Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€10,000 Min Guaranteed. This Sunday 14th Oct. St.Josephs Hall, Boyle, Co.Roscommon.

• 10-10-2007 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.) FOUR OF A KIND POKER

2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.) CHARITY

3. Date and Location of event: SUNDAY 14TH OCT, ST. JOSEPHS HALL, BOYLE, CO.ROSCOMMON

4. Registration and Start time of event. REGISTRATION @3PM, STARTS @4PM

5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc) NO

6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.) LIMITED TO 200 PLAYERS. CAN PRE-BOOK OR BUY TICKET AT THE DOOR

7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.) TEXAS HOLD'EM TOURNAMENT
    1 REBUY OR TOP UP ALLOWED

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €100 ENTRY. 1 REBUY OR TOP-UP AT €100

9. Cost of registration: €20

10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: €10,000 Min GUARANTEED ON THE NIGHT. If there are more than 100 players the Roscommon board has promised to up the Prize pool accordingly.

11. Any guarenteed prize pool. YES

12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. 1 REBUY ALLOWED UP UNTIL END OF LEVEL 3. AFTER LEVEL 3 THERE WILL BE A 5 MIN BREAK FOLLOWED BY TOP-UPS FOR PLAYERS THAT HAVE NOT HAD TO REBUY.

13. Starting Chips: 10K

14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. 10K

15. Blind levels: 25/50, 50/100, 75/150(END OF REBUY PERIOD -TOP-UPS), 100/200, 150/300, 200/400, 300/600, 400/800, 500/100, 800/1500, 1000/2000, 1500/3000, 2000/4000, 3000/6000, 4000/8000, 5000/10000

16. Blind timeframes: 30 MINS UP UNTIL THE TOP-UP HAS ENDED, THEN 25 MINS THEREAFTER

17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc) 10% OF FIELD

18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill: DEALERS ON FINAL 2/3 TABLES. DEALERS HAVE GREAT EXPERIENCE.

19. Will there be a documented list of rules: YES

20. Is there a tournament director: YES

21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. TD

This is a fundraiser for Roscommon GAA in which we are running on their behalf.

I know a few commented on an earlier post that the above structure would be too long. We will introduce antes if needs be...depending on how many is playing and the pace of the tourney.

I've talked to alot of the regular players that will be playing in this and they are happy with the structure.

I know it might be an issue for those that may travel abit for the event, but I can provide a list and numbers of B+B's for anyone that needs them.

There will be a bar facility in the hall, along with hot food provided at the dinner break which we plan to have around 8pm

Cash games will also be provided throughout the duration of the event complete with dealer and chips(no cash allowed on table)

There will be €10,000 paid out on the night(Hopefully that will be a minimum if numbers are high enough). We can only promise that the structure will provide plenty of play and will not turn into a crap shoot as we will freeze the blinds as appropriate.

Any questions you can contact Carlo on 0868633592

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭express79

Alright Carlo

Any idea what type of numbers will turn up? Will there be many fish who will show up to support the cause but won't really know what they're at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

express79 wrote: »
    Alright Carlo

Any idea what type of numbers will turn up? Will there be many fish who will show up to support the cause but won't really know what they're at?

hey there. TBH I cant see the 100 mark been beating, simply because of the fact that the Roscommon Board did not advertise it as well as they should have. We got misleading information regarding the extent of the advertising campagne, which does'nt bother us as there will probably be less of a field to get through. I can't see any GAA fish turning up to support the cause personally, but I may be proved wrong. Alot of our regular weekly players are all playing. We've tried to make the structure as friendly as well could. As you can see, the rebuy only last for 3 (30 min) levels and then the blinds are only 100/200 so there's no pressure to top-up etc...

We've equipment for 200 players but as I said if we got anywhere near that I'd probably faint :)

bump

Through a bad advertising campaigne on behalf of Roscommon GAA, only 40 players turned up to play in this €10,000 guaranteed event. And 10k was indeed paid out in full on the night.

I don't think their was a better value tournament on around the west of Ireland yesterday :)

We decided to pay out the top ten, with first getting €4150.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Through a bad advertising campaigne on behalf of Roscommon GAA, only 40 players turned up to play in this €10,000 guaranteed event. And 10k was indeed paid out in full on the night.

I don't think their was a better value tournament on around the west of Ireland yesterday :)

We decided to pay out the top ten, with first getting €4150.

So how much did the Roscommon Co Board lose on this then, 40 players if they all rebought or topped up then total €8800 loss of at least €1200?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭express79

It was great to see an overlay at a tournament like this for a change. I'd say Roscommon GAA lost a good bit more then the 1200 the previous poster suggested as I know of a good few people who didn't top-up as they all had big stacks in relation to the blinds i.e. at least 120BB+ Couldn't believe Roscommon GAA would put up 10000 and then show damn all interest in promoting the event.

If ya get a chance Carlo ya might post up the results from the tourney

express79 wrote: »
    It was great to see an overlay at a tournament like this for a change. I'd say Roscommon GAA lost a good bit more then the 1200 the previous poster suggested as I know of a good few people who didn't top-up as they all had big stacks in relation to the blinds i.e. at least 120BB+ Couldn't believe Roscommon GAA would put up 10000 and then show damn all interest in promoting the event.

If ya get a chance Carlo ya might post up the results from the tourney

I can tell you that they lost in total €5000 for this event...between the bad advertising and the lack of players/rebuys on the day. It was a crazy value for money tourney when you think about it. Yes it's also true that not one "representative" of Roscommon GAA supported the event. The only one present was the tresurer who had a face like thunder when he saw the reality of what was going to happen.

I'd also like to point out to those who thought that it would be a crap shoot or a CPT job on the pot, that in no way,shape or form were we going to jeopardise our reputation by running a donkey of a tournament. We made sure that a) 10k was guaranteed to be paid out no matter what, b) if there were big numbers in attendance, that the prize pool would have been added to accordingly, and c) that at no stage would the tourney turn into a crap shoot.

I know a few people here on boards had their minds made up about this game weeks ago, that it was going to be another GAA scam. I can assure you that Roscommon GAA were under no assumptions that they were going to get their hands on a load of money. They shot themselves in the foot by not getting the advertising right and secondly not even rounding up a few people to travel to Boyle to support the event.

They are planning to hold another similar event in Roscommon Town after Christmas...I presume they will have learned from their mistakes.

Express79...are you the guy that got the bad beat on the final table with AA? I was dealing a cash game at the time and didn't get to record the results. We were initally asked by "player europe" magazine to cover the event for next months edition, but it was hardly worth the effort given the number of players that turned up.

Martin Downs came first...he was chip leader for most of the final table I heard. The guy in the red coat came 2nd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭pokeroptimist

WOW Carlo, cannot believe ye only got 40 runners for that tourney. I could'nt make it myself.

I'd say it was VALUE TOURNEY OF THE YEAR!!! Such muppets the Roscommon gaa are for not advertising it properly. Fair play to ye for sticking to your guns though. I know ye'd never let anyone ruin your rep.

was there a load of fish swimming around the bowl on sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭96offsuit

I played in this tournamnet myself on sunday. all i can say is the gaa crowd really shot themselves in the foot here. the lads as usuall put on a top class tournament even though it was a rebuy it was still a super structure that did'nt force you to rebuy or even top up. i was talking to carlo and david after i busted out in 21st place :( and they were really disappointed with the turnout. CPT were also in castlebar the same day so that didn't help. The fact is that no one in irealnd can compete with CPT. they also dont have a definite schedule of where/when they'll be next, which makes it very hard to another outfit to plan around them.

keep up the good work 4 of a kind. nothing ye could av done to prevent such a rotten turnout.

when's your next €100 freezeout by the way?