Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Nigerian 419 Scam

• 19-10-2007 12:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭

Just got this in by email. I like it I must say :D

CHEVRON OIL/PETROLUEM 2007
    Head Office
    8,Macarthy Street,
    P.M.B Box 166
    Lagos Nigeria.
    [URL]tel:+2348055855561[/URL]

This is to inform you that you have won a prize money of One Million United States Dollars, ($1,000,000.00) for this year 2007 Lottery promotion which is organized by CHEVRON OIL/PETROLUEM 2007.

CHEVRON OIL/PETROLUEM 2007, collects all the email addresses of the people that are active online, among the millions that subscribed to the Internet.we only select five people every Year as our winners through electronic balloting System without the winner applying,we congratulate you for being one of the people selected.

You are to contact the events manager on or before your date of Claim, Winners Shall be paid in accordance with his/her Settlement Centre.Chevron Oil/Petroluem Bonanza Prize must be claimed no later than 20 days from date of Draw Notification after the Draw date in which Prize has won. Any prize not claimed within this period will be forfeited.

These are your identification numbers:

Batch number...............CHEV 09102XN
    Reff number................CHEV 35447XN
    Winning number.............CHEV 09788XN

These numbers fall within your Location file, you are requested to contact the events manager/Claims Department, send your winning identification numbers to him,to enable him verify your claims.

(CONTACT FINANCE DEPARTMENT)
    Name:Mr.Francis Adewale.
    E-mail:chevronevent@hotmail.com
    TEL: +2348055855561
    Thank you and Accept my hearty congratulations once again!

Yours faithfully,
    Mr.Jackson Obaseki.
    (Chevron Oil Petroluem Bonanza/Lottery Coordinator).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I got a funny won about winning the Irish National Lottery, and my prize was in GBP :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Just got this in by email. I like it I must say :D

CHEVRON OIL/PETROLUEM 2007
    Head Office
    8,Macarthy Street,
    P.M.B Box 166
    Lagos Nigeria.
    [URL]tel:+2348055855561[/URL]

This is to inform you that you have won a prize money of One Million United States Dollars, ($1,000,000.00) for this year 2007 Lottery promotion which is organized by CHEVRON OIL/PETROLUEM 2007.

OMG you are like SOO lucky to get chosen for this.

I NEVER get chosen. OMG OMG!

But given the exchange rate you're going to lose out big time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

what do you like about this one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

not really

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

It still shocks me that some people are stupid enough to believe these things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Damnit! I knew I should've subscribed to the internet instead of waiting for it to hit the shelves. Then I'd be able to collect some of those United States Dollars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

The only thing unusual about this one is he only called himself Mr.Francis Adewale, they often like to give themselves a fancy title like Dr.

It's astonishing that people are still getting fooled by these scams (which is to be assumed seen as they still exist)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Wook wrote: »
    what do you like about this one ?

Its well written, unusually so for a 419 scam .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

You will get raped on tax's. Best to pass on this one. The investment opportunities in Nigeria's royal family is where I am hedging my bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Thats not a great scam at all..:rolleyes:

Where is the guy on his deathbed, the mourning widow, the king who was ousted in a military coup, the guy who owns all the land rovers..

There is no magnificence with the 419 scammers anymore :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

I love the fact a 'massive multinational' like chevron petroleum or whatever made up name it is have a cheapo hotmail e-mail address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

What is the scam. the price of the call?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

#
    advance fee usually,they ask you for a small fee of a few grand to help grease the ransaction and feck off with the money.some people manage to get money out of these fools themselves..
    www.419eater.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

usually quite elaborate - often they'll forward you to put in your bank details into a phoney website of a real bank (cloned website), or get you to forward on a 'clearance fee' so they can release the funds etc

note that this'll all be asked for ~4-5 emails 'into' the scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

grahamo wrote: »
    I love the fact a 'massive multinational' like chevron petroleum or whatever made up name it is have a cheapo hotmail e-mail address

This is what I noticed as well, it's funny!

Congratulations on your win O.P.!!!
    A friend of mine recently won the Spanish lottery, that he didn't even enter!

Some people just have all the luck....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

I actually didn't realise I had so many distant relatives living in Africa, unfortunately tragic how they all seem to be dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

What is this petroluem? An alternative to oil perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 parkiecik

I like this one:

UNITED NATION (UN)
    DEBT RECONCILIATION DEPARTMENT.
    GENEVA-SWITZERLAND.
    Our Ref: UN-0XX2/987/2007

Dear Sir/Madam,

U.S.A GOVERNMENT, WORLD BANK, UNITED NATION ORGANIZATION OFFICIAL APPROVAL PAYMENT VALUED $8.3M

The British Prime Minister in conjunction with U.S.A GOVERNMENT, WORLD BANK, UNITED NATION ORGANIZATION do hereby give this irrevocable approval order with Release Code: GNC/3480/02/00 in your favor for your Inheritance/contract entitlement/award winning payment with the UNITED NATION to your nominated bank account.

Now youre new Payment, United nation Approval No; UN5685P, White House Approved No: WH44CV, Reference No.-35460021, Allocation No: 674632 Password No: 339331, Pin Code No: 55674 and your Certificate of Merit Payment No: 103, Released Code No: 0763
    As a matter of fact, you are required to Deal and Communicate only with REV. DR. PETER JEFFERSON, DIRECTOR INTERNATIONAL REMMITTANCE EQUITORIAL TRUST BANK, with the help and monitory team from the CITIBANK OF NEW YORK which is our official remitting bank, Committee On Foreign Payment Matters in United Nation, has look up to make sure you receive your money.

Be informed that we have verified your payment agreement file as directed to us; your name appeared in the next on the list of our outstanding beneficiary to received payment at the second quarter of the year. SO contact: REV. DR. PETER JEFFERSON on his contact Direct email:info2.peterjefferson@yahoo.frFor immediate release of your contract/inheritance/Award Winning claim Be informed that you are not allowed to correspond with any person or office anymore, You are required to send bellow Information for your transfer:

1) YOUR FULL NAME:
    2) ADDRESS, CITY, STATE AND COUNTRY.
    3) PHONE, FAX AND MOBILE
    4) COMPANY NAME (IF ANY) POSITION AND ADDRESS
    5) BANK DETAILS
    6) PROFESSION, AGE AND MARITAL STATUS
    7) COPY OF YOUR INT'L PASSPORT/DRIVERS LICENSE.

NOTE: YOUR PERSONAL CONTACT/COMMUNICATION CODE WITH EQUITORIAL TRUST BANK IS (511), YOU ARE ADVICE TO SEND YOUR FULL BANKING INFORMATION TO THE EQUITORIAL TRUST BANK THROUGH THE OFFICE OF INTERNATIONAL REMMITTANCE DIRECTOR HEADED BY REV. DR. PETER JEFFERSON AND MAKE SURE YOU SPEAK WITH HIM, WITH YOUR NEW PAYMENT CODE FOR RELEASE OF YOUR PAYMENT AND SEND HIM ALL YOUR BANKING INFORMATION NOW. Regard. Senate CONTACT CODE (511) OFFICER: REV. DR. PETER JEFFERSON.

Best regards

SIR GEORGE GRAHAM.
    DEBT RECONCILIATION DEPARTMENT.
    UNITED NATION AND USA GOVERNMENT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Ha! George Graham didn't learn his lesson back in the nineties!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

Just gotta love them Nigerians with their crazy scams and what not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I love ringing them at 2am. From work phone, of course. If you pretend that you've fallen for it, they go from sleepy to super-alert in about 30 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

grahamo wrote: »

Well chevron is a real company but still bad form for the scammers to be using it!

http://www.bradandkris.com/images/Chevron.jpg