Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus Gets Shot At

• 28-09-2007 4:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭

just to let you all now a bus got shot at in edenmore today
    and it just missed the driver i was told it has happend 2 or 3 times now
    so were going to get more bad press

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Bus was shot at with what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

Im guessing an airsoft gun of some sort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭H.O.T.A.S.

I'd love to catch the little toe rags doing that. FFS making us all look bad :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

If it just missed the driver I assume it went through a glass window and couldn't have been anything airsoft related?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 |I.R|PaddyPower

Suprised its taken this long to happen after the Garda was shot they need a good story to sell more papers the bus driver is lucky in edenmore they normally fire stones at the buses now dont get me wrong its not ok to shoot an aeg at anyone but me I think aeg vs a 2kg stone ill the the aeg hit lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

o1s1n wrote:
    If it just missed the driver I assume it went through a glass window and couldn't have been anything airsoft related?

Maybe they fired it in the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Hang on asec lads ... lets not jump to conclusions here.

With what was the bus fired upon exactly? Until it's confirmed as being an airsoft device, lets not get up in arms over this (well, overly so ... yes a bus driver being attacked is a sh*te state of affairs regardless, but what doe sthis have to do with airsoft yet?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

B0X wrote:
    Maybe they fired it in the door?

aye if it was fired inside the bus, or while the door/window was open it could have happened this way. or the hysteria around it caused bad reporting.

either way, if it is an airsoft/paintball gun used, then we'll end up with a situation where someone will have to go out to the press and make sure the media and public know that those actively part-taking in the sport are responsible people... not clowns. otherwise you could easily see a countrywide ban

As i said I live very close to edenmore its more likely a stone or in their case a paveing stone something that hurts they do not throw stones to miss up there they mean buisness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Tell me about it, Edenmore AKA bandit country :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

I say it could be a kid with a catapult they can easily smash windows..dont think a airsoft gun could smash it unless your where standing near it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

~Marky~ wrote:
    I say it could be a kid with a catapult they can easily smash windows..dont think a airsoft gun could smash it unless your where standing near it.

A legal one cant although Air guns can hence needing a firearms license. But as was said we dont actually know if it was an Aeg or a Gas pistol so not really much to say about it:P

A 450-550 fps Boltaction could get through a window at 20-30 feet. Chances are though it was a Airgun not an Airsoft.

Master of the Universe

Fiach Dubh wrote:
    Chances are though it was a Airgun not an Airsoft.

Or a real pistol, or a rock, or a slingshot...or a feckin stale club sandwich. Until there's more information given by the OP or some news article, there's really no point speculating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

^Unlikley it would go through
    bus window, I'd imagine there fairly tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

liamo333 wrote:
    ^Unlikley it would go through
    bus window, I'd imagine there fairly tough.

Bus front windows are a) thick and b) curved, which would give them an extra resistance to BBs or other perfectly rounded objects, within reason of course.

It's most likely a catapult, air gun or a pellet gun was used.

It may do, not saying it would for sure. An AEG firing 370 fps will leave a big crack in a window. I doubt it would go through the windscreen but the side windows on buses aren't as tuff.

You're right Oisin, speculation is pointless. /slaps own wrist

Not so sure Lemming that stale club sambo sure looks mean and menising at 20-30 foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

JOHN MC wrote:
    just to let you all now a bus got shot at in edenmore today
    and it just missed the driver i was told it has happend 2 or 3 times now
    so were going to get more bad press
    How exactly did you find this out? Source? Other info? Dont just post potential rubbish like this, its such an "Evening Herald" method of reporting. Think of the guests browsing this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Lemming wrote:
    Hang on asec lads ... lets not jump to conclusions here.

With what was the bus fired upon exactly? Until it's confirmed as being an airsoft device, lets not get up in arms over this (well, overly so ... yes a bus driver being attacked is a sh*te state of affairs regardless, but what doe sthis have to do with airsoft yet?)

Exactly. What was shot at the bus driver? From every bus I have seen recently you have windows and a plastic cover on the inside. A airgun could crack glass, but those things are the equivalent of a .22 . Not a airsoft rifle.

Master of the Universe

No offense to JOHN MC, but I'm going to close this thread. If it wasn't an airsoft, (Which it may not have been, we just don't know) there's no point in associating it with the event through speculation.

If anyone finds any more information and wants the thread reopened, send me a PM.