Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underworld last night

• 05-10-2007 11:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭

anyone go? opinions?
    Goin tnite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

It was amazing... That's really all I can say. You'll see for yourself, the show is tight as hell. Be warned, they started last night at 8:30 on the dot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

What time did the whole thing finish at?

The gig was over at about 10:45. The advertised support is actually next door in Crawdaddy. If you can help it, don't put anything into the cloakroom because the organisation for queueing was horrendous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Lodgepole wrote:
    It was amazing... That's really all I can say. You'll see for yourself, the show is tight as hell. Be warned, they started last night at 8:30 on the dot.

I arrived at 9.45 thinking they wouldn't be on until at least 10 or 11! I was so p*ssed off!!
    Tripod must have been so hungry for money that night they needed to have the student night ASWELL as the gig
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭aidz

i went to the thursday night gig.
    got there about 9.10, king of snake was just started.
    i was having a great time, but the show stopped at 10.45 :(

did they play much stuff before snake???

ended up next door after paying in again..stayed til about 1.30 where a few us went back to the flat and had tunes till near 6.... thought i could have gotten away with a sickie on friday but not to be...in work for 11 dying all day...

reflecting back, it was a pretty good gig, though very thin on time...2 months off was the highlight of the night

next time im due in tripod is in december for the laurent garnier gig..thankfully doors are 10.30 for it, so the show should be a late nighter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Lodgepole wrote:

That didn't surprise me at all. I work next door to Tripod and i saw the crew unload their stuff at about 10am that morning! God only knows what took place between then and the opening, that they were probably f*cked tired by the time 10pm came alone!

VR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Lodgepole wrote:
    The gig was over at about 10:45. The advertised support is actually next door in Crawdaddy.
    Nope, the gig in CrawDaddy was my Oxjam gig and because Underworld were playing next door in Tripod, the staff in CrawDaddy were virtually no help to us all night. Money-grabbing shower of b*stards.

djpbarry wrote:
    Nope, the gig in CrawDaddy was my Oxjam gig and because Underworld were playing next door in Tripod, the staff in CrawDaddy were virtually no help to us all night. Money-grabbing shower of b*stards.
    Wasn't the guy doing the Underworld retrospective (odd choice post Underworld gig...) advertised on ticketmaster as being support? Good times were had in Crawdaddy too though, so fair play, it was a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Lodgepole wrote:
    Wasn't the guy doing the Underworld retrospective (odd choice post Underworld gig...) advertised on ticketmaster as being support? Good times were had in Crawdaddy too though, so fair play, it was a good night.
    Ah, I believe you are referring to the post-Underworld gig party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

aidz wrote:
    i went to the thursday night gig.
    got there about 9.10, king of snake was just started.
    i was having a great time, but the show stopped at 10.45 :(

did they play much stuff before snake???

reflecting back, it was a pretty good gig, though very thin on time

Came on at 8.30 and finshed a little after 10.30 - so two hours which isn't a bad set for a Hyde (50) and Smith (48). I thought it was great in patches and only ok at other times. The newer, quieter more introspective stuff just doesn't give the same bang for your buck as Pearl's, King of snake, Juanita Kiteless, 2 months off etc. So, pretty good show except for the quiet bits, just wish they'd let those white yokes out into the crowd that would have been hysterical.

I guess they're both gettin on a bit - collective age of 98 and all....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 daithilocha

thought the crowd were brill, hate it as a venue, tosser staff, free for all at the cloak room, great gig, dyin for the album friday !!