Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Company medicals

• 04-10-2007 11:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry if this is in the wrong place, but im guessing this is where i will find the quickest answer.

I have had medicals before when starting new jobs, but im wondering do that search for drugs in the urine test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Quick answer: some do, some don't
    Didn't happen at my medical but some companies do check.

What company and what drugs are we talking about here?

Btw, if you need a quick answer I assume the test is tomorrow? If you have hash in you and they do test it will show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Of course they do Hash Boy. Smoking the reefer doesn't seem so cool and giggly now does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Hehe.

They dont check in our one. but i'd have nothing to worry about if they did. :D

...i'd actually love if they did. most of the Head wreckin Feckers in this place wouldnt be here if they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Pighead wrote:
    Of course they do Hash Boy. Smoking the reefer doesn't seem so cool and giggly now does it?
    Stop! You'll make him even more paranoid! ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭North&South

I would hope that they do - my hubby has had a couple of medicals for his interviews in Ireland - we're based in the UK & were only in the country for a week so the companies had him do the medicals to save going out again - anyways....

Both medicals that he had took urine samples & blood - lots of it :D (didn't know he had any!)

In some places that he has worked, there has been random drugs testing - let's just say that if you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to fear - just saying.

Anti
    Tech Junkie
    High on Tech again eh? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Something tells me that drug testing your urine without your advance consent or a court order is extremely illegal here; although they'd likely get suspicious if the doctor reported that you'd refused to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

biko wrote:

T.E.C.H= Tabs, Ecstacy, Cocaine, Heroin.
    The boy Anti's in deep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Where I work they take a urine sample but I'm not sure if they test it for drugs. Anyway, if you fail it (people sometimes do, because the jobs I recruit for have a lot of travel so you have to be fit for it) we don't get told the reason. We just get told you didn't pass it and you aren't fit for employment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Depends on the company I'd say if they would do a drug test but afaik they don't test for drugs via the urine sample in the medical.

Well, they didn't for mine anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

They ahve to inform you if they are testing you for drugs.

Have they told you they are testing for drugs

is this just a general medical surely this information is for you and not for the company you have to agree to allow them see the results or you have to be informed they will see the results prior to testing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

nope, its just a pre-employment medical. I have had a medical for a company before, with more then just some weed in my system. And nothing was said. So im hoping this one is the same. Afaik i thought the urine test was to check for enzymes(sp) for a ****ed liver/kidneys. And the rest was just for general health.

The urine test is usually to get a very quick view of wheter you're diabetic or not. If they've not told you they'll be drug testing, they won't be testing or you can be suing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

well i was tested for a previous job. I had been smoking hash 2 days before i was informed and the medical was 3 days from then.

doc passed on the medical and i got the job, even tho im sure they must have picked up on it.

Stress not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Board-in-work

A urine test? Are they taking the piss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭real_484

The rule of thumb I have been told by other people is to abstain from what ever you are taking for

1 week urine testing
    6 week blood
    hair can be longer, so the crew cut is the best bet if they go that far,

check out

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drug_Testing

Poppy seeds give the same results as cannabis in urine testing, so for a random test who knows what you ate?

but in reality I don't think many companies do any serious drug screening due to cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

MYOB wrote:
    The urine test is usually to get a very quick view of wheter you're diabetic or not. If they've not told you they'll be drug testing, they won't be testing or you can be suing ;)

sorry thats BS, they are not allowed to test 'urine for diabetic'...
    where the hell did you get this from ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

real_484 wrote:
    Poppy seeds give the same results as cannabis in urine testing, so for a random test who knows what you ate?
    It shows up as heroin/ opiates, which are made from poppies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

real_484 wrote:
    The rule of thumb I have been told by other people is to abstain from what ever you are taking for

1 week urine testing
    6 week blood
    hair can be longer, so the crew cut is the best bet if they go that far,

check out

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drug_Testing

but in reality I don't think many companies do any serious drug screening due to cost.

Emm no what has a poppy seed got to do with THC? Poppy seeds CAN leed to a positive Heroin result. Hair is a long one from the moment you smoke till that level of hair is removed also Acid Mushies Ect are supposed to stay inyour spine forever but i dont know if thats true.

Aparently if you have ever done mushies or a acid ect. you can never fly a comercial airliner because they test your spine before becomming a airline pilot.

Damn, and this is a interview for a airline piolet with ryan air :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I thought Ryanair let passengers take turns at flying the planes to reduce costs??

You can pass any drugs test by drinking loads of water before the test. There are limits for the chemicals they test for as your going to have certain amounts in your system. If you drink a load of water you dilute the amount of the chemical that shows up in your system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

Anti wrote:
    Damn, and this is a interview for a airline piolet with ryan air :(

nelson-haha.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

biko wrote:

No, you've got it wrong - he's Anti- Tech Junkies.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

They are mostly just checks to make sure that you have two arms and two legs and are not about to keel over after half a days work for any previous ones I've had. I'd expect that the number of prescription drugs in my system would suitably mask any non prescription ones that may have found their way in be some method that they'd be checking for in a standard medical. If it's a medical for something other than just a standard 9-5 though then they might be doing more extensive checks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Poco Loco

Rob_l wrote:
    They ahve to inform you if they are testing you for drugs.

Have they told you they are testing for drugs

is this just a general medical surely this information is for you and not for the company you have to agree to allow them see the results or you have to be informed they will see the results prior to testing

They do tell you - but only after they've taken the sample. Well that's how it worked the last company I was in. I gave a sample and the doctor said to me, after he took it off me, 'They're going to test this for drugs now, yknow. Are you worried about that? Really? Are you sure??' - thankfully I didn't have anything to worry about!

But I worked in HR in that company and I know for a fact of at least one guy who was due to start and they withdrew the offer as the test came up positive for hash....so good luck.

pre-employment medicals usually are always checked for drugs as its a grounds on whether or not they hire you

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I would have thought they'd have had to notify you if they wanted to do a drugs test. You hould ask this in the work/jobs forum, I've seen similar threads there before

A urine test? Are they taking the piss?

bah dum dum tish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

If you get stuck, Southwest Airlines will probably hire you. ;) Normally in the interview (with US companies anyway), you are told that a blood test and drug screening will be required. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Dont work for someone that forces you to take a drug test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

airline piolet? i'm pretty sure they gonna check for drugs...especially acid and magic mushrooms whcih they'll check with some sort of spinal fluid exam afaik...they dont want you having a 'freak out' mid flight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Andy-Pandy wrote:
    Dont work for someone that forces you to take a drug test.

that is the right idea

Wook wrote:
    sorry thats BS, they are not allowed to test 'urine for diabetic'...
    where the hell did you get this from ?!

Erm. Fact, that's where.

You can tell with some level of accuracy (not much) wheter someone is diabetic from a urine sample and a test strip. And its something that an employer is entitled to know before the hire you because of the risk of, oh, going in to a diabetic coma for instance.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

User45701 wrote:
    Aparently if you have ever done mushies or a acid ect. you can never fly a comercial airliner
    Well you can get flashbacks from LSD
    didn't know mushies did that too

just had the medical now, passed with flying colours. Though it seems i am going a bit blind. Coundlt read the bottom line. While i was there i asked the quack what the urine test was for. And he said " its only to check for diabetis, and a failing kidney and liver"

There was no drugs test at all, so im grand :)

Thanks for the responses lads, and ladies

MYOB wrote:
    Erm. Fact, that's where.

You can tell with some level of accuracy (not much) wheter someone is diabetic from a urine sample and a test strip.
    Indeed, this is how one test for diabetes.
    FYI, it's called diabetes mellitus for a reason. Mellitus means "like honey" because the urine is sweet tasting, because of the the excreted sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think some drugs are in order to celebrate! I'm not sure mushrooms are known for flashbacks I think it's a different drug involved.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

best of luck with the job anti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

good to hear, BTW what would you have done if he said the urine was to test for drugini? would you have thrown the contrainer in his face ands ran out of the building or just declined the exam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Anti wrote:
    passed with flying colours
    - That'll be the acid
    Anti wrote:
    i am going a bit blind
    - extra strength viagra
    Anti wrote:
    so im grand
    - hash
    Anti wrote:
    Thanks.... lads, and ladies
    - ecstacy

BTW Drug spot checks usually only start after they employ you.
    Get some glasses and check small print on your contract to see if it is mentioned.:eek:

BOL with job. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭SarahMc

Anti wrote:
    just had the medical now, passed with flying colours. Though it seems i am going a bit blind.

And you'll be a pilot... :eek:

BTW I was informed at a company medical I was pregnant, so they do a pregnancy test. I got the job.

Anti wrote:
    And he said " its only to check for diabetis, and a failing kidney and liver"

I'd forgotten about liver/kidneys test, there's some interesting proteins in it if the liver is going IIRC. Its all done on the spot, on site with simple test strips. Despite what whoever it was said about it not :rolleyes: