Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving On advice

• 21-10-2007 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20

Hi lads,

Quick one. I'm back on the single scene for the last five months after coming out of a four year relationship (I'm 24). Have been scoring with randomers regularly enough but found no-one worth meeting again. BUT...

Was out last Thursday week and met this girl in D2, I rarely approach girls in clubs but when I saw this girl I had to. Was a bit cut and the confidence was up. Was talking to her for about 20 mins (getting on really well), music finished and I said I wouldn't even make a move incase I wrecked it. I gave her my phone and she put her number in it.

Anyway. We texted for a couple of days and I asked her out last week. We went out last Friday.

Met up, she looked amazing. Chatted away for a bit and then I went blank. Nerves got to me and I couldnt think of anything to say. The two pubs we went to were way too loud and crowded so that didn't help. Anyway the panic set in and I really didn't do myself justice. I cannot explain who awkward I must have come across.

She was going to meet her sister in Wexford St. at the end of the night,(I said I wouldn't go - if I couldn't talk to her, what was I gonna be like around her sis). We shared taxi as far as Wex St. and as she was getting out she turned and kissed me (proper kiss ;) ) and said we should meet up and go to the cinema during the week.

Does it sound like I wrecked my chances and this is all a sympathy let down?
    And, if by chance, we do meet up, can ye give me tips on how I should relax and what I should talk about and stuff.

I do genuinely like this girl. She texted me yesterday morning but there hasn't been any contact since. I don't know how to play the situation. It's all very childish but feck it, if you have any advice, please give generously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,076 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Loki1983 wrote:
    We shared taxi as far as Wex St. and as she was getting out she turned and kissed me (proper kiss ;) ) and said we should meet up and go to the cinema during the week.

Does it sound like I wrecked my chances and this is all a sympathy let down?
    Don't know how you can interpret this as a 'sympathy let down'!

Call her to discuss what movie to go to. Do some research first, so you know which films interest you. Tell her about the films you fancy, and ask if she has any other ideas.

As regards talking, just be yourself. After the film, you have a readymade topic if conversation. You can then talk about other films you liked. Music, sport, any other interests you have. Your job, your friends, holidays, politics, current affairs, the arts - the list is endless really.

Let her talk about herself too. You can ask some questions on the above to get started.

Your nervousness will soon disappear. Go for it, and good luck!

Again, how could you have felt she was letting you down gently?!

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Loki1983 wrote: »
    Met up, she looked amazing. Chatted away for a bit and then I went blank. Nerves got to me and I couldnt think of anything to say. The two pubs we went to were way too loud and crowded so that didn't help. Anyway the panic set in and I really didn't do myself justice. I cannot explain who awkward I must have come across.

She was going to meet her sister in Wexford St. at the end of the night,(I said I wouldn't go - if I couldn't talk to her, what was I gonna be like around her sis). We shared taxi as far as Wex St. and as she was getting out she turned and kissed me (proper kiss ;) ) and said we should meet up and go to the cinema during the week.
    Or possibly she may have interpreted the situation correctly (women see straight through us a lot of the time! :rolleyes: ), and been charmed to encounter a guy on whom she had a sufficient effect that he actually did the blushing awkward silences bit ... rather than filling her with bs all night, which, let's face it, is what we all usually do in this situation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

You are well in there son so fret ye not. Go and see a good movie during the week. A couple of hours of enforced silence watching the film (and a couple of cheeky snogs during) will hopefully have you bursting with conversation by the end of it. A noisy crowded pub is a sure-fire conversation killer so pick somewhere a little bit more chilled. A comedy club is always a good one too. Good luck, sounds like she likes you so just relax and meet up her during the week as planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

Open ended questions, a few good ones and she'll do all the talking for the whole night and you'll find out much more about her that your sure to find something to relate to with stories/experiences of your own that you can share.