Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Must Have PSP Games!

• 27-09-2007 7:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭

Hi. Just got a PSP and i'm looking for game recommendations. I like racing games, shooters, puzzlers, adventure games etc. I have Burnout Dominator, Wipeout Pure, Syphon Filter, Gta Vice City. What games should be considered essential purchases? Cheers Lads! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Loco Roco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Looked it up on Gametab, looks as mad as a crate of sparrows, cheers, anything else?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,392 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Loco roco as well :) It's purified loveliness.

I found the Gradius collection to be great value if you like 2D shoot'em ups. 5 classic games in one and not one bad one.

Playing Jeanne D'arc at the moment, absolutely wonderful Strategy RPG.

You really need Lumines if you like puzzle games, best thing on the PSP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Exit! It's the best game out for it!

Sweet, gonna give those a try then. Others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

Again i'll say loco roco. But you cant go wrong with Metal Gear. Or virtua tennis 3

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I really like Metal Gear Solid:Portable Ops. Looks great and plays well.
    Addicted to Tiger Woods 2007, PES 6 is good too. The Gameplay on Splinter Cell was very frustrating and the game itself seemed fairly short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

Best game on the PSP and has been for 2 years solid nearly imho is Hot Shots Golf (Everybodys Golf in Europe) .... I'm still playing and lovin' it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭fdevine

I would give a recommendation to Hot Shots Golf too. Actually saw it in Gamestop Liffey Street today for €9.99 (pre-owned).

I got everybodys golf today, it's bloody sweet. Waaaaay better than Tiger Woods! a load of fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Metal Gear Solid PO... but you know me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭aaf

Football Manager Handheld 2007 (2008 due out around Xmas)
    Everybodys Golf
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 0x (I have 06, preordered 08)

Might stick a few of my games up for sale such as King Kong, GTA LCS, Burnout Legends, Mercury. Also have Underworld movie on UMD. Must put a thread on adverts.

Nailz wrote:
    Metal Gear Solid PO... but you know me! :D

Ha! i'm getting that, heard good things about it.

I not suprised! It has everything the home console version has!

Nailz wrote:
    I not suprised! It has everything the home console version has!

Is it a remake/port then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

I'm glad you like Everybodys Golf mountain lips, it's superb! :d

Well it has the graphics and the game play. I follows on from MGS 3, and this is set in 1970/71. Roughly 5 years after MGS 3. Have you played MGS 3 mate???

carbsy wrote:
    I'm glad you like Everybodys Golf mountain lips, it's superb! :d

Yup, it's sweet! :)

Nailz wrote:
    Well it has the graphics and the game play. I follows on from MGS 3, and this is set in 1970/71. Roughly 5 years after MGS 3. Have you played MGS 3 mate???

I played a bit of it just, i'll probably be crucified for saying this but i didn't like it!
    (i only played 20 mins of it at the start though)

I played a bit of it just, i'll probably be crucified for saying this but i didn't like it!
    (i only played 20 mins of it at the start though)
    Damn fúckin' right! Crucify him! He doesn't like MGS PO, the cúnt! Arrrgggg! Expect to be kicked out of the country within' the hour, so be prepared... I rang the guardi and they're giving me your address, I sorry to do this mate... but you commited a sin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

Wait till you can begin recruiting then the fun starts!

Nailz wrote:
    Damn fúckin' right! Crucify him! He doesn't like MGS PO, the cúnt! Arrrgggg! Expect to be kicked out of the country within' the hour, so be prepared... I rang the guardi and they're giving me your address, I sorry to do this mate... but you commited a sin!

Ha! i meant mgs 3, i haven't played portable ops yet. I'll be getting it soon so we'll see!

You don't like MGS 3?!!? Thats even worse!!! :mad: Lads, PM me if you don't know how to make a petrol bomb...

Nailz wrote:
    You don't like MGS 3?!!? Thats even worse!!! :mad: Lads, PM me if you don't know how to make a petrol bomb...

PM sent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭randombar

Lads I thought Micromachines was pretty sweet for some reason, but then again I loved the origninal on the Amiga!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

GaryCocs wrote:
    Lads I thought Micromachines was pretty sweet for some reason, but then again I loved the origninal on the Amiga!

Dont mean to be pedantic but Micro Machines was a NES game originally....

(I had it and loved it as a wee nipper!)

Micro Machines

Release year: 1991

Released in 1991 on the NES and 1993 on other formats, the first game in the series laid the foundation of the gameplay: a top-down racing game with miniature vehicles. The race tracks are unconventionally themed. For example, some races might take place on a billiard table while others occur in a garden. The cartridge itself was gold with a switch at the bottom in order to be compatible with the American and European hardware. [1] It was also released as an add-on to the Aladdin Deck Enhancer created by Codemasters. [2]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭elekid

I'm surprised no one has mentioned Daxter yet. I finished it last week and I really enjoyed it, actually I would say I preferred it to Jak II and Jak III because it wasn't near as frustrating as they were. Great little game.

Give Me and My Katamari a go as well, the controls are a little dodgy on PSP compared to the PS2 games but it's still great fun.

elekid wrote:
    I'm surprised no one has mentioned Daxter yet. I finished it last week and I really enjoyed it, actually I would say I preferred it to Jak II and Jak III because it wasn't near as frustrating as they were. Great little game.

Give Me and My Katamari a go as well, the controls are a little dodgy on PSP compared to the PS2 games but it's still great fun.

Yeah Daxter is class & very nice looking, i got Katamari but haven't played it yet

PM sent!
    Ah sorry I couldn't get back to you, I was at the United - Roma game... have to say, gas craic throughing patrol bombs at roma fans :D. BTW, whan you make it don't forget to drop it for not liking MGS 3!!! :mad:

Nailz wrote:
    Ah sorry I couldn't get back to you, I was at the United - Roma game... have to say, gas craic throughing patrol bombs at roma fans :D. BTW, whan you make it don't forget to drop it for not liking MGS 3!!! :mad:

Nah, i'm gonna get my girlfriend to throw it at me from the bottom of the garden!

Ah thats grand... tell your girlfriend to let me know of the funeral arrangment... you never know she might become 1 of 2 girlfriends, bear in mind the other one I still have (mmm, 2 girlfriends to do the work... and pleasure :D).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Jeanne d'Arc is pretty good at the moment. I'd reccommend Exit! aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

No one mentioned GTA Liberty City and Vice City stories or Killzone Liberation - great games. However, the FPS like medal of honor and call of duty are sh!te on the psp - save them for the pc or consoles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

Final Fantasy Tactics is out now. Haven't got round to playing it because I'm still working through Phoenix Wright but greatly looking forward to it.

Cheers for the suggestions so far lads. I'm playing through Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters at the mo, bloody good game, nice variation and loads of mini games and stuff. Highly recommended for anyone yet to play it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭SpicyNoodle

I like Lemmings, sonic rivals, need for speed, ridge racer, Loco Roco (very basic but addictive) , daxter. Also Crash Bandicoot. Shop around online as the games are pretty expensive otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Monster hunter was pretty fun. Tekken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Great thread.

ONly got the PSP relatively recently. Have picked up a good few of the games mentioned here but the two that I always go back for are Lumines and Wipeout Pure. Surprised no-one has mentioned that one yet. Think its great, meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Crowman

I just started playing Final Fantasy Tactics, very impressive game...

Morgans wrote: »
    Wipeout Pure. Surprised no-one has mentioned that one yet. Think its great, meself.

Yup, Wipeout is class, there's a new one out soon i believe.

Crush is a really good game if you're into the clever puzzler type thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

syphon filter -dark mirror , has to be one of the best psp games available,medal of honor /32 man death match pure fun on the psp,
    been playing everybodys golf since ps1 deadly game ,
    world tour soccer 2 worth a shout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Doodlebug

Killzone - great game - especially online

Definitely +1 for SOCOM too (even if the microphone never did work on the network)!

Good fun!

Doodlebug wrote: »
    Killzone - great game - especially online

Gonna give that a shot.... looks interesting, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭long_b

Lumines Lumines Lumines.

If you liked Tetris ...

Also be sure to download all the game demos available.

Check out www.pspfanboy.com

Thanks for the linky there long_b

Did anyone try the God Of War demo yet? very nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Apologies for pulling up an old thread, but, yeah - add God of War - Chains of Olympus to the must have list! What a cracking game!

I am at the last boss fight at the moment - Its short, but fantastic action, game play and music! I might go back and play it all over again with the potato avatar now! Can't recommend it enough!

I am reasonably new to gaming and PSPs. A few other games that I found great so far, probably not must have - more like nice to have..

Chess Master: The Art of Learning
    Carol Vorderman's Sudoku

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭1408

• Metal Gear Solid Portable Ops
    • Tony Hawks Underground 2 Remix
    • Grand Theft Auto Vice City Stories
    • Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

positron wrote: »
    Apologies for pulling up an old thread, but, yeah - add God of War - Chains of Olympus to the must have list! What a cracking game!

Have to agree with you, probably the most impressive game I've seen on the PSP, and it plays great too!