Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clerical Officer with An Garda Siochanna

• 08-10-2007 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

Is there anyone on here that is currenlty working as a clerical officer with An Garda Siochanna?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭goose06

I don't work as one but I know a couple, tend to be fairly cushy jobs but pay isn't the best at entry level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I used to do that; was a nice cushy number, interesting work a lot of the time processing statements etc for murder files! When things were quiet there was no hassle in slipping off for an extra coffee and watching rubbish daytime TV in the break room. (This was a District HQ, headed by a Superintendent - things might be different in a larger station.) Guards were grand to work with too. As previous poster said the money isn't the best starting off, but it beats call centers etc hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭nellyshark

How do you apply for such a job. Presemubly you would have to obtain Garda clearance lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

You would have to enter one of the clerical officer competitions on www.publicjobs.ie, but even then you might not be assigned to a Garda station on being successful (but it may be possible to transfer later).
    I don't think there is any CO competition at the moment but you can set up an account on public jobs and register for alerts when jobs you are interested in come up.
    Alternatively, keep an eye on the Fas jobs website, when a permanent CO goes sick/ maternity leave, Garda stations sometimes advertise for temps there, you could pick up some temporary work there (that's how I got it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Very cushy number. Remember a friend of the mother telling me about how the entire office was allowed to go on a sickie so they could man the polling station on election day (another cushy number!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I was thinking to myself how cushy this number would be and then I read all the posts above about how cushy it actually is...ah yes, I'd say trying to get a job like that without any insider contacts would be like landing a photographer job for Playboy with a disposable camera!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ah, our hardworking public servants :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭PeteK*

Are any qualifications needed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Clerical Officer is a grade within the Civil Service and not a rank within the guards. There are many Civil Servants working within the guards ranging in grades from CO, EO, HEO right up to APO.

AFAIK all you need is a pass LC then there's a written CO exam plus interview.

You can be fairly mobile within the public sector as a CO and transfer between government departments as positions arise.