Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nightmare housemate

• 03-10-2007 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

For the last year and a half I've been sharing a house with a girl who had been living there four months previous to me. We were actually friends before I moved in. For the most part things we ok for the first year, they were tolerable anyway. She was always much messier than me and it had always bothered me, and she's told me a fair few lies too, the sort of lies that inconvenienced me a lot. Like the bin charges, she told me when I moved in that the bin charges were included in the rent. That was a pack of lies as I discovered when letters from the council started flying through the door informing me that we owed 1500 in unpaid bin charges! Also, the house was freezing cold when I first moved in and I was paying a fortune on firelogs and coal to keep the fire going every evening as there's only storage heating which she'd informed me was not working. She never put her hand in her pocket for the fuel but I didnt mind about that as she was making less money than me and I didnt want to be mean about it. Well, I'd been living there a full year when my bf plugged the heating in and lo and behold, the bloody heating came on! There was never any problem with the heating, she's just so bleedin tight she'd rather sit there shivering than pay an extra few bob on the electricity bill!!! (and of course have me sitting there shivering beside her!) When the heating came on and I spoke to her about it she just mumbled "Oh it's just that it's so expensive" with her eyes darting left and right obviously mortified she'd been caught rapid!

I knew she had problems with the previous girl she'd lived with but I was under the impression (from everything she'd told me) that that girl had been a total wagon, but now I can see exactly the problems she had with that girl are all manifesting themselves with me! She's nearly 30 years of age so as a grown woman I cannot understand why in hell she behaves like a sloppy teenager. She NEVER washes the bath out after she uses it or does her dishes without leaving them sitting for days in the sink. She'll pile up tons of washing on the sofa and leave it there for me to look at when I get home late and tired from work. I couldnt count the times I've brought people home and been mortified and ashamed by the mess she's left for all to see. In the 18 months I'm living in that house she hasnt washed the floor once! Basically, she behaves like a degenerate and things have REALLY broken down over the last two weeks.

To try to condense this story (because I could go on about it all day) her bf is moving to dublin soon and she has obviously decided that she wants him living with her because she has informed me that she wants me to move out!!! We neither of us have a lease, I dont think our landlady is registered, and I just cant see any way out of this situation without leaving my home, which I'm not prepared to do because the rent is cheap and the location is convenient for my work. She obviously thinks she has first dibs on the house since she's been living there a few months longer than me, and she's in for a surprise on that score. Living with her has honestly become intolerable now, we've had words so many times about her messy behaviour it finally came to a head about two weeks ago when she flipped and told me she'll leave her mess wherever she likes! She has actually today informed me she "has someone moving in the end of November"!!!!! What should I do???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Knockoff Nige

Tell the landlady?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Unless she's the landlord or the leaseholder she can't tell you to leave as far as I know. So say no thanks your happy here and if she wants she can move out ..

why you'd want to continue living with her is beyond me though...cheap rent or not she's a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

As muppetkiller says, unless she's the leaseholder she can't ask you to leave. If she is though, you've no choice in the matter.

Cheap rent or no, living with flatmates that behave like that just isn't worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

You could find out who the landlord is and inform her/him that the place is a kip..and maybe the landlord will pop by and suggest regular inspections to keep your chum on her toes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Aoife9

Jaysus run for the hills (or a new flat) if it's bad now what will it be like when the bf moves in?? Imagine living with 2 slobs and the atmosphere will be really awful. Your flat/house is supposed to be your sanctuary I think you'd be mad to stay start looking for somewhere else now but don't let her know if you are moving or not till you get something. I do feel sorry for you there is nothing worse than feeling uncomfortable in your own home. (been there done that) take it from me it won't get any better. Leave her to live in her own crap;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Having a housemate that does nothing is a real pain in the arse. All you can do is sit them down and talk to them that you are fed up with doing everything around the house. Tell her it has to change or you will contact the landlady. And if she leaves washing on the sofa again, just dump it outside her room, same with the plates. You start washing what you use, and leave her **** there.

I know the rent is cheap, and location is great. But is it worth living with what sounds to be a manky bítch ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Saving a few quid on rent is not worth the stress of living with someone like that.

If you're doing ok then move out - you will save yourself so much hassle in the longterm.

Which would you prefer? Saving a few quid or having a happy home life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks for the support lads! Actually what I'd been hoping was that she'd move out herself but that doesn't seem to feature anywhere in her plans and I dont want to be ran out of my own home. She's not the homeowner, she's a tenant just like myself but seems to think because she's been living there a few months longer than me that gives her the right to boot me out because I have expressed my displeasure with living in her filth.

I wish she'd just go and she's told me to move out so we're both in the same boat in that neither of us can stand the sight of the other but neither of us intend to be the one to leave!

It's gas you'd suggest that Anti cause that's exactly what I did, that business with the plates! That's one of the things that brought this to a head in the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Move out!
    Are you insane?
    You have no obligation to leave, but why would you want to live with...
    a) someone you don't like
    b) a complete kip
    c) a sour athmosphere

Honestly, is it your pride? or some petty point of principle??
    She's trying to push you out now, what do you think the athmosphere is going to be like when her boyfriend moves in and it you vs them? Granted she's being a complete weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Move out. She sounds like a whacko. Life's too short for that kind of crap.

There is no good reason to stay there other than pride.

Move into a nice place with normal people and, even if it costs a little more, you will see then how weird this whole situation is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

She's not the homeowner, she's a tenant just like myself but seems to think because she's been living there a few months longer than me that gives her the right to boot me out.
    As said before, if she's the leaseholder it does.

If neither of you have a lease, go to the landlord/lady, explain your position and enquire about getting a lease on the place yourself. Then you're in the position of power and can ask her to leave, length of tennancy be damned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Zulu wrote:
    Move out!
    Are you insane?
    You have no obligation to leave, but why would you want to live with...
    a) someone you don't like
    b) a complete kip
    c) a sour athmosphere

Honestly, is it your pride? or some petty point of principle??
    She's trying to push you out now, what do you think the athmosphere is going to be like when her boyfriend moves in and it you vs them? Granted she's being a complete weapon.

I just quoted this so you'd read it again. Life's too short - what are you trying to prove? Either learn to put up with it, or move out.

Seems to me you've made this a point of principle and aren't going to leave. So, instead of cutting your noise off to spite your face, I'd recommend the following...
    Leave asap, stuffing her with both her rent and yours for as long as possible. Also take the ends off some of the curtain poles (prefferably the all the bedrooms and the sitting room) stuff the inside with fish, and stick the ends back on.
    Now you can leave whilst keeping your stubborn ego happy in the knowledge that the house will STINK for a couple of months and she'll never find the source of the smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

That would be criminal damage afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭Mazeire

I'd leave but before i went i'd get on to threshold and get them to send her a nasty letter and get them to CC your landlady on it. So that way she is left in a jock with your landlady after you go. Revenge is sweet and all that....

Thats what i hate about rented accommodation. The people who live there before you always seem to think that they have more claim on the place then you do. I'm back out there trying to rent again after 3 years away from it and it's proving to be a scary experience. I think i'm going to go for a studio. Theres just too many freaks out there.

DesF wrote:
    That would be criminal damage afaik.
    Well unless she broke the curtain rails I doubt it. :rolleyes:

Zulu wrote:
    Seems to me you've made this a point of principle and aren't going to leave. So, instead of cutting your noise off to spite your face, I'd recommend the following...
    Leave asap, stuffing her with both her rent and yours for as long as possible. Also take the ends off some of the curtain poles (prefferably the all the bedrooms and the sitting room) stuff the inside with fish, and stick the ends back on.
    Now you can leave whilst keeping your stubborn ego happy in the knowledge that the house will STINK for a couple of months and she'll never find the source of the smell.

As tempting and all as this is :D bear in mind that to get a new place you need a previous landlord reference which you wont get if you leave that house stinking of kippers. Plus this would annoy your flatmate sure but the only person it would really inconvenience/anger is your landlady who, from what i can gather seems a bit dozy but isn't the worse in the world. Also you'll make yourself look like malicious nut job and your flatmate like poor little miss victim who got done over. Don't do it man.

...ah the smell would go after a month or two!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

If your going to stay put a lock on your door to stop any future trouble.

TBH, get onto your land lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

Unless you can convince the landlord to evict her, move out. It's just not worth the hassle. Been there, done that!!! It's such a relief when you move out, you won't realise it until you've done it. To quote others - "life is too short"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

She sounds like a right dirt bag. I dont agree with everyone saying you should leave- at the end of the day SHES the one who wants to alter HER living situation by moving her bloke in (what a lucky guy he is...) Tell her your happy enough with your living situation (not conditions) and if she wants to live with her boyfriend then she should look into moving somewhere else.

I think you should stand your ground and get her to leave. No way would I let someone run me out of my own home, especially when shes the problem. I cant believe you have been so tolerant - I would have snapped long ago, and out of principle theres noway I would leave and let her win. She sounds like a bully to me, lying and taking advantage of the fact that she is there longer, If you leave she gets what she wants. Im sure if you look into tennants rights you should find some info about youre entitlements.

If you do eventually leave tho I think the kippers idea is a good one lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭blah

I don't think there's any need for rotten fish, I'm sure she can stink up the place all by herself! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

Move out and move on.

Why waste your life dwelling on someone who sounds like a total waste of space? It's not worth it. You can bet she's not wasting time dwelling on her issues with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm thinking there is no boyfriend, that she knows you don't quiver no more to her roar, so she wants fresh meat to bully.