Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LCD Soundsystem

• 10-10-2007 11:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭

The gig on the 19th in The Button Factory (still hate that name) has been moved to Tripod, and so a few more tickets are now available. I just picked one up there. Just letting people know.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,304 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

It says on the ticket that doors open at 7.30pm, anyone know what time LCD Soundsystem are on at?

Tripod has normal disco on that night afterwards i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭j_nolan

It says on the Saturday one 7. I was assuming that they were on 8:30-10:30.

EDIT: James is DJing in Pod afterward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

j_nolan wrote: »
    It says on the Saturday one 7. I was assuming that they were on 8:30-10:30.

EDIT: James is DJing in Pod afterward.

After Sat or Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Saturday. And yes, we're going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 hobochick

so excited about this gig! saw them in the summer & they were amazing!!!! Is there a dress code for pod cos would love to see James dj after? Worried about jeans & trainers

I imagine they'll let the people who've been to the gig in. I dress snazzily all the time so I'm not too worried :)

pardon my ignorance here but is tripod the same as the pod?

John wrote: »
    I imagine they'll let the people who've been to the gig in. I dress snazzily all the time so I'm not too worried :)

Does that mean I have to dress snazzily too or can I just be your eccentric cousin Clive? I tend to be rather sweaty/dishevelled after an LCD session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Eh I wouldnt worry too much about a dress code in the Pod / Crawdaddy. You would look funny in there in a shirt and shoes. All the lads will be wearing Jeans, T-Shirts (no doubt with some ironic comment on it) and runners.

Really looking forward to the gig. You wont get into Pod free afterwards (they 2 different place's). Its a bodytonic night and they might do some kind of concession but I doubt it. I think it's usually 14 euro but that can go up depending on the DJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭j_nolan

It's 16 quid. Bit fu*king dear.

Hmmm, that's less tasty than I thought.

totally worth it in my mind! will the girls be in jeans and tshirts too?

I reckon the ladies will most likely be in jeans and those tops... not t-shirts so to speak, but um, those tops that are all the rage yet I don't know their name. :p

€16 is pretty expensive for a DJ set... even if it is the mighty Murph himself. Think I'll be content with my LCD SS fill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I was right about the concesion. If you have a ticket stub from either LCD sounsystem gig it's only 12 euro in to the DJ set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 butisitart?

does anybody know if theres an after party organised somewhere after lcd? rogue or is wax even reopened yet for that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Anyone know who is supporting tonight or if there is any support at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭jimmychin

Anyone know who is supporting tonight or if there is any support at all?

S.H.I.T.R.O.B.O.T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 wappo1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭mvpr

Anyone any idea what time LCD are on at? Says 8 on their myspace page. Do they not watch rugby? Reckon they'll be on much later than that?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,304 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

no, all over by 10.30 so wont be much later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭mvpr

Thats a shame. LCD takes priority though. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

Just back from the LCD gig. F**kin class! Mate of mine only introduced me to them recently. They blew me away!

As an aside, bout 5 townies tried to nick my phone on Westmoreland street as I was waiting (on my own) for the bus! They didn't get the phone but I got a couple of slaps in the head! Funny cos my phone is old and not worth a lot! Dic*heads! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

gobby wrote: »
    Just back from the LCD gig. F**kin class! Mate of mine only introduced me to them recently. They blew me away!

As an aside, bout 5 townies tried to nick my phone on Westmoreland street as I was waiting (on my own) for the bus! They didn't get the phone but I got a couple of slaps in the head! Funny cos my phone is old and not worth a lot! Dic*heads! :o

Sorry to hear about that bad sh!t on Westmoreland street but yeah the gig was pretty good all the same. In fact one of the best I've been to in a long time :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

good reports. i'm going tonight... can't wait. got this tonight and radio soulwax/2manydjs next week. ace! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

Freaking ace gig that was! The best gig I've been to this year without a shadow of a doubt. Wish I was going again tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Armstrong

wowy wrote: »
    Freaking ace gig that was! The best gig I've been to this year without a shadow of a doubt. Wish I was going again tonight.

Brilliant. can't wait now. What time did they start at? hope to get a bit of the rugby.

Think they started about 9 or 9.15 went on about 90mins...didnt get kicked out after you could stay for the nightclub afterwards...

adrian522 wrote: »
    Think they started about 9 or 9.15 went on about 90mins...didnt get kicked out after you could stay for the nightclub afterwards...

did james do the DJ set last night? afaik he is tonight anyway. if he was on last night how was it?

he is on tonite...not last nite...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭NunianVonFuch

Just got back from them now. They were class! 9-10.20. Place had a great vibe everyone seemed to be having such a good time that they were all smiling :) Most people were dancing and grooving to all the songs as well. They put on some performance and whoever the guitarist is (Al I think he called him) was brilliant! Really energetic. Leaping and thrashing his way through the songs.
    Didn't realize James was such a perfectionist either, tuning all the instruments sometimes even during the songs. Oh and down with Camden Hotel ;) Wonder which 3 of the band pulled last night :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Beans_On

Just got back from them now. They were class! 9-10.20. Place had a great vibe everyone seemed to be having such a good time that they were all smiling :) Most people were dancing and grooving to all the songs as well. They put on some performance and whoever the guitarist is (Al I think he called him) was brilliant! Really energetic. Leaping and thrashing his way through the songs.
    Didn't realize James was such a perfectionist either, tuning all the instruments sometimes even during the songs. Oh and down with Camden Hotel ;) Wonder which 3 of the band pulled last night :cool:

Great gig.The Guitarist is the dude out of Hot chip by the way.Giving it loads he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Saturday was IMMENSE!!

Best gig I've seen in a long time. All My Friends was stunning out of the newer stuff and of course, Tribulations brought the house down!

James was greeted onto the Crawdaddy stage a couple of hours later with a huge roar and the place was hopping. My mate interviewed him for Bodytonic (-music.com), should be up on the website soon if it's not already.

"GET YOUR PAYMENT FROM THE NATION...!!!"

great gig! I love bands like LCD who put on such a good show. Was slightly disappointed with the last song - bit of a downer for me but the set in Crawdaddy was GREAT after!!!! Come back soon LCD ss!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

I was off my face at it but from what I can remember the sound was dodgy, same as the clap your hands say yeah gig. My friends disagree with me. I had a good time though.

hallelujah wrote: »
    I was off my face at it but from what I can remember the sound was dodgy

me and the girlfriend were next to the sound booth and i commented on how good the sound was. vocals seemed to have an extra bit of gain added to it (so when james spoke it was virtually inaudible) but i know what he's singing anyway ;)

great gig. really enjoyed it, and then enjoyed myself even more at soulwax a week later :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

I was blown away too by these guys at their 1st picnic appearance a few years ago, big fan ever since. I love how they achieve the electro sound with the live show its a real good gig they do.

On an aside I was at Groove Armada last week in the Trip pod which was unceremoniously dumped from the far more interesting, and a large factor in deciding to go, IMMA venue.

They ended promptly and we were all herded out onto the street with immediate and uncomfptable effect as the venue had been booked out after for a NCAD halloween ball. Very shoddy treatemnt in the end after the venue change also.

Ragin I missed the LCD gig was not in country.