floor doesn't fit. Gonna get an estimate of how much the repair will be this evening then deliver the bad news to yer wan.
    boot_damage_sm.JPG

Man, that could've been so much worse. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

Rustar wrote: »
    Doc crawling past his legs to rescue the bass parts....

He'd crawl past his legs for a kebab, let alone his bass, the crazy bastard :p

Glad to hear you and the kids are fine though Doc...

Cheers man, don't let it put you off sharing a road with them crazy bastids, you've still got to visit.

Turns out it was a big hit after all, she bent the chassis slightly, it's gonna be over 3k to fix :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

Don't worry man, I have Hellfire missiles installed and a belt-fed heavy caliber on the roof! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

hmm it takes an accident for my fave 2 boards amigos to put their heads above ground level!..Doc.J. and Ancient1 ..where the heck you two been eh!?!...havent seen yas at any of our gigs.,,am gonna sulk with ya's on that one ;)

and hey didnt see yas in NEC birmingham 2 weeks back to see the mighty RUSH!?!..well?..where were yas?..tut tut....ILL NEVER FORGIVES YAS....um ah well maybe i will ;)

ciao' amigos...goood to see yas...Baggio.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

gota get my full licence now, theres this stupid new law coming in soon :( my trusty fiesta's getin a lil old, has a cool vai sticker on the back window!

at least the guitars were ok

Baggio wrote: »
    hmm it takes an accident for my fave 2 boards amigos to put their heads above ground level!..Doc.J. and Ancient1 ..where the heck you two been eh!?!...havent seen yas at any of our gigs.,,am gonna sulk with ya's on that one ;)

and hey didnt see yas in NEC birmingham 2 weeks back to see the mighty RUSH!?!..well?..where were yas?..tut tut....ILL NEVER FORGIVES YAS....um ah well maybe i will ;)

ciao' amigos...goood to see yas...Baggio.........

I think I've moved back in time, mate, to a land before internet ha ha ha :D