Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday Night with Jonathon Ross-Terry Wogan

• 20-10-2007 1:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

It was a good show & i knew Woss would bring up the Points of View pic in his own smutty way as thats he's good for, but the only thing i hated tonight was the Irish stereotype again Leprechauns-jeez!

Even Terry was looking a bit off, but it is his radio colleague & let him off with, but Daire o Briain didnt let him off with it when he was on in the last season by not talking him seriously, he just took the piss outta him, coincidentally Take That were on the same night & if anyone remembers right didnt that coincide with Hector's show as well as Daire took Hector to meet Take That before the show.

Jeez, the things ya remember!

Also Ed Byrne pretended to walk off Have I Got news for you as Alexander Armstrong made a stereotypical joke as well :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I didn't see the show so I don't even know what you're talking about but Jonathon has always come across to me as a little anti-Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

standbyme wrote: »
    Also Ed Byrne pretended to walk off Have I Got news for you as Alexander Armstrong made a stereotypical joke as well :(

Jesus, it wasn't that bad. Like most comedy shows there will be the enevitable piss poor, predictable joke. If you can't laugh at yourself then you shouldn't laugh at anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Armstrong was being ironic.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 constipatinator

I noticed Jonathon Ross's Irish stereotyping ages ago. He did it with Dara O'Briain, Dylan Moran and apparently Terry Wogan last night. It's just disgraceful that he can continue to think that all Irish are little leprechaun people and spout his ****e all over TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

True enough.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭Faerie

Oh please! It's a joke to claim that his leprechaun comment was racist or anti-Irish. Why do people cry racism if anyone even mentions leprechauns?
    They are just symbols associated with Ireland - it's not like he said all Irish people were just a crowd of theiving, drinking leprechauns. In fact he even mentioned leprechauns with an air of making an obvious, silly joke.

There seems to be a lot of hypocrisy among Irish people lately. I've never heard people give out so much about leprechauns and people seem to enjoy looking for anti-Irish comments yet at the same time every second conversation I hear seems to start with, 'I'm not being racist but...' and then followed by a racist comment like 'All romanians are thieves' and defend it by claiming everyone is too pc.
    Last week on the panel Neil Delamere said that garda was the Irish for not shooting someone in the back - now I don't think that this comment was racist either but it was on shakier ground regarding political correctness than the leprechaun comment, yet the posters in the Panel thread just hought it was hilarious.
    Why are Irish people suddenly turning against leprechauns anyway? Whatever happened to being proud of your heritage and symbols? It's a sign of confidence and maturity to laugh at youself and Irish people just don't seem to be able to do that anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

National stereotypes have long gone out of fashion. I think the point which makes grind our collective national dentures at leprachaun jokes is that it paints a picture of Darby O'Gill and the Little People, which is not what this country is about anymore, if it ever was in the first place. It's a twee image for the 1940's. It would be akin to jokes about Jock McJock in his kilt and tossing his caber to Scottish people; they would be as vocal as we are.

It shows up more laziness on Ross' part, that if he has an Irish man on the show, it has to be all begorrah and shillelaghs. Be the hokey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

This Leprachaun conversation went on for all of 5 seconds. Calm down you mental bastards. Jesus.

I thought it was a great show overall, though. The Take That interview was pretty funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

DMC wrote: »
    It shows up more laziness on Ross' part, that if he has an Irish man on the show, it has to be all begorrah and shillelaghs. Be the hokey.
    His ignorance shows no bounds whenever he has an Irish guest on. It's uncomfortable to watch actually. As I said though, didn't see last nights show.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

um Wossy just does the Be gory and be gosh arent ye all leprechaun chasers in Ireland bit in jest to take the piss out of his guests and try to envoke a reaction. hes not serious hes a nice guy and a smart guy, too smart to make blatent racist comments repeatedly on TV. Each time he has done this he has also gotten laughs be it from the audience or his guest and therefore has continued with it. He is also going to do it every time he has Dara on the show because of the reaction Dara gave which was comical. Personally although i missed it this time im happy he did it as many English people dont actually know Terry is Irish as he has been on the BBC their entire lives.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

jesus christ will yiz lighten up ya bunch of paddy's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Thatt impersonation of Terry Wogan by Peter was brillant

In Terry Wogan's voice:

"Ross, you remind me of myself when I was younger, but Ross, you're a cheeky ****er!"

As for the comment about the leprechauns, it was only a joke, come on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

It went something like this...

Ross: 'blah blah blah blah lepwechauns blah blah blah...'
    Wogan: ' This interview has just gone downhill a bit further'

That was it. Jesus people, where's your sense of humour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

Well i'll just say,
    Its usually a great show & enjoyed it except for that part & you'd think he'd get wise as some remarks are so out-dated, but really you'd expect that from him anyway.
    As i was watching a few episodes of Heroes earlier on in the day & that's on a par with Woss with their woeful accents as anyone will know watching it & not realising that set the ball rolling as i settled down for a night of quality telly & then noticed Ed Byrne as sometimes you grimace at him & him pretending to walk off, hadnt seen that before, cos of the comment, but at the time you thought :rolleyes: But when you're watching Woss, you gotta really grin & bear it including the guests :p

Thatt impersonation of Terry Wogan by Peter was brillant

In Terry Wogan's voice:

"Ross, you remind me of myself when I was younger, but Ross, you're a cheeky ****er!"

That was uncanny, & probably what Terry was thinking :p
    As for the comment about the leprechauns, it was only a joke, come on
    Yeah i know, you gotta take the rough with the smooth as you cant teach an old dog new tricks :D

Rant over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

i think its hilarious that people are taking offense to this. hes takes the piss out of everyone including himself. come on people!