Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well Done Rory

• 08-10-2007 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭

McIlroy came third over the weekend and finished superbly.

People are starting to compare him with Woods but I think that's not fair yet.

I think he'll qualify for the next Ryder Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Indeed, great performance. Hopefully the pressure won't get to him too much. Grr just leave the lad alone and let him play golf. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

He did very well. Fair play to the lad... there's been many a young talent went pro and blown it. He looks as though he won't fall by the wayside though. Hopefully not anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

the most impressive thing was how he reacted to that 7 on 14. He birdied three of the last 4.

He's in the top ten of the ryder cup standings. Wouldn't surprise me at all if he stayed there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Scottty2Hottty

Hopefully he can fulfill his tremendous potential. But dont forget there have been 'superstars' before him who never quite managed to live up the reputation they had built for themselves. Its all about desire at that level aslong as he keeps focused and keeps chasing his goals he'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Golf Ninja

He is the only irish player in history that did not have to finish tour school

Amazing round of golf i was glued to it.

I think he will go to me a major champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Golf Ninja wrote:
    He is the only irish player in history that did not have to finish tour school

Could be wrong but I think Philip Walton qualified for the European Tour from sponsors' invitations when he turned pro in the 80's.

McIlroy looks the business though. It's hard not to compare him to a certain T Woods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

and very easy to back at 28/1 for the Madrid Open this weekend.

Poor field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

slumped wrote:
    and very easy to back at 28/1 for the Madrid Open this weekend.

Poor field.

Great price alright... although I haven't checked the early scoring so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

He shot a 73, +1. Tied 42nd. Solid round I suppose, just 1 bogey.
    Leader on -7. If he was 2/3 shots better he'd be well up there.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

he just went 4 birdies in a row on his 7-10 (he started on 9th) to go to 2 under.
    Still a ways off but some solid play, par 5 up next too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Great to see alright!
    Was watching him in the West of Ireland this year and now he's with the Big Boys!

Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

In the clubhouse with an excellent 68 - PP have him 20/1 BIR

his birdie put for 5 in a row on the 12s was only 4 feet and it didn't like the dark and came back out. He dropped a shot then a hole later when he flew the pin after a massive drive on the next, but finished with 2 birdies in the last 3 holes. (he started on the 10th) A bit far off the lead still at 7 shots back though. You never know.

He still seems a little erratic but can put great runs together, the guys on sky were stunned that he had a 4 footer for 5 birdies in a row. They thought that was at best something that happens to you every couple of years. Of course he did miss it so maybe they jinxed him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

copacetic wrote: »
    A bit far off the lead still at 7 shots back though. You never know.

Ah in fairness he made a lot of progress today. If he shot the same again tomorrow he'd be right in there. He's nearly in the top 10!

He actually moved well up the field but only made a 1 shot impact on the leader, so not really any closer to winning but hopefully a top ten or better.

i think his putting is too erratic for consistency.

he is capable of holing or missing everything from 6ft - he also seems to rush a lot.

fingers crossed though - 28/1 EW !

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Going very well today as well. -8 after 15 according to Aertel. Fantastic performance to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Only 4 behind now after the 3rd round. He's in with a chance especially considering theres nobody with a real pedigree contending.

He's actually made the final group too.

not so hot today for Rory, 1 over after missing a 2 footer to 3 putt from 10 feet on the 7th. Did will to roll in a 15 footer on the 8 to avoid 3 bogeys in a row, but 5 back now with only 10 holes left, he is leaking money badly today and drifting down the leader board. Good experience for him though I guess and a birdie chance on the 9th. Would be good to see him get back in top 3.

feckin hell he is all over the place! could have easily won this with a bit of a better day on the greens. another 3 putt from 10 foot on the 14th, following a bogey on the 13th and that after eagle-par-birdie. So I think that is 5 birdies an eagle and 5 bogeys today!
    Only 6 pars. Still tied 3rd though, but without those 5 bogeys he would be joint leader..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Finished in joint 4th on -11. A fantastic performance, although he his scoring per hole was interesting ;)

oh yeah, there is no doubt 4th is a great finish and unlucky to get knocked down a place on the last. I'm sure he will be kicking himself today after a 70 though. All great experience in the end and he is learning fast..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Yes he is a bit erratic still and needs to be more consistant - but a third and a fourth pace at 18 is still excellent.

Let's hope he goes on to win some big events next year.

he's won 250,000 in3 events - in top 100 in order of merit.

just needs to get into top 75 for volvo masters at end of year, and he is playing in victoria this weekend.

should get odds of 66/1 on him given the quality of field. another good e/w bet as Victoria benefits the big hitter and the rough is not too penal if off target.

If you can get 66/1 or better take it.

S