Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

suburban potrait

• 20-10-2007 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭

out and about today in the Dublin suburbs, trying to get 10/20 more potraits for my expo.
    Took this of some lads in Ballybrack, any comments

1658227068_864acb5df9.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭georgey

Great possibilities with charictors like these but the shot may have been improved if you could have included some sort of reference like why were they there? were they playin football or had they a horse or wre they getting a bonfire ready? Maybe this would help?
    Philip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭isadub

Apparently, in journalism, there's a mantra about the 5 w's - Who, What, When, Where and How (don't ask about the 'H' because I don't know).

What is the message in this photo? What's d'story, bud?

In the background, there's a 1-storey building while the rest of the houses are 2-storey. Is it a health-centre, an extension, or maybe something to do with travellers. It looks bricked up as well. Maybe the boys + the 1-storey building might have told a better story?

The three of them look like brothers...do they keep pigeons or horses? Might have been a better photoshoot? Although they do say one shouldn't work with animals or children!!

Sorry to be so harsh but you did ask...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i prefer not telling too much about shots, and let people make there own mind up, of what it means -- i know a lot of people disagree with this approach -- but for what its worth i was taking a few shots around Ballybrack, and there was a gang playing footy, and inquired what i was doing , so i got a few to pose , or at least those that wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

thebaz - I agree with you. I think that even names of photographs are misleading. The story should speak for itself, has it's own story in it.

On the other hand, it is essential for media and for catalogue reasons to fill five W. If you want to sell the pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

hey barry - nice one again. it's one full of contradictions (i think). the background is almost too clear - leaving it busy overall but the subjects more than compensate. Apparently eyes, face, and bodily form (in that order) is what draws a viewer to interpret images and in your case here, there is something very deep in capturing all three of the above simultaneously. good to see the expo is still on the cards for you. cheers.

took some better ones around Ballymun and West dublin yesterday

1682790406_0a75af5605.jpg

1683195002_e29f1f0251.jpg

more from a busy day yesterday on

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/

might even make the magic 52 ;)

oh i like this one of the girl in the car in Ballymun -- i said to her i wouldn't mess with her :rolleyes:

1681778607_ce9d33a628.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,876 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i think you need to get closer to the faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

any closer and i'd say you'd be limping home! great shots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Muineach

thebaz wrote: »
    took some better ones around Ballymun and West dublin yesterday

1682790406_0a75af5605.jpg

might even make the magic 52 ;)

any reason for them being in pyjama's ? and magic 52 ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

I see loads in PJs around here, even at around 6 in the evening.,lol

Girls going out in pajamas , is a new fashion statement.

52 is the number of images i hope to have for my expo at end of year !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Girls going out in pajamas , is a new fashion statement.

oh please..it's official, I'm getting old :D

i think you need to get closer to the faces.

Is that too close ?
    a few more from sunday

1716157787_a1d808dd2b.jpg

1717051666_39d98e050c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

Great shot... what lens you use?
    1716157787_a1d808dd2b.jpg
    QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Pansy Potter

isadub wrote: »
    Apparently, in journalism, there's a mantra about the 5 w's - Who, What, When, Where and How (don't ask about the 'H' because I don't know)

Would the fifth 'W' not be 'WHY' rather than 'How'?

Great shot... what lens you use?

yeah someone else i respect , likes this too , not a prime lens , but a new panasonic bridge camera FX8, that i traded my old one for -- much happier with it !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭familyguy

1717051666_39d98e050c.jpg

That guy's great.

he's a damn fine guitarist --

down in ballybrack , saw a few lads getting ready for Halloween bonfires -- i think this will make the cutoff for the exhibition

1777486715_f4cecd10df.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

What's the craic with shooting photos of knackers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Oriel wrote: »

I'm trying really hard not to laugh at that but its actually hilarious!

come to the bonfire on Wednesday , and i'll show you --

theyre not called knackers down here

thebaz, sorry, but just I don't get it. Give a guy a camera and tell some knackers to pose.
    Where's the merit in that? Is there some social decay theme to this, or is it just knacker-photography?

come to the bonfire on Wednesday , and i'll show you
    For scumbags, I'll see your bonfire, and I'll raise you the 12th July. :)

thebaz, sorry, but just I don't get it. Give a guy a camera and tell some knackers to pose.
    Where's the merit in that? Is there some social decay theme to this, or is it just knacker-photography?

you could say that about anything ?

Give a guy camera go to Duke Special :)

some people get it some people don't -- such is life

young hoodies make much better photograps than there middle-class Abercrombie/Canto peers IMO

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/1682929304/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Its all too often we see dublin/Ireland portrayed as this touristy place with fancy shops and a train that goes on the roads,. This is a look into what the "real" dublin is like, For years ive seen exactly what thebaz has been photographing with gangs of kids collecting and trying to see who gets the biggest fire. At the end of the day it might not be the most glamourous or photogenic but who ever said photographs have to be glamourous.,?

thats my rant for the day.,:D

Give a guy camera go to Duke Special :)
    He's a friend of mine and I'm still learning.
    You go to a Duke Special and shoot. Come back to me after that.
    Give a point-and-click camera to any guy on the street, he'll come back with what you're doing.
    I just don't get it.

He's a friend of mine and I'm still learning.
    You go to a Duke Special and shoot. Come back to me after that.
    Give a point-and-click camera to any guy on the street, he'll come back with what you're doing.
    I just don't get it.

you come on here calling people knackers , when theyre not , just typical "after hours" teenage critique, call my photography "knacker photography" -- grow up -- and if Duke Special would approve of your snobby critique , he has as much soul as yourself --
    and dont pretend your a novice , but as i've said before your not as good as your big head tells you -

and the very fact that you don't like or get my stuff, means its working for me , much as the same way i would expect to get same reaction from 90% of AH posters

i defended you once, when all were having a go about your attitude , but i give people chances -- you are what you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

I'm locking this thread, I don't see it going much further.