Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

trainee gardi, Pay!

• 03-10-2007 6:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭

do trainee gardi get paid while training??:confused:

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Moved from Politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Not if they can't spell Gardaí I suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

dkhill47 wrote:
    do trainee gardi get paid while training??:confused:

What's a gardi? Is that street-talk for gardener or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Lazy fecker aren't ya!

I typed "Garda pay scales" into google and got this.

And if it's not there, do your own damn search

http://www.gra.cc/salaryscales.shtml

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

They get paid **** all while training. Enough to survive but many have survived with it. Bottom line is don't expect it to pay off any loans, but it'll buy you a pint on a Saturday night :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

doesnt say on the site but IIRC trainee gets paid €170 while in Templemore for 6 months which then goes up to €350 until attestation at which point they move on to the scale on the GRA site

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Some will call this an opportunistic moment, which it is, but Student Officers here in the PSNI start on the equivalent of €34k (which includes special allowance) rising to €37.5k on attestation... just in case... y'know... yiz were wonderin' like...
    miju wrote:
    doesnt say on the site but IIRC trainee gets paid €170 while in Templemore for 6 months which then goes up to €350 until attestation at which point they move on to the scale on the GRA site

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I was at the recent Open Day in Templemore and we were told they are paid €190 a week - they must have got a rise -wooh....

Considering they have free board, free food, no fees, it's not 'that' bad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Yeah the student PSNI officers get all that too in Garnerville... :p
    spurious wrote:
    I was at the recent Open Day in Templemore and we were told they are paid €190 a week - they must have got a rise -wooh....

Considering they have free board, free food, no fees, it's not 'that' bad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

psni wrote:
    Yeah the student PSNI officers get all that too in Garnerville... :p

Yeah but they end up having to work in Northern Ireland.
    Swings and roundabouts.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭undecided

miju wrote:

how long on 350 do they noe go straight into station after templmore?

I'd rather stay here and police NI than Dublin any day. There have been more shootings in Dublin this year and last than there have been in the entire of Northern Ireland in the same period.

The swings and roundabouts in the case go both ways, all day long!
    spurious wrote:
    Yeah but they end up having to work in Northern Ireland.
    Swings and roundabouts.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

the money is crap. getting 180 a week minus the medical aid + any loans (that u will almost certainly get) + savings (with either of the credit unions) + statoil card. when i was there i was getting about 20 euro a week after deductions.

when ur in phase 2 u do get an additional 180 a week for rent allowance. even on attestation the money is still crap so OT is a must for most ppl. thank god for operation anvil is all i say.

would have loved to join the psni but the missus put her foot down there!!!