Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Johnny Moy...

• 28-09-2007 2:50pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone remember he had an album out a good new years ago called "Decks, Effects and a whole Lotta Love..."
    I used to have it a while ago but lost the CD. Just remembered it and would love to hear it again... Anyone have it?

Is Johnny Moy still around even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭electro.ie

Yeah I have that somewhere, It was with the Redsettaz, I'll dig it out for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Zascar wrote:
    Yeah he's still around alright. He played at that festival that shant be spoken about around these parts a couple of years back. I actually thought it was quite funny/odd that he finished his set by playing "Drop The Pressure" by Mylo just before Mylo came on to play a live/dj set.

He's actually managing a Dublin band at the moment called Mainline. Seen them live in Tripod a while back, quite good actually. Very like Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. Apparently tipped for big things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Yeah, I also think he's Arveene's manager isnt he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I remember Moy made some tune the name escapes me and there was a video with it of him running up and down some stairs on that street near Tripod i cant think of the name of it,what's the name of that tune again does anyone know?

Possibly it's this i stand corrected on that

http://www.discogs.com/release/80717

jonny68 wrote:

I think that Squirt track used to get played a lot on MTV back in the day, back in the day that it used to play music videos that is!!

BaZmO* wrote:
    I think that Squirt track used to get played a lot on MTV back in the day, back in the day that it used to play music videos that is!!

yeah i remember that alright on the party zone or chill out zone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

jonny68 wrote:

No need for correction, he did that track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

BaZmO* wrote:

was in london last month buying tunes and came across aload of copies of squirt + another one on red records

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I liked that Squirt tune back then, anyone got it on mp3 to upload? Love to hear it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Weird Scientist

Zascar wrote:
    Does anyone remember he had an album out a good new years ago called "Decks, Effects and a whole Lotta Love..."
    I used to have it a while ago but lost the CD. Just remembered it and would love to hear it again... Anyone have it?

hey I'm new to this forum I run nights in Voodoo under the Weird Scientist and the next one has Johnny Moy headlining with support from Produse, Jay Nyquist and Tony Lawless on the 2nd November.
    Check out www.myspace.com/theweirdscientist

He currently manages Arveene and that band Mainline and has been playing abroad a lot. think he's gonna start playing locally a bit more now though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

what kinda music does he play?he plays hip hop and stuff like does'nt he?

hell no!!
    no hip hop, generally house electro stuff, been a while but...

hell no!!
    no hip hop, generally house electro stuff, been a while but...

He used to do a great build with hip hop/trip hop back in the day before he kicked in :) I always remember Green Velvet - Flash was like a call to the dance floor, if the Dust Brothers remix of Primal Scream-Jailbird hadn't already got you there.

Felixdhc wrote: »
    He used to do a great build with hip hop/trip hop back in the day before he kicked in :) I always remember Green Velvet - Flash was like a call to the dance floor, if the Dust Brothers remix of Primal Scream-Jailbird hadn't already got you there.

find out this friday..........

Hey all.

This friday sees Johnny Moy join the list of class acts that have made the Weird Scientist the best up and coming club night in Dublin at the moment.
    (I'm not going to bother writing up Johnny as if you dont know who he is you wont be into the sorta nights we run ;-))
    (www.myspace.com/funboymoy)

As always the distinctive surroundings of the Voodoo Lounge will contribute to the unique electric atmosphere always present at the Weird Scientist events.

The night kicks off at eleven with the Sublime DJ's Tony Lawless and Jay Nyquist doing what they do best at full throtle. After savage summer sessions in the Tivoli and Life festival we're very lucky to have the lads kick start the night.
    (www.myspace.com/tonylawless)
    (www.myspace.com/jaynyquist)

After the Sublime boys we have a local Dublin band that if your not familiar with you need to sort it out because these lads are on the up and up and its only a matter of time before we're all queueing up to spend big bucks to see them. Promoting their brand new E.P.: Copy, Paste, Delete we are delighted to have Produse playing their own brand of electronica completely live.
    (www.myspace.com/produse)

Visuals on the night will be supplied by Mar Q and admission is only e12/e7 for students.

So hope to see you all down there this Friday in Voodoo and at all our future events as well. (Dec 15th sees Hystereo headline with support from Simon F and Jonathon Woods)

And if your a MySpacer you can add us as a friend or just see photo's and news on gigs at www.myspace.com/theweirdscientist.

All the best,

the Weird Scientist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I would just like to state anyone who hasn't seen moy live you have not lived!

that's all

ntlbell wrote: »
    I would just like to state anyone who hasn't seen moy live you have not lived!

that's all

Was talking to him last night and he's gonna keep it fairly heavy/bangin playing after Produse. He's using 2 x cdj's and 2 x 1210's as well as some outboard gear so should be special.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I remember the days when he used to play the redbox and warm up for other DJ's - totally had the place cranking on his own before 12:00. He played for Darren Emerson years ago, one my the most memorable nights...

So, does anyone have the Decks Effects and a whole lotta love album?

Zascar wrote: »
    I remember the days when he used to play the redbox and warm up for other DJ's - totally had the place cranking on his own before 12:00. He played for Darren Emerson years ago, one my the most memorable nights...

So, does anyone have the Decks Effects and a whole lotta love album?
    Dont gots the album.

Any of y'all plannin on coming in tonight???

Have that mix album alright, pretty good, forgot about it actually!

So, was it a good night?

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Have that mix album alright, pretty good, forgot about it actually!

So, was it a good night?

Yeah the night was pretty good.
    Not a bad crowd either considering Halloween and the bank holiday.

Moy was on form with a nice mix of new and old but the two acts before stole the show. Produse and the Sublime dj's(Tony Lawless and Jay Nyquist) were ****in unreal. Have used them before for other Weird Scientist nights and they always go off with a bang. Ones to watch.

Next one is Saturday Dec 15th with Jonathon Woods and Simon F supporting Hystereo so should be a good Christmas Stomper.
    Oh and Felix if u feel like gettin dirty and wreckin Voodoo sometime, gimme a holler.

www.myspace.com/theweirdscientist

Yeah the night was pretty good.
    Not a bad crowd either considering Halloween and the bank holiday.

Moy was on form with a nice mix of new and old but the two acts before stole the show. Produse and the Sublime dj's(Tony Lawless and Jay Nyquist) were ****in unreal. Have used them before for other Weird Scientist nights and they always go off with a bang. Ones to watch.

Next one is Saturday Dec 15th with Jonathon Woods and Simon F supporting Hystereo so should be a good Christmas Stomper.
    Oh and Felix if u feel like gettin dirty and wreckin Voodoo sometime, gimme a holler.

www.myspace.com/theweirdscientist

Yeah would like to have got to this...years since I last heard Johnny Moy play, in fact, it was in the Kitchen sometime after the Temple of Sound closed (or when still open but invaded by a certain radio station and their crew).

Wouldn't know any of the other DJ's to be honest, way behind the times now.

As for gettin dirty and wreckin somewhere, twould appear I'm behind the in the lingo too :D

Any Johnny Moy mixes from way back floating about? Or Billy Scurry? Theres no end to the Asylum DJ mixes etc but what about The TOS???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4lxV2IefOI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 souldeep

Here's a mix of Billy Scurry playing with percussionist Basil Isaacs in Kennedy's last year:
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=33H41RFZ

souldeep wrote: »
    Here's a mix of Billy Scurry playing with percussionist Basil Isaacs in Kennedy's last year:
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=33H41RFZ
    That's a fantastic mix up until about the 28 minute mark when the mixing gets seriously dodgy (only for a short while though but still)

Anyway, I love the the percussion. Reminds me of an after club houseparty I went to a few years ago where there was a few lads banging away on their bongos to what the DJ was playing. I thought it was just the DJ with a really good sound system until I noticed the bongos. :D

Any more like it? Oh and where's Kennedys?

Hello Baz,

The reason the mixing gets dodgy is because that's when the percussionist started DJing as well as drumming.After a while Billy starts playing again and it gets better.

I have a few more of DJ's I've brought over that I'll stick up.

Kennedys is on Westland Row behind Trinity College,we do a monthly club there mainly House,Funk,Disco and Soul.

Here's one of DJ Spinna :

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=CV8VY2ZM

It's Long,nearly 4 hours, starts of quite slow and soulfull but gets in to more upbeat stuff as it goes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 bobbuk

wow.. just came across this, mad old school buzz tonight and was thinking bout JM's album... some job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

A fitting time to resurrect a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

ianuss wrote: »
    A fitting time to resurrect a thread.

nice one ian!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

wow.

Johnny Moy andrew weatherhall...the tivoli.....

:pac::D:):p:D:):D:D:):pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

I was only a little boy when he was in his heyday but my one actual 'memory' of him was of him being a drunken spastic on stage while James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem was Djing a disco set at the picnic a few years back. I remember him shaking Murphy's hand more than once and at one stage actually scraping one of his records, which left Murphy pissed off, and understandably so. In the end I think someone quietly led him away from yer man. Im pretty sure people in the crowd were roaring for him to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭stoksyXL

Anyone hear the story about him being called Johnny "sh*t in the box" Moy?

Supposedly he was playing in the redbox one night and needed a poo badly, and had one in the dj box.

Few people I know said this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭luketitz

Just googled this album and ended up here, mad! Anyone got a copy of that album at all? Some great tunes on it, nicked from me by a dodgy Scouse flatmate in Tenerife, if I do recall correctly!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

ha, way to drag up an old thread! Thanks for the reminder though. I just had a google - if you search for "01 Johnny Moy and Redsettas Decks effects and a whole lotta love" you'll find something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

ha, way to drag up an old thread! Thanks for the reminder though. I just had a google - if you search for "01 Johnny Moy and Redsettas Decks effects and a whole lotta love" you'll find something

:cool:

Ah lads this is great craic. I'm rolling back the years here. That Justin Robertson track is as ballsy as ever.

Had a quick flick through it last night - brought back some memories alright! They were some good times of Dublin clubbing! Will listen to it properly over the weekend. I found it via this facebook page: Dublin old skool DJ mixes

Unfortunately I'm a poor auld culchie from the back of beyond, so the closest I got to Dublin clubbing back then was crawling the walls listening to that mix CD, along with the odd Irish DJ that popped up on 2FM in the early hours. Good memories all the same, or so I've been told. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭luketitz

Legend, great find, thanks! :cool: