Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurling All Stars

• 17-10-2007 3:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭

KK 6 Wat 5 Lim 3 Tipp 1

The Vodafone GAA Hurling All Stars for 2007 are:

1 Brian Murray (Limerick)
    2 Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny)
    3 Declan Fanning (Tipperary)
    4 Jackie Tyrell (Kilkenny)
    5 Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
    6 Ken McGrath (Waterford)
    7 Tony Browne (Waterford)
    8 Michael Walsh (Waterford)
    9 James Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny)
    10 Dan Shanahan (Waterford)
    11 Ollie Moran (Limerick)
    12 Stephen Molumphy (Waterford)
    13 Andrew O'Shaughnessy (Limerick)
    14 Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)
    15 Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

No Corkman ? Frank Murphy is probably on the train to Dublin already !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Limestone1 wrote: »

That'd be funny except it wouldn't surprise me ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Hmmm I would have had Fitzhenry in goals, and Hickey at corner back. Secind time in the last few years that Wexford have made hte All-Ireland semi finals and not had an all-star :confused::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭D. Coughlan

Limestone1 wrote: »
    I know, what's up with that, there's politics involved in this and Cork should have got one all star, no more no less.

The team it self has no major surprises, but i would have put Fitzhenry in goal, all right, i mean they got to the semi's and have no all-star, like come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Declan Fanning full back? wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

cson wrote: »

Explain urself?? He was by far and away the best full back this year :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Good to see Molumphy get one.

cson wrote: »

What are you dithering about ? Have you watched a game this year ?

I know, what's up with that, there's politics involved in this and Cork should have got one all star, no more no less.

I hope your taking the piss.

Who on the Cork team deserved an All-Star ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

It always surprises me how they name the Hurling All Stars 2 days before the event, but keep the 'suspense' of naming the Football ones to the night itself. Do all nominees of the Football get to go to the banquet? Do the Hurling nominees get to go, seems like favouritism towards Football IMO.

AFAIK they alternate every year so next year the Football will be named a few days b4 and the Hurling will be named on the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

patmac wrote: »
    It always surprises me how they name the Hurling All Stars 2 days before the event, but keep the 'suspense' of naming the Football ones to the night itself. Do all nominees of the Football get to go to the banquet? Do the Hurling nominees get to go, seems like favouritism towards Football IMO.

I dont know how to judge the above comment. I would be of the opinion that if your a true GAA man you should know that the alternate and yes all nominees get to go to the banquet.
    Is it because you think that hurling is less important that you made the comment?
    Is it because your are one of these hurling men that think the game is discriminated against?
    Kind of like the Kerry footballers get steak after training and the hurlers get a bowl of soup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭rebs23

monosharp wrote: »

Donal Og definitely best keeper in the country. I'm afraid after that no one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

Hmmm I would have had Fitzhenry in goals, and Hickey at corner back. Secind time in the last few years that Wexford have made hte All-Ireland semi finals and not had an all-star :confused::mad:

Definetly Fitzhenry in goals.

in fairness there really was no goalkeeper that stood out - Donal og is probably the ''best'' but thats not what allstars are for it it were the team would be almost the same every year its on their performances in the previous 12 months - and as said there really was no stan out keeper this year good or bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

i agree that there was no stand-out keeper this year but i'd have given it to Dónal Óg (and I don't even particularly like him ;))

imo a lot of people are punting Fitzhenry's name about for the wrong reasons - he's been a great keeper for years and he made some good saves again this year (and notched himself another goal :eek:) but I think Cusack showed a much higher level of shot-stopping this year, made as many good saves and still contributed a lot with his puck-outs (I still think he's the best man in the country to find a man 80 yards away)

On the others, very disappointed that Séamus Hickey missed out - I was very impressed all year and didn't notice Jackie Tyrell do anything particularly extraordinary all year. Delighted to see Molumphy recognised for an outstanding season too. Not that surprised or apalled by any of the others, really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

^^

I agree with yahoo_moe. Seamus Hickey should be there based on his performances throughout the championship. He'll still get young hurler of the year though. Tommy Walsh or Dan Shanahan for hurler of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭D. Coughlan

monosharp wrote: »

As said before, Donal Og. Maybe even Ben O'Conor or Tom Kenny or Joe Deane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

JOE DEANE!? Are you off your head? He had a disaster of a year by his standards. I remember him hitting one great point on the sidelines in the Waterford Cork match in Semple Stadium this year and apart from that he's just been tapping over simple frees.

Donal Og was touch and go, but not playing in the Munster Championship at all must've been a factor. Brian Murray on the other hand played 4, and very well for that matter.

Personally im delighted for brick walsh in particular. Fantastic season for him, the dark days of him full forward are hopefully gone.

As said before, Donal Og. Maybe even Ben O'Conor or Tom Kenny or Joe Deane

Donal Og maybe but Brian Murray played a lot of games in the championship and was impressive from what I saw.

Ben O'Connor also played well but I don't see him as more deserving than Molumphy and certainly not more so than Dan.

I wouldn't put Tom Kenny ahead of either Cha or Brick Walsh this year.

And Joe Deane? :confused: Definitely not! O'Shaughnessy definitely deserves his place there and Eddie Brennan got some vital scores for Kilkenny (and not just in the AI final! ;) ).

A poor year for Cork hurling but no doubt they'll bounce back again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

It is a travesty that Ronan Fallon didn't even get nominated for an all-star.

blackbelt wrote: »
    It is a travesty that Ronan Fallon didn't even get nominated for an all-star.

Although the Dubs had a good league campaign we didn't really do much in the championship. Of the 3 players nominated for centre half back, Ken McGrath and Brian Geary deserve to be there ahead of Fallon and you can argue the toss about John Lee. It's not exactly a travesty and I think that whole Dublin team will be able to push on to better things next year, with Fallon at the forefront.

He has been shortlisted for the GPA awards though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Donal Og's involvement in the skirmish probably cost him his all star and maybe even the rest of the cork players like Sean Og who had a good year notwithstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

Tomthepost wrote: »
    I dont know how to judge the above comment. I would be of the opinion that if your a true GAA man you should know that the alternate and yes all nominees get to go to the banquet.
    Is it because you think that hurling is less important that you made the comment?
    Is it because your are one of these hurling men that think the game is discriminated against?
    Kind of like the Kerry footballers get steak after training and the hurlers get a bowl of soup.

Wow sorry I asked, I must of missed last years and in 2004, take a chill pill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Glad that Brian Murray got the goalkeeping spot. He had a great season between the sticks, and was as good as anyone else I can think of.

Like a few others, I thought Seamus Hickey might have made the team. He got a bit bullied in the final so maybe he lost out because of that. He had a great season all-round though. He can count himself unlucky to miss out.

Also glad Molumphy got the recognition too. Can sometimes be easy to overlook the new guys in favour of the seasoned players.

All in all I'd have few quibbles with the selection.

SetantaL wrote: »
    Sean Og who had a good year
    Not sure Semplegate had that much to do with it directly tbh - I think Cusack's lack of play is probably the biggest reason (even though this was caused by the "fracas") and possibly the fact that Murray kept Dan out in the semi after a Munster final hat-trick.

In Seán Óg's case, he had two good games against Waterford in the quarter-final but that's nowhere near enough to overhaul any of the three half-backs (probably three of the best 6/7 hurlers in the country this year imo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

So who won Hurler of the Year? Just missed the programme, and can't find anything online...

Please say Dan, please say Dan, please say Dan, please say Dan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

It was Dan!

deise59 wrote: »
    It was Dan!

YEHSSSSSS!!!!! Go Dan the legend! Up the Déise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

From a Deise point-of-view its the perfect end to a great campaign, first hurler of the year not to have played in the final since 1992 I think. A class act and a nice guy to boot, deserves every bit of praise he gets. As well as Dan, Ken McGrath gets another All-Star in another position, Tony Browne adds to his list of accolades, whilst the future of Waterford hurling is acknowledged with Molumphy and Brick getting their just rewards for great campaigns.

Roll on next year, its great to hear that Ken might be back to play some part in the league as well, with Molumphy gone we'll need him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Tony Browne got Hurler of the Year in 1998.

Not even nominating Eoin Kelly (Waterford) has to have been a mistake by the All-Star selectors. A little bit about it here. I can't see the same mistake being made next year.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    From a Deise point-of-view its the perfect end to a great campaign

OK, in fairness I know what you mean, but the perfect (and deserved) end to the campaign would have been victory over Limerick, followed by victory over KK...

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Roll on next year, its great to hear that Ken might be back to play some part in the league as well, with Molumphy gone we'll need him.

I've heard conflicting reports about Molumphy heading off to Germany with the Army. I've heard he's going, but that he'll be flown back for matches. How the hell will that work? Does anyone know what the actual story is?

JHMEG wrote: »
    Not even nominating Eoin Kelly (Waterford) has to have been a mistake by the All-Star selectors.

Agreed. He put 1-10 (or something close to that) past Leinster for Munster last weekend, and the next day he was out playing in Walsh Park for his club, Passage. The guy lives for hurling. Wait and see how good he is next year!

fricatus wrote: »
    I've heard conflicting reports about Molumphy heading off to Germany with the Army. I've heard he's going, but that he'll be flown back for matches. How the hell will that work? Does anyone know what the actual story is?

Didn't the same happen with Ciaran McManus from Offaly? He was serving in Germany and was flown back over for matches, may just have been the championship though. Any high-ranking army officials from Waterford going to pull a few strings? ;) Whatever about football, I don't know how well it'd work with the hurling. If he is brought back, it wont be before the championship.

fricatus wrote: »
    OK, in fairness I know what you mean, but the perfect (and deserved) end to the campaign would have been victory over Limerick, followed by victory over KK...

Yeah I realise that, I was obviously accepting what happened in the Championship as being over and done with and saying the All-Stars gave a better indication of how good Waterford actually were this year than perhaps reading the results on paper might have.

As far as I'm aware, he's heading off to Germany and will miss the entire NHL, but will be flown back for the Championship games. Far from ideal.

23 August 2007

The Waterford County Board is to do everything in its power to ensure that ace attacker Stephen Molumphy will be available for championship action in 2008 despite the fact that he will be in Germany next summer.

Army man Molumphy is due to travel to Germany for special training next year but Waterford county secretary Seamus Grant says everything will be done to have the player available for action.

"He’s a player we will bring back for the big occasions," Grant confirmed. "You’re not going to leave one of your big assets away.

"It might be costly to bring him over and back but it has to be done."

Grant didn’t suspect Molumphy would be brought home for the upcoming national league though.

Agreed. He put 1-10 (or something close to that) past Leinster for Munster last weekend, and the next day he was out playing in Walsh Park for his club, Passage. The guy lives for hurling. Wait and see how good he is next year!

Class act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Class act.
    Just reading back over the thread. Tony Browne wins Hurler of the Year in 1998, and here he is 9 years later picking up another All Star. Tony has to be the definition of a class act and I don't think anyone can say otherwise. And from what I know of him a gentleman too.

JHMEG wrote: »
    Not even nominating Eoin Kelly (Waterford) has to have been a mistake by the All-Star selectors.
    I'm a huge fan of Eoin Kelly and how he approaches the game but I just don't think he was consistent enough to be worth an All-Star this year. When he was good, he was great but he blew hot and cold too often for me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    I'm a huge fan of Eoin Kelly and how he approaches the game but I just don't think he was consistent enough to be worth an All-Star this year. When he was good, he was great but he blew hot and cold too often for me...

I agree with this. He definitely didn't deserve the accolade this year. Although if he was playing at his best he's as good as anyone in the country.

but the same could also be said of o'shaughnesey he did nothing in the 3 games against tipp apart from the 65 in the last minute of the second game and very little in both the munster and all ireland finals, he's only real standout performance came in the semi final against what we know is an extremely dodgy waterford full back line jaysus even donie ryan looked good that day;)

but the same could also be said of o'shaughnesey
    which is exactly why i didn't think he should have gotten an All-Star :) although i do think that the competition in the full-forward line was less intense - personally, i would have preferred to nominate Dan in there as well and give the spare half-forward slot to Eoin Larkin

but the same could also be said of o'shaughnesey he did nothing in the 3 games against tipp apart from the 65 in the last minute of the second game and very little in both the munster and all ireland finals, he's only real standout performance came in the semi final against what we know is an extremely dodgy waterford full back line jaysus even donie ryan looked good that day;)
    which is exactly why i didn't think he should have gotten an All-Star :) although i do think that the competition in the full-forward line was less intense - personally, i would have preferred to nominate Dan in there as well and give the spare half-forward slot to Eoin Larkin

Lads, whatever about the rest, O'Shaughnessy definitely deserves his place. His performance against a heavily fancied Waterford team wasn't the only thing he did all year. I'm not sure exactly how reliable these figures are but it's the only place I found the scoring chart. Wiki

Top scorer in the championship this year. I'd definitely have him in my 15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭knightmare

Thought O Shaughnesey was full value for his place on the All Star team. He was man of the match in the all ireland Quarter final against clare (11 points 5 from play) & man of the match in All ireland Semi Final (2-7 1-2 from play). Top scorer in the championship where all the games he played in were serious games -none of this back door handy games nonsense.

Well here is what the players thought

2007 GPA/OPEL Gaelic Players Hurling Team of the Year:

Damien Fitzhenry (Wexford)

Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny)
    Stephen Lucey (Limerick)
    Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny)

Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
    Ken McGrath (Waterford)
    Mark Foley (Limerick)

James Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny)
    Michael Walsh (Waterford)

Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny)
    Ollie Moran (Limerick)
    Dan Shanahan (Waterford)

Andrew O'Shaughnessy (Limerick)
    Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)
    Martin Comerford (Kilkenny)

Well here is what the players thought

2007 GPA/OPEL Gaelic Players Hurling Team of the Year:

Damien Fitzhenry (Wexford)

Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny)
    Stephen Lucey (Limerick)
    Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny)

Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
    Ken McGrath (Waterford)
    Mark Foley (Limerick)

James Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny)
    Michael Walsh (Waterford)

Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny)
    Ollie Moran (Limerick)
    Dan Shanahan (Waterford)

Andrew O'Shaughnessy (Limerick)
    Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)
    Martin Comerford (Kilkenny)

Still no Hickey! :confused: Oh well, he did get a bit of a roasting in the AI Final. Nice to see Mark Foley in there aswell.

Anyway, we all know you only posted the last 14 names for the sake of completion! ;)

An Citeog wrote: »
    Anyway, we all know you only posted the last 14 names for the sake of completion! ;)

Of course :p Now I will start my Keith Rossiter should have gotten recognition at full back campaign ;)

Still no Cork players, I wonder what they Corkonians will make of that

Of course :p Now I will start my Keith Rossiter should have gotten recognition at full back campaign ;)

The conspiracy has extended into all areas of Irish sport! :eek:

Lads, whatever about the rest, O'Shaughnessy definitely deserves his place. Top scorer in the championship this year. I'd definitely have him in my 15.
    knightmare wrote:
    Thought O Shaughnesey was full value for his place on the All Star team
    I'm not saying he was awful or anything but I'd rather have accommodated Larkin, who I thought was consistently extremely good (if not as spectacular as O'Shaughnessy when he REALLY fired). I know O'Shaughnessy can (and did) score from play but in terms of being top scorer, his (excellent) freetaking boosted his tally a lot so that just wouldn't sway me off Larkin (with Dan named in the full forward line instead)...

They can make what they want of it, Cusack is the only player who I'd even consider for a place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,221 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Sure there were no Laois, Dublin, Offaly, Galway or Clare players either. Or any from up north. Just because teams arent good enough to be winning provincials or AI's doesnt mean there arent any great players on the team. Cork were terrible this year. All of them and after their bannings at the start of the campaign, Cusack et. al dont deserve all-stars. Mullaney in goals for Laois is a much better goalie anyway. Anyone who stands fearless to stop the point blank shots coming in on him deserves a mention. Sure he might let in 6 a game but thats because theres no defence. He's a fine shot stopper but when Shefflin or someone of that ilk is there to shoot and then claim the rebound theres not much you can do.

Fair play to all in both teams mentioned. Cant really argue with any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭rebs23

The conspiracy has extended into all areas of Irish sport! :eek:

WTF. Very little disputing the AllStars or the GPA selections in Cork. The only contender would be Cusack. If anything the view down here is that both awards weren't generous enough to KK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭corkfella

wud agree with rebs23 only donal og deserved it and i thought fitzhenry had a grt year, kk shud have got more and d cork footballers deserved more than 1 for appearing in final but hey what can u do!