Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

friend

• 29-09-2007 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

a few weeks ago i went to a big town (not naming it) with 2 friends (wel atleast itink they are), but friend 1 has his girlfriend living in the town, so he wants to head up to it. apparently she lives up in a big skangers estate with a load of knackers living there. we meet up with a few of there friends.

they want to go to the supervalu right beside it. right-o then no problem. walking on the way out we come across a fella with a dozen eggs a friend 1 said something to him. he was about 13 or 14 and we're 16. we didnt get a good vibe from the place, it seemed trouble.

walking back the girls went to get another one of there friends while we wait at the gate. the guy wth the eggs and his brother walked back giving us dirty looks, with me and friend 2 passing no remarks, friend 1 smerks and looks at them as to make trouble. i was not happy with his attitude. we walked up waiting for the girls. all of a sudden 20 14/15 year old walk out with bottles, baseball bats and sticks. friend 1 rings the girls inside explaining what was happening. they walk out, but the only way out of the estate was in there way so we had to walk past them.

What had to be done had to be done, myself and friend 2 hoping nothing happens. as we walk past the corner were these lads were standing, the biggest lad there shouts "hey you blondy ******" which could have been me or friend 2. he runs at use with a bat hitting me in the left shoulder blade 3 times as friend 1 runs away and sitting on the wall (i couldnt believe it!). were as friend 2 sticks out his hand and trys to stop me getting hit. now he gets involved and he gets alot worse then me, as i tryed to come in and a car comes in before me and the 20 boys run away.

we walk out safely, but I have a broken shoulder (unable to play football for a while and friend 2 with cracked ribs and bruised arms. but the reason I started this thread is because of friend 1, the fact he got us in the fight and did nothing about it pisses me off! and a good friend how lives close to me said he told him he took them on himself and it was friend 2s fault for starting it. He also told him about me hanging around him as friend 1 says "its brilliant having me around, because i pay for everything, blah blah blah..."

i don't like this way of carry on. lying making himself look better! at my and friend 2s expence, treating us like crap and basicly insulting us! but i try to avoid him now keep him out of my life. but he always goes around with me. i want to tell him to **** off but i dont want to fight with him as he tends to do the when stuff like this happen. he then alway follows you just to get in your way and to start on you. i dont know how to handle this... and if it goes wrong it would end up being bad karma.

please help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

He (friend 1) is not a friend. It sounds like he gets off on trouble but is smart enough to keep himself out of the worst of it. A bit like the way drug barons don't take drugs themselves. Ignore him (easier said than done I know). Don't pay him any attention beyond a quick (and polite) acknowledgement when you bump into him and try and spend more time with other people instead. Hanging around with him will surely lead to more fights and you really don't want to get a bad name for yourself. You'll be loking for jobs in the future and people won't want to employ a scumbag but they will want to employ the nice guy who minds his own business and plays his football.

Did you and friend 2 or anyone else tell the guards there was a serious fight in which people got injured? That particular estate could do with some serious watching before those young fellas get any older or worse.

I sound so old here :eek: , I'm not really! :D Look after yourself OP. Hope that shoulder heals properly for you without too much trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Do keep away from this person op, there's always one person who likes the drama of a fight, but doesn't get involved themself.
    As Dame said be polite, but keep your distance....you don't need people like that in your life.
    I really hope you heal up well...let this be an experience that teaches you who deserves to be in your life and who doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I was going to defend friend 1 until I saw the last paragraph. The bravest person in the world can freeze with fear in certain situations so I wouldn't automatically put someone down for running from a fight.

But since it was partly his fault, no way should he have left you and friend 2 to cover for him.

Tbh friend 1 sounds a future scumbag, all talk and no action. As above, you'd want to start disassociated yourself from people like that.
    At 16 you'll be doing your Leaving Cert soon and a reputation for fighting, even if it's for defending friend 1 will do you no good.

Broken shoulder, ouch!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 meniscus

that's Leixlip!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

meniscus Please read the charted and confine yourself to posting helpful comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

eamoss consider yourself warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'
    dame wrote:
    Did you and friend 2 or anyone else tell the guards there was a serious fight in which people got injured? That particular estate could do with some serious watching before those young fellas get any older or worse.
    we did actually, but the ban guarda seemed to do nothing about it. she took our details, she said she seen us walking up and seen nothing. myself and friend 2 decided to say nothing about what happened but friend 1 called it "assalt" :rolleyes:

thanks for the advise everyone. keep it up.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'
    micmclo wrote:
    But since it was partly his fault, no way should he have left you and friend 2 to cover for him.

Tbh friend 1 sounds a future scumbag, all talk and no action. As above, you'd want to start disassociated yourself from people like that.
    At 16 you'll be doing your Leaving Cert soon and a reputation for fighting, even if it's for defending friend 1 will do you no good.
    as a matter of fact it was all his fault, he said something to the young chap therefore he started it. and we didnt defend him, in all fairness i and friend 2 would have ran if we had the chance. but he started on me so i couldnt get away with him hitting me with his bat and breaking my good shoulder, and out of goodness friend 2 blocked more shot aimed at me. the boy started swinging the bat at him (nor was friend 2 fighting), i was startled and i looked over at friend 1 hoping up on to a wall and sat. i got out of my daze and tryed to help friend 2 but a car came before me.

We did not try to defend friend 1 because they thought it was me or friend 2 that started, we tryed to defend ourselfs - not fight.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

The only thing I can say is what everybody else said! But what is he like to other people?