Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The car crash that was Tubridy Tonight

• 06-10-2007 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭

Anyone else catch tonights show?? It was a nightmare for Tubridy from beginning to end.. Just when people were praising him for loosening up, he has a shocker..

To kick it all off he has David Guest as his first guest.. It was hard to fathom whether he was just high or a total nutball but he kicked off on subjects such as oral sex, herpes and albinos..

Next up were those champions of South Dublin "Dan and Becs" doing everything they could to reinforce the notion of the morons from D4, running around like Ross O'Carroll Kelly clones.. Even Ryan was having difficulty distinguishing them from their on screen personas..

To cap it all off, the quiz question he asked was who won the award for Best Actress in the Musical Chicago.. Answer was Renee Zellwegger which the first caller answered correctly but he then rephrased the question as who won best supporting actress. He told the first caller that her answer of Renee Zellwegger was correct then said OH NO sorry sorry its actually wrong and went to a second caller and awarded her the prize for the incorrect answer :eek:

All in all interesting viewing.. You couldnt help feeling sorry for him as mostly it was beyond his control..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭JohnnyStones

I have absolutely no sympathy for that man,the sooner that show gets cancelled the better.:mad: :mad:
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Watching David Guest was excruciating, and I was only glancing. The quiz thing was a bit of a joke alright.

David "the freak" Gest, and BB Baskin(whatever her name is)with guests like that your just asking for a bad show!:o :o:o

"garbage in garbage out" :cool: :cool:

Ryan "good face for radio" Tubirdy GET LOST :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,566 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

I saw a few minutes of the show, just after he'd finished with dan and becks and he went into the audience to do a quiz with a random person. Everybody in the audience won a tshirt

2 or 3 minutes of painful viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

eolhc wrote:
    2 or 3 minutes of painful viewing

Spare a thought for the audience

Conor108 wrote:
    Spare a thought for the audience

The people in the audience deserve all they get they are there by choice!!:cool: :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Yeah, it was very shít, tonight, which is a shame as I thought it was quite good last week. I know most people despise the man, but I presonally have no problem with him. I'd watch him over My. Kenny any day of the week, at least.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

shepthedog wrote:
    To cap it all off, the quiz question he asked was who won the award for Best Actress in the Musical Chicago.. Answer was Renee Zellwegger which the first caller answered correctly but he then asked the question as who won best supporting actress even though no one had been nominated in this category for Chicago. He told the first caller that her answer of Renee Zellwegger was correct then said OH NO sorry sorry its actually wrong and went to a second caller and awarded her the prize for the incorrect answer :eek:
    Huh? Zellweger was nominated for Best Actress in a Leading Role and lost - so he was correct and the viewer was indeed wrong!

Additionally, you're wrong about the Supporting Actress category - two people were nominated: Queen Latifah (who lost) and Catherine Zeta-Jones who won and who, I presume, was the answer given by the second contestant.

So maybe badly phrased originally, but certainly not wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

sorry my apologies but the question was asked incorrectly..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

shepthedog wrote:
    sorry my apologies but the question was asked incorrectly..
    Oh that I certainly believe by the sounds of it. Really shows how shoddy RTE chat shows can be. How much did we pay for him anyway? Cowboys, Ted!

Yeah, it was very shít, tonight, which is a shame as I thought it was quite good last week. I know most people despise the man, but I presonally have no problem with him. I'd watch him over My. Kenny any day of the week, at least.

that's depressing;where do they get these people to present these shows ?:confused: there has to be somebody with a bit of talent in RTE:eek: :eek: ,and don't get me started on Gerry "wants to be a lady" Ryan.

:cool: :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

I have absolutely no sympathy for that man,the sooner that show gets cancelled the better.:mad: :mad:

Not much chance of that, its beating the Late Late in the ratings the last few eps, best hope is if Tub moves onto late late!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 George Galloway

The people in the audience deserve all they get they are there by choice!!:cool: :cool:
    I'm confused. It's a sh*t show, hosted by a sh*t presenter - yet, you all still watch it, and complain when it's sh*t. Are you all just plain stupid or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I think I would have kept David Gest for the Halloween special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,428 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The first caller should raise a stink, if she answered the question as it was asked, then I would think she has a legal case that she's entitled to the prize.

Look at the mess TV companies in the UK got into with dodgy phone-in contests.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Agree, definitely a case for comreg or some agency like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

Not much chance of that, its beating the Late Late in the ratings the last few eps, best hope is if Tub moves onto late late!

What? Since when? The last Nielsons I saw said differently.

I'm confused. It's a sh*t show, hosted by a sh*t presenter - yet, you all still watch it, and complain when it's sh*t. Are you all just plain stupid or something?

I can't speek for the rest but YES I AM BUT JUST A LITTLE BIT:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Everytime that David Gest is interviewed, he acts the feckin eejit.
    I thought he'd NEVER stop name dropping :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

sorry but who the fcuk are "dan and becks" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,345 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Auvers wrote:
    sorry but who the fcuk are "dan and becks" :confused:
    Charachters in a TV show of the same name...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishash

cant agree with people saying that the first caller in the quiz would have a case for getting the prize or feeling hard done by.

the question asked, however badly and I cant remember exactly how it was asked, was basically who won a acting oscar for "chicago". The answer was Catherine Zeta Jones. Renee Zellwegger won an oscar for "Cold Mountain" a year or 2 afterwards. In this day and age, with the interweb and wik to help, i cant believe the first caller got the answer wrong.

Yes tubs was jumping the gun (prob because he expected the right answer the first time) but the fact remains that the caller got the answer WRONG. It would have been more embarresing for RTE had the mistake not been spotted. The RTE charter would have hamstrung them altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Anyone notice that David Gest painted his head black to make it look like he had a full head of hair?

eirebhoy wrote: »
    Anyone notice that David Gest painted his head black to make it look like he had a full head of hair?

He could paint his head pink and it wouldn't make a differance he's still a twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

Just checked the latest Nielsens, Late Late in second position with 533,000 viewers and Tubridy in 9th with 430,000. Not even close.

Wheels wrote: »
    Just checked the latest Nielsens, Late Late in second position with 533,000 viewers and Tubridy in 9th with 430,000. Not even close.

That's sad in every way you can imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

shepthedog wrote: »
    Anyone else catch tonights show?? It was a nightmare for Tubridy from beginning to end.. Just when people were praising him for loosening up, he has a shocker..

To kick it all off he has David Guest as his first guest.. It was hard to fathom whether he was just high or a total nutball but he kicked off on subjects such as oral sex, herpes and albinos..

Next up were those champions of South Dublin "Dan and Becs" doing everything they could to reinforce the notion of the morons from D4, running around like Ross O'Carroll Kelly clones.. Even Ryan was having difficulty distinguishing them from their on screen personas..

To cap it all off, the quiz question he asked was who won the award for Best Actress in the Musical Chicago.. Answer was Renee Zellwegger which the first caller answered correctly but he then rephrased the question as who won best supporting actress. He told the first caller that her answer of Renee Zellwegger was correct then said OH NO sorry sorry its actually wrong and went to a second caller and awarded her the prize for the incorrect answer :eek:

All in all interesting viewing.. You couldnt help feeling sorry for him as mostly it was beyond his control..

was larrissa nolan reading this there was an article on him messing up the question on the gossip page of the ****ty indo

sure it doesn't matter he tries to give the prize away anyway

He could paint his head pink and it wouldn't make a differance he's still a twat.

that would be more appropriate :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Oh the cringiness of it last Saturday night. I only put it on because the band Fight Like Apes were making an appearance (bizarrely enough).
    Anyway, the actress Gemma Craven (Father Ted, The Clinic) was on - she behaved like an absolute twat, trying to be all racy. Made an awful idiot of herself. Probably pissed.
    Then Marty ****ing Morrissey - oh the glamour... :rolleyes: Cringey jokes aplenty.
    Then Fight Like Apes after all this. They were fantastic! Audience wouldn't have known what to make of them I'd say. Although before they played, Ryan read out the title of their album, David Carradine is a Bounty Hunter Whose Robotic Arm Hates Your Crotch. A slight murmur from the audience - really not the place for it.