Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fresher's week Deskmanners

• 28-09-2007 10:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭

So, in the hopes of meeting someone to chat to while (wo)manning the desk during fresher's week, who else here is going to be at the native side of the desk next week?

I'm down for monday and tuesday, 9am-4pm.

Any tips for a newbie at all this?

First of all you'll probably get sick of mentioning how ISL is not Sign Language as Gaeilge :). But just be nice, have a laugh. Start chatting to anyone and everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I'll be on various stands - goe comedy soc and DUCSS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Same. DURNS, DUISS, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

I'll be holdin up the fort on the physoc stand. Pity I'm not able to do much more, what with work (hah) n all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭THE1NE

I personally plan to get an early start to freshers madness gettin ****faced behind the basketball stand!!

I'll be hanging round the Rifle stand for a bit... hope the weather will work out. Manning the stands can be great craic.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I'll be hanging round the Rifle stand for a bit... hope the weather will work out. Manning the stands can be great craic.

Back in the good old days of free beer before us students (I can say that again!) wrecked it and the free beer was banded. It was more fun back then

Oh the memories!

kearnsr wrote:
    Back in the good old days of free beer before us students (I can say that again!) wrecked it and the free beer was banded. It was more fun back then

Oh the memories!

We normally steals the fencing clubs foam swords and perform jack sparrow impressions when the boredom sets in - kept me entertained for hours! I also remeber attacking litsoc with unloaded paintball guns.. good times!

Are the Phil still able to give out the free lunch and pint thing? Can't remember if it was there last year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I still think it's bull**** that you don't have to sleep out to get the good stands anymore. Back in my day you'd be out there at 2am on Sunday night in order to get the best spot...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭mizz.yelof!!!

cumann gaelach stand, gonna be good, yeay freshers week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

I'll probably be on the Ultimate Frisbee stand on Wednesday/Thursday/Friday/all of the above, doing my best to convince people that it is a real sport and that all their friends won't laugh at them.
    PHB wrote:
    Uphill both ways through the snow blah blah etc.

I'm so glad I avoided that last year, and I can't see how it would do anything but add to the rivalry and pettiness of freshers' week. At least now all the big ones have a stand in a set place and no one can complain.
    paperclip wrote:
    Any tips for a newbie at all this?

Smile, flirt and lie through your teeth if necessary. Do laps of the square from time to time with flyers or some such, or at least have one person standing in front of the stand grabbing people as they walk by - there's a whole lot of stands, and people are unlikely to see you just sitting behind a desk unless they're looking for you or your stand is very eye-catching. Target the weak and those seperated from their packs of other freshers - think of it like one of those nature shows, where the lions pick off the less capable gazelles, that the rest may survive and flourish. And try not to be too hungover - I had to be taken off a stand on Thursday morning last year so that I didn't throw up on any impressionable freshers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

I'll be manning the DUCSS stand on Tuesday and Friday and probably be there at some stage most other days.Not that I know any of you in person anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Moorsy

Labour Youth and SU!!!

I better get some free clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

myself and zaraba went to go stalk paperclip, but Carly informed us you werent there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭paperclip

As a veteran stalker myself, I know how the laws work and I managed to avoid the rip in the fabric of time that might occur if my online and real life personae meet....wooo.... but I did meet someone (gabriel!) who asked me if I was paperclip. That was surprising, though I'm not sure why.

I'm having fun so far! How about the rest of ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I'm hungover.

Damn zaraba and his whiskey and his five-fucking-hours-long-debates with me. We started in Doyle's watching the match at about 8 (damn Villa :(), then we got going at about half time about politics, followed by the Physics of the Behavioural Finance of gay sex evolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

paperclip wrote:
    As a veteran stalker myself, I know how the laws work and I managed to avoid the rip in the fabric of time that might occur if my online and real life personae meet....wooo.... but I did meet someone (gabriel!) who asked me if I was paperclip. That was surprising, though I'm not sure why.
    Go me! Internet stalking ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

I'll be manning the DUCSS stand on Tuesday and Friday and probably be there at some stage most other days.Not that I know any of you in person anyway.

I saw you today then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Nehpets wrote:
    I saw you today then

You might have done..I wasn't there the whole time.
    I do remember signing up Barry Aldwell..the rest of you mysterious boards.ie people are a mystery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

I'll be on the physoc stand all over lunch time (I suppose it is technically) today. You might even catch me eating some form of curry out of a tuppaware container. If you do spot me (I'll be the bloke there) come say hi... I warn though, you might end up joining the physoc. I may mumble, bumble and stammer, but in the end I'm an incredibly charming manipulator. ;) Enda (Ibid) was so close to joining today, in spite of his narking ethanol withdrawal symptoms.

Once again, I'll be at the rifle club stand... come say hi. Boardsies get a discount!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I may be off work on friday, so If I am i may wander in and Join a load of Stuff that i have No intention of doing anything with what so ever, But i may get free(ish) stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

Once again, I'll be at the rifle club stand... come say hi. Boardsies get a discount!

I'm a boardsie and i got no discount that you speak of..... Then again i didn't mention it when I joined

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Ya fecker...

You have to ask for me - Iain!

If I'm not there, say that Iain said it was ok,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭lilmizzme

There was a really hot guy manning the VDP stand there the other day....im gonna just be shallow and admit that I joined partly to talk to him....and of course to help those less fortunate!! :D

Im going on a boardsie stalker hunt tomorrow....zaraba, you may just get a visit!! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

You have to ask for me - Iain!

If I'm not there, say that Iain said it was ok,

And dont forget my RC Hoodie...Iain;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

lilmizzme wrote:
    There was a really hot guy manning the VDP stand there the other day....im gonna just be shallow and admit that I joined partly to talk to him....and of course to help those less fortunate!! :D

Im going on a boardsie stalker hunt tomorrow....zaraba, you may just get a visit!! ;)

Isn't VDP still free? Win win right there I'd imagine