Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long for delivery?

• 29-09-2007 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭

I rang up someone about a package im due to recieve, the person said she sent it wednesday 10 days ago. The box is probly the size of an average tv.
    It is coming from scotland to kilkenny. How long should it have taken?
    cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

What kind of delivery method did he use? An Post or a courier (Fed Ex, DHL, etc)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Some of my sisters stuff coming from the states was held up in customs. They're really cracking down on people doing internet shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Nightwish wrote:
    Some of my sisters stuff coming from the states was held up in customs. They're really cracking down on people doing internet shopping.
    Yup I had to pay €40 before on customs. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Not the states, scotland is just over the irish sea.
    I don't know what kind of delivey it was. I say it was probably standard post, so whats the verdict?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Stuff from play.com (which is in Jersey) gets stopped by customs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,565 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

would be surprised if its slower than two weeks. ie 10 working days

eolhc wrote:
    would be surprised if its slower than two weeks. ie 10 working days
    So your saying i should have got it by now?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Working days does not include Saturdays and Sundays and holidays. So in this case ten working days is 14 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Mail enquiries
    01 7057600
    customer.services@anpost.ie

Customer Services
    An Post
    Ground Floor
    GPO
    Freepost
    Dublin 1

Mon - Fri 9am - 5.30pm

Im not ringing anyone, i just simply want to know how long roughly should it take from scotland if it was sent on wednesday the 19th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

just for reference:

customs tax/duty is NOT liable on anything coming from an E.U country to another E.U. country.

play.com is based in Jersey, Jersey is not part of the E.U so packages are liable for custom tax/duty.

customs is not the reason why this package is being held up if it is at all.

Yeah i knew that, but how long do you think it should take from scotland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

10 working days or 2 weeks roughly.

Anto McC wrote:
    14th post later, got the answer. Cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

3-5 days, regular post, maximum.

Anto McC wrote:
    It's only coming from Scotland not China!
    To be fair, it'll take 1-2 days to get into the Republic. I have no idea what your cowboys do with it after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

aren't the royal mail having totally random postal strikes as of late though?

I sent over a postal order on a monday and they got it that friday, that was an envolope, im expecting something the size of a 30" tv roughly?

Plug wrote:
    I sent over a postal order on a monday and they got it that friday, that was an envolope, im expecting something the size of a 30" tv roughly?
    5 days for an envelope?! When I send a letter, first class from the North, it arrives the next day in England. God only knows what the shower of useless feckers in An Post are doing. I have never trusted them, and never will.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Plug wrote:

You obviously didn't see post number 7. Oh wait you did.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=54106626&postcount=7

You obviously didn't see post number 7. Oh wait you did.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=54106626&postcount=7
    Now smart arse:p

Im just sticking to 10 working days now and hope it will come monday or tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Oriel wrote:
    It's only coming from Scotland not China!

Yes but it's a huge package not a letter. I'n my experience, 10 working days is an accurate estimate, if he recieves it in less than that, it's a bonus.

hi mate sorry for the delay in sending the car the wife sent it out last week and it got returned to me on friday as i wrote down the wrong address so i have corrected the address and the wife will send it out to you on monday many appoliges.

Now thats pissed me right off! But at least i know it will come:)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

9.5 months?;)

Do you do stand up?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Plug wrote:
    Plug wrote:
    Do you do stand up?:D :rolleyes:
    Plug wrote:
    Now smart arse :p
    Pot / kettle, tbh.

And B!ue's arse is MUCH smarter than yours! ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

And B!ue's arse is MUCH smarter than yours! ;)
    Firm and shapely too after daily workouts! Ha!

Here, you! I was just heading to bed, stop putting bad thoughts in my head!! >_>

Hi Randy! How long for delivery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

well you dont even need to know, he's always a bit pre-mature in coming.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

5 working days max

I was never one for rushing ... doing a good job is far more important! <_<

LOL ... 3 simultaneous posts on the one (fairly silly at this stage) thread at 4.31 a.m. :D

And CM, that's called transference, dude! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I was never one for rushing ... doing a good job is far more important! <_<

I here that Renegade! Stay until the job is properly done!

Duggy747 wrote:

I here that Renegade! Stay until the job is properly done!

And if you're not totally satisfied, do it over! :cool:

If at first ye don't succeed... call Pfizer :rolleyes:

Editing again? :p

And who said anything about not succeeding?

The appropriate aphorism would be "Practice makes perfect!" :p

Gekko wrote:
    5 working days max
    Its a big box, the size of a 32" tv, it took that long for me to post a letter over to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

maybe this is why my stuff from dealextreme has not yet arrived :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Plug wrote:
    Its a big box, the size of a 32" tv, it took that long for me to post a letter over to them.
    Is there a 32" tv inside the box?

Terry wrote:
    Is there a 32" tv inside the box?
    Just go down the page a bit its a model car, I say it will weigh about 10kg in total, if it is heavier I pursume it will take longer to arrive in the post?:confused:
    http://www.maxbashing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110493

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Nice.
    Does it run on petrol?

It runs on fuel but not petrol, its nitro fuel it burns 6 times faster than petrol and is used in real drag cars. I had one that went 80mph and have one that goes 50mph. They will out accelerate any production full size ferrari:cool:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

why would the weight make a difference? It's not like pigeons are dragging it along on their backs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

I'd say 3-4 working weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Oriel wrote:
    5 days for an envelope?! When I send a letter, first class from the North, it arrives the next day in England. God only knows what the shower of useless feckers in An Post are doing. I have never trusted them, and never will.

Generally the main delay is Royal Mail getting it TO An Post, nothing else :rolleyes:

This is why Amazon now container freight Irish orders to Ireland to dispatch, and so on. If someone sends something SignedFor by Royal Mail you can usually see exactly how long it takes to get in to the An Post system versus how long An Post take to get it to you.