Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

club tv campaign

• 12-10-2007 8:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭

saw an ad in de paper the other day for this campaign that Powerade are launching to find a GAA club to sponsor for next year. This is the crowd that sponsored yer man to do the triathalon, there was an ad with Paul O'Connell at one stage. I suppose there's a few ways of looking at this - I know for a fact that a few of the lads from the club back home would completely lose the run of themselves in front of a TV camera! But it mightn't be a bad idea if it shows how the ordinary clubman puts in huge efforts but doesn't get the same recognition as the 'big stars'. As far as I know, it's for any team from minor upwards including junior, intermediate sides etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Yeah I heard about it too.
    It will be a good idea I suppose if the team does well. Obviously if they don't do well the team, the club and the brand will get slated.
    I'm sure the manager of teams that the Powerade team come up against won't find it too hard to give a pre match pep talk.
    With that said I guess that the fear of failure should push on the Powerade team to put a little bit more into training over the winter months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

LOL nice of ye to sign up to tell us about this lads. Powerade marketing team?
    If so PM me some more info on this and I'll put it before the commiteeee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

pat are ya gonna get the rossies to sign up to it?? frankie dolan replacing the guy in the triatholon ad....never give up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyrotten123

jaysus, Pat, you're way to cynical!! Sure this could be a prime opportunity to highlight all the hard work that's being done behind the scenes for hurling in Roscommon...you do play hurling up there don't ye??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Powerade marketing team I am not!
    Can one not comment on the latest GAA issues of the day anymore without smart arses like Pat getting his knickers in a twist
    Its not like there is a whole lot happening in the GAA world at the moment. Would you prefer if we talked about the M Donnelly Inter-Provisional Series where the Kerry subs get to play for their province. (I'm not part of the M Donnelly marketing team either by the way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Apologies lads I am way to cynical! 1st posts and all that. Is it a club or county thing or is it open to any team underage or whatever. BTW Roscommon Hurlers are bound for Division 2 next year and the Christy Ring, so they missed out by a year, but I do like the idea of Frankie Dolan being used by the campaign.although their is a better chance with Heineken